IMDb > "Silk Stalkings" (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Silk Stalkings"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Silk Stalkings" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 25 reviews in total 

26 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Rob & Mitzi: More Chemistry than duPont!

Author: Bcaldc10 from California
17 June 2001

Silk Stalkings will go down in TV history as the little cable show that really scored in the ratings. Rob Estes and Mitzi

Kapture had more genuine, honest and passionate on-screen chemistry than any TV characters I've ever seen before or since. It was magical. The friendship. The caring. The support. The professional competence of this team was just something to behold. The show also featured great supporting players like Charlie Brill and William Anton. But all good things eventually come to an end. When Rob & Mitzi left in the middle of the 5th season the new team was totally unable to continue on in any way even close their predecessors. To be charitable, they were awful. But it only got worse. As

the 6th season started Executive Producer David Peckinpah left the series. He had been the controlling force in the 1st 5 seasons. Season 6 gave us new producers, directors, writers, supporting players, and a new team of detectives. Across the board the show collapsed! We were supposed to

believe that a divorced couple were now the number one detective team in Palm Beach. We were supposed to believe that no one in the Police Dept. had ever even known Chris and Rita. The writing and directing were absolutely awful! Rob & Mitzi had more chemistry and heat sitting at their desks than Potter and Gunn could ever hope to muster. We tried to give the last team chances to impress but the fun and magic were gone. It was just impossible to replace the magic that graced the screen with Rob Estes and Mitzi Kapture. We still miss their characters but luckily have tapes to enjoy for years to come.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Not very believable, but entertaining

5/10
Author: highwaytourist from United States
5 April 2006

This was hardly a high concept cop show. In a nutshell, it's a knockoff of "Miami Vice" set in Palm Beach, only with less substance and credibility. Two young, glamorous cops investigate and solve murders committed by snooty Palm Beach socialites, and do so without messing up their hairstyles or expensive wardrobes. The portrayal of the wealthy suspects was never believable. Most of the women wore form-fitting spandex, packed obvious silicone implants, and look like hookers masquerading as royalty. To put it mildly, it's hardly typical of Palm Beach society women. Most of the men were stereotypical greedy, perverted sleaze-balls, like pimps who won the lottery. Indeed, the film seems to say that all rich people are scum and it's fun to watch their downfall. Many of the clues seem to fall into the cops' laps, making it hard not to solve the murders. A number of the cases are obviously based on real life.

In spite of these many and obvious shortcomings, it's a fun show. I watched it faithfully for a few years. Much of the credit goes to Rob Estes and Mitzi Kapture. As detectives Christopher Lorenzo and Rita Lance, they give a genuinely convincing portrayal of dedicated detectives and supportive partners. They truly seem to want justice and be the best of friends. And there are other compensations--the background music is chilling and the location work is well-done. Unfortunately, the producers had to ruin it by having them become lovers. After they left the show, it just wasn't very interesting. New characters were introduced, and the show sank to the level of "Ken and Barbie play cops." Still, the series ground on for four more years, which says much about the quality of the USA Network's programming.

Would I watch it again? Absolutely! To those interested, I say get the first four seasons and enjoy. You won't believe a minute of it, but you'll have a good time anyway.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A cop show that brings a colorful twist to law and order.

6/10
Author: pinbyte from United States
11 October 2006

Before I offer any description of this TV show, I want to point out that the 'opening sequence' rates in my top 10. It is a sexy and overt grabber sequence that rivals that of "Hawaii Five-O", "Miami Vice", and even "Mission Impossible".

It is usually followed by Rita's narrative of what is yet to come.

So... we have this pair of police detectives. They are based in Palm Beach Florida. They are undoubtedly solving a murder that takes place before they even run the credits. A formula that remains in use.

Chris and Rita, the two main cop partner characters continue to have a professional but close relationship which adds some spark to the show. Others will acknowledge a real chemistry there, though perhaps awkward. When fire was added to the relationship it burned out the show. Keep the spark, prevent the fire, now that keeps us wondering what will happen next week.

Perhaps, the actors were done. The show still went on to much disappointment (at least by me). Forget the 'second cast'. The formula doesn't mix. Please don't dismiss the first few years.

Silk Stalkings presented a very new and different scene for a police detective environment which borrows from "Miami Vice" and then takes it over the top. It never takes itself too seriously, which really adds to the enjoyment.

I am pleased that it is now offered on DVD, and can now be rented. When you get sick of commercials, just pop a Silk in the DVD player and enjoy. Sure it is fluff... but when you get to the commercial break YOU DON'T GET ANY COMMERCIALS. You are right back into the show. Pause to pee if you like, but it does not really matter, you'll pick it right back up.

Perhaps I am biased somewhat... I used to watch it when it was actually on TV. This is a landmark show in my opinion. The outrageous police department decor and the dress of the main characters helped keep me interested.

Ignore the predictability, "Silk Stalkings" is a one of a kind, and worth a few enjoyable hours.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Sexy

Author: Shari (AfricanVenus84@aol.com) from United States
15 March 2003

I loved this show from first on. Mitzy and Rob have great chemistry as Rita and Chris. I loved the direction the show took to getting them together. I hated the new partners when they left. I'm a "Sam and Sam" fan forever. Great, hip, and sexy show about bored rich people who commit crimes. Made being a cop look pretty glam. Miss the show.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

It was "parfait"

Author: catharina from Almelo, Holland
13 August 2001

I'm not very original, but the classic silk episodes were the best. Everybody who saw the classic episodes should confirm that.

I was so upset when Rob and Mitzi left the show. I admit, the scripts of silk stalkings weren't always great and the cases weren't always realistic, but the actors made up for all that.

Rob and Mitzi were great together. The chemistry between the two of them was great and you could see they had a lot of fun in front of the cameras.

I miss watching the reruns late at night, but I've got a lot of episodes on tape (I won't be bored). Thumbs up for Rob, Mitzi K (Sam and Sam), Charlie, Mitzi M, William and all the other actors who made my life a lot better every day! Guys, it was "parfait"!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Awesome show

Author: Kim from Birmingham, AL
8 September 2002

I started watching Silk Stalkings when it aired on the CBS Crimetime after Primetime schedule in 1991 and was glad to see it picked up on the USA network instead of being cancelled like my other favorite show Dark Justice in which Janet Gunn also starred. When the show first aired you could see the great chemistry with Rob and Mitzi. It was sad when they killed of Rob's character and Mitzi left shortly afterwards. When they brought in Nick and Tyler to replace Rob and Mitzi it just didnt work. The best thing that happened was bringing in Janet and Chris to replace them. Janet and Chris also had great chemistry. Bringing in these two allowed a great show to go on for four more seasons. I do hope they will do a movie that will clear up the cliffhanger that was left when the show ended. Please bring back Janet and Chris and the rest of the gang. Dont leave it hanging like that.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Chris and Rita Did it for Me...

Author: Mike Walton (kyblkeagle@aol.com) from Fort Snelling, MN
15 June 2000

Chris and Rita's personality and chemistry did it for lots of viewers of the late night show. They clicked, and you knew that they would eventually become more than just partners and friends....that was part of the lure that kept people coming back to view the show. The new partners, because of the fact that they have been married, divorced and now partners in crime, just don't get it. It was the give and take, the support and the pride, that made Rob and Mitzi really work on the screen in their roles. My wife and I would make a popcorn evening of watching the two back-to-back episodes of SS when it was on USA Network. I miss the show...Two thumbs WAYY Up for Cannell...he did a masterful job.

Settummanque!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Just Good Bad TV

Author: Dave (phantom2099@hotmail.com) from Puerto Rico
27 December 2004

I remember staying up and watching this show mostly due to the almost sofcore stories and air brushed cast but as i grew older i started watching the show more for the unnecessary comedy than anything else.

Just noticing the typical casting done for the extras and supporting cast, every cop in that station was a model or made of plastic. Every female cop wore more make up than a porn star and their police procedure were just silly. The acting wasn't exactly bad persay just that the cast didn't have much to work with or just became compliant to getting a pay check.

Watch it for fluff and turn your brain off, and you'll get some pleasure from watching this bad TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

highest rated original series

9/10
Author: ritalee
14 June 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Silk was the highest rated original series on USA when it ran for 8 seasons...because it really was a great show. The stars made the show what it was, of course, because in spite of the creators trying to lay the T&A (aka nudity) on thick, the real attraction was the awesome chemistry between actors Rob Estes and Mitzi Kapture for the first 4.5 seasons. Chris and Rita were the subject of many a "ship" till they finally fell into each others arms. However it wasn't just about romance with this pair, they were the best of friends and the special relationship they had always became part and parcel of the roles and the plot and enhanced the story lines perfectly. There were also some very intriguing characters (Guest stars) who lent support to the leads as well as the comic twists and turns that made the show very likable and entertaining. I own all 4 seasons on DVD mainly because of Chris and Rita (Rob and Mitzi) but every time I watch I am reminded there was always more to love in this show...nudity aside.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

silk stalkings one of the best

10/10
Author: aliv_73 from United States
7 February 2010

i loved this show when it was on CBS and when he moved to USA Network.i think they should have given Chris and Rita a different ending.Rob and Mitzi have great chemistry.the two partner parings ofter them didn't have that spark.i watched the show both on Crimetime after Primetime along with Forever Knight they were some of my favorites.i think the USA Network should bring this show back.i think the producers of the show should have gone the same way the show Dallas did with the whole dream sequence when Pam thought Bobby was dead.i loved both Ben Vereen and Charlie Brill as the captains.the two actors who played Michael and Holly their was no spark.the last to actors were OK,but we already knew what happened to their relationship.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history