IMDb > Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 79 reviews in total 

One of the funniest movies I have seen

Author: John M. Clones (johnclones@aol.com) from St.Louis, MO
2 February 2004

One of the funniest movies that I have seen. I liked Christine Applegate. I think that "Married with Children" which she stared in made fun of the family. I liked the part where their car was stolen andwhen the old lady got mean.

Was the above review useful to you?

better than it should have been

7/10
Author: JamieWJackson from United States
13 August 2003

The premise for this movie is OK, but the plot twists are implausible (and that's being rather charitable). A lot of the fashion and music touches are (out)dated. There's a cheese factor here that permeates everything in the film. It really should have been a stinker. Somehow, though, it's just a lot of fun. Christina is at her lovely, lovable best, and the rest of the cast is solid enough; everyone has at least a little depth here. Lots of cliches, but they just can't hold this film down. Recommended viewing for anyone but the Grinch.

Don't expect too much. It's a goofy, light-hearted movie. Appreciate it on that level and you'll enjoy it. 7/10 (surprisingly) from me, because it works well for what it is.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Classic

10/10
Author: wesie24 from Canada
19 July 2003

One of the best 80's movies that I liked, especailly since they had a tendancy to be so funny. Throughout this movie the kids are constantly making jokes, based soley around stupidity, but they can still be funny. But by all means, go check it out, its a great film!

Was the above review useful to you?

"Park it yourself Metallica breath"

Author: forecastmazy from Fairfield, Ct
7 July 2003

Surely the best line in this movie is "Park it yourself Metallica Breath", if anything, only because it is so dated, ridiculous, and yet still kind of funny because he's talking to X-Files' David Duchovny.

This is one of those films they used to make where the plot was strange and funny and meant to be that way. I loved this movie when I saw it in the theaters when I was in first grade, now 12 years later this movie is even funnier.

You have to watch this movie as a parody of life. Even the cheesy guy working at the office, 'Gus', is very funny. There really are people like this out there, and that's what makes this film great. You can surely believe all of it is possible. From the traveling mother to Christina Applegate being the teenie bopper girl who has to get a job.... it's great! And somehow the movie being dated in 1991 makes the movie seem even greater. Sometimes makes me wish I was born early enough to really enjoy the 90s, in a great time before people liked cheezy music and... that thing called 'rap'.

Was the above review useful to you?

That is a fantastic movie.

7/10
Author: dtype from San Fransicso, CA
6 July 2003

It certainly should have been worse. This movie was highly entertaining. Have a beer, kick back, and enjoy a well written and produced show. You have to enjoy some of the things that made late 80's/early 90's movies funny, but you knew that...

Was the above review useful to you?

Totally Gnarly

8/10
Author: Justin (jayfril@hotmail.com) from Charlotte, NC
3 June 2003

Why does this movie have a 5.1? this movie deserves at least a 8.9. when i saw my cousins dvd collection, i totally ganked this from his house. this movie rules to no end. i have no intentions of giving it back to him and have every intention on watching it about 40 more times before even suggesting to him that i have his dvd. i just hope he doesnt read imdb religously like i do. ;o)

Was the above review useful to you?

Five Kids. A Whole Summer. Fun Around Every Corner, So Long As They Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead!

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
2 February 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

It was the summer time and Sue Ellen Crandell's friends were going to Europe for a graduation party but she soon learns that her mother was going to Australia for two months so it looked like a whole summer of freedom for her and her siblings: Kenny, a lazy party animal. Zach, who's got a date at age 11. Melissa, a smart allec and Walter, the youngest. But to Sue Ellen's horror, Mom had hired a babysitter: Mrs. Stirack, who seemed nice but as soon as Mom left, she pulled out a whistle and began making harsh rules for the kids. They couldn't take it much longer so Sue Ellen went to go have a talk with Mrs. Stirack who didn't move. She didn't breathe either. She was dead! They couldn't call the cops because they'd ask too many questions and they couldn't call Mom because she'd come home, so they do the only sensible things to do in that situation: they load Mrs. Stirack's corpse in a trunk and leave it outside the mortuary. So for a while, it looked like a summer of freedom for the kids. Just one problem: money. One of them had to get a job and since Kenny refused, Sue Ellen got a job at the Clown Dog fast food restaurant where she scrubbed fat vats. She met the handsome delivery boy, Bryan and the two become friends. She also grows tired of this job and quits. She then buckles down and studies on getting big jobs and writing resumés. She practically copied a resumé right out of the book and applied at a fashion corporation for the new secretary. The one they had now was a bubble-head. Sue Ellen met the senior vice president, Rose Lindsay, who boosted Sue Ellen right up to her assistant!

Rose was such an easy-going boss and the work seemed like a piece of cake, especially when Sue Ellen had computer pro Cathy do the QED reports. So while Sue Ellen worked, the kids messed around at home. One night they go out to dinner in Mrs. Stirack's Buick and when they exit the restaurant, they find three drag queens stealing it! They acquire a ride home courtesy of Bryan! The job continued to go steady and Sue Ellen and Bryan go on a date and just hit it off! They bounce on bouncing balls at the toy store but were then told to get out. Sue Ellen soon discovers the petty cash box in her desk where she could borrow cash for necessities so she goes to the super market. The kids some how take it upon themselves to "borrow" from the cash box to buy such things as a home entertainment center! Sue Ellen was oblivious to this and would pay back what she took with her paycheck. She asked Kenny to help out a little around the house, like mow the lawn and do the dishes. Kenny did the dishes. He used them as clay pigeons! So Sue Ellen continued to run the house with little or no help from her siblings, but one day while Kenny had a get-together in his room, Walter climbed onto the roof to fix the cable antenna when he fell off and broke his ankle and what's more, Sue Ellen's paycheck was small due to taxes, but the real salt on the open wound was when Sue Ellen discovered the home entertainment center. She learns the kids had spent over $3,000! This was now embezzlement! Well things just kept getting worse because due to a protest on the proposed school uniforms, the fashion center Sue Ellen worked at was facing bankrupcy! But a last minute idea from Sue Ellen just might save them!

Rose liked the idea and proposed a banquet. Sue Ellen offered to have it at her house. Carolyn, the secretary who Sue Ellen was supposed to be replacing grew jealous of her. Her little brother was Bryan and he and Sue Ellen fought when she demanded to keep her job a secret. Carolyn and her yuppie boyfriend Bruce tried to dig up some dirt on Sue Ellen. They found out about Cathy but Rose seemed entranced by that rather than angry. With a week until the party, Sue Ellen whipped her siblings into shape. Kenny mowed the lawn while everyone else cleaned the house and got it all ready for the banquet. Carolyn found Sue Ellen's driver's license, proof that she was 17, and showed it to Rose who called Carolyn a liar. Soon the banquet was on and Sue Ellen made a speech. Kenny, who learned to cook courtesy of Julia Child, prepared the meals. Zach was the maitre'd. Bryan stopped by in hopes of making amendments and nearly blew Sue Ellen's cover. What's more, Mom came home eary and then the dooty really hit the fan! Sue Ellen told the real truth to everyone. Rose was still her friend though and Mom seemed impressed on how Sue Ellen handled things in her absence, although she had just one more question, "Where's the babysitter?"

A pretty good movie! Married...With Children's Christina Applegate plays Sue Ellen Crandell and was very good! Keith Coogan plays Kenny and played a very good little punk! Although in the movie Sue Ellen is older than Kenny, in reality Keith Coogan is a year older than Christina Applegate. How about that? Also in the cast are Joanna Cassidy (Who Framed Roger Rabbit?), Danielle Harris (Halloween 4 & 5), David Duchovny (The X-Files) and Robert Gorman (Leprechaun). Also, this film could really teach people responsibility. But anyway, if you like Christina Applegate or are in the mood for a juvenile comedy, then Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead is for you!

Was the above review useful to you?

Very Cool Movie

Author: Lenny buskey (HeresLenny@yahoo.com) from Anywhere
28 December 2002

"Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead is one of the most funniest movies of it's time. the cast was outstanding, I think Christina Applegate was just like her role as Kelly Bundy on Married With Children. Chris Pettiet was at his best in the film, i don't think I saw him do any better in his career. It goes to show ALL parents that teens can make it on their own~

Was the above review useful to you?

Cute comedy with a great cast

Author: JHL44502 from Youngstown, OH
1 August 2002

The story's far-fetched, some of it's trite, but the cast is outstanding and it makes an entertaining bit of mental bubblegum when you want to laugh but not think. It's a nice one to unwind with after a rough day.

Was the above review useful to you?

A early 90's chessy classic

Author: Amanda (spitz1980@yahoo.com)
11 June 2001

This movie is surprisingly watchable in 2001. I caught it again on TBS and it was still entertaining, compared to some of the crap nowadays. I really love the part when kenny does the dishes," the dishes are done man!, is a classic quote. I would recommend checking this movie out, when it's on cable or something. 9*/10*

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history