In the Heat of the Night (TV Series 1988–1995) Poster


Episode List


Season 4

18 Sep. 1990
Brotherly Love: Part 1
Virgil Tibbs returns to Philadelphia to investigate his best man's death and uncovers police corruption within his friend's precinct.
18 Sep. 1990
Brotherly Love: Part 2
When Gillespie travels to Philadelphia to assist Virgil in his investigation, they are able to bring down the vigilante cops and clear his friend's name. The two return to Sparta just in time for Virgil to welcome his children, William & Sarah, into the world.
25 Sep. 1990
Lessons Learned
A father is overcome with guilt when his daughter is killed after he disowned her.
2 Oct. 1990
Perversions of Justice
Tempers flare in Sparta when an elementary school teacher is accused of molesting one of his students.
23 Oct. 1990
And Justice for Some
Virgil's young neighbor is badly injured in a hit-and-run accident caused by a cocky drug trafficker.
30 Oct. 1990
Heart of Gold
Bubba Skinner rekindles an old romance, then finds himself hurt and confused when she stands accused of murder.
6 Nov. 1990
Quick Fix
While spending his day off fishing, Bubba's dog unearths a dead infant, found to have been born to a mentally challenged teenager.
13 Nov. 1990
When a paroled man returns to Sparta, the whole town becomes a suspect when the man is murdered.
20 Nov. 1990
A Problem Too Personal
Harriet Delong's son is implicated in the investigation of an armed robbery committed by her ex-husband.
27 Nov. 1990
A Final Arrangement
Wilson Sweet has a hard time believing that his good friend murdered his wife, who had been diagnosed with cancer.
4 Dec. 1990
Family Matters
Virgil's cousin is accused of a string of robberies in the midst of him trying to bring some peace back to the family.
11 Dec. 1990
Bounty Hunter
Bubba's friend is put in danger when a bounty hunter is on the trail of her brother.
18 Dec. 1990
During the Christmas season, a flirtatious newspaper reporter prints an unflattering story about the Sparta Police Department.
8 Jan. 1991
Shine on Sparta Moon
A teenage girl is killed and her boyfriend blinded in a car accident caused by spiked moonshine.
15 Jan. 1991
An Execution of Trust
A psychiatrist, bound by her own rule of confidentiality, holds information proving that a man about to be executed for murder may actually be innocent.
5 Feb. 1991
Child of Promise
A promising high school student is determined to encourage his younger brother to make positive choices in his life.
12 Feb. 1991
Paper Castles
Virgil puts himself in a compromising position when he uses inside information to inform a friend that he was cheated when he invested in a building project.
19 Feb. 1991
Laid to Waste
Parker finds himself attracted to the main witness of a murder investigation, a beautiful blind girl who overheard her neighbor's murder.
26 Feb. 1991
First Deadly Sin
Althea's colleague is the latest victim of a serial rapist who preys on single, blonde women.
19 Mar. 1991
Just a Country Boy
Bubba travels to Los Angeles to extradite a prisoner to Sparta to stand trial and finds himself the target of the man's accusers.
26 Mar. 1991
No Other Road
Harriet's son tries to have his father's death row conviction overturned.
30 Apr. 1991
A Turning
Althea is starting to feel the strain of being the wife of one police officer and the daughter of another.

« Season 3 |  Season 4  Season 5  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page