IMDb > The Hitman (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hitman
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hitman More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 35 reviews in total 

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

smooth flowing action movie with humane Norris

Author: moviestosee from Toronto, Ontario
19 June 2004

The action scenes are nicely orchestrated and not overdone for this day and age. Norris' anti-racist stance by punching out a racial bigot gives him a very humane and caring character in spite of being a hit man. I particularly like the part where he intrudes on a group of Islamic gangsters eating food, sticks his fingers in their food, tastes it and comments "Do you guys really eat this sh**? Michael Parks and Al Waxman are excellent in their supporting roles. The movie nicely combines Norris' neighbourly concern over the plight of a tenant and her son with his undercover police assignment to take down the bad guys. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this movie a 7.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

One of the best chuck norris movies

8/10
Author: grzhorse from Cyprus
5 January 2004



I am a big fan of chuck norris and i find this movie very interesting. I liked a lot the plot and also the suspense that was in the film. I think this kind of movies fit well for Chuck.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Very good action film

9/10
Author: nicotoscani from Western United States
31 October 2006

Given the genre, this movie is excellent. If you're in the mood for a romantic film or a slow foreign flick, skip it: if you're a real man, watch it.

Chuck Norris does, as usual, a very good job, but the real key to the movie is the intricate plot. Things keep getting more and more convoluted as the movie proceeds, and the dramatic ending, while foreseeable, is action-packed.

A side note: the cinematography, especially the night scenes, is masterful. If you're watching the movie with the lights off, you get the full effect. The use of darkness provides a perfect atmospheric for certain scenes.

Great for a night you want to watch a kick-ass man movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Michael Parks Fantastic in Yet Another Nothing Movie Few Saw

7/10
Author: curtis martin from Bothell, Washington, Land of Rain
2 March 2006

This is a damn good Chuck Norris movie. Of course that doesn't make it a movie you could recommend to just anyone as "good," but if you look at it as part of its own sub-genre--say the Chuck Norris/Jean Claude Van Damme/Stephen Segal sub-genre--then it is pretty damn good in comparison. And I had never heard of it before today! The story leaves much to be desired, but this is the kind of low-budget action movie they just don't make any more: slick and goofy, crass and sentimental, moral and ultraviolent, "funny bad" and just plain funny--all at the same time. But the standout feature is definitely the great Michael Parks. Just as he did in the similarly obscure Charles Bronson flick "Death Wish V: The Face of Death," and in his "From Dusk Until Dawn" cameo, Parks takes charge of every scene he's in and simply walks away with the movie. Why hasn't this brilliant actor been given leading roles? He has been so fascinating to watch in everything I've seen him, especially in his later years.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

On The Road Again!

7/10
Author: Lyon Gaultier
30 September 2005

I like this movie. i first rented it to watch with my girlfriend in about 1992 - she didn't like it for some reason but i was impressed with the change of character by Norris compared to his Texas Ranger, Delta Force movies.

The storyline of someone left for dead only to come back a few years later to even the score with his corrupt partner who tried to kill him is a bit corny and has been done before this movie I'm sure but the coldness of Norris when he blows people away is what makes this watchable, not least when he kicks ass big style in the Iranians' club! However, Canadian mob boss Andre Lecombe's 'minder' is possibly the least likely gangster i have ever seen in a movie and does not convince! The Hit-man is pretty hard to find these days and could be regarded as a collectors item if you're a Chuck Norris fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Gangsters feel Chuck's cold-blooded wrath!

7/10
Author: lost-in-limbo from the Mad Hatter's tea party.
27 April 2008

Nearly every film that Norris starred in from the mid 80s through to the 90s was under the production company 'Cannon'. Is that a bad thing? No not really, as long it delivered on the goods that we expected. They were mainly cheap, but quite violent and senseless entertainment. However there's something about "The Hit-man" that makes me think much more highly of it than I probably should. It passes the time, but this Norris actioner provides a solidly calm performance, which is maybe his best or actually most suited. His beard is in full flight, but he also sports a gratuitous mullet and dangerous looking trench coat. It's definitively my favourite of those mainstream humdingers that he was chalking up through the measly 90s. Norris' brother Aaron (who directed Chuck in some other flicks) was in the director's chair and this would be his most accomplished piece. The premise is transparently black n white (if vague), but it's the calculatingly dark, risky and lean tone which I fancied. It kind of reminded me of J. Lee Thompson's "Death Wish 4: The Crackdown (1987)". Sure it can get over-sentimental with a flabby and pointless subplot involving a 'young nice boy' living next door to Norris. But this plot device (in a surprisingly story-bound presentation) gives Norris' character a humane element to counter-pouch that cold, fearless nature driving him to complete his job. Amongst this moral interruption, it can be rather offensively racist, mean-spirited and brutal in its staged barbaric violence that's broken out in the crime underworld. As double crossings, secret meetings and vicious set-ups plague the get-up. It doesn't really focus on Norris' martial arts abilities, as it doesn't get much of a show-in with him preferring to use his punishing shotgun. Get ready for a bloody onslaught with smarting wise-cracks! Aaron Norris' hardboiled direction is brisk, gritty and accordingly sombre in its grungy atmospheric charges leaking from such moodily shot-on locations. Some rousing suspense can be detected too. Joel Derouin's music score really does skew back to those saucily cruising, but uneasy jazz scores of the 70s. The support cast offer able assistance with their parts. Michael Parks memorably nasty, thuggery performance is a blast whenever his on screen.

An edgy, hard-hitting Norris entry that at least tries be something a little more different.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

chuck vs the mafia

7/10
Author: ghostman16 from United Kingdom
4 April 2007

Chuck Norris has made some good films (invasion USA)and some bad films (force of one)most of his films are good on action and The Hit-man is no exception.chuck plays cliff garret a cop who goes undercover as a hit-man for the mafia and takes on the Persian mob.whilst undercover cliff becomes friends with a young black kid who is getting bullied by a gang of kids so cliff takes him under his wing and teaches him self defence.what The Hit-man lacks in story it makes up in action. the only sidekick chuck has in this film is his unique sawn off shotgun and an incredible martial arts skill.Hit-man is quite a rare film so when i saw it was on telly i quickly recorded it on video and i am glad i did. chuck does an okay performance probably the best we can get from him and the actor and actress in the film are okay to. to end the review i will just say the Hit-man is not the best film ever but it is certainly fun to watch 7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Chuck Norris as a Hit-man for the Mafia(undercover,at least)

7/10
Author: disdressed12 from Canada
28 January 2007

this is the story of a cop who has been undercover for 2 years,posing as a hit-man.Chuck Norris plays CliffGarret/Danny Grogan in the title role. Garret is his really name,while Grogan is his undercover identity.this movie is much darker than most Norris films.Chuck gets to focus more on his dramatic acting ability than martial arts(though there is a bit of that)and handles himself quite nicely.he is very credible in his portrayal of the icy killer.the score for the film is very appropriate and adds to the atmosphere.there are great performances all around,including Al Waxman as the head of one of the criminal factions and Grogan's boss,Bruno Gerusi as one of his underlings,and Michael Parks who plays Ronald "Del" Delany,a bitter enemy of Norris's character.Ken Pogue plays Detective chambers,Garret's Boss.the production values are very decent for this film.Most of the dialogue is well written.there is of course lots of violence in this one,as in most of Chuck's films.overall a very well made,entertaining film.a strong 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Another defender

Author: Wizard-8 from Victoria, BC
6 January 1999

I'm glad that someone else likes this movie. I admit it isn't a GREAT movie, but it's never boring, and delivers enough of the goods. Excellent location shooting, and stylish direction (Aaron Norris' somehow managed to competently direct for once). However, there are some racist overtones that left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Hit-man

7/10
Author: Scarecrow-88 from United States
14 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This time Chuck Norris stars as an undercover cop, presumed dead after his partner betrayed him by shooting him multiple times during a routine sting operation. He infiltrates an Italian mob organized in Seattle. Meanwhile, two other criminal organizations, the Arabs and French mobs, desire to operate exclusively in Seattle. Well as Danny Grogen, Chuck's job is to align Andre Lacombe(Marcel Sabourin), the French mobster working in Vancouver, with Marco Luganni(Al Waxman)so that the police can nab them together..but Grogan's old nemesis, Del(Michael Parks)is working with the Arab mob and this will make things particularly difficult. Del is an opportunist and uses Marco(..who believes Del is on his side) to take out Lacombe, but Grogan has other plans for him. When Del attempts to blow up Grogan's neighbor's boy, it gets REALLY personal.

Despite what seems like a complex story really is still your basic tale of revenge and retribution. Grogen is the only, except the little black boy he befriends, character who isn't a dirtbag so when he shoots somebody or beats some scumbag to the pulp, you root for him if just by default. I found it amusing that Chuck not only has one mob to contend with, but three! I enjoyed how Chuck's Grogen could just walk up on his adversaries, often with the result being some mob goon laid on his back, bleeding or seriously harmed. My favorite sequence has Chuck wiping out a dinner table full of Arabs in their own restaurant. There's a ton of mob violence with men from each organization setting the others up, with bullets riddling bodies. And, boy, does Grogen get him some of Del! That's quite a BLAST of a finale! The film finds time to include a sub-plot where Chuck helps out a little black boy being bullied by white racists, for which he teaches him the fundamentals of defending yourself. As you'd expect, Chuck lands a pretty loud punch to the bastard father's face(..he's your typical thuggish, foul racist white trash monster, abusive towards his son if the kid doesn't bully those supposedly inferior), breaking his nose in the process to the delight of the audience, I'm sure.

"The Hit-man" isn't exactly up to par with Chuck's 80's stuff, but it delivers plenty of violence and Norris does get to conduct his usual "one man army" shtick, blowing apart the legs, chests, and faces of mobsters in the warehouse climax with a small shotgun, as all three organizations buck for supremacy, falling short due to their inabilities to "share turf". Michael Parks, who many recognize as a consistent face in QT / Rodriguez joints, has a small but pivotal part as the slimy, vulgar antagonist who(..as many villains in these films often do)leaves Norris alive when he had him right where he wanted him. This will come back to bite him right on the ass. To provide motivation for fans of ultra-violence, a victim is rope-tied to a chair, hung outside a window, with a bomb that detonates exploding his body into millions of pieces!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history