IMDb > The Virgin Queen of St. Francis High (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Sweetest romantic comedy ever!

10/10
Author: love1982
7 June 2005

The other day I found this video at a bookstore by chance, and I wonder how come Hollywood does not make such innocent movie anymore rather than making those filthy ones. Mike (Joseph R. Straface) appears as a shy boy, and he is such a sweet actor. I fell in love with him and I watched this video many times. Of course I recommended to my friends. Also the music was great and if you like top gun soundtrack or 80's sound then you will definitely love this one. My recommended tracks are "wait for another day" (theme of this movie) and "strange things to remember". I was surprised that "paradise bungalows" and the hotel where Mike said his father own the place (Banff springs hotel) really exists in Canada. If you are looking for a fresh, innocent movie then please check this out!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A pleasant surprise

10/10
Author: scorpiojbi
10 May 2003

After reading the reviews regarding "The Virgin Queen of St. Francis High", I was compelled to rent the movie to see if the comments made by other viewers were justified. The reviews were so dire that I needed to see for myself if this movie was really as "inept" as others had claimed it to be. I put the tape in and began watching what was supposed to be the "worst movie ever". I was prepared to add my venomous review to the list, but what I discovered instead, was that I genuinely enjoyed the film.

The movie revolves around a nerdish type of guy named Mike (Joseph Straface), who makes a $2,000.00 bet with Randy (Lee Barringer), the most popular guy around, that he can get Diane (Stacy Christenson), the most popular girl around, not to mention the most unatainable one, to a place called Paradise Bungalows. A sort of lover's lane motel in the woods. The antics begin when Mike tries to woo and win Diane's heart with his impish charms and with the aid of his best friend Charly (J.T. Wotton).

Through his persitence, Diane begins to fall for Mike's charms and against the adivce of her best friend Judy (Anna Lisa Iapaolo), who also happens to be Charly's sister, she ends up going to Paradise Bungalows for the weekend.

Judy discovers the truth about the wager and feels it her duty to inform Diane about the deception. Now Mike must save face with Diane and save her honor as well, by confronting Randy in the climax of the movie.

I found the climax reminiscent of a Sergio Leone western and found it a most entertaining homage, as the hero and villain face off in a classic "Good, Bad and Ugly" encounter. It was a stylish ending to a stylish movie.

All in all, the Virgin Queen of St. Francis high was indeed a pleasant surprise. It was funny, enchanting and endearing. I found myself rooting for Mike as he went from a bumbling nerd to charming hero. After watching the film I had to conclude that the other critics simply missed the point and compared to the myriad of useless romantic comedies out there, I found this to be a gem. It was fresh and different. The music was great and really added to the overall experience as did the great scenery.

I would indeed wholheartedly recommend this film and give it a two thumbs up!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A great look back at the eighties

Author: bigeasy from Toronto
22 September 2003

Well I for one thought this was a great little comedy and great look back at the eighties. Sure it was an idea that's been done before, (boy meets girl, boy tries to win girl, boy looses girl, then boy wins girl back), but it was fresh and funny. The lead actor kept me laughing through the film and the leading lady was not only a good actress, but she was very nice on the eyes as well. I cannot imagine for the life of me, a "mutiny" occurring during the screening of this film. I've seen many films that have deserved to have eggs thrown at them, but this is definitely not one of them. It was a sincere attempt at a genre that is all too often moronic in its attempt to induce laughter. It was a genuine film and the arc the main character took through the movie was realistic and endearing. Indeed all the actors did a wonderful job in keeping the film lively with their perfomances. Kudos to the director for taking the chance to portray a teen comedy that has some intelligence to it. I would, and have recommended this video to friends of mine and to those would be "mutineers", step on the plank and jump, cause you don't know a sincere film when you see one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Very Amusing For The Bond Fan

8/10
Author: Chris Austin (sonofamanandawoman@hotmail.com) from Canada
9 May 2008

I found this movie to be particularly interesting for me as I am perhaps the biggest James Bond fan ever. The 20-minute Bond dream sequence is totally 80's which is another thing I like and I was cracking up at the music playing during the dream sequences. Despite this part of the film, I quite enjoyed the rest of it as well. The whole movie just gave me a warm feeling as I was watching it. I thought the ending was pretty fitting as well. I would really like to get a copy of this movie but, of course, it is a very difficult movie to find. I once taped the latter half of it (including the James Bond sequence thankfully) off T.V. but I've since lost the tape. Jeez... I remember frantically looking around for a blank tape so I could start taping it right away and I found one just in time for that sequence. This is definitely a fun movie and it's strange that I'm now living in B.C. (the province in Canada right next door to Alberta where this was filmed in 1987). I'd have to say that most people would enjoy this film when you're in the right mood with an open mind. I think the movie turned out to be exactly what the writer/filmmakers intended it to be; just a fun teen movie that delivers a nice message effectively and shows the importance of forgiveness and compromise and in a very cute, innocent way.

Was the above review useful to you?

Amiable and good-hearted teen comedy winner

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
20 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Shy and insecure nerd Mike (a fine and likable portrayal by Joseph R. Straface) makes a $2,000 dollar bet with smarmy jerk big man on campus Randy (a pleasingly obnoxious turn by Lee Barringer) that he can deflower Diane (a wonderfully sweet and beguiling performance by the adorable Stacy Christensen), who's the most popular girl in high school. However, things get complicated when Mike falls in love with Diane. Writer/director Francesco Lucente takes a premise that could have been easily done as your basic crassly pandering raunchy smut and instead treats it with surprising taste, warmth, heart, and even genuine charm: There's a touching and good-natured affinity and sensitivity for the appealing main characters that's impossible to dislike or resist, Mike's fantasies are both funny and witty (the James Bond send-up are especially amusing), and the upbeat conclusion doesn't comes across as remotely forced or too sappy. Straface and Christensen both do terrific work in the lead roles; they receive fine support from J.T. Wotton as Mike's loyal, long-suffering friend Charles, Anna Lisa Iapaolo as Diane's sarcastic best gal pal Judy, and Bev Wotton as Diane's strict, overprotective mother. Joseph Bitonti's bright cinematography gives this movie an attractive sunny look. The bouncy rock soundtrack keeps things bubbling along. A real sleeper.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

My mind is blown

5/10
Author: andylib79 from United States
25 September 2012

I'm giving 5/10 stars just because this is one of my new favorite bad movies...production and pure entertainment wise it would get a 1. I won't bother summarizing the plot, read the other reviews if you really care about that. What I will say is that this movie goes beyond being bad, even beyond being so bad, it's good. It quickly goes straight to mind numbing insanity. The script is ridiculously awful and the delivery is even worse. So many bizarre, awkward, out of place lines and scenes. Every few minutes I had a new favorite (bad) line in the movie, which would quickly be topped in the next scene. I really couldn't decide if I wanted to laugh or just poke my eyes out. I wonder what great things I could have accomplished in my life during the 90 minutes I spent on this movie. Not for the inexperienced bad movie watcher, experts only here.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

well-intentioned film that misses the mark

5/10
Author: Bryan Jonas (b_jonas@yahoo.com)
22 May 2002

In most respects, this film is a clunker, hence the bad reviews; however, it is only fair to note that what the film is, and what it obviously intended to be, are two entirely different things.

I don't know anything about the film's history, but it comes across like a no-budget college student film. Penned and directed by Francesco Lucente, the story is about a wager between two high school students, Mike and Randy. Mike, frustrated by the fact that he's constantly one-upped by the hubristic Randy, bets his nemesis $2,000 that he can bed Diane, the title character, who obviously has a reputation at stake. And the `courtship' is on. However, as Mike undertakes the challenge, he finds himself falling for his intended conquest.

Similar plot lines have been used to better effect in recent efforts, namely She's All That starring Freddie Prinze, Jr. and Rachael Leigh Cook, and American Pie, featuring the relationship between Chris Klein (Oz) and Mena Suvari (Heather), both released in 1999. Unfortunately, Lucente didn't have an astronomical budget to work with - heck, none of the scenes even feature St. Francis High. But, low budget efforts have worked before, so that can't be targeted as the primary reason this film doesn't work.

The film mainly falls flat for two reasons: 1) a weak script, and 2) a wooden performance by Joseph Straface in the leading male role. Straface just doesn't possess the acting chops to convince the audience that Mike has what it takes to win over Diane, and therefore it isn't very believable when he does succeed in his mission. Even so, Stacy Christensen delivers a respectable performance as Diane, the title character, and Anna-Lisa Iapaolo (now a New York-based jazz singer) as her best friend Judy, Lee Barringer as Randy, and J. T. Wotton as Charles (Mike's best friend and Judy's younger brother), do adequately in their supporting roles. Wotton, in fact, comes across as a natural in front of the camera, managing to salvage many of his scenes with Straface, whose character has most of the screen time.

The ending of the film was downright ridiculous, consisting of a `chickie run' between Mike and Randy. I was left with the impression that Lucente chose to work the scene in out of homage to Rebel Without A Cause, a true teen classic, completely neglecting the fact that it was an absolutely pointless maneuver on his part. It just doesn't seem to really fit into the film. It was as though he had run out of ideas and was fishing for a dramatic ending.

Although the film does have some heart, it lacks much else to recommend it, save for some half-way decent tunes on the soundtrack. Sadly, I must concur with the overall consensus that there really isn't much going to recommend this film to others, unless you want to be left, like I was, with a feeling of what could have been but never will be.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Painfully Amusing

1/10
Author: faerie_girl84
24 August 2004

A terrible movie, but worth seeing if you enjoy laughing at a

ridiculous 80's stinker. Everything about it sucks, and I believe that

the main character, Mike, is one of the most repulsive human

beings on the planet. I can't imagine anyone ever wanting to

spend more than a few minutes with him, left alone a whole night

at the notorious "Paradise Bungalows" as the poor Virgin Queen

does.

Unintentionally hilarious, this film contains some wonderful

cinematic moments such as a Daddy Long Legs attack, a 20

minute James Bond dream sequence, and a man-in-bear-suit

attack. Watch it with friends if you're bored enough, but make sure

you don't see it alone, or your witty insults and snorts of laughter

will go unappreciated.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

be afraid of bear suits

Author: rollaround from pittsburgh
1 May 2002

It is after all a comedy and I couldn't help but laugh at this movie. There is a person dressed in a bear suit that scares some kids into believing it's a real bear. Think that Mike somehow got his brother to dress in a fake bear outfit? Naw, this movie would say, "this is real freakin bear and it's after Mike and the virgin."

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

worst movie ever!!! giant let down!

Author: MoJo-28 from NJ
30 June 1999

my friends and i rented it, expecting a cheesey soft porn, and not until after watching the entire movie(which seemed to go on forever), did we realize it had only received a pg-13 rating, and it was like a really bad sitcom that dragged on for hours. i do not by any means recommend this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history