IMDb > Far from Home (1989) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Far from Home
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Far from Home More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Not just porn for the boys!

Author: AnneSLReid (AnneSLReid@aol.com) from UK
2 January 2002

Admittedly, this film did not deserve a place in the Oscars, but for an average thriller it is watchable.

Pic centres on a young girl just entering adolescence and interested in what every teenage girl is interested in - boys! It is her naivety and inexperience which lands her in trouble. Barrymore is generally good as the confused and lonely angst-ridden teenager, and is sometimes quite realistic in her scenes with Matt Frewer. As a teenager when I saw this a few years ago, I certainly could relate to her and her ineptitude with boys, but now it's just another coming-of-age film with a weak murder plot. Jones was convincing as the ice-cold lust figure for Barrymore, but we never saw enough of him and his character was too rigid. Girls will like him - especially in a wet T-Shirt (Barrymore isn't the only one!)

Nevertheless, some good acting and not a bad film overall, particularly from the women like Susan Tyrrell and Karen Austin, who seem to hold it together better than the men!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

An okay film , but nothing special.

4/10
Author: SnipChop87 from United States
8 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

This movie is by no means an excellent film. It's about a young girl and her father (Drew Barrymore, Matt Frewer) traveling through the American desert. Like a lot of horror/thrillers have done before, their car runs out of gas in the middle of a trailer park. There, Barrymore and Frewer rent a ramshackle camper to stay in until they find some gas. Unforatnatly for them, a killer is on the loose, who seems to be obsessed with Barrymore.In the midst of these murders, Barrymore meets and falls a handsome and mysterious young man named Jimmy (Andreas Jones) and befriends a young geeky kid named Pinky (Anthony Rapp). Soon after she discovers than one of the boys may be the demented killer.

I watched this movie awhile back on cable, mainly because there was nothing better to watch. Although it was interesting and fun, it just lacks something that would make it a classic. Drew Barrymore, as always, shines in this movie as the film's heroine and Andreas Jones is perfect as the charming yet creepy young man who catches the eye of young Barrymore. I recommend it for someone who is a Drew fan or a fan of cheap horror films. Other than that, don't expect much.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

decent low budget thriller

Author: mcfly-31 from anaheim, ca
28 November 1999

Im only one year younger than Drew Barrymore and if teenage boys are anything like I was a few years ago then she will certainly catch eyes with this flick. Though only 14 here, she sports the body of a 20 year old, which is clearly visible in her bathing suit and wet t-shirt scenes, but there is a plot here, too. Shes traveling with her dad through an extremely baron portion of Arizona with no gas left. They stop in some crapola trailer park and take a rental from the trashy Tyrell, in a perfectly grungy performance. Some mini mart dudes been killed, and during the next day and night we get POV (point of view) shots of the killer as he offs residents of the small area. We get some decent mystery of who it might be, though some may solve it quicker than others. The cast is also suprisingly good for a low grade pic, with Drew, Frewer, Tilly, and Masur. Rapp is thrown in as a nerdy crush, with Jones the bad boy who lusts for Drew. And some great middle of nowhere atmosphere, as the desolation is nicely photographed. Dust swirls and tons of empty surrounding land are a good touch. But mostly on display here is Drew, and those of the male persuasion shouldnt be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Good, spooky thriller

5/10
Author: matlock-6 from Chicago, IL
28 April 2000

Drew Barrymore must have been about 13 when she made this during her career revival (after she had put her much-publicized substance abuse issues behind her), but she looks much more mature.This was the first movie I ever say Anthony Rapp in and he was excellent. He's got to be one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood today, if not THE most underrated, and his chemistry with Barrymore was pretty good. Matt Frewer turns in a good "Dad" role. The acting is pretty good on all counts, and it's creepy enough to watch once or twice, with a great "Whodunit" kind of twist between various characters. Cool scenes shot in a run-down camp trailer park, in an incomplete building, etc.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

unique mystery thriller

8/10
Author: anonymous from ohio
28 March 1999

Drew Barrymore stars with Matt Frewer, Jennifer Tilly, Susan Tyrell and Richard MASur in this murder mystery. Barrymore and her father Frewer are stranded at a trailer park owned by Tyrell. They make friends with Tilly and her mother while someone is stalking them one by one. You can probably guess who's doing it but that doesn't take out the suspense or the one liners. Recommended

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Not bad for a 'B' movie

5/10
Author: Pookyiscute from Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
23 June 2006

This is the kind of film, that from the very beginning, you can tell right away, not to expect much. However, it does surprise one. It has it's moments of being really terrible (one scene in particular, with the land lady of the trailer park), and other times, where it involves you in the story really well.

I almost turned it off not quite half-way through, because it was so bad, but after the first murder arises, the film picks up, and you start to suspect who the murderer might be. Although, I'm a movie buff, I hardly think it was such a surprise by the end of the film who the murderer ends up being. It's not the most well-written script, but like I said, it does get you involved in the story, and that's the whole point really.

Drew Barrymore, in one of her younger roles, plays a fourteen year old, who's on a road trip for the summer with her father. Her parents are divorced, and is looking forward to going home the next day, from which the film starts, to celebrate her fourteenth birthday with her mother. Unfortunately, they are stranded in the depths of the Nevada desert, without any gas for their car, and end up sheltering at a trailer park, run by a wicked woman, with two very strange children. One, is a dark and mysterious boy whom Barrymore's character grows interested in, however is warned by more than just her father to stay away from him.

The film may be too slow for some, but I thought it was alright. I was able to watch it all the way through, which is more than I can say for a lot of films. This, being the type that it is, really isn't all that bad, and if you're a big Drew Barrymore fan, you should check it out. I think you'll also find a different role for Anthony Rapp in this as well, who is really good.

If you're interested check it out, however don't spend a large amount of money buying or renting it. It's not worth it, for the quality of film it is.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Fair enough

5/10
Author: CyMaddux from Gulfport, FL
9 January 2006

Fair thriller about a father/daughter tandem that gets stranded in a trailer park due to the lack of gasoline. Berrymore does an average job, the best acting probably on behalf of Pinky Sears. If nothing else, the story is just good enough to keep you tuned in and it sure doesn't hurt when you have two of the hottest females in Berrymore, and more so in Tilly, who I cant believe is 31 in this movie! she looks so fine. I wish Jennifer Tilly would have done some films before she got so old, but she still looks pretty fine in this movie. I have to give it a 5 because its just that- average.. and I laugh at the 54 people that gave this a "10" no way in hell.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

strange and ultimately disappointing

5/10
Author: JamieWJackson from United States
8 July 2014

Matt Frewer and Drew Barrymore, plus 1989 Jennifer Tilly -- and Susan Tyrrell too? Gotta see this!

I liked the first half or so of this one pretty well. It jumps right into the quintessential creepy small town in the middle of nowhere right off the bat, but we quickly discover that the people here are tongue-in-cheek stereotypes and give us some surprising laughs. So we have a movie that's a cross between a dark comedy and a low-budget suspense/horror movie. Oh, plus jailbait Drew in a 2-piece and other skimpy clothes. She's an adult *now*, so... that makes it OK... right???!? Eek.

Anyway, among others, Susan "acquired taste" Tyrrell is in fine form here; she made me laugh out loud several times. I think the director was having some fun in a few of her scenes. I know I was! The whole cast does fine. In most ways the movie is competently-enough made. There are some good moments here. However, in the end, the quirky mix of horror and dark comedy which starts us off with such promise loses out to a traditional horror third act, leaving the comedy out. I felt that the movie let me down at that stage.

It's still a watchable movie, but it misses being a great movie (at least for a B movie) by changing formula horses in mid-stream. As a result I can only give it a 5.

For the record, I hope Hollywood can let kids be kids and not sexualize 13-year-olds in the future. As much as I roll my eyes when a 23-year-old plays a high schooler, there is something worse, and that's putting a kid in front of a camera and inviting us to view her as a sex object. Drew played this role well, and she seems to have grown into a really attractive and healthy adult lately, so I guess there's no reason to go on a warpath over this now. Still, I was uncomfortable watching some of these scenes. Yes, she had a great body, but she was 13 (or maybe 14)! Come on.

In spite of the flaws, if you like off-beat movies (or Drew Barrymore), you will probably find this worth watching, especially prior to the third act.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Size Up Drew Barrymore

5/10
Author: wes-connors from Los Angeles
9 May 2014

On their way home to Los Angeles, sexy 13-year-old Drew Barrymore (as Joleen Cox) and her writer father Matt Frewer (as Charlie) run out of gas in a small Nevada town. Because the town is out of gas, they must stay. Almost immediately, Barrymore goes for a swim. Her father tells Barrymore to keep her shirt on until she gets to the pool, but she looks just as good in the shirt. Wearing a hot halter top, black bikini and wet T-shirt gets Ms. Barrymore noticed by the men in town. Most likely to hook up with young Barrymore are macho "bad boy" Andras Jones (as Jimmy Reed) and athletic "nerd" Anthony Rapp (as Pinky Sears). While we wonder which of the attractive young men will take it home to Barrymore, the town is rocked by a series of grisly murders...

Like her character, Barrymore was 13 going on 14 when filming "Far from Home". Despite her youngish years, Barrymore is directed and photographed to highlight her sexual attraction at all times. Her presentation is reminiscent of the earlier promotion of Brooke Shields. It is interesting how Hollywood promotes barely legal youth as sex objects, then scolds viewers for naughty thoughts. The intent is obvious. This film is rather routine, but it moves along and has some moments. The older stars are fun, especially trashy trailer park mother Susan Tyrrell (as Agnes Reed), but the camera follows the younger cast members. The best Barrymore scene is her bouncy wet T-shirt swim and chase. Even if it means sacrificing wardrobe continuity, she is directed to excite.

***** Far from Home (6/30/89) Meiert Avis ~ Drew Barrymore, Anthony Rapp, Andras Jones, Matt Frewer

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"I guess living here will drive anyone nuts".

Author: lost-in-limbo from the Mad Hatter's tea party.
1 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Twisted, little small-scale psycho suspense thriller sees father and daughter Charlie and Joleen stranded in a small desert community with an empty gas tank, so they end up staying in a nearby trailer park in their quest to find fuel to get back to L.A. There Joleen meets a real shady teenager Jimmy (played with brooding confidence by Andras Jones) and sexual attraction brews, but there's danger about due to a constant spade of murders in the town and the rebellious Jimmy (who brings it upon himself) looks like the main suspect. Think of "U-turn" crossed "Psycho" and you have your dark story, as its quite predictable but it's the eccentric characters and their interactions in the trailer park that make it rather entertaining. That's goes for a likable Richard Masur and especially Susan Tyrell's despicable commanding character. Drew Barrymore (who was only 14 years old) engagingly impresses with her turn (where sexual awakening comes into play and at time when where wearing three watches was a fashion statement) and Matt Frewer is convincing as her tired father. Karen Austin and the lovable Jennifer Tilly are also stuck travellers. Plus showing up is cult-favourite Dick Millar in a throwaway part as the town's sheriff. The plot is a mixed bag of sorts in how it wants to play out, where the first half is better constructed (kind of eerie) and the second half becomes your standard psycho on the loose, but the climax is well staged and the backdrop ominously sticks out. Gladly the script keeps it quite punchy and its impulsively off-the-wall nature can have an explosive edge.

"God I love the desert."

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history