123 user 46 critic

Working Girl (1988)

0:30 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

When a secretary's idea is stolen by her boss, she seizes an opportunity to steal it back by pretending she has her boss' job.



2,939 ( 142)
Won 1 Oscar. Another 8 wins & 16 nominations. See more awards »



Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Henry is a lawyer who survives a shooting only to find he cannot remember anything. If that weren't enough, Henry also has to recover his speech and mobility, in a life he no longer fits ... See full summary »

Director: Mike Nichols
Stars: Harrison Ford, Annette Bening, Michael Haley
Biography | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

The story of Dian Fossey, a scientist who came to Africa to study the vanishing mountain gorillas, and later fought to protect them.

Director: Michael Apted
Stars: Sigourney Weaver, Bryan Brown, Julie Harris
Sabrina (1995)
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

An ugly duckling having undergone a remarkable change, still harbors feelings for her crush: a carefree playboy, but not before his business-focused brother has something to say about it.

Director: Sydney Pollack
Stars: Harrison Ford, Julia Ormond, Greg Kinnear
Witness (1985)
Crime | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

A young Amish boy is sole witness to a murder; policeman John Book goes into hiding in Amish country to protect him until the trial.

Director: Peter Weir
Stars: Harrison Ford, Kelly McGillis, Lukas Haas
Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Carolyn Polhemus, an up-and-comer in the Kindle County D.A.'s Office, is found viciously murdered in her home. Immediately her boss, D.A. Raymond Horgan and his chief deputy, Rusty Sabich ... See full summary »

Director: Alan J. Pakula
Stars: Harrison Ford, Raul Julia, Greta Scacchi
Frantic (1988)
Crime | Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

In a hotel room in Paris, a doctor comes out of the shower and finds that his wife has disappeared. He soon finds himself caught up in a world of intrigue, espionage, gangsters, drugs and murder.

Director: Roman Polanski
Stars: Harrison Ford, Betty Buckley, Emmanuelle Seigner
Action | Adventure | Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

Robin Monroe, a New York magazine editor, and the gruff pilot Quinn Harris must put aside their mutual dislike if they are to survive after crash landing on a deserted South Seas island.

Director: Ivan Reitman
Stars: Harrison Ford, Anne Heche, David Schwimmer
Adventure | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.6/10 X  

An eccentric and dogmatic inventor sells his house and takes his family to Central America to build a utopia in the middle of the jungle. Conflicts with his family, a local preacher and ... See full summary »

Director: Peter Weir
Stars: Harrison Ford, Helen Mirren, River Phoenix
Action | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

CIA Analyst Jack Ryan is drawn into an illegal war fought by the US government against a Colombian drug cartel.

Director: Phillip Noyce
Stars: Harrison Ford, Willem Dafoe, Anne Archer
Patriot Games (1992)
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

When CIA Analyst Jack Ryan interferes with an IRA assassination, a renegade faction targets him and his family for revenge.

Director: Phillip Noyce
Stars: Harrison Ford, Sean Bean, Anne Archer
Heartburn (1986)
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

An autobiographical look at the breakup of Ephron's marriage to Carl "All the President's Men" Bernstein that was also a best-selling novel. The Ephron character, Rachel is a food writer at... See full summary »

Director: Mike Nichols
Stars: Meryl Streep, Jack Nicholson, Jeff Daniels
Moonstruck (1987)
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

Loretta Castorini, a book keeper from Brooklyn, New York, finds herself in a difficult situation when she falls for the brother of the man she has agreed to marry.

Director: Norman Jewison
Stars: Cher, Nicolas Cage, Olympia Dukakis


Cast overview, first billed only:
James Lally ...
Bob Speck
Elizabeth Whitcraft ...


Tess McGill is a frustrated secretary, struggling to forge ahead in the world of big business in New York. She gets her chance when her boss breaks her leg on a skiing holiday. McGill takes advantage of her absence to push ahead with her career. She teams up with investment broker Jack Trainer to work on a big deal. The situation is complicated after the return of her boss. Written by Sami Al-Taher <staher2000@yahoo.com>

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis


For anyone who's ever won. For anyone who's ever lost. And for everyone who's still in there trying.


Comedy | Drama | Romance


R | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:





Release Date:

21 December 1988 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Secretaria ejecutiva  »

Box Office


$28,000,000 (estimated)


$64,000,000 (USA)

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs


Sound Mix:


Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »

Did You Know?


At the end of the film, when Jack shows Tess the lunchbox that he purchased for her, he includes "milk money." In 1994, Melanie Griffith starred as V in the movie Milk Money (1994). See more »


When Tess first arrives at Catherine's office and unpacks her box, she takes the books out of the box and places them on the desk, but in the next shot (overhead), the books are back in the box. See more »


Personnel Director: Been lookin at your file here. This the third time in six months I had to place you.
Tess McGill: Wasn't my fault.
Personnel Director: Where've I heard THAT before?
Tess McGill: Ruth, lookit - I'm thirty years old. Took me five years of night school, but I got my degree and I got it with honors; I *know* I could do a job. I mean, you ask any of my bosses - even, even Lutz! - if Tess McGill hasn't called a few.
Personnel Director: YOU ask 'em. I don't think they're gonna sing your praises, Tess.
See more »


Referenced in Jersey Girl (2004) See more »


Poor Butterfly
Written by John Golden and Raymond Hubbell
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Working Girl
22 April 1999 | by (Marietta, OH) – See all my reviews

Wonderful romance-comedy in the tradition of Capra and Sturges with Griffith perfectly cast as a woman posing as a business mogul to get ahead in the corporate world and spite bitchy boss Weaver, who is simply divine. Ford is especially precious in a rare romantic-comedy as Griffith's partner in business and love interest. The story is creative and witty. Mike Nichols' direction is sharp and in the highest form. The fine supporting cast also features Cusack and the always durable Phillip Bosco. Carly Simon's wonderful song won an Oscar.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Hair radargirl-1
Harrison as Jack? Attractive or unattractive? markbirdxxx
are you kidding me???! mooVluver
obvious, failed corporatism nbreyfogle-1
Tess' crappy office? markbirdxxx
Melanie Griffith's Voice alissa-thong10
Discuss Working Girl (1988) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for: