The American Experience (TV Series 1988– ) Poster

Episode List

Next Episode (airs 27 Jan. 2015)


Current Episode (aired 13 Jan. 2015)

Klansville U.S.A.

Investigate the reasons North Carolina, long seen as the most progressive state in the South, became home to the largest Klan organization in the country, with more members than all the other Southern states combined, ...

Season 9

3 Feb. 1997
The Telephone
The telephone was first introduced at the Centennial Exposition in 1876 and was an instant success. Although first rented only to "persons of good breeding" and seen as an expensive luxury for doctors and businessmen, the telephone soon transformed American life. Trees gave way to telephone poles as operators known as "hello girls" began to connect a sprawling continent.
10 Feb. 1997
Big Dream, Small Screen
A biography of Philo Farnsworth, an inventor of the television.
17 Feb. 1997
New York Underground
Follows the construction of the New York City subway system in the early 1900s.
28 Apr. 1997
Around the World in 72 Days
The story of the female investigative reporter, Nellie Bly and her race around the world in less than 80 days.

« Season 8 |  Season 9  Season 10  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page