6.7/10
41,606
122 user 45 critic

Working Girl (1988)

Trailer
0:30 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

ON DISC
When a secretary's idea is stolen by her boss, she seizes an opportunity to steal it back by pretending she has her boss' job.

Director:

Writer:

Reviews
Popularity
2,451 ( 49)
Won 1 Oscar. Another 8 wins & 16 nominations. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Henry is a lawyer who survives a shooting only to find he cannot remember anything. If that weren't enough, Henry also has to recover his speech and mobility, in a life he no longer fits ... See full summary »

Director: Mike Nichols
Stars: Harrison Ford, Annette Bening, Michael Haley
Sabrina (1995)
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

An ugly duckling having undergone a remarkable change, still harbors feelings for her crush: a carefree playboy, but not before his business-focused brother has something to say about it.

Director: Sydney Pollack
Stars: Harrison Ford, Julia Ormond, Greg Kinnear
Biography | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

The story of Dian Fossey, a scientist who came to Africa to study the vanishing mountain gorillas, and later fought to protect them.

Director: Michael Apted
Stars: Sigourney Weaver, Bryan Brown, Julie Harris
Witness (1985)
Crime | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

A young Amish boy is sole witness to a murder; policeman John Book goes into hiding in Amish country to protect him until the trial.

Director: Peter Weir
Stars: Harrison Ford, Kelly McGillis, Lukas Haas
Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Carolyn Polhemus, an up-and-comer in the Kindle County D.A.'s Office, is found viciously murdered in her home. Immediately her boss, D.A. Raymond Horgan and his chief deputy, Rusty Sabich ... See full summary »

Director: Alan J. Pakula
Stars: Harrison Ford, Raul Julia, Greta Scacchi
Action | Adventure | Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

Robin Monroe, a New York magazine editor, and the gruff pilot Quinn Harris must put aside their mutual dislike if they are to survive after crash landing on a deserted South Seas island.

Director: Ivan Reitman
Stars: Harrison Ford, Anne Heche, David Schwimmer
Frantic (1988)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

In a hotel room in Paris, a doctor comes out of the shower and finds that his wife has disappeared. He soon finds himself caught up in a world of intrigue, espionage, gangsters, drugs and murder.

Director: Roman Polanski
Stars: Harrison Ford, Betty Buckley, Emmanuelle Seigner
Adventure | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.6/10 X  

An eccentric and dogmatic inventor sells his house and takes his family to Central America to build a utopia in the middle of the jungle. Conflicts with his family, a local preacher and ... See full summary »

Director: Peter Weir
Stars: Harrison Ford, Helen Mirren, River Phoenix
Action | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

CIA Analyst Jack Ryan is drawn into an illegal war fought by the US government against a Colombian drug cartel.

Director: Phillip Noyce
Stars: Harrison Ford, Willem Dafoe, Anne Archer
Patriot Games (1992)
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

When CIA Analyst Jack Ryan interferes with an IRA assassination, a renegade faction targets him and his family for revenge.

Director: Phillip Noyce
Stars: Harrison Ford, Sean Bean, Anne Archer
The Fugitive (1993)
Action | Adventure | Crime
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  

Dr. Richard Kimble, unjustly accused of murdering his wife, must find the real killer while being the target of a nationwide manhunt.

Director: Andrew Davis
Stars: Harrison Ford, Tommy Lee Jones, Sela Ward
Moonstruck (1987)
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

Loretta Castorini, a book keeper from Brooklyn, New York, finds herself in a difficult situation when she falls for the brother of the man she has agreed to marry.

Director: Norman Jewison
Stars: Cher, Nicolas Cage, Olympia Dukakis
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
...
...
...
Cyn
...
...
...
James Lally ...
...
Bob Speck
...
...
...
...
Elizabeth Whitcraft ...
Edit

Storyline

Tess McGill is a frustrated secretary, struggling to forge ahead in the world of big business in New York. She gets her chance when her boss breaks her leg on a skiing holiday. McGill takes advantage of her absence to push ahead with her career. She teams up with investment broker Jack Trainer to work on a big deal. The situation is complicated after the return of her boss. Written by Sami Al-Taher <staher2000@yahoo.com>

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

For anyone who's ever won. For anyone who's ever lost. And for everyone who's still in there trying.

Genres:

Comedy | Drama | Romance

Certificate:

R | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

21 December 1988 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Secretaria ejecutiva  »

Box Office

Budget:

$28,000,000 (estimated)

Gross:

$64,000,000 (USA)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Sally Kirkland was just nominated for her only Academy Award Nomination (Anna, Best Actress,1987) when she got ahold of the script for Working Girl. She was deemed too old for the role of Tess so she was denied an audition. Even off her new "celebrity status" from her Oscar nomination Mike Nichols once said in an interview "I denied Sally Kirkland an audition because she was too old, but honestly she scared me, she would send me flowers and letters to let her read, it wasn't cute, it was desperate" See more »

Goofs

When Tess first arrives at Catherine's office and unpacks her box, she takes the books out of the box and places them on the desk, but in the next shot (overhead), the books are back in the box. See more »

Quotes

Katherine Parker: Never burn bridges. Today's junior prick, tomorrow's senior partner!
See more »


Soundtracks

Straight from the Heart
Written by Greg C. Jackson
Performed by The Gap Band
Courtesy of Total Experience Records/Lonnie Simmons
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Working Girl
22 April 1999 | by (Marietta, OH) – See all my reviews

Wonderful romance-comedy in the tradition of Capra and Sturges with Griffith perfectly cast as a woman posing as a business mogul to get ahead in the corporate world and spite bitchy boss Weaver, who is simply divine. Ford is especially precious in a rare romantic-comedy as Griffith's partner in business and love interest. The story is creative and witty. Mike Nichols' direction is sharp and in the highest form. The fine supporting cast also features Cusack and the always durable Phillip Bosco. Carly Simon's wonderful song won an Oscar.


7 of 10 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Hair radargirl-1
Harrison as Jack? Attractive or unattractive? markbirdxxx
I'm confused about the ski vacation details zyggums
are you kidding me???! mooVluver
Tess' crappy office? markbirdxxx
obvious, failed corporatism nbreyfogle-1
Discuss Working Girl (1988) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?