Tiny Toon Adventures (TV Series 1990–1995) Poster

(1990–1995)

User Reviews

Add a Review
36 Reviews
Sort by:
A great series
Alexis (griffin84)7 May 2003
This was one of my favorite series. I used to come home from school and turn it on instantly, I couldn't stop watching it.

The plot was pretty simple: The original Looney Tunes characters have now become professors at the Acme Looniversity, a school for younger toons. What I really liked about this show was that they had so many different types of humor that applied to such a broad audience. From Buster's quick wit, Babs's endless amount of props and imitations, Plucky's wild takes, GoGo's wackiness, or Elmyra and Max's slapstick: it always brought a smile to my face.

Though some of the humor did seem a bit "mature" for such a young audience, it never stopped me from watching it. I just wish that they had kept making more shows.
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A groundbreaking show. Seriously.
lockemaison15 December 2005
It's now 2005 and 15+ years since this cartoon first aired. I haven't actually watched it seriously or closely in about 10 years. Now that I'm an adult in my 30s I can look back with a serious eye as I watch the episodes again.

In concept, the cartoon is partly an homage to the classic Looney Tunes but also its own original show. There are a few episodes that are structured like the old cartoons. For example, there is a singer that attacks Buster and so he exacts revenge on this singer's concert -exactly like the old Bugs Bunny cartoon. The ensuing cartoon is similar to Looney Tunes, just in a different era. If you look at the old Looney Tunes, they did an awful lot of stuff exactly like Tiny Toons did. The old Looney Tunes made a lot of social commentary and parody. There were celebrity impersonations. There were a lot of corny period jokes, slang, and dialog. The comedy was surreal and wacky. You can say this exactly for Tiny Toons as well. The comedy styling is 'spiritually' the same. Most definitely a throwback to the classics which hadn't been done well (if at all) in cartoons in the decades prior to this show. We recognize the cultural references in Tiny Toons and we can roll our eyes when something we don't like comes up. But the reason we don't think Looney Tunes are corny is because we weren't alive back in the 40s. Also, Looney Tunes was original back in those days but today cartoons are rehashed over and over. So it's easy to perceive Tiny Toons in an unfair light due to our exposure to current events and our overexposure to cartoons in general.

There certainly are differences in many respects - the timing, the delivery, and obviously the duration of the shows. They are two different styles from two different periods, being done under two very different circumstances - Looney Tunes being made for adults in theaters and Tiny Toons being made for kids watching TV. Even so, they did a good job making an original show with original gags AND still paying homage to and patterning after the comedy stylings of the old Looney Tunes.

Since Tiny Toons had a lot more time to play with, they had some genuine moments of great animated inspiration. You only have to look at episodes like 1 minute to 3, the baby Plucky toilet episode.. there are so many more. For example, one of the best comedy dialog exchanges ever animated is in ThirteenSomething when Babs and Buster are on the phone in a split screen, hoping each misses the other. The miscommunication is spectacular. Notably, the character development in this episode and in several others (usually the ones penned by Deanna Oliver or Sherri Stoner) is rather good. The female characters were taken seriously as personalities and developed, unusual considering the opposite is usually true for cartoons of that period.

This was the first modern cartoon that had lots of both pop culture-referential and self-referential humor. This was way ahead of its time. Tiny Toons really opened up a door for writers to take comic liberties that are so common in the cartoons today, instead of doing the boring old crap we endured as 80s kids. Yes, I loved Transformers and Thundercats, but Tiny Toons totally jumped away from all that. It was a breath of fresh air. Bakshi's New Adventures of Mighty Mouse may have been a precursor, but Tiny Toons made this surreal style of comedy cartoon writing a real success.

As a kid I totally overlooked some jokes. For example, one episode is an homage to the Marx Brothers that I completely ignored as a teen. Now I have a newfound respect for it. There are so many inspired gags that I never noticed that are genuinely brilliant. It's that kind of comedy that makes me think of Looney Tunes and Family Guy. I NEVER noticed that kind of comedy as a kid. I've been thinking this for most episodes I watched recently.

You'd notice these kinds of things if you actually WATCHED the show. Unlike some other reviewers here who I know are unfairly judging it, I've seen all the episodes and have thought about them thoroughly, exposed both as a kid and as an adult.

You can tell there was an awful lot of care taken with the voice acting too. I'm not talking about just the main characters, but the side characters were done really well and creatively too. But back to the main characters, some of the main characters were brilliant. Tress MacNeille had, in my opinion, her best performances in this cartoon. She hasn't been the same since. Rob Paulsen also did some incredible stuff here, too.

This is all not to say the show didn't have some bad episodes. It had plenty. It had a lot of mediocre ones, too. But by far it certainly had a lot of genuinely funny episodes. Especially back when it first aired it was actually funny to watch.

Out of 10 I give the show an 8.5 - and kudos for pushing the envelope and breaking down the doors leading to a new era of cartoons.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Tiny Toon Adventures!
Movie Nuttball15 August 2004
When this show was on I watched it every time I could! I thought that the characters were really funny and all had great personalities. The animation in My opinion was crisp, clean, and really clear. Not to mention beautiful! Most of the characters in this show are like the older Looney Tunes characters that we all love. These I believe are just as funny and as talented. In fact, Some of them are arguably funnier than the originals! The things that goes on in this series' cartoons are in My opinion nuts which that is what makes them hilarious! There are so many to like and laugh at and the silly things they do! If you like the original Looney Tunes then I strongly recommend that you watch Tiny Toon Adventures!

Movie Nuttball's NOTE:

If you like Tiny Toons then I also recommend Taz-Mania and Animaniacs!
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best spin off series of the Looney Tunes
emasterslake19 June 2006
Unlike the average Looney Tunes, this series contains characters resembling Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, etc.

Their younger, hipper, and have different attitudes.

Buster Bunny and Babs Bunny are the stars of the show. While they're accompanied by other crazy and funny characters.

Every episode is like seeing a Looney Tune short. Only set in the 90s and the gags are the same.

You get to see the old school Looney Tunes appearing in a few episodes every now and then. The Tiny Tunes go to Acme University to learn how to be funny from the Looney tunes. Often you'd see Foghorn Leghorn or Bugs Bunny as a Teacher in most episodes.

Best of all this is one of the earliest Spielberg cartoons. Because Spielberg likes Looney Tunes so he produced this series. And sometimes includes himself in a few episodes.

It's a must see series. And probably one of the best things from the early 90s. It only lasted for 3 seasons. And hope one day it'll be available to own on DVD. It's also something that the whole family can watch. Those who grew up watching it still love it, and the new generation may enjoy it too.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Classic...
Ginger8730 July 2004
Tiny Toon Adventures is one of the cutest shows I ever watched. I grew up watching them and I still watch them when I get a chance to on Nicktoons. The Tiny Toons were always there to give me give me good laughs and the characters are so cute! My favorites are Babs and Buster bunny, they are so funny and so cute. I also like Furball and I feel so bad for him. The Tiny Toons is a classic like Bugs Bunny and the Looney Toons. The Tiny Toons deserve a full:10/10 stars. P.S. Thank you Steven Spielberg for all the good laughs and thank you all cast members for your excellent voice talents on this classical show.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Classic Show!
crazychap18 November 2004
I remember when I was a kid, I always fancied an endless series of cartons, ranging since the dawning of television. The Flintstones, The Jetsons, the Smurfs, The Chipmunks (old and new), Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles (as it was called in the UK and in Europe), Batman, Tom and Jerry (both versions) and, of course, Tiny Toons.

Every time I arrived home from school (my father could afford American channels),I would watch the various cartoons aired (remember that London is 5 hours ahead of NY), re-airing of previous episodes appeared on WGN at 1030 PM UK time (but I usually watched them on Saturday afternoons) and was impressed by all their antics and jokes. The Tune theme, like those of the classics and TMHT, really influenced me and I would always sing and play it at music class. Tiny Toons was one of the shows that brought me to the world of the film industry and changed My whole life. Unlike most of today's cartoon's and even its succesor series Animaniacs and Tazmania, this one has a sense of charm and originality that stands the test of time, just all classic cartoon shows. One of the best shows of the early '90s and of all time!

Even know, living on my own flat at and in my final year at Cambridge, I would embrace many of those childhood moments and would still feel like as if time didn't truly pass. I enjoy the show now at the age of 20 every Inch as much as when I was between 7 and 9 years old!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Brilliant
V-Money10 June 2001
One of the funniest and smartest cartoon series ever. Tiny Toon Adventures was one of the sharpest, wackiest, and most beloved cartoons of my childhood. Kids will love it for it's slapstick and conventional humor, whereas adults will get a kick out of its pop-culture savviness and satirical nature. Like most older Warner Brothers cartoons, the show was full of inside jokes about the entertainment industry, self-referential humor, some lightweight sexual innuendos and witty social commentary. It featured plenty of crazy characters, memorable songs and is definitely a classic from the early nineties. I loved it when I was 9 and continue to do so at 20!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Best Cartoon Ever
Brett Walter2 July 2002
They just don't make cartoons like they used to. This one had wit, great characters, and the greatest ensemble of voice over artists ever assembled for a daytime cartoon show. This still remains as one of the highest rated daytime cartoon shows, and one of the most honored, winning several Emmy Awards.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good for kids and cartoon lovers.
tweiss198115 March 2001
C'mon, people, this show wasn't THAT bad. I know it got a little preachy, had a lightweight premise and Kennedy cartoons (established by shuffling feet, cigar chewing mouths, and excessive stretching/bouncing), but past all that, "Tiny Toon Adventures" is a good cartoon. I watched it from it's premiere in 1990 until they stopped it in 1992. "Tiny Toons" was an attempt to return to making more respectable cartoons for young 'uns, and I congratulate Steven Spielberg and Warner Brothers on that.

About the characters: The guys in this cartoon fare nicely. Buster Bunny is neutral; not great, but not aggravating, either. There's nothing wrong with him. Plucky Duck is the funny man, and his straight man Hamton is always his friend/target (as in Batduck, where Hammy became Decoy, the Pig Hostage). Montana Max was definitely one of the better characters/stronger villains. Plus, Dizzy Devil probably got Taz some more recognition, too.

As for the females, well...most of them need a little work. Babs Bunny kinda sorta got annoying. She doesn't seem to have much personality (more than Lola Bunny of Space Jam, I'll give her that), just a whirlwind of impressions and voices. Sweetie Bird is no Tweety, actually, she's quite loud and tough! Shirley the Loon is a character with a valley girl voice and attitude, but she doesn't really seem to have a Looney Tune counterpart. Is she Foghorn Leghorn's, or maybe Miss Prissy's? Political correctness, I tell 'ya. Elmyra? *shudder* ...Let's just say that SOME Elmyra is okay, too much Elmyra is bad. That leaves me to believe Fifi La Fume is probably the best leading female character (still, she's no Pepe Le Pew, my ultimate fave Looney Tune). Take her away from the 'Pepe chase' scenario (trust me, they show Pepe just can't be duplicated) and put her in a 'Babs, Shirley 'n me' episode and she's getting my vote as 'Best Female Tiny Toon'. (good example: The Amazing Three)

Overall, I say give it a shot. You might just like it. After all these years, "Tiny Toons" still has a large fanbase. And hey, this cartoon more than likely needed to get the success it's had, otherwise we'd probably never have gotten other shows like "Animaniacs" and the like.

In-joke: (also listed as a gag credit) On the "Tiny Toons Music Television" tape they picture on this page, they have Elmyra lead in the 'Name Game' and all the Tiny Toons' names get rhymed except Plucky. (Don't ask why!)
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
God Bless You, Steven Spielberg
Leif Sanchez7 August 2015
When I was, like, 4 or 6, I was watching some classic show on Nicktoons, when I saw some of episodes of Tiny Toon Adventures, it feels like great cartoon for kids. Steven Spielberg did a good job on producing that show, while he was making his movies. The moments I've watch Tiny Toons, the better I like to watch them, over and over again. And now, in 2015, I'm getting better on watching the episodes, I've been thinking of making a cel animated TV Special and/or short film, for a Tiny Toons Reunion/Comeback. Maybe someday, I will bring Tiny Toons back, when I graduate from CalArts, finish my first animated feature, and help to get Don Bluth, back on his director's chair, and make a Tiny Toons movie, on the big screen, which will win some Oscars, for Best Picture, Animated Feature, Writing Screenplay, Original Score/Song, etc.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cartoons of the 90's: Tiny Toons
FloatingOpera720 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Steven Spieldberg Presents Tiny Toon Adventures (1990-1993): Starring Charles Adler, Tress MacNeill, Joe Alaskey, Don Messick, Gail Matthius, Maurice LaMarche, Frank Welker, Rob Paulsen, Cree Summer, Candi Milo, Kath Soucie. Director Ken Boyer, Writer Charles Adler From 1990 to 1993, when I was 10-13, I remember coming home to watch my favorite cartoons, Tiny Toons. The premise: The Looney Tunes (Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Elmer Fudd, Porky Pig, etc) are now professors of ACME University in a beautiful, grassy cartoon land called Acme Acres. The Tiny Toons are the students of the university. The lead characters were Buster and Babs Bunny (NO relation!), Plucky Duck and Hampton J. Pig. The cartoons followed their adventures as a group and as individuals. Sometimes, the episodes had no formal plot and worked effectively like cartoon versions of Saturday Night Live sketch comedy, including parodies of MTV and other early 90's inside jokes/spoofs. I was surprised at the time as I am now that director Steven Spieldberg was behind production of these cartoons. Dozens of episodes in the course of about three to four seasons. These cartoons were well-written and far more enjoyable than today's anime garbage cartoons. Buster Bunny (Charles Adler) and Babs Bunny (Tress McNeill) were adventurous, witty, and heroic, always managing to extract justice, usually when their rival college tried to humiliate them. Buster was practical, resourceful and controlled but Babs had a strong desire to attract attention and wanted to be a star. She was sort of like Lucille Ball. She was very animated in more ways than one. Their evil counterparts were Roderick and Rubella Rat. Plucky Duck was a selfish, greedy, scheming individual and Hampton was a sweet, clean and shy pig. Shirley the Loon was a Buddhist, hippie, New Age chick with a Valley Girl accent. Fifi Lefume was the female version of Pepe LePew the amorous French skunk. I can't describe how entertaining this show was. Admittedly, the writing was so good that it was really above the intelligence level of younger children. It was actually a cartoon that could be better appreciated by young adults and older adults. There were tons of inside jokes. There were references to Albert Einstein's theories, New Age stuff like animal rights (maybe PETA was behind the making of this show LOL) stuff about the soul, the Acme University theme music was in actuality Brahms' Academic Festival Overture and many other things. Another hilarious figure was Elmyra, a sort of female Elmer Fudd girl. She was mentally retarded and abused pets without knowing it! Another one was Montana Max, a rich, spoiled young kid who was a nasty piece of work. The cartoon series lasted for quite a while as it was actually successful and the ratings were high. They even released a film that went to VHS, "How I Spent My Summer Vacation" sometime around 1992 or early 1993 at the height of the show's success. I don't recall every episode in perfect detail but it was so enjoyable to watch these characters scheme and engage in adventures. I hope they can bring these cartoons back on DVD.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Another one of my "Old-Time" favorite classics
dng200030 August 2003
I'm a great fan of many American cartoon classics which include Looney Toons, The Flintstones, The Jetsons, Tom and Jerry, and such. The Tiny Toon characters are as adorable as their "parents" in Looney Toons. Tiny Toon was released when I was 8 years old and I was already too familiar with Looney Toons (it was on Nickelodeon back then). It became more attractive not only because the episodes were hilarious and funny but because I was a kid and those Tiny Toon characters were kids as well. To be honest, I really felt I get along with Buster Bunny and Dizzy Devil more than Bugs Bunny and Tazmanian Devil because they were "adults" and we're "kids." Anyway, this is one of the many best shows to show all of our next generation about the uniqueness and originality of American television.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
one of my favs
speaking_up14 July 2003
Judging by the review Francisco Huerta from Mexico City gave this show, I can only assume that it does not translate well into spanish. All i know is this was the show for which i ran home every day afterschool to see.

I wouldnt puck any real stock in their theme song -- its one of those that gets stuck in your head it introduces the main characters, explains the premise of the show a little (for first time viewers)

The idea of the show is that cartoons come in generations and the old teach the new (somewhat like real life) at Acme Looniversity. To acquaint younger viewer with the older characters, spielberg has given each of the older characters a younger protege

Bugs Bunny -- Buster Bunny Honey (from the show) -- Babs Bunny Babs is a girl bunny so i guess she somewhat resembles lola from space jam but she was never referenced. there was a whole episode explaining how all the other kids have mentors except her so they created one for her Daffy Duck -- Plucky, Shirley the loon Elmer Fudd -- Elmira Tweety Bird -- Sweety Bird Tazmanian devil -- Dizzy Devil Yosemite Sam -- Montana Max Pepe - Fifi Porky Pig -- Hampton J Pig Sylvester -- Furball Wile E Coyote -- (i can't remember this protege's name) roadrunner -- (i cant remember this protege's name either)

Sneezer reminds me of that really annoying whining mouse (whose name escapes me) who wears a blue hat from tex avery or chuck jones cartoons.

Gogo is a new one for me -- i dont know of any looney toons who are extinct birds who wear umbrella hats

Though the proteges resemble their mentors, they each have their own personality and history for example both Yosemite and Montana are obsessed with money, have similar personalities and are the villians but Montana isnt western and hes already rich

The show has episodes starring each protege learning a lesson taught by their mentor

It wasnt as violent as the originals, but they did air it at 3 o clock in the afternoon among VERY violent shows (power rangers, vr troopers) In a lineup with that much fighting it was a welcome change to have a show that you could just hang out with

This was by far one of my favorite cartoons. I cannot say enough about the talented people who lent their voices to these characters. Add thats to the great animation (great for 1990) and youve got yourself a hit!

i apologize for any info ive left out or forgotten -- i did watch this show roughly 12 years ago.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the best cartoons of the past 20 years!
pepe.k13 January 2001
Recapturing the spirit of the Looney Tunes, Tiny Toon Adventures is one of the best cartoon series to appear within the past 2 decades. Rejecting many of the well-established traditions of television cartoons, the producers and directors and writers were scrupulous about reintroducing some of the elements that made the earlier Warner Brothers cartoons entertaining to three previous generations, while updating them for the audiences of today. The show displays considerable character and heart in a genuine way that you don't find nowadays in American TV cartoons. The show was innovative in bringing about new characters and clever enough to use those of the past from WB's B&W early cartoons of the 1930's. Even today, ten years later, Tiny Toons still has a huge fan following that hopes for the show's return to the screen. I've watched cartoons since the mid-sixties and haven't been so impressed with one in a long time as to compare with Tiny Toons.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Chaos and Mayhem defined
DarthBill9 April 2004
After the success of "Muppet Babies" Warner Brothers chalked up "Tiny Toons". But instead of making Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck and all the rest of the Looney Toon gang kids, they created new animal characters who were kids with their own distinct personalities but personalities that nonetheless mirrored their predecessors. The leads included Buster & Babs Bunny (no relation, which became their running gag or catch phrase), Plucky Duck, Hampton Pig, Dizzy Devil, Shirley 'the' Loon, Elmira, Montana Max, Furball, Sweety, the rats and assorted animals of Perfecto Prep, and the original Looney Toons cast themselves. The "Tiny Toons" lived in Acme Acres and attended Acme Looniversity, where the Looney Toon gang worked as teachers who served as mentors to the younger generation the ins and out of comedy.

During the show's run, various pot shots were taken at the Bush SR. administration, pop culture, and coupled with various other gags and spoofs.

Buster & Babs, arguably the show's main characters, as mentioned above, were similar to Bugs Bunny in some respects, but they also had their own differing personality ticks and comic styles, namely, Babs' tendency to impersonate anyone and everyone, while Buster, capable of being a great goof himself, usually played straight man (or straight rabbit) to Babs' antics. Plucky Duck was a virtual copy of Daffy Duck (not screwball Daffy but egomaniac Daffy), with nearly as big an ego as Daffy and just as much of an obsession with upstaging the Buster & Babs as Daffy had with upstaging Bugs, though he usually fell flat on his face in his attempts, yet he remained strangely endearing through out. Hampton was an even more shy version of Porky Pig, and he had the thankless job of playing Porky to Plucky's Daffy. Shirley, the blond duck gal, was a new age valley girl type whom Plucky would go in and out of phases of mocking or vying for her affections. Dizzy was the purple version of the Tasmanian Devil. Furball was the silent Sylvester and Sweety was the pink Tweetie bird. There was also the purple female skunk who longed for a boyfriend and the pint sized versions of Wile Coyote and the Road Runner. Evil was defined in the form of Montana Max, a rich kid who was always out to make a buck or make people's lives miserable. There was also Elmira, a deranged animal lover whom everyone feared. And then there was Godo Dodo, an odd thing-a-ma-gig creature who had no clearly designated species except that he was from "Wacky Land" or something like that.

Pop culture references included Batman (quite frequently actually), Michael Jackson, Vanilla Ice, Dances With Wolves, Indiana Jones, Star Trek, Supergirl, fast food joints, the Ten Commandments, the Twilight Zones, Saturday Night Live and even the Simpsons, among others.

Not only funny, but it also managed to be warm and touching, something it's successor "Animaniacs" never quite attained. Also followed by "Taz-Mania".
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great
Christopher Smith18 June 2004
TINY TOON ADVENTURES is a hilarious cartoon that is semi-based on the classic LOONEY TUNES. The main characters are Babs and Buster Bunny, who are surrounded by a supporting cast of Plucky Duck, Montana Max, Dizzy Devil, etc. Although I am not a huge fan of Steven Speilberg, I believe that this is a great show. The impersonations of famous celebrities are some of the funniest things I have ever seen. However, much like most animated shows, the series eventually went downhill. The show started to go downhill around the end of the second season and by the middle of the third season, I stopped watching TINY TOON ADVENTURES. The show just wasn't funny anymore. It lost its touch.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A classic '90s cartoon!
colm-hearne36517 April 2016
Tiny Toon Adventures was probably one of my favourite cartoons when I was growing up and it's still one of my favourites grown-up as well. I mean now that I'm older, I understand the popular culture references in the jokes and comedy. And I just like pretty much all the characters (except Elmyra). They're funny and clever and I like how most of them resemble and have the same traits as the classic Looney Tunes. But my favourite character is Plucky Duck because he was probably my favourite character of the show as a kid and to me, he's probably the most memorable character besides Buster and Babs. As for the humour, I really like how they mix it with popular culture, like movies and TV shows and celebrities, and '90s references and life in high school/college in Acme Looniversity. And watching this show also makes me wish I was a kid living in the '90s again because that's what this show represents; how great the 90s were. And I also like how Tiny Toons was produced by one of my favourite directors, Steven Spielberg. But it's just a pity that Tiny Toons isn't shown as much back in the day and it deserves a higher rating on IMDb than 7.6. But at least, I still have the first season on DVD. And to me, I think Tiny Toons is a better cartoon than Animaniacs because Animaniacs was too all over the place. Also happy birthday to the voice of Plucky Duck, the late Joe Alaskey!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Funny, smart and somewhat cute too- a must see!
TheLittleSongbird16 July 2010
I have been a huge Looney Tunes fan all my life, and when I first heard there was a spin-off series three years ago I knew yes I must see this. Then I told myself if it is anything like Animaniacs or Pinky and the Brain, two of the best animated shows ever made, then I was in for a treat.

Tiny Toon Adventures is simply brilliant, it has a great concept and works brilliantly with it. The animation is beautiful and crisp, with bright colourful backgrounds, beautiful colours and well drawn characters, while the theme tune is catchy, hip and memorable, a definite bonus when it comes to animated shows. And I have to say the incidental music is also very cleverly composed.

Another strong component is the humour. It works so well, I was surprised how funny and smart it was. Animaniacs was funny and smart, so was Pinky and the Brain, so was the Flintstones and so was even the original Looney Tunes cartoons themselves. And I have to admit there was some humour that went over my head first time but now after seeing each episode 5 plus times it clicked. I try to tell myself, if you don't get something first time, try it again until you do. I loved the quick wit, the slapstick, the wackiness and the imitations and I still do. Then there are the story lines, there was a real danger of it all being predictable and clichéd, but the writers cleverly avoided this by constructing some simple but easy to understand adventures that appeal to both kids and adults.

And the characters? They are wonderful. They are basically hip and younger versions of the Looney Tunes characters, with distinct personalities that perfectly convey the time in which the show is set. Buster and Babs are the two main characters, and I also love Plucky, Furball, Hamton and Dizzy. I even liked Elmyra, I found her obnoxious in Pinky, Elmyra and the Brain(the wretched spin-off of Pinky and the Brain) but I think it was to do with the concept not working and how the character was written. She can be bratty at times admittedly, but she does have her good moments. The voice acting is simply faultless, with Rob Paulson, Maurice LaMarche, Don Messick, Cree Summer, Joe Alaskey and especially Tress MacNeille absolutely brilliant consistently.

Overall, if you love animated shows or animation in general, or good humour, well written stories or likable characters, I think you've found your match with Tiny Toon Adventures. 10/10 Bethany Cox
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Changed the way of making cartoons.
insomniac_rod28 June 2009
Being a 90's child, I truly enjoyed this show and I can proudly say that I enjoyed it big time and even more than the classical WB cartoons.

I don't know why; early 90's cartoons had something special; I don't know if it was the uncertainty atmosphere, a generational change, whatever. But "Tiny Toons" kept the 90's vibe and delivered one of the most popular, funny, and underrated cartoons ever created.

The memories are murky but I can only say that I enjoyed every single episode and product related to the show. Easily, none other cartoon made me laugh in a tender way (before getting into dark sitcoms oriented for teenagers).

The characters were all funny and had the peculiarity of not having a true lead character. Every single character was hilarious and deserved to be called a lead.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good show
Catherine_Grace_Zeh24 July 2007
I used to watch this show when I was growing up. When I think about it, I remember it very well. If you ask me, it was a good show. Two things I remember very well are the opening sequence and theme song. In addition to that, everyone was ideally cast. The writing was also very strong. The performances were top-grade, too. I hope some network brings it back so I can see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I haven't seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, if some network ever brings it back, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A mix of good and bad, mostly good
Dark Helmet18 May 2003
I was about 15 when this show first started, so I wasn't a kid. Still, I enjoyed most of the episodes. They range from bad (baby seal short mentioned earlier) to hilariously funny (the parody of One Froggy Evening where Hampton has to dissect a singing and dancing frog that flops over dead when he calls the teacher). The songs, both the theme song and the ones that were in one episode or another were catchy. I still find myself humming 'Emyras Round the World' occasionally. And it seems some of the other people seem to be objecting to the theme song just because the show has one. News flash. ALL TV shows at the time had theme songs, and most still do. And I've heard many that were worse than the one for TTA. At it's best, this show (like the Looney Tunes before it) wickedly barbs the culture of the time, and other animation companies, Disney in particular. This can be best seen in the direct to video movie 'How I Spent My Vacation'.

As for the characters, they range (mostly depending on screen time) from fully fleshed out to copies of their older selves. Buster and Babs are basically the wise@$$ and wacky side (respectively) of Bugs Bunny given seperate incarnations with individual personalities, but still work well. Plucky is a lot like Daffy, but he's more of a cross between a less evil Chuck Jones Daffy and the earlier wackier Daffy than any one incarnation of Daffy. Hampton is a straight man like Porky, but really wants to fit in. Most of the rest of the characters got a lot less screen time, and thus were basically smaller versions of their mentors, save a few originals like Shirley the Loon.

IMHO, most of the cartoons fall on the better side of a 5, with some individual shorts/episodes going as high as 10. If I were rating this show, I'd give it a 7.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Tiny Toon Adventures
Warning: Spoilers
When I was younger I used to love Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies cartoons, this new cartoon was the same kind of thing except with new characters who look like the older ones we're used to. Tiny Toon Adventures was basically taking the Looney Tunes and turning them into kids. Instead of Bugs Bunny we had Buster and Babs bunnies, instead of Daffy Duck we had Plucky, instead of Porky Pig we had Hampton and many more. There were also some other good new characters including Elmira the mad animal lover. I can't remember a lot of episodes I saw, but the one I can remember seeing that I loved was the Halloween special. It was nominated the Emmy for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming One Hour or Less). Very good!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great Warner Bros. cartoon series
kirillmarenov8 June 2017
When you see the name, characters and entourage of the series, at first all this causes as almost disgust, as something very childish cartoon. It is understandable: bright rainbow colors, all sorts of colorful anthropomorphic animals... And the more pleasant it is to know, that Tiny Toon Adventures is actually a very smart and enjoyable cartoon series.

Tiny Toon Adventures is a pure comedy. About a hundred entertaining sketches intended to make laugh, laugh and laugh. Their creators are obviously very funny, and tried rather for themselves, but sometimes, as if recollecting, they could gave out an open moralizing for the younger viewers.

Watching this animated series is always interesting for me, because the humor is not stupid, unsuccessful episodes are rare. Still, the first impression, as always, can be deceptive, but any of Tiny Toon episodes will continue to make you wonder how some people might prefer the Animaniacs to Tiny Toon.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Better Then Looney Toons
auro_san0028 November 2001
I don't see why people hate it so much, it was so much better then Looney Toons and still is...Looney Toons was just plain boring, the same plot was used over and over and over all the time, the stories were lacking in plot too.. Duck Season! Rabbit Season! How many times do we have to hear that thing!? Tiny Toons had improved animation and I'll admit sometimes the plots were reused but at least there were actual stories. And the spoofs done were great, every year my family watches the Christmas special. I plan on buying the new GBA game too, (two are being released) If there can still be money made then you know this show isn' dead. People just like Looney Toons because it's a "classic"
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews