IMDb > Two Moon Junction (1988) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Two Moon Junction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Two Moon Junction More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 42 reviews in total 

20 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Haunting dreamlike story of passion set in a small southern town-actually this movie is magnificent.

10/10
Author: triple8 from Conn
17 August 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

WARNING-SPOILERS THROUGHOUT!!

One in awhile a motion picture comes along that, while not Oscar material, makes it's mark as unforgettable. This was definitely such a movie.

The story centers on April(Sherilyn Fenn) a rich southern belle engaged to a preppy southern boy who then meets Perry a drifter/carnival worker(played to perfection by Richard Tyson) and falls head over heels for him. There are thousands of movies made every year with a familiar theme like this. But there is something special and really unique about 2 moon junction that makes it a cut above the rest.

Besides having two absolutely magnificent looking stars two moon junctionalso has atmosphere, sensuality and a great supporting cast including an appearance by Kristy Mc.Nicol. Never boring, the movie is set in a small southern town and manages to capture to a tee, the luminous beauty of the south. Besides it's lovely southern feel, the film has an electric sensuality about it, that coupled with a certain dreaminess, a mystery in most every scene makes the picture irresistible. I'm not a major fan of movies like this but two moon junction was an amazing pic that never received much recognition beyond the "it's hot" type.

I don't know why Fenn and Tyson never became big stars. Both were made for these roles and have an on screen chemistry that contributes a lot to making this movie unforgettable. In fact they are so believable and the chemistry so apparent early on, that the audience is rooting for them from their first meeting. The rest of the cast,particularly an amazing, sassy, Christy Mc.Nicol, and a scheming Louise Fletcher were great too. There is a type of dream like, quiet to this movie, every scene is pivotal to the ultimate ending, the only gripe I have is the ending which while alright was to quick and could have been expanded on a little. Still, this movie(easily) gets a 10 of 10.

Through the years, whenever myself and my fellow movie goers turn somebody on to this film inevitably the same thing happens. They, at first don't want to watch it, then after viewing it, like it so much that they want to see it again. Says a lot about the picture....

Anyone who has ever loved with a kind of mindless passion will be able to relate to this. The magic of the film is also in turning everyday things into objects of mystery. (Look at what they do with a simple carnival!)Many may not agree with me, but I give it 10 of 10-easily. They took a subject matter that has been done over and over again and turned it into something with mystery and intrigue.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A good old fashioned bodice ripper!

Author: Brett Cullum (BrettC) from Houston, TX
9 April 2002

Okay, let's take this movie for what it is -- a bodice ripper romance novel put on the screen for you to enjoy. It's hardly anything more than that, but does it have to be? The film is set in the "deep south", but the faulty accents and in-and-around LA locations sometimes give it away. It's a highly stylized exercise in melodramatic erotica. There's no mystery here -- even the ending can be seen coming a mile away! Basically the plot is a Southern Belle sows her wild oats before her wedding, and finds herself torn between sensuality and stability. She meets a carny who offers her one last hot fling before she marries her boring college sweetheart. Which one will she chose?

What's to like? Sherilyn Fenn is radiant as April, and overcomes most all of the bad dialogue. She's a great actress! Kristy McNichol steals the few scenes she is in with a flair for comedy and easy earthy sensuality! Why is she not doing more? Richard Tyson plays a rough and tumble drifter carny who gets to pout and preen as a male "himbo" who is justly portrayed as good at one thing. The plot is silly, and you even get an over-the-top Louise Fletcher appearing as the matriarch who knows all too well that "lust fades, but financial security is worth everything!"

I love this movie though. It is charming in its own way, and sensual without being too graphic. Nothing is subtle, but it pays off as one of the most enjoyable Zalman King outings ever! Notice the almost "ALL WHITE" costumes! These people spend a fortune on bleach. Notice the hottest scene seems to be when Sherilyn Fenn and Kristy McNichol dance together on a deserted jukejoint floor. Notice the great soundtrack! Let yourself go, and enjoy an old-fashioned pot boiler romance filmed and acted better than it ever had a right to be.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Silly but I think I took it too seriously

6/10
Author: Wayne Malin (wwaayynnee51@hotmail.com) from United States
22 November 2006

Southern belle April Delonpre (Sherilyn Fenn) is out of school and all set for a prearranged marriage with Chad (Martin Hewitt). However she meets Perry (Richard Tyson) who is low class and works with a carnival. They start having sex and falling in love and April's family is horrified...

Basically an R rated porno film for guys--there's plenty of nude shots of Fenn but very few of Tyson. I hated the film but I actually thought this was going to be serious. Obviously it's not. While the sex scenes are pretty hot and Fenn and Tyson have great bodies, the dialogue is pretty lame and the story has been done many times before. The acting is OK and Kristy McNichol throws in an amusing little performance (and goes topless too).

So as a silly little sex film for guys it works. It's gets a 6 for the attractive leads, some nice cinematography and the sex. Just don't take it seriously.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Nice softcore film.

Author: (eddy-28) from Lake Isabella, CA
21 July 2003

Zalman King's Two Moon Junction, probably isn't as good as his 9 1/2 Weeks, but the film does have quite a few love scenes that we wouldn't see in today's films. Sherilyn Fenn stars as April who doesn't seem to like her new fiance Chad (Martin Hewett). In an attempt to find what see wants, she goes to a local carnival and falls for muscle bound carnival worker Perry (Richard Tyson) and have the usual affair. The all star cast includes Academy Award winners, Louise Fletcher (One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest) and Burl Ives (The Big Country), other well known cast members include Herve Villichaize (TV's Fantasy Island), Milla Jovovich (The Fifth Element), Millie Perkins (Diary of Anne Frank), Juanita Moore (Academy Award nominee for Imitation of Life) and Kristy McNicole (TV's Empty Nest). Not bad, but could have been a little better for a sex film.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

As steamy and erotic as you let it be

10/10
Author: cousteau
20 November 2001

I have to admit that, of Zalman King's films, the only other one I've seen is <In God's Hands>-which is not erotic, but very sensual- and this is the only 'erotic' film I've ever really watched.

Having said this I let the film be what it wants to be; erotic. Nothing more, nothing less. If you watch <Two Moon Junction> having preconceptions about how erotica HAS to involve bad acting, or a lame script, you won't let its passion take over your film experience. I have to admit I wasn't particularly interested in the acting as much as the chemistry between the characters. I felt the acting fine, and chemistry top-notch=)

Not many people have seen <In God's Hands>, a film about three nomadic surfers, but just in case you either have or are planning to see this other Zalman King "great": After seeing it, you will appreciate what King was trying to put forth in <Two Moon Junction> after seeing <In God's Hands>. Passion. Sensuality. The difference is TMJ is erotic wheras IGH was about the surfer mentality and spirituality. In both films however, what you see and think are not as important as how you feel while you're watching them. The whole is greater than the sum of their parts.

Richard Tyson as the lead may or may not be adequate for guys, although attractive to most of us women. But whether you're a chick or not, you will find Sherilynn Fenn outright gorgeous, point blank. She's beautiful, sexy, sultry, seductive, mischievous, etc...not to mention a platinum blonde with a charming Southern accent. (Watch for a few tiny but oh-so-precious Milla Jovovich scenes=)

Overall this film obviously isn't an Oscar contender, because there is no category for "most sensual film". But the fact that this is a little-known gem with a LOT of sex appeal,- no taboos, no manipulations or even morals to shove down your throat- is what gives this film its unique appeal, and "the sky is the limit" sexual power; the less preconceptions you have, the more you will enjoy the film =)

Did I mention the soundtrack perfectly complements the eye candy and captures the mood of the film? Another Zalman King strength.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

One of my favorite movies...

Author: tcasper_22 from Toronto, Ontario
13 December 2004

I loved this movie! In fact I enjoyed it so much that I didn't want it to end. Richard Tyson was beyond hot and Sherilyn Fenn was beautiful. Both were sexy, sensual and desirable and played their part perfectly. I loved the chemistry between these two characters and I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline so much so I wished it was longer. I found each character brought a little something to the story, but not enough to detract from the central focus of the plot. The soundtrack I found to be very haunting and although I knew it was pure instrumental when I bought it, I still wish there were the other few songs that weren't included from the movie. I would love for there to be a special edition DVD of the movie, perhaps with extra footage of deleted scenes and other bonus features. The ending was great, but what would have really made it better was if April didn't marry Chad, (which I assume is what she did due to the wedding ring that we saw on her finger at the end of the movie in the shower scene) and instead ran of to be with Perry. At least that's what I would have done!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful....

10/10
Author: jane grey from Gateshead, England
12 April 2004

....this is my favourite film ever! I love it sooo much, beautiful cast for a start, Sherilyn Fenn and Richard Tyson are the most gorgeous couple and have great chemistry together. I first saw this film when I was 15 years old, I was desperate to watch it and my big sister let me!!since then i've been facinated by passion and fantasies. It truly awakens all your desires, the music is sooo haunting and beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking, I never knew a carnival could be so erotic! This is pure drama, remember those first flutters you have at the beginning of love, well this film takes you back to that wonderful feeling and it does everytime you watch it! 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Tongue-in-cheek and rather enjoyable.

6/10
Author: gridoon
26 September 2001

This film doesn't take itself too seriously, and neither should you. Zalman King's direction is ultra-stylish and Fenn and Tyson make an attractive couple (the film will appeal to both sexes). It still plays like an extended TV commercial with soft-core overtones, but at least it almost constantly keeps its tongue in its cheek, which turns out to be a big plus. Clever ending, too. (**1/2)

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Pre wedding nerves cause much loosening of clothing

Author: Dax-21 from Surrey
30 September 1999



Zalman King is expert at producing soft porn rubbish that is about as erotic as ground grit, but Two Moon Junction is the exception, saved almost single handedly by Sherilynn Fenn, who is excellent in the role of little rich girl April, who falls for a hunky carnie on the eve of her wedding.

A great acting performance...not to mention a great body, which she shows off to an appreciative audience (in my house, anyway). two moon junction actually appeals to women as much as men.

If you are forced to watch a Zalman King movie, make it this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Meow, drool, pant

10/10
Author: clemato
7 April 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS.

Richard M. Tyson and Sherilyn Fenn are super hot together. Great movie, much better than the Zalman King's first hit movie, "9 1/2 Weeks". The whole scenario of rich Southern belle meets muscle bound trucker is campy, but steamy. Look for great cameos by Herve Villachez and Christy McNichol. This is model actress, Milla Jovovich's first film. Features the terrifying Louise Fletcher and the Christmas song guy, Burl Ives, both as the baddies. **** You can see Richard M. Tyson's genitals!! In a DVD/blu-ray player, even on the Full Screen (P&S) side there is nothing to be seen at the 89 minute mark. However, on a computer Richard Tyson's bone is definitely there. Not much later in that same seen, the actual meeting at "Two Moon Junction", when he's stroking himself (just before the church scene), you can see it there, too. Anyway, this film is One of my favorites! It is just so super sexy and cute.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history