IMDb > Precious Bane (1989) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Precious Bane (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Precious Bane 1989

Author: artvenus29 from United States
15 January 2006

Cannot believe how long I've searched for information regarding this BBC movie - literally years! PBS, the station that ran this in Chicago, couldn't give me a clue to what happened to it. Mary Webb's book is one of my treasured reads. But I must have this film! Janet McTeer & John Bowe filled me with joy & hope and their characters will be forever indelible in my mind. Please someone out there heed my wish and put this important work on a DVD and make available for romantics such as me. If not, would someone convince the BBC to allow it's presentation to be seen by the American audiences once more. The important social content would be most beneficial for the current generation. Thank you.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A Wonderful "Lost" Adaptation

9/10
Author: juststacey from San Francisco, California
28 October 2005

When this was first aired on Masterpiece Theatre, it had a profound effect on me. It's beautifully filmed and acted. I immediately read the book by Mary Webb, and it remains one of my all time favorites. Janet McTeer is wonderful as Prue, and I fully expected her to become a regular on the British drama scene. I guess she chose to focus on the British stage instead.

I was hoping that with the American success of Janet McTeer years later(with Tumbleweeds) this film would again become available to us. Alas, it has not yet been released on DVD. If anyone out there is listening, please make this available again!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Worth owning

10/10
Author: tinmanfan from united states
15 May 2006

I'm so happy I recorded this on VHS tape when it was featured on Master Piece Theatre. This is a movie I can watch again and again. Like living in the early 1800's in England isn't hard enough, Prue is born with a "hare lip" and is outcast from birth. The people in her village accept her somewhat but always fear that she is "from the Devil's smithy" and are quick to turn on her. Especially when a lot of bad luck befalls her family. She is strong and courageous but shies away from Kester Woodseaves, a traveling weaver who catches her eye. Partly because she fears rejection and also because she thinks he is so virile that he should have a wife who is as lovely as a lily. Kester is a modern man who does not believe in the superstitions of the time and he speaks his mind and follows his heart. The movie stays true to the original story by Mary Webb and is riveting from beginning to end.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Precious and Still Unavailable on DVD

10/10
Author: Robin11 from United States
28 May 2008

When Precious Bane aired in America, I was stunned by this beautiful story. All the actors were brilliant; Clive Owen really understood the character he played. I went right away to a bookstore and ordered the original novel, which is even more beautiful, and which went out of print just after I bought the book - although I've seen it online a few times now. I had also hoped with the Oscar won by Janet McTeer and the huge popularity of Clive Owen the BBC would naturally get this fine production on DVD...I cannot believe all these years later we still have no DVD. It has to be the only production ever created by the BBC that is NOT for sale. Come on BBC - you have money to make off us fans here. Get this on DVD please!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Precious Bane-a wonderful tale which deserves to be shown again

10/10
Author: ritabannon (ritabannon@ukonline.co.uk) from Manchester, England
5 February 2006

Just reading the reviews of this wonderful BBC mini series reminded me how much I enjoyed this when it was first broadcast many years ago. At the time I remember waiting with anticipation for the next installment and fell in love with John Bowe and Janet McTeer ,two talented actors that we don't see enough of on TV or cinema these days.

I have tried without success to obtain several of the BBCs fantastic dramas from the past, including the 1973 version of Jane Eyre and the 1972 version of Anne of Green Gables, all wonderful timeless classic stories, which sadly the BBC seem to have no intention of releasing on video or DVD. If anyone learns otherwise I would love to hear from them.

In the meantime we will have to content ourselves with our recollections of how wonderful they were.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The best love story ever

10/10
Author: justimarie from Kranjska Gora, Slovenia
13 March 2004

Having known and loved this book since I was eleven I was terrified to see it coming up as a movie - what if they'd made a dreadful mess of it? In the event I needn't have worried at all. Everyone was very well cast and the acting is terrific, it followed the story very well except for the strange addition of the scene in the prison, which to me added nothing at all. However it really is the most beautiful love story and I'm so glad I videoed it so I can watch it again and again. My only gripe is - why didn't they give Kester a green waistcoat 'which made him such a personable man'? Such a simple thing, when they went to so much trouble for everything else. If you get the chance, see this, it is excellent.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

my dog

10/10
Author: jonjonlynch from United Kingdom
11 November 2007

hi i am john and i would like to tell you all that my dog was in this film at the baiting screen he was the pit like one, that was going to bite the man chained up. my dogs name was Colin and he stayed away filming for a week for this film. he was also in other things like crime watch uk and some other small parts. he won some dog shows but he has passed away now i miss him he was a great, true and loyal dog and we had some great times together but he got cancer which could not be treated so i had to get him put down that was the worst day of my life i hope this gives you some thing to look for in the film if you watch it again.

thanks all

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Anyone know where I can get a copy of this?

10/10
Author: Estelle Piper (estelle_piper@amat.com) from San Jose, California - USA
24 August 2001

This is a great TV miniseries of a classic novel. Janet McTeer and John Bowe, in the lead roles, are exceptional. This is one of the best adaptations from a book that I have seen. I would LOVE to get a copy of this - let me know if you know how I might get one...Thanks!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Engrossingly gorgeous.

8/10
Author: Spikeopath from United Kingdom
4 September 2008

In the early 19th century, a young woman with a harelip falls foul of her family's ambition and the superstitions of the local community, but she meets a man who may see her differently, and just may, change Pru's life forever.

Precious Bane is a British Broadcasting Corporation adaptation of the highly acclaimed novel by Mary Webb. It's a beautifully filmed piece that is acted to an incredibly high standard, the story {screenplay by Maggie Wadey} is excellent, and the period detail and use of dialect is second to none. It's such a shame that this film has yet to get a DVD release, one would have thought that with Clive Owen's {great here as Gideon} rise to stardom, the BBC would get it out there, but sadly no, so the only way of catching it is on the very rare occasions that TCM shows it. The lead performance from Janet McTeer as Pru Sarn is simply brilliant, guts and genuine emotion go hand in hand as McTeer gives it her all. Pru has to not only contend with her facial disfigurement, but also the constant snides and hurt from the ignorant villagers. This is a time when folk believed that if a Hare ran in front of a pregnant woman it spelt doom, a time of Bull Baiting, a time of superstitions and talk of witches. In spite of constant set backs Pru is strong and resourceful, even her own family knock her dreams back without realising it, but this road may well be a terribly bumpy one, but hope is everlasting, and Pru has hope in abundance.

8.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Never forgot it.

Author: Mag-13 from northern Virginia
13 December 2001

I was just bouncing through Janet McTeer's bio after seeing Songcatcher. I remember the first time I ever saw her was as Prue in Precious Bane. I can barely remember the story, but her haunted eyes and cleft lip were unforgettable.

I remember wondering if she really had a cleft palate; the makeup was done so well.

Mag

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history