IMDb > Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Átame!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! More at IMDbPro »Átame! (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]
Index 60 reviews in total 

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not really a comedy...

8/10
Author: the_frenchie (the_frenchie@hotmail.com)
4 March 2000

Sorry for the other writer, but Atame is not really a comedy.

Of course, if for you, all has to be funny, don't watch this movie. It's about a soft-SM relationship, between a TV star and her mad-admirer. One of the Almodovar's movie not to excessively Almodovar

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

NC-17, why?

5/10
Author: Doominator777
21 August 2003

Okay, I'm not real sure why this was rated NC-17, it probably has something to do with the tub scene but I think that's really stupid.

Kind of like this movie. The tub scene is the perfect example of what this movie is. It's a bunch of a worthless stuff made into an hour and 50 min long movie. Victoria Abril & Antonio Banderas are good as the leads and the overall direction and such is decent.

But the movie is boring. A guy screws a porn star and then he goes mental. Now he's out of the nuthouse and he is going to force the porn star to be his wife via kidnapping.

This is nothing more than your basic inane romantic comedy, just with more nudity.

5 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Revolting, sexist film

1/10
Author: dbrown-4 from Goleta, CA
27 June 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*** SPOILERS -- ENTIRE PLOT REVEALED ***

There have been people here who have called this film sexist with a dangerous message, and others who insist this is a figment of the imagination.

These are the facts of what this film expects us to believe:

A woman is forcibly kidnapped at her home. She is threatened with a knife, and when she screams, she is given a brutal headbutt, knocking out one of her teeth, swelling up her cheek, leaving her face gashed and bleeding. She loses consciousness. When she regains consciousness, she is continually tied up with rope to her bed, and her mouth is always kept shut with tape. Her abductor claims he has the right to kidnap her because they had sexual relations within the previous year. He is physically and verbally abusive to her. He instructs her to call her mother, and then threatens that he will slit both their throats if she tries to tell her mother she is kidnapped. She is treated like an animal in a cage. Her abductor insists, though, that he "simply wants her to get to know him" and that once she knows him, she will see how adorable he is and fall in love with him. He also tells her he's spent his entire life in mental hospitals, but she apparently takes little note of this fact. However, she tells him she will "never love him" and that he is wasting his time. Yet he persists, taking every rebuff and rejection as a sign to pursue even further, to never give up.

Miraculously, our abductor's plan works! After a couple days, he returns to her after he was beaten to a pulp and robbed on the street. (Of course, this was in retaliation to a robbery at knifepoint committed by him previously.) While she is tending his open sores, she begins to complain openly about the "animals" which did this to him. She starts to caress his body while she tends his wounds, and before long she is kissing his open sores, and not long after that she's telling him "don't come" and "don't pull it out yet" while she screams in ecstatic pleasure to his pounding. After they have sex, she tells him, "Ah, yes. NOW I remember you." Remember, boys, THAT'S the way to get a woman to remember you. After all, a woman NEVER forgets a good f**king. After the woman is rescued and finds herself safe among family and friends, what does she do? Call the police? Press charges? Start her way through a painful emotional process? NO! The first thing she does is go out and find her Cary Grant so she can bring him back to meet the family! Cary Grant gets the girl! They all drive off into a sunset (REALLY!) and live happily ever after. THE frigging END.

These are just the facts of the film. It's a nice story. I'll let you come to your own conclusions.

Having known women friends who have been physically and verbally abused, stalked for months, and harassed while dating, this film was anything but funny. While no one in their right mind will walk away with the impression that kidnapping and assault will win a woman's heart, the impression will be formed in the subconscious (especially upon the young and impressionable) that yeah, she really does want it rough; yeah, she really does want you to force her around; yeah, they all like the bad boys after all; and yeah, "no" really means "yes", they just don't realize it. People mention S&M in regard to this movie. Irrelevant -- people who practice S&M do so based on trust and loving relationships; kidnapping is based on fear, mistrust, and violent force. The two are polar opposites of each other.

Even the scenes of sex and nudity are unnecessary and distracting. Wow, women masturbate. How shocking. Wow, people sweat and moan during sex. How exciting. None of it advances the plot much. The scenes only seem to be there to get that artsy-fartsy NC-17 rating, which supposedly adds a touch of class and respectability to an otherwise boring and tedious film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

very interesting, well done movie.

Author: randycandy from brooklyn, ny
11 September 2003

i think this movie is great. i really liked "talk to her" too. "tie me up tie me down" isn't quite as nice as "talk to her". but i like this one better than "all about my mother," which is "supposed to be" better. this movie was very interesting to me. i really got into it. antonio banderas isn't amazing or anything, but he does a pretty good job. it's a strange movie and i think it's very well done. i don't really know what to say about it, but i like this director a lot now.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Except for Banderas, not much to see here

6/10
Author: Spuzzlightyear from Vancouver
6 November 2005

Tie me up! Tie me down! is a film that is curiously tasteless and somewhat un-PC that I'm just curious whether Aldomovar was trying to up his shock level with his film. An ex-psycho-inmate kidnaps a second-rate actress to make her fall in love with him. Pretty soon, all of this bondage and submissiveness gets to the actress, and soon she falls for him. If this was filmed by any other director, this would have been totally exploitational, but since this is done by Pedro Aldomovar, who is known to push boundaries, we're left to assume that all of this is just another taboo-tip-toeing fantasy. Although this really didn't appeal to me that much, it's always a hoot to see Antonio Banderas as the bad-ass he was when he was in the Spanish film-making experience before he became the world's most famous English speaking Latin B-Actor. Victoria Abril is great too, but the film's content left much to be desired by me, and therefore I wouldn't be seeing this film again anytime soon..

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Geeze was it dumb or silly?

2/10
Author: Cameron Scholtz from Phoenix, AZ
11 September 2001

Both I guess. This movie reminded me of Buffalo 66 but at least that one seemed a bit real. This was a b-genre import at best. The acting was OK but the story was way dumb and too many implausible moments to count.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A waste of time

7/10
Author: gato from Mexico
16 April 2003

Almodovar really lost it with this movie. Attempting to achieve the greatness of his other films with commercial audacity, Almodovar loses control and deliver us a boring film with nothing new to be shocked about.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny Spanish comedy/romance/thriller

Author: JoeMan (filmbuffjoe@excite.com) from St. Louis
27 April 1999

Antonio Banderas plays Ricky, a young "saucy" ex-convict who gets out and kidnaps B movie actress Victoria Abril. The result is a dumb, unfunny little spanish film.

The NC-17 rating is unnecessary. It was used for a steamy scene between Banderas and Abril, and a scene where a toy scuba diver dives into Abril's err... underwater cave in the tub.

Not funny, dumb. Two-Stars

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny Spanish Film

1/10
Author: The Grand Master from Australia
5 December 2001

¡Átame! aka Tie me up! Tie me down! is a very unfunny Spanish comedy/drama/romance which seems like a longer version of a pornographic film. If I didn't know Antonio Banderas was going on his way to become a huge hollywood movie star, I'd think that he is pretty lame. But now, he's been in several good American films so all is forgiven.

For hardcore bondage fans who seem to get the thrill of seeing women tied up.

2 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A sexist piece of garbage

1/10
Author: preppy-3 from United States
24 March 2000

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

WARNING--SPOILERS AHEAD! Some previous posters have said this film is a masterpiece and not sexist. Oh really? The woman (Abril) is shown doing a really embarrassing thing with an underwater toy, is tied up repeatedly, threatened with a knife, gagged, hit (quite brutally) by Banderas and is constantly being verbally abused by him. But she ends up falling in love with him???????!!!!! What the hell was that? A woman has to be abused by a man to fall in love with him? That's not sexist? It's disgusting! To make matters worse Abril and Banderas give such good performances (easily Banderas' best) that it all looks believable. It all leads to a really stupid ending that made me want to throw something heavy at the screen. I see lots of movies and I've never been more offended than I was by this one. A sick, degrading, sexist piece of crap. Almodovar should be ashamed of himself.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history