IMDb > Meet the Feebles (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Meet the Feebles
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Meet the Feebles More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 170 reviews in total 

44 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

An X-rated Muppets movie!

10/10
Author: preppy-3 from United States
6 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Basically Peter Jackson made a parody of "The Muppets Show". It's about a bunch of animal puppets (or people in animal costumes) putting on a show where everything goes wrong. Half of the puppets are strung out on drugs; some are doing porno videos in the basement; the rabbit is basically getting it on with everybody (and gets a potentially fatal disease); a walrus is going at it with a cat (this is shown) and a psychotic hippo gets hold of a machine gun....

As you can see this is NOT for the kiddies. What it is is an all out, no holds barred assault on good taste. Jackson and his crew show puppets vomiting, having sex, being graphically killed or sexually assaulted. If you have a weak stomach this is NOT for you. However if you have a REAL sick sense of humor and can take VERY graphic material (like me) you'll have a ball! I was actually laughing myself silly during this. The movie keeps topping itself with the humor getting more sick and graphic until the final massacre sequence at the end. Hard to believe this guy went on to do "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

NOT FOR EVERYBODY but damn I had so much FUN watching it!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Wonderfully perverse

8/10
Author: Tom Holly from Sydney
25 April 2004

This movie is crazy!. It's a puppet flick full of drugs, sex, guns and porn. As an early Peter "Lord of the Rings" Jackson flick it also features a bit of gore. The puppets don't just die, they get mushed.

I really liked it however I imagine some people would be repelled by it. Jackson himself said in his Oscars speech that it was 'wisely overlooked' by the Academy. He's the first to admit that this type of movie simply aint going to be to everyones taste!

However if your open minded and looking for something a little 'out there' then I would check it out.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievable, yet headache inducing...

8/10
Author: ElijahCSkuggs from Happy Land, who lives in a Gumdrop House on Lolly Pop Lane
9 October 2003

Great puppetry and a whacked out plot make this New Zealand effort on par with some of the best cult films today. There are animals of all shapes, sizes, colors, and ethnicities(?); some are into money, others are into dancing, and then there are others who are into porn, coke, and feces. This film is rude, gross, demented, and hilarious. The end is really cool, and when Peter Jackson made this, he must've been on something. The voices and the lighting were probably the main producers of the major headache I received while watching this phenomenon of a movie. I mean, ordinary people just don't make this, and then wrap up one of the best trilogies off all time! This guy is a genius, pure and simple. I really hope Jackson goes back to his gory film making roots. Overall: *** out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

"Bad Taste" was just the beginning...

Author: Daywalker from Germany
26 June 2001

I can understand all those people who gave bad reviews on "Meet the Feebles", because this film is far beyond political correctness and not suited for highly sensitive! Obviously shot with a higher budget director Peter Jackson made all the things possible he was not able to do in his predecessor "Bad Taste". The humor in this movie is insulting, gory and often repulsive, so Muppets-inventor Jim Henson would turn in his grave for this. Nevertheless "Meet the Feebles" is a real cult movie because of its unique character and his inimitable sense for dark humor. Many people hate this film, others love it. I belong to the last mentioned... Just don´t let your children watch this!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Jim Henson stumbles into a bar, then into the X-rated shops and grind-house theaters, then goes to make a movie...it'd be this

7/10
Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
30 November 2006

Sure, Meet the Feebles may not be director Peter Jackson (yes, Peter Jackson of Lord of the Rings and King Kong) at his finest hour of directorial standing, but as a fan of a certain kind of really deranged and off-kilter cult movie, a lot of this made my night. It's an ultra-perverse, ultra-absurd, and sometimes really ultra-stupid take on a variety show where puppets are preparing for the night's performance, only everything that could go wrong- or more precisely anything that could be unexpected to go wrong- does every which way to Sunday. It's actually the kind of movie when I was watching, for the most part early on, I almost couldn't really laugh. I just had a look on my face like 'what am I watching?' And, 'how can something like this actually exist?' It's not even so much a question of how well or how not well Jackson and his low-budget team pull it off, but how someone can take the time and energy to think this all up and put it all on paper.

Let me try to sort through some of the varied story lines- there is Robert, a newcomer to the Feebles gang (and gang I mean in literal and figurative terms), who wants to impress a certain poodle-dog type of girl who really has him going to lengths to impress her. But meanwhile, a really nasty rodent- also a porno director as well as the boss's assistant- decides to use her in his next porno flick by drugging her. This rodent also has to deal with some other low-lifes in the group, like a junkie lizard who has one big story to tell Robert at one point about his crazy, violent trip to Vietnam (including a 'why not' homage to Deer Hunter). There's also a rabbit who may or may not be dying from an STD of some sort (I think it was an STD anyway), and has a pestering fly (always in the most uncomfortably close of close-ups) trying to get the scoop on his condition. There's even the overly-annoying stage manager who can't wait to put on his God-awful dance number of his own. But the main center of attention and star of the Feebles shows is Heidi, a hippo who loves to binge on junk food, and is also suspecting a femme-feline of stealing away her previous man- the boss. When she finds out what's really up, it leads to the unbelievable climax.

And so on. I still keep thinking about my reactions to certain scenes, and the kind of sensibility about this whole project. Maybe in part its really lampooning something maybe more common in New Zealand, like with whatever kinds of variety shows or kid shows they have there. But it's also without a doubt that Jackson's also seen his share of Muppets, as the basic concept follows off from the Muppet Show. What's amazing about the film, and at times a little frustrating, is how a real mind-set of gonzo film-making is apparent. It doesn't seem original in parts, like it's taking things from other movies- or maybe other movies and shows that have come after this seem quite similar- but it really is in the bizarre, crude nature of everything. The climax probably holds the biggest laughs and surprises, even in its tight context of everything going to hell in a hand-basket. As its a world entire devoid of humans, all of its logic is based around how outrageous these puppets can be in their own whacked-out environment. With the exception of the naive, method-trained Robert, and maybe his love interest, every character in the picture is severely flawed in one way or another, or just really put to abstract lengths so mind-boggling they work only in conjunction with Jackson's unnerving, low-budget style. It has the same jarring, diabolically juvenile and in-your-face comedy of some of the South Park guys stuff (Team America and Cannibal sort of come to mind), but without necessarily the sharp edge of satire.

And at the end of it all, with all the laughs I had and shocked 'huh' moments at what Jackson had done with all these weird characters (some of which are outright perverts, drug addicts, criminals, egoists, adulterers, and even father half elephant-half chicken offspring), I wasn't sure totally what the point of it all was. Maybe though there really isn't any; I have to think this is the kind of movie that a director makes with himself as the audience, and not really in a selfish manner either. It's not great art by any means, and doesn't pretend to be, which is part of the dark fun of it all: Meet the Feebles, with its singing and dancing miscreants (quite a catchy theme song by the way), and numerous scenes of more-than-suggestive sexual moments and gory bouts of extreme violence, is a case of kamikaze independent film-making, where homage spreads out into the concept and becomes something very strange but, in its own world, sort of wonderful too. It might be far from my favorite of the director's, but it's got things in it that are really fantastic and uproarious. It's one of those fine guilty pleasures of the late 80s.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Peter Jackson was always a genius

10/10
Author: Claire (clarityclaire) from Melbourne, Australia
6 January 2003

Unlike most people, I saw this film long before The Fellowship Of The Ring. In fact I saw it way back in 1992 and was simultaneously appalled, amused and impressed by it. Maybe it is best described as "Bad Taste with puppets" or "The Muppet Movie in bad taste" but it is certainly a movie I would recomend to anyone of sufficient maturity (no children should EVER see this film).

Like Bad Taste before it this movie features disgusting humour, lots of blood, and impressive low budget special effects, and the puppets in it have to be seen to be believed. One of the best things about The Fellowship of the Ring (and I Love that movie as well) is that in the hype following it more people may see Meet The Feebles. Maybe Meet The Feebles and Bad Taste will be released on DVD in Australia now (I have them both on VHS).

I will say one thing tho, it is certainly a strange feeling to have been a Peter Jackson fan for 10 years before Lord Of The Rings was released and the whole world finally discovered him.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Puppetry Gone Haywire

8/10
Author: gierran from Boulder City, Nevada
4 August 2003

This is a really odd film for people who have always wanted to see the Muppets covered in doo doo or at least seriously injured by being hit by a bus. I like offensive, mean-spirited movies so this was right up my alley. Warning: do not show to children unless they are as warped as you are.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Imagine "The Muppet Show" On Crack!!!

9/10
Author: EVOL666 from St. John's Abortion Clinic
25 October 2005

MEET THE FEEBLES is one of the most outrageously insane films I've ever seen, and I mean that in the BEST possible way...Another home-run from Peter Jackson (BRAINDEAD, BAD TASTE, and most recently LORD OF THE RINGS). FEEBLES is a gleefully perverse film where all the actors are Muppet-like puppets or people in full costume.

The very basic story is that the FEEBLES is a variety show similar to the Muppets and that they are getting prepared for their first live telecast, when everything goes horribly wrong. So much happens in this film that I can't even begin to explain the story any more than that. Characters include (but are not limited to) a heroin-addicted frog, an over-sexed rabbit, a hippo with low self-esteem (and a short fuse...), a cow and insect porn film-making duo, a sleazy fly tabloid reporter...and a lovable and friendly porcupine.

MEET THE FEEBLES is a gleefully twisted comedy that is often shocking and strangely endearing at the same time. Many will be offended so this film IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. But if you are a sick bastard like me and have a twisted sense of humor, this film is absolute genius!!! Very Highly Recommended 9.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Great! I'm going to show this to my kids!

Author: winstonsmith_84 from Oceania
25 November 2003

Wow, what a fun-loving, brilliant, magical story for kids to enjoy, as well as adults. (hehe, OK, maybe not kids!) I liked this movie, since it took a typical kid show idea and morphed it into something straight outta hell. This difficult-at-times to watch movie will make the sick ones laugh, and I found myself laughing alot.

It takes place in this weird freaking world where everyone is a puppet, and the feebles run this muppet-type show. The concept is great. Basically, instead of happy, fun-loving puppets, we have puppets who still have that "crazy" aspect that puppets usually do have, but with evil (and good) human traits attached. What you get, mostly, is an odd "Hell" kind of world. (Kermit, you better have been good, or you'll end up here!)

Somewhere in my demented mind I have a great desire to show this messed up movie to a kid, and see how they react. But I won't, not yet... hehehehe! >:)

Great concept. Difficult to watch. Messed up movie. Great for druggies. Not exactly for the kids...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not just ordinary puppets

10/10
Author: lori-1 from Coshocton, Ohio
10 January 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Let me just say that this film is one of the most bizzare shocking and funny films I've ever seen. Where else can you see puppets doing cocane, having sex and singing about sodomy. The story is about a cast of bizzare puppets who are about to get a chance to perform live. There's the drug addicted veitnam veteran frog , a rabbit with vd a hippo whose husband is cheating on him with a siamese cat , a rat who makes porn flicks with cows and cockroaches, and then theres robbert who's trying to break into show biz. It all comes down to a hippo going on a rampage with a machine gun. Sure this movie looks like a kids movie but trust me this film will have anything to shock you. So sit back and enjoy peter jackson before he was working with hobbits and elves. Trust me you'll never be the same.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history