IMDb > Caddyshack II (1988) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Caddyshack II
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Caddyshack II More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 75 reviews in total 

34 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Utterly dreadful

3/10
Author: A_Roode from Halifax, Nova Scotia
19 December 2005

Every time I watch this movie blood comes gushing out of my eyes. Yes, you read that correctly: I've watched this wretched, foul thing more than once.

Caddyshack 2 went wrong for so many reasons: Harold Ramis dialing in a script and abandoning the direction duties, Rodney Dangerfield (wisely) walking away from the project because they wouldn't allow him to tinker with the script, Bill Murray showing excellent judgement and not being part of it, and a puppet being pushed forward as the feature player of a cast who deserved much better.

I can't help but think of Dyan Cannon in this and wonder why she's perpetually laughing and smiling. The only conclusion I can draw is that she is indeed the face of pure evil. Stay with me a moment. She must have been watching as the film came together and revelled in the untold agony that it would inflict on countless soon to be extremely sorry movie goers who would have this film inflicted on them. She may also have been extremely drunk. That's what I need to be right now to wash the foul taste of this complete and utter failure out of my mind. If I'm lucky it'll be washed out forever.

I have seen this film several times. I blame several of them on childhood and being a very dull and dim-witted boy who apparently had no aesthetic sensibility. Perhaps puppets are just funnier when you're a kid. No, the Muppet show is funnier now ... guess I was just dull. Caddyshack 2 is that rare kind of film that is so extraordinarily disappointing on so many levels that you convince yourself after the end credits that it couldn't have been as bad as all that. It WAS. It IS. It will only get worse with time.

My reasons for going back to this film, mercifully, are becoming fewer. Randy Quaid is limited in his role as Jackie Mason's lawyer. His opening scene isn't bad and brought out my only chuckle. We see him a few more times but it becomes as tired as the rest of the movie and descends with unfortunate rapidity from incidentally amusing to vapid wasteland. Randy Quaid acquits himself well, and this film owes him big time because if there was reason to watch this film as anything other than a torture tactic, he was it.

Maybe that's the trick of the movie. It has enough potentially endearing qualities that people watch it, are horrified at what they've done to themselves but later because the pickings were so slim can remember only what did actually amuse them. Years later they unwittingly watch it again and the cycle repeats.

Jackie Mason takes a lot of the blame for this film but in fairness, I'm not sure he deserves it. He's really trying out there but it is impossible to not to notice that he spends the entire movie doing a Rodney Dangerfield impersonation. That's who the movie was written for but I'm not sure even he could have saved it. Ultimately this fails miserably through terrible direction, bad editing (shall we count continuity errors?) and a rehashing of the same story with none of the wry humour or heart that made the first film endearing.

Dragged kicking and screaming up to a three out of ten instead of two by Randy Quaid's bulldog determination. It isn't even bad enough to laugh at. I've definitely seen worse, but trust your memory -- this one is a dog. If you've never seen it you've made excellent life choices and I salute your excellent judgement.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Sub-Par

Author: tfrizzell from United States
24 November 2000

"Caddyshack II" tries to continue the comedy of the first, but never does really come together the way it was intended to. Chevy Chase is the only returner from the original and this hurts the film. Jackie Mason, Robert Stack, Jonathan Silverman, Dyan Cannon, Randy Quaid, and Dan Aykroyd do their best, but the material is just not present. The direction is also poor as few viewers will really care what happens by the end of the movie. 2 stars out of 5.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

watch this movie

1/10
Author: purplebiker from United States
10 April 2005

Watch this movie .....only to truly appreciate how good the original is. I'm not real hard to please, but this was one of the worst movies I have ever seen.

It hurt me deeply, because I like Chevy Chase, Jackie Mason, and Dyan Cannon. The writing was just terrible! I thought Chevy would have at least ad libbed some better stuff than he did. There was hardly anything to laugh at in this movie. I went into it wanting to enjoy it. I wanted to laugh but nearly cried.

In the beginning credits it read Special Appearance by Chevy Chase. This worried me from the start. Chevy is actually in more than I thought he would be. It's more than a "special appearance". Too bad the appearance wasn't special. Mason's character would have been a good secondary character but got old as a main. I would rather have seen more (much more)of Dyan Cannon. At least her character was fun, if not well written. I also missed the gratuatis teen sex scene. Mr. Gopher went from being cute and innocent to a pesky rodent that deserved to be blown up. Jonathan Silverman is the only character that interested me and we didn't see enough of him.

I take it back. Try..to watch half of this movie, then...remember the Alamo, the Maine, and CaddyShack I.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Where's Rodney?

Author: edmundmuskie from America
19 May 2004

This movie has serious problems if it is not going to have Bill Murray, I could have said that long before this movie was released. The movie was even going to be worse if Chevy Chase is going to be in the movie, but only for five minutes. But this movie should have never been made without Rodney Dangerfield. This movie is almost nothing like the first one. The first one a was dirty, raunchy, rapid-fire comedy that was hilarious. This movie is a silly PG film. The two almost don't have any connection. The first one oddly enough had real characters, you could identify somewhat with the characters, whether it was frustrated Danny (who also is not in this one) or obnoxious Judge Smails. You may not have like Judge Smails, but you REALLY didn't like him. The characters here are all cardboard and inoffensive.

The edge in the first one is completely lost here. Despite that there manages to be a few funny moments. The movie really never catches fire, despite the cast that includes Jackie Mason (who attempts to be the lead) Robert Stack, Marsha Warfield, Dan Aykroyd, Dyan Cannon, and a few others. Overall do not watch this film. The movie overall is predictable, and at the end the film is a complete departure from the first one. I do not know why they even attempted to do this film without members of the first cast. Although Ted Knight is dead that something still could have been done to improve the script, with the other three comedians, and maybe Michael O'Keefe. If you saw the first one, which is hilarious, don't bother with this one, it's not worth your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Mediocre

2/10
Author: dru690 from New York
12 August 2000

Caddyshack Two is a good movie by itself but compared to the original it cant stack up. Robert Stack is a horrible replacement for Ted Knight and Jackie Mason, while funny just cant compete with Rodney Dangerfield. Ty Webb is funny, being the only character from the original. Most of the other characters in the movie lack the punch of the original (Henry Wilcoxon for example) except for the hystericly funny lawyer Peter Blunt, being played by Randy Quaid. Every line he says reminds me of the originals humor, especially the scene at his office (I don't go in for law suits or motions. I find out where you live and come to your house and beat down your door with a f***ing baseball bat, make a bonfire with the chippindale,maybe roast that golden retriever (arff arff arff) then eat it. And then I'm comin' upstairs junior, and I'm grabbing you by your brooks brothers pjs, and cramming your brand new BMW up your tight a**! Do we have an understanding?). Offsetting his small role however, is Dan Acroyd, who is obviously no replacement for Bill Murray. His voice is beyond irritating and everything he does isnt even funny, its just stupid. Overall Caddyshack II is a good movie, but in comparison to the awesome original it just cant cut it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Worst. Sequel. Ever.

1/10
Author: jrdodson from United States
18 July 2012

It's eight years after the mega-hit "Caddyshack," and the studio wants to milk that cash cow again, but it all went horribly, horribly wrong. They couldn't get Rodney Dangerfield, so they went with the third-string facsimile, Jackie Mason. Ted Knight? No, Robert Stack. Bill Murray? No, a bizarre and whiny Dan Ackroyd, in what has to be the worst performance of his career. I guess Chevy Chase's phone wasn't ringing off the hook, since he reprises his role as Ty Webb.

And it all went downhill from there. Where else could it go? Randy Quaid is just awful (surprise!) as is Dyan Cannon, Jonathan Silverman and Dina Merrill. The script could have been written by a high school drama class (and probably was), the direction is tepid and unfocused, and the whole thing is a limp and deadly mess.

Save your time and money and brain cells. It was like watching a car wreck--you want to avert your gaze, but you just can't believe what you are seeing. The worst sequel of all time. Ever, ever, ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fun, but stupid

5/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
10 January 2008

After all seeing the very funny movie Caddyshack, I was looking forward to seeing the sequel, but I have to admit that I was nervous because I heard a lot of bad things about Caddyshack 2. I was also reading on the internet how this was voted one of the worst sequels of all time, which is sad. But I wanted to see the movie still, just at least see if it was really that bad. So I rented it anyways and watched it the other night. Now, I agree, this movie is really stupid, but it's a funny stupid that's very light hearted and has a few really good laughs. I know Randy Quaid can be annoying at times, but he really steals the show and his comedy is outrageous. I didn't like how they were trying to replace certain characters from the first film, but I let go and ended up laughing and having fun with Caddyshack 2.

Jack Hartounian is what you might call, "New Money", but he's a very successful in construction and is worth millions. He's a bit out there, personality wise, and dresses a bit crazy, but knows the hard work of the common man. His daughter, Katie, begs him to join a golf club so she could be with the upper class elite. But he makes a fool of himself and wants revenge on those who made fun of him. He buys the club and turns it into an amusement park! But this doesn't stop the elite from trying to tear him down.

Caddyshack 2 is stupid at times, like the gofer, they took the joke a little far. And Dan Aykrod's character, I love Dan so much, but it's like he took on Bill Murray's character from the first Caddyshack and made Dan really annoying. Jackie Mason is a bit out there and can't stand up to Rodney Dangerfield. But Caddyshack 2 still has a few good laughs, I mean, if you couldn't laugh at Randy Quaid and how he delivered his lines, check your funny bones. Caddyshack 2 is a silly movie, but it's all in good fun, but if we are just going to keep comparing to the first movie, then you're not going to have a good time.

5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

no

Author: bleuxxx from Los Angeles
17 November 2003

A while ago I attempted to sit through the entire Caddyshack epic back-to-back, but part II took me three sittings. I toughed it out though. I'm not a quitter.

What happened here? What somehow made the original a classic lies with the filmmakers' decision to toss the script more-or-less and rely on the improvisational genius of the veteran comics. Here, the viewer is dragged though a lifeless, by-the-numbers 80s light comedy PLOT and left feeling hurt and confused and certainly not filled with mirth. Oh sure, you've got the talents of Jonathan Silverman AND Marsha Warfield (I keep waiting for some forward thinking, cutting edge network to bring back her talk show) vying for your attentions IN THE SAME MOVIE! And you get to see Jackie Mason in a lead role! That's not enough? Well, the two returning characters, Chevy Chase's Ty Webb and the gopher certainly pull their weight. Chase has no shame and everybody knows it. Robert Stack could make Hooked On Phonics sound like Crime and Punishment, so there's no fault there. Quaid and Akyroid are annoying as always....

Oh, I thought of something good! The Kenny Loggins theme song is fantastic! Far superior to his contribution to the original Caddyshack. Whenever I face a challenge in life, I am heartened by thinking of this inspirational song. "I'm goin' all the way"! I was pleased to see that it appears on a 2 disc best of Kenny Loggins. Good call.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

This one isn't nearly as good as the first, but it isn't one of the worst movies ever.

5/10
Author: Aaron1375
29 January 2004

While this one certainly is not the original, it certainly isn't bad enough to be on the list of worst movies ever. I found some of the jokes to be funny and it wasn't a complete waste of time so I just don't see how it has such a low ranking. Well maybe I do. The main problems I had with this one are the story and its focus. This movie really has nothing to do with caddies, other than Silverman's character there are no other caddies that are focused on. In fact, other than the fact it is a country club, Chevy's character is back, and the gopher it really doesn't have much else in common with the original. Jackie Mason is the focal point here taking the Rodney Dangerfield role from the first. Here is one of the problems; he isn't nearly as funny or likable as Dangerfield. The scenes with his daughter also get annoying as it gets somewhat serious at times. Chevy reprises his role as Ty, but other than the fact he goes "nananana" he almost is a different character. Dan Akroyd sort of takes the place of Bill Murray's character and has a few funny lines, but his performance will not make anyone forget Bill Murray from the first one. Also, you do not have special appearances in a movie, when that appears it just makes your whole movie seem a bit generic. Also, both Chevy and Dan were in the movie more than say Marsha Warfield who is listed ahead of them. There are some good performances though...I liked Randy Quaid's character and Robert Stack was rather good too. It is good for a couple of laughs and I do not really think it is all that awful, but if only they could have done a better job with the central story in this one. I just don't think Jackie was very good and he kind of pulls the movie down a couple of notches.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Vile

1/10
Author: Nitpicking from United Kingdom
28 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have vague memories of this movie being funny.

Having seen it again either I have changed or I was thinking about a another film altogether.

It seems as if we are supposed to be sympathetic to Jackie Mason's character however nothing in the movie actually engenders that emotion. Its notable that he is really the only person accorded tender dialogue with loved ones. No-one else's character is allowed to rise to the status of even vaguely human.

I don't even like golf but as the film went on I found myself really rooting for Robart Stack and the club guys, really hoping they would repel Mason and Chevy Chase.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history