IMDb > Meet the Feebles (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Meet the Feebles
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Meet the Feebles More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 17: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 170 reviews in total 

Hmmmm...

Author: (onomatopea@hotmail.com) from Oxford, England.
27 October 2000

If you want an idea of the content of this film, scroll up the page and click on the the films plot keywords. The list just about covers it. Okay, done that? Long, isn't it?

Peter Jacksons debut feature Bad taste was a masterpiece of low budget schlock. This nasty little follow up number was filmed on grant money from the New Zealand government (apparantly), and I don't for one moment imagine that anyone could consider it a sound investment. Essentially a sleazy version of the muppets, with perhaps a more satirical edge on the real showbiz industry, this film attempts to be more subversive than that well known kiddies programme by throwing taste and caution to the winds and assaulting the viewers senses with as much depravity as possible. Suffice it to say that this would NEVER have got by in live action form.

I'm a big Peter Jackson fan, and have nothing but respect for his skill and ambition as a director, but try as I might I found this film to be thoroughly unlikeable in almost every conceivable way. I imagine that that was the point, but even black comedies (and this could not be blacker) have to have some kind of angle from which the viewer can see the film and come away satisfied. This simply repells in a deeply unpleasant fashion.

Which is a pity really, seeing as the art direction, the puppets themselves (check out the homage to Rocksteady from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in the Scottish Warthog/Boar) and especially the voices (the absolute highlights being Trevor the rats Peter Lorre type rasp and Sebastians sublime riffing on Basil Brush) all point to a film that should have been so much more. Maybe a better script could have helped. And more of the duck. (who does his voice resemble. Any ideas?)

2 1/2 out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

Unbelievably sick, but funny as hell!

10/10
Author: Casey-52 from DVD Drive-In
17 October 2000

My first Pete Jackson movie made me think I was seeing things. What person in their right mind would direct such a cavalcade of perversions starring puppets? Pete Jackson, that's who! MEET THE FEEBLES is one of the sickest films I've ever seen, yet still made me laugh harder than I thought I ever could at scenes like this!

"The Feebles Variety Show" is a Muppets-like variety show with singing, dancing, and other forms of entertainment performed on a stage and televised across the world. Wholesome family entertainment for all. Yet, behind the scenes, so much sloth is going on that it would take forever to highlight it all. Here are some samples: A rabbit has sex with multiple partners and contracts AIDS. A rat with a Peter Lorre voice makes S&M and fetish porno movies starring a cow with big udders and an underwear-sniffing anteater. A walrus cheats on his hippo lover with a cat hooker. An alligator drug addict gets withdrawal shakes and has 'Nam flashbacks. A shit-eating fly reporter makes up lies about the cast members for tabloids. Need I say more? If this sounds funny to you, then see it! If it sounds like repulsive trash, avoid it!

MEET THE FEEBLES is one of those films that you either love or hate. I loved it, but not every viewer will feel the same way. Some of the topics covered (suicide, AIDS, drug addiction) will seem tasteless to some and hilarious pokes at life to others. Even if you don't like it, you can't say that it's boring! This movie never lets up! There are likable, innocent characters, though. The hero is Robert, a shy hedgehog with a speech impediment, the heroine is Lucille, a dog, and the loyal sidekick is Al, a worm. It's all very well-done and believable, so even those who are offended can find some merit in the filmmaking. MEET THE FEEBLES is on DVD from Canada, so try to seek it out!

Was the above review useful to you?

Should have won an Oscar!

Author: eko123 from Toronto, Canada
23 August 2000

This was probably one of the most tasteless, trashy, disgusting, and politically incorrect movies I've ever seen. That said, it was also one of the funniest and most memorable! Forget all of that pretentious artsy c**p like "Magnolia" or "American Beauty" - we need more ultra-violent and twisted films like "Meet The Feebles" or "South Park: The Movie"!

Was the above review useful to you?

Dear God

Author: picabo
8 August 2000

I can't decide what was more disturbing about this film-- the sex, the violence, the bodily excretions, or the soap opera story line. I think they are all one in the same and perhaps that is the point of this movie: not to be profound, or wickedly funny, but to be disturbingly bad-- to fill the screen with a group of characters so vile that by the time they reach their inevitable conclusion, the viewer is gratified to see them taken out in a very gruesome and violent manner. I consider it a credit to Peter Jackson's twisted genius to say that I never want to see this movie ever again. I have seen puppets doing things that puppets should never be seen doing, and it is going to take great effort to suppress these images in my brain. Dear God!

Was the above review useful to you?

Surely one of the sickest movies ever made

Author: action-6 from Froland, Norway
6 July 2000

Meet The Feebles is a sick film. The movie is about some dolls who do things you`ve never seen in a movie like this. They make pornographic films, they have sex, they are drugaddicts and they kill a lot of innocent people. It is indeed a very sick and strange film, but at the same time it is original and very funny. If you`ve got the stomach for extremely gory films, I`d like to recommend this movie, Bad Taste, Braindead and also the classic Dawn Of The Dead. Meet the feebles will definetely make you laugh or puke. It made me laugh! 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Thoroughly repulsive

Author: Michael Setzer (blckjck@doitnow.com) from Chandler, AZ
20 April 2000

I purchased Meet the Feebles last week just to see what the fuss was about. This week I popped it into my VCR and watched it when I was getting ready for work.

I'd heard the comments............ ......"it's EEEEEEEVILLLLL"

.... "Muppets on Crack"

How right those comments were....and more....

Meet the Feebles is a dark, thoroughly repulsive opus with animal characters that are, by and large, extremely unlikable with no redeeming qualities at all. For those not in the know, it's a movie telling of the backstage antics of the performers in the "Meet The Feebles" variety show For 92 minutes, you watch these characters bed, spit on and in general abuse each other for their own selfish means. The only character I found myself liking was Robert, a shy hedgehog who wants to be part of the cast....and this because he was able to retain his basic innocence while working with his unlikable fellow cast members. Not only are the characters unlikable, the script also leaves much to be desired. There are several sequences that seem to be added by director John Waters (er...Peter Jackson) just to push the envelope of taste. For example, did he really have to write into the script a subplot about the misery of a hare dying from "the big one" (aids) and a reporter fly who seems to gloat in said hare's misfortune? I think not.

Speaking of the script (and the characters) I found myself smiling with grim satisfaction at the end of the movie, when Heidi Hippo (the show's main star) finally becomes unhinged and mows practically the entire cast down with a machine gun. "Good riddance to bad rubbish" I thought. I'm also happy that Robert (the hedgehog mentioned above) and Arthur (a worm and a halfway decent bloke himself) survive the bloodbath-both were innocents and didn't deserve to die. There you have my review. For the record, I came into this with both eyes open. As they used to say on the Superchicken cartoon show "You knew this job was dangerous when you took it.". I got what I was expecting...and more.

Was the above review useful to you?

If John Waters and the Muppet Show had a baby it would be prettier than this, and probably more friendly

Author: reuban2 from deep 14
5 April 2000

Of all the Peter Jackson movies that qualify for the "most X movie of all time", this one lays claim (by far) to the largest number of Xs. Most tasteless, most disturbing, most revolting, most bizarre, etc. In other words, this is a movie that should be seen by anyone with an investment in trash. Made with leftover grant money from the New Zealand government (the bulk going into the uberclassic Bad Taste) this graphically biological puppet-fest probably induced an emergency session of Parliament.

Certainly, one could couch a review in mod theory and call it a scathingly intelligent deconstruction of celebrity worship, audience gullibility, and the blurring of subjectivity as a constructible and discrete concept. One could see it as a dystopian vision of escapism where the basic organic realities of life are insisted upon and brought to the forefront by their effects on formerly safe cartoon abstractions. One could call it an indictment of anthropomorphism--dangerous in its tendency to obscure genuine causality.

or, you could just sit back and watch a bunch of puppets throw up, pee on things, and have sex with each other. which is what i recommend.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Cinematic Masterpiece

10/10
Author: Spacecoyote
10 March 2000

Meet The Feebles is one of the very few films that doesn't have a single flaw. Seeing Meet The Feebles for the first time was the most amazing movie experiences of my life. There's scenes that stay with you when the movies over, and you don't forget them. Everyone makes the mistake of calling this film a movie about crime. Its really a movie about family. The dialogue is just unbelievable. I've seen the movie at least 30, 40 times, and I'm still amazed at how perfect it is. The music, the acting, everything. People think that Police Academy: Mission to Moscow is the greatest movie ever made...well, there's no way that ANYONE can think that Police Academy: Mission to Moscow is more moving, and has a better storyline than Meet the Feebles. The thing I find so amazing about Meet the Feebles is how Heidi the Hippo (Mark Hadlow) changes throughout the movie. Its my opinion that this is the greatest movie ever made, and I doubt that anyone can watch this movie, and think I'm crazy.

Was the above review useful to you?

Saw it, Got confused, Realized what was going on, and LOVED IT!!

Author: Proj-Man from Rainy Florida
15 October 1999

Someone let me borrow this video about three months ago, and I never sat down to watch it. All he told me was, "Picture the Muppets on crack..."

Well, it's been raining non-stop for two days now and I saw this one sitting on my shelf and so I popped it in.

At first, I noticed the, um, "Muppets" but not the crack. After about 15 minutes, I was bored and ready to stop it. Then the Hippo burst in on the Walrus having sex with the Cat and it snowballed from there! True, it's hard to follow, but a must-see with a group of friends. If they haven't seen it, don't tell them what they're getting into because they might expect somthing right away like I did.

I don't understand why some user-reviews stated they loved the movie, but are embarrased that they saw it. I guess some are frightened by tasteless comedy. NOT ME!!

If you liked this movie, I recommend you see "Orgazmo" or any one of the "Troma" movies, "BASEketball" and the upcoming "Dogma"

Was the above review useful to you?

A movie-length critique of Jim Henson. Fun on its own terms.

Author: Thomas E. Reed from Orlando, FL
9 October 1999

Jim Henson, who some have called "the last hippie," always portrayed his Muppets as having personality conflicts that eventually got resolved by the final number. "Feebles" takes a more harsh view of human nature. In fact, while it's close to real show business as reported in the National Enquirer, it does have its sentimental side; the innocent hedgehog Wobert finds happiness, as does the homicidal hippo Heidi.

Some fans of Peter Jackson have called this film "a betrayal" of his promise as a filmmaker. It's terrible to judge someone against presumed intentions. Taken on its own terms, "Feebles" isn't a challenging work, but it's fun. I dunno...maybe Jackson had to get this out of his system, or maybe he wanted to make a film for his own amusement. (It's a suitable companion for "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" for a maturing kid just beginning to challenge parental authority.)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 17: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history