IMDb > Bird on a Wire (1990) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bird on a Wire
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bird on a Wire More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 51 reviews in total 

32 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Good standard dumb action movie!!

Author: Thomas Jolliffe (supertom-3) from Marlow, England
6 January 2005

This is a middle of the road but enjoyable action comedy. John Badham a veteran of the action genre handles proceedings with flair and paces the movie well. The film hardly lulls despite a someone choppy ending set in a zoo. The film is routine but gets by with the likable leads, Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn. Gibson was making a name for himself as an action man by this time having already done 3 Mad Max films and 2 Lethal Weapon movies. Gibson's everyman likability and at the same time tough guy physique worked well in these movies, despite wasting his acting ability, with the exception of a great role in Lethal Weapon. At the same time as Gibson evading death by the pursuing dirty lawmen, David Carradine and Bill Duke, Goldie Hawn seems to be in her very own light-hearted Goldie movie about the posh bird who learns there is more to life than money and essentially she is still acting from her previous movie, Overboard. Despite this Hawn is likable and has good chemistry with Gibson. The trademark showing of her ass is once again here and Hawn parades her derrière in her movies even more than Jean-Claude Van Damme. The film also features the gorgeous and future queen of soft core, erotic, B-movies Joan Severance.

The film has some good action scenes and plenty of on screen carnage and thanks to Badhams brisk direction it engages. The story maybe wafer thin but the film moves by so quickly it is difficult not to enjoy. The chemistry between the two leads more than make up for the clichéd by the numbers performances of the bad guys Carradine and Duke. Carradine is so far from his great performance in Kill Bill 2 that you have to wonder why it takes so much inspiration to coax a performance from the man whose wooden demeanour has led to him being a B-movie staple for nearly 20 years.

Overall this is enjoyable stuff and typical of the sort of harmless and moronic fun action movies of the 80's. ***

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

fun romantic comedy-chase thriller

Author: weezeralfalfa from United States
12 August 2008

Beats me why so many people want to trash this action-packed screwball romantic comedy-chase thriller. Instead of comparing it to other Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn films, I compare it to basically similar type films, such as "What's Up Doc?", "Smokey and the Bandit", "High Road to China", "The Big Steal"(perhaps the granddaddy of this type of film) and, more recently, some of the Jackie Chan films. The stunts have gotten much wilder and more numerous in recent decades, including in this film. I love both Goldie Hawn and Mel Gibson as actors, and to have them together in this type of film is just great.

Gibson gets things started with a scary practical joke on his coworker. Goldie, a divorced lawyer, happens to drive into the gas station where Gibson is working and thinks she recognizes her almost husband of 15 years ago. He seemingly convinces her she is mistaken, being embarrassed about the circumstances of his sudden disappearance. Goldie returns in the evening to spy on him from across the street. Apparently, she intended to follow his car home, but instead witnesses a confrontation with 2 men intent on killing him. The assailants accidentally kill his coworker. Gibson manages to burst out of the garage in a car, but it is soon wrecked. He sees Goldie and pleads that she let him in her car, acknowledging that he is who she thinks he is. As the station explodes in a fireball, they drive off in a hail of bullets, with a murder charge soon to be filed against them. They're off to the races! Sound promising?

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

This movie is really good.

Author: Soledad-2 from Miami, Florida
3 January 2000

Don't pay attention to negative reviews. This movie is really good and I'm sure everyone will enjoy it as much as I did. Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn are a wonderful couple and their performance is excellent. Don't wait any longer ... rent it right now!

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

bad day at the zoo for Mel and Goldie

Author: blanche-2 from United States
30 July 2005

The star power of Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn help this 1990 action film, which is about a witness protection program refugee who reconnects by accident with his old girlfriend. The two then run to avoid the people after him. And run and run and run.

There are so many chase scenes in this movie, I lost count, but they lead to a very effective finale in the zoo. I enjoyed this movie because of its two stars. I thought they had great chemistry and repartee.

The movie is short on plot and character development, you know, things that one would occasionally enjoy seeing in a film, and long on action, charm, Mel's rear, Goldie's figure, and fashion. On this basis, I found it enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Average Action/Comedy

Author: Devin (d_e_v_i_n-1)
22 March 2005

Rick has been given a new identity by the FBI for helping convict a drug dealing FBI agent. Fifteen years later his former fiancé recognizes him. Rick's FBI 'minder' has been replaced by a corrupt agent who helps the drug dealing FBI agent and his accomplice locate him. There are many subsequent chase scenes as Rick and girlfriend revisit his former haunts.

Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn star in this exciting action comedy. Strangely this got allot of negative reviews, but just ignore them. This is an average action/comedy. It should be fun for everyone in the family.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Lethal Weapon on a Wire

Author: Elswet from .: Fiendish Writings in the Dark :.
22 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This feature was a bold attempt to capture the magic of the first two Lethal Weapons, only this time with Goldie Hawn rather than Danny Glover. While it does fail to attain the same chemistry, it carries a different chemistry all its own.

Mel Gibson portrays Rick Jarmin, whose character plays about 8 different "personalities," which effectively demonstrate his incredible depth and range as an actor. Goldie Hawn is her usual, adorable, professional self. Goldie is a rare breed, indeed, as she is quite the professional while maintaining that girlish quality that the masses do hold dear.

The plot is simple, but the sub-plots are more than enough to entertain. Rick Jarmin has turned state's evidence against ex-DEA agents-turned-drug-dealers. Since, he's been in the federal witness protection program. But when he is spied and cornered by an ex-girlfriend (Goldie Hawn), he realizes he must relocate once more. Upon discovering his agent has retired, and the new one is a treacherous worm, he must go on the run, find his address book, and locate his old agent for help, all the while he's being chased and hunted by current DEA and FBI agents and the two men against whom he's testified.

It was a lot of fun watching Gibson's personalities change as his character went from one life to the next looking for help, and making his way towards his address book.

The action sequences were quite good, the comedic presence was well timed and expertly delivered, and the movie runs to a satisfying conclusion.

While it is far from Oscar-worthy, it is really quite entertaining.

It rates a 7.3/10 from...

the Fiend :.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Nice, entertaining

Author: Willy_D from Czech Republic
23 July 2007

I don't think this movie is as bad as some comments say, it is not a hit, but it is just the kind of movie I like very much and that IMHO are not being made anymore. It's a classical 90's easy-going action/comedy that won't disappoint anybody, who is not looking for a complicated plot and surprising end :)

I really enjoyed watching this movie, especially thanks to a beautiful couple made by Mel Gibson and Golide Hawn. It's just one of those movies you can watch over and over again and it sill keeps you entertained (well, the final scene seems a little boring to me...).

If you are looking for a nice action/comedy, check this one out, you won't be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

I Dug It!, It's A Lot Of Fun With Lots Of Laughs And Awesome Performances!

Author: callanvass
11 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I dug it!, it's a lot of fun, with lots of laughs and awesome performances!. Most of the critics panned this film, however i had a lot of fun with it, plus Mel Gibson is always a huge bonus in any film he's in!. It has plenty of action, and all the characters were great, plus Mel Gibson and Goldie Hawn had great chemistry together!. However i wish they wouldn't have wasted David Carradine, he is a brilliant actor in my opinion and deserved more screen time. I was expecting this to be nothing but average, however what i got was a very solid and quite enjoyable little Acton/Comedy with fun performances all around. The plot is kind of silly, and Goldie did get on my nerves a couple times, however almost all of Gibson's wisecracks are hilarious, and the finale was really cool, plus some of the stunts were great!. Overall i dug this a lot and i highly recommend it!. The Direction is very good. John Badham does a very good job here, with great camera work, good angles, and keeping the film at a very fast pace!. The Acting is awesome!. Mel Gibson is AMAZING as always, and is hilarious here, he is extremely likable, kicks that ass, had awesome chemistry with Goldie Hawnn, and is really one of his most underrated films, and he does what does best, and i always love that! (Gibson Rules!). Goldie Hawn is excellent here for the most part, however she did get on my nerves a couple times, still for the most part she was likable and pretty funny!. David Carradine is AMAZING as always, and is very good as the main villain, he does not have that much screen time and was kind of wasted in my opinion, he still rocks though! (Carradine rules!). Bill Duke does his usual thing as the henchman and does it well. Stephen Tobolowsky is good as the weasel. Joan Severance is okay here and nothing more. Overall i highly recommend this!. ***1/2 out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

It was entertaining and funny!

Author: gambilljen from United States
27 January 2007

OK, so this may not be the best movie, in fact, its not really good in a sense of writing and such, but it is fun and enjoyable. Goldie Hawn and Mel Gibson don't really have the best chemistry, but there not really suppose to throughout most of the movie. Both do good in their characters, and the acting from everyone who played in it was not bad. The movie does have a few cheesy moments, and of course the movie is far from being believable, but its fine. Besides the humor, what saves this movie is the action. Good action, not particularly original or suspenseful, but its fun and highly entertaining, which is what you should want in an action/comedy.

Overall the movie is for people interested in the actors, or those who want an action comedy.

I rate it a 7/10 PG-13-Action Violence, Some Sexual Content/Nudity, and Language (this isn't a kids movie either).

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

A great "Man's Movie"

Author: wa5swd from United States
6 February 2007

I love this movie but my wife hates it!

This one combined great actors, comedy, action, bad guys, good guys, women, strong women, lions, tigers, (no bears), drama, explosions, gunfire, helicopters, deception, impossible situations and narrow escapes.

Now I ask you. What else are you looking for? Education and information? The ballet it is not, although there is some action high on buildings.

If you are male or like male type movies, you can't go wrong!

Goldie is delicious as always, Mel Gibson is, well, Mel Gibson!

This movie is a action thriller comedy that moves from start to finish!

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history