IMDb > Meet the Feebles (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Meet the Feebles
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Meet the Feebles More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 167 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

What Would've Jim Henson Said?

7/10
Author: Rindiana from Germany
16 June 2009

Hollywood executives must have lobotomized Peter Jackson when he started the "Lord of the Rings" franchise, because his earlier New Zealand productions were so much better.

Just look at this sickly cracking showbiz satire, complete with an array of mostly disgusting Muppets from hell, acting as a walking compendium of the seven deadly sins (and some more). The sheer audaciousness of this nightmare folly is to be applauded, but the astounding fact remains that behind all the cold misanthropic viewpoints on display there's still a beating heart pumping warm blood into this creatures.

Certainly not to everyone's taste and riddled with too many drawn-out plot excesses, this one-of-a-kind pic still deserves a huge cult following.

7 out of 10 panty-sniffing anteaters

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Even better than the real thing.

10/10
Author: tonidizer from Warsaw, Poland
28 April 2003

Peter Jackson never seases to amaze me. You give him any tools, and he'll make a great movie with them. Independent of the fact, whether this is a cheap camera and 'actors' who have no idea about acting [example: Bad Taste] or high budget and top technology [example: Lord of the Rings]. Meet the Feebles is another example: he made a masterpiece breaking all the barriers that one would think exist in a musical with puppets.

Meet the Feebles seems to be the next step of Peter's development as a writer and director, with Bad Taste and Braindead being previous steps. The issues that are dealt with in Meet the Feebles, the kind and amount of gore in it, even though there are no actors and nothing looks real, make it an even more shocking production than the previous ones. And yet again you will notice Peter's amazing ability to build up action with a perfect culmination at the end of the movie.

If you are a fan of Peter Jackson and haven't seen this one - do it immediately. You won't regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The Movie that Broke Me

9/10
Author: george_sano from Australia
31 August 2008

I made the mistake of watching this film back in 1997, when I was the tender age of seven years old. Back then, this was the most cruel, disgusting thing I had ever seen and it sent me into shock.

Now, at the ripe old age of eighteen, I can proudly say, this is the movie that made me the twisted monkey I am today.

The film itself was done by the same guy who directed the infamously long "Lord of the Rings" trilogy, Peter Jackson. You wouldn't guess it by the budget, but that doesn't remove any enjoyment. The film reeks of genius, taking something very fun and family friendly (The Muppets, and any other puppet-based kids show) and adding some not-so-family-safe elements (drugs, sex, killing, STDs, blackmail, date-rape, porn, swearing, toilet humour, homosexuality, eating disorders, emotional instability, smoking, suicide and excessive amounts of blood).

But how does it add up? Well, quite honestly I think this movie is one of the best pieces of satire ever created. Having seen a fair few puppet shows, it never crossed my mind about what Kermit would be like as a drug addicted ex-Vietnam veteran, or if the rest of the crew went bad. And Peter Jackson brings out the depravity greatly, with most of the movie being filmed in a cramped back-stage area that is covered in filth.

I would recommend this to anybody who has a very wicked sense of humour, since this has quite possibly destroyed more than a few childhoods. It definitely ruined mine, and I certainly would say adults only. Only show it to your children if you're sick in the head, or if you hate them.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Fun, Fantastic, Frightening

9/10
Author: arewehavingfunyet from United States
2 January 2006

Right off the bat, I'd like to point out that I HATED the Lord of the Rings movies.

Having said that, let's talk about "Meet The Feebles". Don't expect to see any of that mastery film-making that won Peter Jackson X amount of Oscars in recent years. This is a full-blown assault on your morals and values. The scenes hold absolutely nothing back as you're bombarded with obscene images of funny-looking animals doing things they should not be.

I think the overall feel of this film is great. The characters are extremely well-developed, and the voice work is excellent. The story is told very well, and by the end of the film, you feel like you know these creatures personally.

You can see from this piece, in comparison to, say, Jackson's rendition of "King Kong", that he has radically changed his style of films. I would highly recommend this film to anyone with a strong stomach. Again, this is NOT for Lord Of The Rings fans, and is also certainly not for children.

I think the only problem is that, in some places, this film drags it's feet. It stretches a little bit and some scenes are not necessary. Also, the picture and audio quality on the DVD leave much to be desired, however I still highly recommend buying it.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Kermit Crucified

Author: tedg (tedg@filmsfolded.com) from Virginia Beach
13 April 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers herein.

`The Muppet Movie' was an important film and is one my must watch list. That's because it is remarkable in its self-reference. It is about the making of itself with many clever observations along the way. It is possibly the most intelligent thing you can show your kids that they will believe is made for them.

This film is equally intelligent. It references the first by making a show and takes us behind the scenes `Rosencrantz and Guildenstern' -like. And it has lots and lots of camp references to genres, all genres as far as I can tell.

Sure, it is full of ridiculous sex and violence, just as the genres it spoofs. This, `Heavenly Creatures' and `Forgotten Silver' are worth watching. All else from him is portion controlled restaurant food.

"Death to Smoochy" could have stood some of this fearlessness.

Ted's Evaluation -- 3 of 3: Worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"How Dare You Insult Me...You Cheap Pussy!"

10/10
Author: alanmora from United States
15 January 2007

This is one of the most hysterically over-the-top and insane movies I have ever seen. It's the dysfunctional version of Jim Henson's Muppets created by the same man who brought us "Lord of the Rings" and "King Kong", the inimitable Peter Jackson. "Meet the Feebles" goes just about as far as any film can possibly go with it's gross-out humor and effects but the fun thing about this movie is that it is all done with live-action Muppet like characters. It's an obvious rip-off of the Muppets with several twists. Instead of a Pig named Miss Piggie there is an obese over-eating Hippo named Heidi, instead of a Frog named Kermit there is a shy Hedge Hog named "Wobert" with a speech impediment and a cast of various other zany characters. The twist here is that all of the characters have some sort of mental deficiency...there's a bed-hopping bunny, a heroin-addicted alligator, a sleazy porn-producing rat and a philandering elephant. The entire show is run by a sodomizing fox and owned by a lecherous, drug dealing walrus. Yes it's all here in this one, graphically depicted and it is an absolute riot!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

An Adult Muppets on crack!

10/10
Author: NateManD from Bloomsburg PA
4 August 2005

OK. so I usually never use drug terms to describe a movie, but how else can you describe the Feebles. Long before Pete Jackson became well known for doing the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy. He made some hilarious gross out horror comedies like "Bad Taste". His second feature "Meet the Feebles" is a raunchy crude film with all puppets. The fabulous Feebles variety hour is facing problems. The star Heidi Hippo (almost resembling Miss Piggie) is at a low point of her career and goes on an eating binge. Her lover and manager Bletch the Walrus is cheating on her with the trampy Samantha the pussy... cat that is. We also have Larry the Rabbit, a sexually active swinger who discovers he might have aids. Other deranged characters include a fly tabloid journalist, A drug addicted frog who's a knife thrower and the sweet and innocent porcupine Roger. (he longs to win the love of Lucille the poodle) Who can forget a film with a rat who's a porn director or a homosexual fox who sings a song called "Sodomy". "Meet the Feebles" is hilarious, disgusting vulgar fun. It's sick and twisted with Puppet Sex, Drugs, Violence and Great Music too. I met the Feebles and had a great time. Maybe you should check out the Fabulous Feebles and their deranged variety show. It would make for a great double feature with "Team America: World Police".

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It's not a movie, it's a phenomenon which needs to be spread!!!

10/10
Author: Eric Duncan (tavarien@earthlink.net) from Plainville, Georgia
14 June 2003

Growing up in the late 70's/ early 80's I fondly remember those wonderful creations of Jim Henson. It's was a disturbing, intriguing and most of all extremely amusing to see a very adult parody of them as a grown man whose taste have grown to include the disturbing and intriguing as well as the amusing. To see Peter Jackson once again take on society, morality and also cultural icons from the childhood of almost anyone born in the last 35 years in the "West". This movie looks at such topics as homosexual puppets, drug deals gone bad, the tabloid press(the way most celebrities see it, I'm pretty sure, is just how he captures it) a sleazy producer who literally chews up some of his performers and spits them out. It may offend but if you value the strange and the fantasy that cinema can create please endeavor to see this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Peter Jackson's twisted takedown of "The Muppet Show"

9/10
Author: Jason Berkley (jdberkley@hotmail.com) from Chicago, Illinois
24 April 2002

A friend of mine has something he calls the "Shakes the Clown Test.". Once he or his wife gets to know a person fairly well, the two of them invite that person over to their house for a viewing of "Shakes the Clown." If their guest is repulsed or just pleasantly amused, they don't hold out much hope for a long friendship, but if their guest thinks it's hilarious, they know they've got a keeper.

I feel the same way about "Meet the Feebles." It's a little film that relatively few people have seen, and it can send people out of a room with disgust at what they're watching, but I think it's one of the funniest things I've ever seen. It's as if someone had nightmares as a child after watching "The Muppet Show" and devised this as a form of artistic revenge. There's a knife-throwing character who's plagued by flashbacks to 'Nam. A Roger-Rabbit look-alike dying of a gruesome STD, always accompanied by an evil fly. There are muppet porn stars, drug lords, domestic abusers, and murderers. Every feel-good assumption we have about watching animated animal characters from years of children's television shows and visits to DisneyWorld is systematically blown up and thrown in the dumpster. "Meet the Feebles" is sick. It's trashy. It's perverted. And it's absolutely brilliant.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of Peter Jackson's best!

Author: anonymous from ohio
28 March 1999

This is one hilarious sick movie that looks at puppets in a whole new way. This has everything from a chicken and an elephant involved in a paternity suit, a rabbit with STD, a drug addicted lizard, and a walrus cheating on his hippo girlfriend with a siamese cat. Well, watch out for Heidi!!! Excellent movie that will have you laughing so hard you won't know what hit you. If you have not seen this then see it!! Hopefully this will get the credit it highly deserves. Highly recommended!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history