"Walt Disney's Wonderful World of Color" Polly (TV Episode 1989) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Polly on Video or DVD
boonlolo7 January 2006
I absolutely love this movie. I remember just about every Spring growing up this would come on NBC and I was beyond excited. I knew all the words to the movie and performed the songs right along side of them. Now that I am a adult and preparing to have my own family, I would like for them to share the same experience I once did. I have been looking for it for years. I went to the Disney Website and I found this link. If you are interested in possibly one day obtaining a copy of the movie on DVD or Video please click here and notify Disney. Hopefully with enough people interested we can get them to release it.

http://disneyvideos.Disney.go.com/moviefinder/products/Polly.html Thanks!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loved it!!
vaughaal10 June 2005
I saw this movie for the first time when I was four, and have continued to watch it until now. (I'm 19) I think it is a great movie, especially for kids. Both the first and sequel are about giving people second chances, and getting along as one instead of separating off into groups because of being different races. They do a great job of dating it back to the 50s in Alabama, with the outfits as well as the racial issues. It's basically a town split in half, that is then brought together by the ideas of one girl and a tragedy, and they all become one great community. The sequel was just as amazing, and you HAVE to see it if you have seen the first one. It is really a movie that the whole family can enjoy, and it also teaches great values.

Plus I used to LOVE singing along with it. I happen to think this version is WAY better than the Disney original. The cast is amazing, all of them have fabulous singing voices, and they have great chemistry together!!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Glad for Polly!
PiperGilmore0531 October 2005
I have to say that Polly has always been one of my favorite movies. When I was a kid my mom and dad used to sit down with us (my sister and I) and we'd watch the Wonderful World of Disney together. We'd tape the movies, pop some popcorn, and open up a can of Dr. Pepper for a treat that happened every weekend. One day, we saw the preview for the movie Polly, about a girl (Keisha Knight-Pulliam) who goes to live in Harrington, South Carolina with her aunt (Phylicia Rashad) in the middle of the civil rights movement. During her stay in Harrington, Polly (played with grace by Pulliam) discovers friendship, fun, and gladness while breaking down racial barriers within the small town.

I first saw Polly at age three and it continues to be one of my favorite films. I have watched it at least once a year for every year I have been alive since then. I will never grow tired of Polly because it teaches everyone such valuable lessons about friendship and love. It has been sixteen years since Polly aired and my sisters and I are still singing (and dancing) her praises. Every time we hear the song "Stand Up," "Sweet Little Angel Eyes," "Rainbow, Color Me," or "Ain't Got Nothing' on You" we have to get up and dance! I swear we must have rewound the scenes where they play these songs about 100 times each just to dance again.

I love this movie! The acting in this movie is phenomenal and the dancing is some of the best I have ever seen! Kudos to all of the cast and crew of this movie! It is most definitely a "glad text!" If anyone knows where I can get a DVD of this movie please tell me as our home videos of it are getting grungy from overuse!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great story line, wonderful acting, a great portrayal of the 1950's.
JennLynn8 August 1999
Polly moves in with her aunt, named Polly as well. She is played by Keisha Knight Pulliam. Phylicia Rashad plays Aunt Polly. Fantastic music, a musical. One of the best movies that the 80's would bring. The acting and story-line sent a message out to viewers. I love this movie.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Favorite movie EVER!!!
ropp-530 September 2004
Polly and its sequel, Polly Comin' Home, are my 2 favorite movies. Like so many others, I taped them off TV when they were first aired. I've never seen them again nor have I ever found a place to purchase copies of the movies. My older brother, now married and a dad, still groans every time I mention "Polly" I used to watch this movie at least once a week. I can say the lines along with the movie much to the chagrin of my parents and brother. I tend to burst out into songs from the movie and even dance around the house...one of my favorite scenes is when Aunt Polly, Mrs. Connoly, and Polly are watching the opening day festivities at the orphanage and the 3 of them are dancing behind the curtains. There's just something about this movie that always makes me smile. I LOVE POLLY!! :)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The most adorable movie ever!
Mslady204431 January 2005
This was my favorite childhood movie. I just started collecting movies as an adult and I have to have it... I have been searching and asking around but know one knows, where to get it. This is a wonderful movie. I can't wait to watch it with my children when I have them...I never thought I would find it. Everyone I asked didn't know what I was talking about. I am glad to find out that I didn't make the movie up and that there are others who want it as much as I do. I don't know how this great movie seems to be falling through the cracks but I would love to have some to keep. Great job cast and crew, you should all get together and do follow-up and talk about the ups and downs of making this classic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good kid movie, handles important issues with style!
Catchild12 September 2004
I first saw this movie when I was 8 or 9, and I still adore it today. My little sister and I used to watch it over and over. I've read Pollyanna, and I like the way this movie adapts the story to deal with race relations as well as the original themes of the book.

I just watched the movie again for the first time in many years, and while most of it was exactly as I remembered it, there were a few things that I hadn't noticed as a small child -- I had always understood that the movie dealt with racism, but some of the interpersonal conflicts or the terms people used had gone over my head. There's nothing too strong or offensive, though (as in, parents, don't worry, it won't accidentally teach your child a new vocabulary).

It is a musical, and the only thing that I think is clumsy about the movie is that a few of the songs don't quite seem to blend into the fabric of the movie. Almost all of the songs, though, are catchy and sweet, and it certainly says something when a song stays with you for fifteen years. I still find myself singing "Sweet Little Angel Eyes."

Incidentally, there aren't nearly enough good kid movies where the majority of the cast is black. I'm not saying that there's anything wrong with those other kid movies, just... it occurred to me that very few other films I've watched are like this one in that respect.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loved this Movie as a Kid
rasberri7422 July 2005
This movie was a great adaptation of the original movie Pollyanna. Unlike some other remakes of traditionally caucasian movies that were adapted to the black experience, this movie was believable and fun. It's always difficult to make a musical seem realistic to any facet of life, but I found this story to be touching and interesting. The sequel is also great and the story comes full circle. Phylicia Rashad and her TV daughter Keshia Knight Pulliam have great chemistry together, so they were a great choice for the two female leads. Kudos Debbie Allen for directing and choreographing such a fun family film. There were a lot of touching moments, but not too many that the movie becomes overly sappy and puerile. The music in the film is also quite good, many of these actors are talented musicians as well and they really got to showcase that fact. Whereas the original Pollyanna is outdated both socially and culturally, I felt that this film is still modern enough to be relevant, yet just historical enough to look back upon.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
childhood favorite
dilese27 August 2005
This was one of my favorite movies growing up. The story of a young African-American girl during the time of segregation overcoming all odds with an effervescent spirit and a "glad" attitude really connected with me. The characters, music, and dancing are all light-hearted and fun. Although Phylicia Rashad and Keshia Knight Pulliam acted together in the "Cosby Show", the relationship in this movie is fresh. I found just about all the characters of the movie to be unique and lovable. I especially enjoy Celeste Holm as "Miss Snow." The relationship that develops between her and Polly, in spite of age and race, makes this story truly remarkable. The character "Jimmy Bean", a poor orphan boy, who befriends young Polly, the niece of the richest woman in the county, shows us the power of friendship no matter the obstacles. I also love the metamorphosis of Phylicia Rashad's character as she adapts to having this bubbly young girl in her life and learns to welcome the advances of her old flame "Doctor Shannon", portrayed by Dorian Harewood. I really love this movie and I wish Disney would release it to DVD or video.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loved it then, love it now!
ovuhdramatic1-16 August 2006
As a child, I watched this movie every time they played it on The Magical World of Disney. We finally taped it and watched it over and over and over, until the VHS finally broke. To me, there is no comparison between "Pollyanna" and "Polly". Both films are huge parts of my childhood and I feel privileged to have a "black" version as well as a "white" version of the story. "Polly" is my favorite because I wanted to be Keisha Knight Pulliam and I love Phylicia Rashaad. The songs are cheesy and fun and I still know all the words and dances to them. Don't get me wrong, Hayley Mills was a charmer as well! If you can get your hands on a copy, do it. If you have kids and have introduced them to "Pollyanna" with Hayley Mills, show them the other version. Both are truly fun for the whole family.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I Love Polly!
Rae002415 April 2004
I have loved this movie since I was a little girl, and I'm still pretty much a girl at heart even though I'm older now. My mom taped Polly for me when I was really young, and over the course of several moves the tape got displaced. I spent a good deal of money to get another copy, but I have no idea how to get the sequel. (I didn't even know until today that there WAS a sequel!) If anyone has any ideas about how I might acquire it, please let me know. I think Polly was probably my favorite movie of all time. I still go around singing the songs. I still watch the movie. It will always be a classic to me, and I hope someday they put it out on DVD. (If you know any way I can harrass the officials at Disney to do this, let me know that, too!) Anyways, I just had to comment and say I love Polly!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Polly and Polly comes home
talysha016 March 2008
these movies were SO great and now i would love to have them on DVD, please, please, please help me to buy them. i recording them on VHS but am unable to find it, but a DVD would be a treasure. Betty Hughes....it is nice to have a movie that expresses the black history for we do so much need our grandkids as well as our kids to see good things happen to them if they focus on the positive. Polly touched many lives and more than one race too. she brought cheer and even when times were bad and her grandmother had too much pride, it shows that money is not the answer to happiness and that it takes all kinds of people to keep our world in good success.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Want Polly DVD??
jdgrant-117 September 2007
**If you go to Disney.com and search movies, info on Polly will show up however it is not available to purchase. However,you can request that they make Polly available on DVD or VHS. I'm thinking that if enough individuals show interest they will make it available. So go and register now!!!(I hope this works) I think that it is important that we request Disney to do this so that generations to come can enjoy this TRUE CLASSIC. Also, my personal copy is worn out. I have watched it on numerous occasions and it almost doesn't play anymore:(. I also find it strange that MANY of my peers have never heard of this movie, I would love for them to be able to enjoy this film as i have through the years.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
If you love the TV movie polly , please help to request it's release to DVD
lavendernyc18 May 2007
Hey guys, I don't know about u but I loved the TV movie Polly when i was younger. Disney has not released it on DVD yet because they feel that there is not a great enough demand from the movie's fans. Please go to the website listed below to request for it's release to DVD.

http//disneyvideos.Disney.go.com/moviefinder/products/Polly.html There is a section to the left of the screen that says "not currently for sale". You have to click and leave your email address and name in order to request for Polly's release to DVD. Please share this information with anyone you know who is a fan of the TV movie Polly. There was a part 2 of the movie , maybe that can be released too. So all fans please, please help to request that Polly be released to DVD. Thanks....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I wish I had this movie!
aryoder23 February 2007
For everyone like me who wants to Disney to release the movie "Polly" on DVD, you can go to this link on Disney's site: http://disneyvideos.Disney.go.com/moviefinder/products/Polly.html On the left side, you'll see a message that says, "Not currently for sale. This title originated on television and is not currently available on video or DVD. If you would like to see this released on video or DVD, click here to let us know." All you do is put in your e-mail address and specify which format (DVD or VHS) you'd like own. It's very easy and I haven't gotten any junk mail from them. IF ENOUGH PEOPLE DO THIS, WE MIGHT CONVINCE THEM TO Release THIS MOVIE!!! Thanks!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
please help!!
veja_126 April 2004
i kind of have a thing for older, hard to find movies and musicals. this was one of them. i remember seeing this movie on tv back in the 80's when it came out, and it has been in the back of my mind ever since. the songs were wonderful, and the choreography was great. a heartwarming film, that even my grandmother liked (and that's actually saying something, 'cause she doesn't like anything!) it was nice to see debbie allen at it again. i haven't been able to find a copy on dvd anywhere. in the past 2 years, i have searched a handful of sites on the net, and had absolutely no luck. does anyone know where to find a copy? i really wanted to be able to show my mother and little sister. i know they would like it as much as i did. please help!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I LOVE this movie!!!
silkyhorse23 December 2003
This is a really cute movie with a great song titled "Sweet Little Angel Eyes" that I have been trying to find and can't. I have the movie taped off of tv, but it's really old and starting to get fuzzy. If anyone knows of a way to get this movie or the song, please post it!!! I really like Pollyanna, but I actually like this version even better! I cry at the end every time I see it, even though I've seen it dozens of times over the years!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It was great!!!!!
ceo_3217 November 2003
I feel just like the person from Maryland. I've had Polly on tape since I was a little kid. Then recorded Polly coming home. My Polly tape is so messing up, but still able to watch. I hope that is comes to dvd soon, very soon. Pollyana didn't have anything on Polly. I wish it would come back on tv, so I could record it over, because alot of people I know has never saw the movie. It is great.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
makes you want to get up and dance!
dianahrau29 October 2003
I saw both the Polly and Polly C'mon Home movies when I was in junior high and they were just so well done. I liked the original Pollyanna, but Polly was just so spunky and the dancing routines were just so fun! Two thumbs up if you ask me! :)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The original was better
tms19833 December 2001
This movie is a made for TV remake of the 1960 Walt Disney movie "Pollyanna" starring Hayley Mills. This movie was wonderfully adapted to the South in the 1950s, in the midst of the Civil Rights Movement, and it's evident here in the movie. Good acting, good sets, pretty good all around. But, as in most cases, remakes can't hold a candle to the original - and this is no exception. A plus for this production, however, is that it has a sequel, and so we know what happens to Polly(anna).

2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
donitat5 May 2004
Debbie Allen did an absolutely fabulous job with this remake.

I have also seen the original movie and I think the remake is ten time better. I wish I could purchase it on DVD to show my kids one day. The actors were also exceptional. Phylicia Rashad, Keisha Pulliam, Vanessa Bell-Calloway, and Brandon Quinton were especially wonderful. The time period was accurately reflected. The props, wardrobe, scenery, and issues of the time were all excellent. I love the movie. I encourage anyone with young children to find it. The movie did not receive the recognition that it deserved.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews