IMDb > Night of the Living Dead (1990) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Night of the Living Dead
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Night of the Living Dead More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 20: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 197 reviews in total 

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not even close to the original

Author: BobK-3 from Lakewood, CA
29 October 1998

This flick does compare to the original. The first version, because it was in B&W, was much more surreal and scary. And the acting was a lot better. This one had no originality and was just a re-hash of the first one. And of course, to be politically correct, this one had to have a female hero, taking on the zombies. Naahhh.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The black and white movie is better

Author: anonymous
16 September 1998

Why do a lot of people like this piece of trash? The old Night of the living dead is way better 'cause it got way much better acting and it makes more sense than this movie. All the movie does repeat the same things what happened in the old movie. Like locking theirselves inside of their own house.

Does that gets boring after awhile??? And the actors stink. Like they don't remember their lines. Why does they want to kill each other? That real dumb. does they worried about the zombles coming after them?

Rated:*

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Why 6.6?

1/10
Author: vc1981 from Egypt
9 January 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I honestly can't see why, or how this movie got 6.6

I haven't yet seen the original movie. So the only explanation I can give to myself is that the original movie was a good one. Maybe people were inspired by the original one so they had to like the 1990 Night of the living dead

As for me, this movie is a Poor acting, poor Plot and, finally a waste of time.

I only liked one sentence said by Barbra "We are them and they are us" as far as I can remember.

The film is very short. Bad feelings began to arise between the characters in no time. Why did Ben and Harry fight for the TV? Why did Barbra kill Harry at the end? Why did Ben turn to a living dead although we didn't see him get bitten?

Can anyone tell me?

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

same basic plot, better gore and better barbara.

7/10
Author: Marc Rhodes-Taylor from United Kingdom
26 October 2014

just watched this and thoroughly enjoyed it! same basic plot as the 1968 original, so not particularly surprising, but very well done. savini does some great work here, and the move up to colour enhances the gore effects, which are certainly more gruesome than the first. music is not so good, the original had a better score, and goblin's work is also better, nothing wrong with the score but nothing catchy/moody as could be. one of the best aspects is, of course, watching how quickly people's civilised exteriors fall away under pressure. tallman is notable as a very different, much stronger barbara, another one of the good differences, there is also more time spent on the aftermath as we see more of the rednecks and the remaining humans. recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of em Good ol' Zombie flick

9/10
Author: Daario Naharis
24 May 2014

The original version is very old and I din bother to see it. I was in the mood of watching a good old fashioned zombie movie and this certainly catered to my needs.

Watch the movie with an unbiased opinion and you'll even love it. Not one of those high-fi zombie movies like Resident evil but one of the originals.

The Zombies are slow and dumb. Doesn't mean they are on easy mode. This is the way they were supposed to be; the ancestors of today's mutated zombies. This was the way they were meant to be. This movie was meant to be and it sure does a swell job of what it was originally meant to be.

You will love it if you love Zombie movies.

Amen!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Night of the Living Dead is Not to Dread

7/10
Author: askewglasses from Canada
17 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

George A. Romero wrote the screenplay again, and Tom Savini, who was in charge of the effects for Dawn of the Dead (1978) and Day of the Dead (1985), takes over the directing chair this time.This movie takes a fresh new look at the original characters. And I think that it takes the already good characters and updates them accordingly. Most noticeable is the change between the Barbra's. In the first one Barbra becomes almost catatonic and was a very interesting psychologically. But this one she becomes much more independent and almost forms the background of the group. Now aside from the characters, this movie doesn't really add anything to the original. So it improves on the characters but the parts similar to the original that were already great aren't changed or made better.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

tom savini directed remake of a classic romero film *possible spoilers*

6/10
Author: michellelocke007 from Canada
15 September 2010

i admired the fact that they remade this film for the 1990s and did a pretty good job with the end result. relying more on dialogue than just sheer gore and violence to keep the audience's attention, this film is definitely worth a second look. it was nice to see the main character named only as barbara develop from a once meek and frightened thing into a strong-willed, feisty and independent person who can hold her own against the hordes of the un-dead. she starts thinking for herself and finding different tactics to over-come the zombies as they descend on the small farmhouse she is holed up in with several other survivors. upon finding refuge, she meets another line survivor named ben played by tony todd famous for his role in the horror franchise candyman. i respected ben's take charge attitude and not letting anyone tell him differently. he always kept everyone in line and was open to suggestions and ideas on how they can continue to survive in such desperate times. tom towles who has a knack for portraying sleazy and despicable characters does a great turn as harry cooper, a man you love to hate. he merely scoffs at the others as they try their hardest to keep their spirits up and find means of survival. while he mocks and ridicules their ideas, he does nothing in aiding them except insisting the safest part of the farmhouse is the basement where his wife and ill child are being kept. one is just itching for someone to kill him off but you know by the end he's going to get what's coming to him one way or another. i however, did not like the character of judy rose who i found was just annoying and grating on the nerves. for most of the picture she's just screaming, crying and having a lengthy emotional breakdown while doing little else. it's difficult to sympathize with her as most of the time you just want to slap her to shut her up. i was thankful when she finally got killed off towards the end. otherwise a fine and intelligent update of a classic zombie flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Decent if unnecessary remake

6/10
Author: ctomvelu1 from United States
6 July 2010

This 1990 remake of the 1968 zombie classic comes as a pleasant surprise. Director Tom Savini follows the original closely, almost scene for scene, but with the addition of color photography and a gun-toting female lead. The original's shell-shocked heroine always annoyed me. A young Tony Todd stars. The zombies are nicely done and reasonably scary, and Savini surprised me by making the film slightly less gory than one might have expected. There is one funny moment, when the heroine keeps clobbering a fat bald zombie over the head with a fireplace poker. It is plain that the guy's head, seen from the back, is just a rubber prosthetic. Instead of splitting the guy's skull in two, the poker continually bounces off his head. Watch for the final hit as this particular zombie goes down for the count. It is priceless. It's every bit as funny as the scene in the original where the zombies, in closeup, eat various parts of some folks who were burned to a crisp in a truck fire.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Dead walk again in this remake, which isn't quite forgettable, but it's still nothing to get worked up about

6/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
22 April 2010

George A. Romero's original 1968 horror masterpiece "Night of the Living Dead" is just that - a horror masterpiece, and a bona-fide landmark horror film that gave birth to an entire sub-genre of horror. Romero followed it up 10 years later in 1978 with the superior sequel "Dawn of the Dead," my personal favorite horror movie of all time and my favorite zombie movie of all time. 1985 saw the premiere of the second sequel, the somber yet effective "Day of the Dead," and concluded the series with "Land of the Dead" (2005). 2007 saw the high-tech, revisionist "Diary of the Dead."

We know that in 1968, seven people barricaded themselves inside a decrepit farmhouse on the Pennsylvania countryside from the hordes of flesh-hungry zombies on the outside. And in 1990, Romero approached his right-hand special effects man Tom Savini to direct the remake of his 1968 landmark horror masterpiece.

The two best things that can be said about Savini's remake is that the special effects and gore are better and the acting is slightly improved and the characters are a bit smarter than those in the original (though this can be explained by the fact that 22 years passed between 1968 and 1990, which was more than enough time for zombie lore to be effectively fleshed out by zombie movie fan sub-culture, and the filmmakers rightfully took a few of their cues from the source material).

Like a lot of remakes, "Night of the Living Dead" is pretty by-the-numbers all the way through and neatly repeats many of the most significant events of the original. However, there are a few differences, some of them are actually quite good, while others are not-so-good. For example, the film's heroine Barbara (Patricia Tallman) is no longer the near-catatonic screamer she was in the original. Here she eventually "nuts up" (so to speak) and learns to carry a rifle (and later a revolver) in order to effectively defend herself and others from the legions of the living dead trying to munch on warm human flesh. (It's the work of some post-"Aliens" cinematic feminism at work here.)

Ben (Tony Todd, the understated and underused actor who would later play Candyman is an adequate substitute for the late Duane Jones, but doesn't approach the late actor's intensity or heroism) leads the survivors because he is the only one with a level head and a truck with a near-empty tank of gas as their only means of transportation. He's also quick and resourceful and brave, qualities a lot of his cohorts don't share. (Duane Jones was also notable in the original for being the strong black hero, with no reference made to his skin color.) Of course, he butts heads with the arrogant Harry Cooper (Tom Towles), who was hiding in the cellar with his wife Helen (McKee Anderson), injured daughter Sarah (Heather Mazur), and a young couple named Tom (William Butler) and Judy Rose (Katie Finneran). Tom and Judy Rose both make themselves useful in helping to barricade the house from the zombies outside along with Barbara once she snaps out of her catatonia state.

To be fair to Savini, he does a good job of mounting the tension and dread from the get-go. But where he falters is the by-the-numbers plot; I would think that Romero would take a few hints to not be so by-the-numbers in writing the screenplay to a remake of his own film. Of course, since this is Savini's film, after all, the special effects are top-notch. The zombies here all look like they were once living people, and the spectacular make-up effects employed here are skillful in making them look like real-life walking cadavers. The effects also give way to some pretty startling imagery, such as one zombie that is seen carrying a baby doll and another who was clearly a heroin junkie and is seen with a telltale needle dangling out of his arm.

When the movie ends, it's the same as the original, but some details are quite different because Savini's film ends on a slightly more positive note, with some ham-fisted social commentary (about Us being not-so-different from Them) for good measure.

"Night of the Living Dead" is not a bad film because it does have some significant improvements from the original, but like most remakes it was unnecessary and seemed to be a bit of a cash-grab. Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" was remade in 2004 by Zack Snyder; true zombie movie fans and fans of Romero's original need to check it out because it scared the living daylights out of me when I first saw it. "Day of the Dead" also received a very poor direct-to-video remake in 2008.

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

''They're us. We're them and they're us.''

6/10
Author: lost-in-limbo from the Mad Hatter's tea party.
14 October 2009

Specialist make-up FX maestro Tom Savani (who was involved in Romero's sequels 'Dawn' and 'Day') would helm the 90's b-grade remake of the 1968 George Romero influential classic b/w zombie horror 'Night of the Living Dead'. What big boots to fill, but Savani's craftsmanship is earnestly pull off by keeping it quite faithful (same idea, little changes) with only the last 10 minutes deciding to put a spin on its original sources. The angle it went for in the dying stages was effectively pitched with some striking imagery and a blunt message on society. Other than the opening stages (with Bill Moseley chanting "They're coming to get you, Barbara!"), it's probably the most interesting act in the film too. Even though I enjoyed it, something still seemed to be missing… possibly atmosphere. Less moodily dark atmospherics, more glaringly forceful jolts and gory flesh. The special effects and make-up FX was simply first-rate, but while the simple, grim plot ensures an air tight build-up it never really struck any sort of dread induced intensity or even thrilling urgency. In the end it was less threatening, and didn't have the punch. The original was much cheaper, but benefited from that rawness. The tension stewed from the pressure and stress between the characters with some riveting clashes of egos. Tony Todd is an obvious standout with that imposing presence and booming voice in what is an unyielding performance as Ben. Tom Towles is great as the pig-headed Gary Cooper. These two really did hold you there, even though the script is rather wonky with some questionable aspects. Patricia Tallman gives a fine performance as Barbara… but this is a different type of Barbara to the 60s take, which could be a disappointment. The rest of the theatrical performances are suitably tailored. Respectable update on Savani's part.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 20: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history