IMDb > Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Átame!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! More at IMDbPro »Átame! (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 56 reviews in total 

Are We All Tied Up?

9/10
Author: Paul Du Charme III (pducharm@u.washington.edu) from United States
11 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Pedro Almodóvar creates an interesting film to add to the romantic comedy category. One is led to believe that this film is not a comedy until various plot devices reveal just how far Ricky (Antonio Banderas) is willing to go to capture the heart of Marina (Victoria Abril). Different perhaps from other films from Almodóvar, is the female centered plot. This time it is shared between both male and female. Ricky is released from a mental institute with various handyman skills that prove useful in his pursuit of Marina. Marina is a former porn star and drug addict. These two have met once before the story's events. After a short trip to the set in which Marina works, Ricky witnesses what should have been the end of the film being shot. It can then be inferred that Ricky is not the only one with an obsession with Marina, but also the director of the film being shot in the movie. Quickly after, Ricky quickly sets out to work on getting Marina to love him by giving her the chance to understand him. He makes his way into her apartment and ties her up. While Marina is relatively helpless against Ricky, being physically tied up, she has also tied Ricky up emotionally as he can think of nothing else but her. Perhaps not heartwarming in the soft sense, but his dedication and determination is something to be noted.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great film, but not Almodovar's best

7/10
Author: Rachel Walker from United States
7 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Atame is beautifully filmed, funny, and compelling. In true Almodovar style it is controversial, as the story implies a woman can be forced to love a man, and because the audience begins to identify with and root for the captor and abuser, rather than the victim. The acting is great and Antonio Banderas plays the role surprisingly well. The sexual tension between Abril and Banderas is played wonderfully. Despite the film's rating, the sexual scenes are not unnecessarily graphic. Atame is a great film that deals with a controversial topic, however it is not nearly as thought provoking or moving as many of Almodovar's other films including Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown and Talk to her.

Was the above review useful to you?

atame

10/10
Author: andizapatagj from Ecuador
4 February 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

one great movie. The best of almodovar till the date. The performances of banderas and abril are incredible as the script and direction of this crazy, sweet and incredible film of this extravagant Spanish genius. The most amazing thing of this movie is that it makes you wish the villain could win by the end of the movie and you're always rooting for the character of banderas even when you know what hes doing is wrong and that there are better ways to seduce a woman. You can understand him and later on even abril character ends up falling in love with him in own of the sweetest, smoothest and most romantic and passionate sex scenes in the movie history.

Was the above review useful to you?

atame

10/10
Author: andizapatagj from Ecuador
4 February 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

one great movie. The best of almodovar till the date. The performances of banderas and abril are incredible as the script and direction of this crazy, sweet and incredible film of this extravagant Spanish genius. The most amazing thing of this movie is that it makes you wish the villain could win by the end of the movie and you're always rooting for the character of banderas even when you know what hes doing is wrong and that there are better ways to seduce a woman. You can understand him and later on even abril character ends up falling in love with him in own of the sweetest, smoothest and most romantic and passionate sex scenes in the movie history.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A Blissful Blend Of Twisted Humour, Erotic Tension and Low-Brow Sexual Dilemmas

8/10
Author: Det_McNulty from London
9 December 2006

Pedro Almodóvar is certainly a controversial director and at first glance a lot of people consider him a man who exploits sex. In fact he does the complete opposite; he studies sexual relationships, sexual tension, sexual desires, lust and love. I've always considered him a remarkable director with the likes of his tightly "knitted" masterpiece Live Flesh and the evocative drama Talk to Her. Though not always appealing to the mass audience (being one of the directors with the dreaded NC-17 inappropriately labelling his films) he has succeeded in attracting critics, movie buffs and other directors to his films. With all the labels and controversy that Almodóvar has had shafted upon himself you'd be surprised at how differently you may interpret his films.

Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! Follows the exploits of a man called Ricky (played by Antonio Banderas) who gets let out an asylum and stalks an "actress/porn star" named Marina who he once had sex with. He decides to kidnap her and tie her up, while still feeling guilty at his behaviour he hopes Marina will fall in love with him. The story moves at a very exhilarating pace as the viewer becomes introduced to a series of generally bizarre characters. The film manages to perfectly show the two polar opposites of both Marina and Ricky, yet including the similarities of them both. Ricky is definitely not what you'd call likable and yet of the surface Marina has a vibrant, amiable personality around her. Then once you come to know Marina you'll become uncertain of her "innocent" personality.

The film's offbeat sexy style is certainly one that will provoke the viewer, but at times the sexiness is taken away by the character's actions which are important for showing what kind of people they're. Almodóvar's visual style is one that excites and differs between claustrophobia and then opening the wide world the characters are surrounded by to the viewer. I've always considered Almodóvar to use a distinct style that feels as if its theatre, a lot of the scenes feels very staged which I personally adore. The intelligent use of vivacious colour to show the isolating pop culture is one that exhilarates the general feel of the film.

The script manages itself so creatively around the characters, as you watch a character suddenly change personality you'll come to realise the script writing helps the scenes burst with charisma and charm. Even with all the charm and wit you'll still find yourself overwhelmed by a sense of outlandish creepiness that undertones the film. The passionate romance seems so unreal and only kicks in for the main characters as the film progresses. For a film that revolves around very little set pieces and characters you'll find yourself involved with the eccentric prowess. The film's superb use of music creates the tones with excellence.

The film is certainly not one that is realistic and rather relies on the extreme character's fantasies to decide a resolution of your own. Technically dazzling and structured with such ease there's nothing quite like an Almodóvar work of art. Comic virtuosity enables the film the enchanting versatility and for that you're bound to love it. Downright brilliant, Spanish cinema with an extensive cult appeal and one that manages to captivate and enthral at all times. Not a film for everyone, but I'd say it's one that you should definitely attempt if you're interested in art house cinema.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Wonderfully zany

7/10
Author: Tito-8 from North Bay, Ontario
4 August 1999

This is some more inspired insanity from Pedro Almodóvar, and so far, it is certainly my favourite Almodóvar film. There are many scenes in this film that are pure gold, and these more than make up for the occasional slow stretch, although these slow spots do keep the movie from being truly great. Abril and Banderas both give great performances as the leads, but really, the whole cast is effective. I just found this movie to have a wonderful mix of good storytelling with more than a little madness, and so I was left thoroughly satisfied.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

How can you love a kidnapper who ties you up to the bed?

Author: Ben Larson from Leesburg, FL
25 July 2011

I have a VHS copy of this that I have never opened. I don't know why, but it is one of the very few Almodovar films that I have not seen.

Antonio Banderas already had a couple of Almodovar films to his credit, and he was just 30 in this film.

The object of his desire is Victoria Abril, another Almodovar protégé, who appeared with Banderas in The Law of Desire.

The bathtub scene with the scuba diver is to die for.

Banderas kidnaps Abril and tries to get her to love him. Holy Stockholm Syndrome! Believe it or not, there is only one love scene in the movie, but it was spectacular.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

We had a nice time watching this!

Author: KGB-Greece-Patras
23 September 2004

As I see more and more of Almodovar, I understand that what I thought it was his usual madness (especially in his earlier films, like say, Labyrith of passion) is not present in every film he has made. I already regard myself an Almodovar completist, as I have seen most of his films, excluding HIGH HEELS, LAW OF DESIRE, LIVE FLESH and BAD EDUCATION. And, needless to say I like them all. Most of them, I love!

This one, unlike many others which go on around many different characters and absurdities, has two basic lead actors and a single story. His trademark weird, absurd humour/dialogs is still here, in a few bits, but that's not the thing here. ATAME is not a bad beginning for someone who hasn't seen Almodovar at all. The ending scene, when this beautiful song is sung is wonderfully executed, and it's a magnificent song!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

finally seen it it 2002

9/10
Author: (VANCE_LEE@ATTBI.COM) from seattle
9 August 2002

i gave this film a nine, it's not every day you see a film about a stalker that you start to root for. but hats off to almodovar for pulling this off.

as far as the acting, to see banderas, the raw banderas, the unhollywood one to go from love to anger in one scene was to see how hollywood is at times missing the boat.

as far as abril, at time she steals the scene by just blinking them in terror or by pulled in two directions.

i loved this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

a loving admirer kidnaps porn actress

10/10
Author: janturner-1 from United States
23 January 2006

This is a delightful romp full of humor, wit, and plot full of surprises; only the Italians could come up with something so fun and sexy! It is for adults, however, but few films are able to spin sex and psychology into pure comedy and childish delight. The film begins slowly, and once the kidnap begins, the viewer is at first fearful the film will become violent; but the surprise is that the film actually contains good taste and compassion in characters from whom that is the least expected. I do not understand, from a previous reviewer, how a school teacher could show this to students, but I could watch this with my parents and not get embarrassed. This is not for children, it would be for adult children and their parents! I saw this movie twice, and could watch it every few years. It is original, fun, yet tasteful.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history