IMDb > Malone (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Malone
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Malone More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 36 reviews in total 

15 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

great 80's action no brainer

10/10
Author: jpclarke2005 from United Kingdom
30 August 2006

Even though some people state that this film is awful, but they are forgetting that most 80's action films where and this was one of many that was churned out then forgotten.

I vividly remember first watching this on video rental and thought it was brilliant and even though it's very dated I still love the film as an 80's classic like I would watch some old black and white film.

I don't feel I should have to wait until the film is 40 or 50 years old to claim it is an classic nor should I go with other persons comments that it is crap just because they are watching the film without growing up in the 80's when the film was made and is set in.

with regards jpclarke

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

1961...not too early!

Author: lee nicholson (leeio2002@yahoo.co.uk) from middlesbrough, england
12 August 2002

BURT REYNOLDS has made some bad movies. He is a god, but nonetheless, has made bad movies. MALONE (1987) is not one these. It is a update of the old 'SHANE' genre, that continues to enthrall audiences today. The plot being; Gunslinger hangs up guns, moves to new town, finds that he can't hang up guns....and kills every bad guy in shooting or fighting distance. Simple> Well this movie, allbeit formula, does have some memorable moments. The stunt work, is first-rate, and everyone does give sterling performances.

But the one scene that sticks in my mind, is were MALONE is talking to his new-found friend (and landlord) SCOTT (THE NINTH CONFIGURATION) WILSON. They ramble on about the 'good-old' days, and WILSON talks about his experience in 'NAM' (TM). He then asks REYNOLDS, when did he fight in vietnam. REYNOLDS answers....1961. A bemused WILSON questions REYNOLDS "wasn't that a little early?"

"Not for what i was there to do!" Replies REYNOLDS, in probably one of the most macho/tough-guy/shadowy past comebacks ever.

People complain that REYNOLDS made bad movies in the eighties. I think it was his best decade (STICK/SHARKEYS MACHINE/HEAT and RENT-A-COP), i mean, come on....at least if loads of people hated these movies, it at least means that loads of people actually saw THESE movies. Just who, saw 1997's abysmal RAVEN?.....me, but even i enjoyed it. If anyone is wanting to watch a good simple action tale (like the way they used to make em') ..then MALONE may be the movie for you

8 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Tight Lipped Burt

6/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
4 August 2007

In Malone, Burt Reynolds is a CIA paid assassin who's tired of the life and wants out of the company. Of course the company doesn't see it his way and his former protégé Lauren Hutton is sent to terminate his contract with the agency.

But Reynolds in looking for obscurity finds a place where a mysterious millionaire Cliff Robertson is buying all the land in some obscure valley in Idaho to make it his headquarters for some ill defined right wing conspiracy. Robertson's bought the sheriff, Kenneth McMillan and several local louts to enforce his will on the community. Reynolds's car broke down here by sheer chance and he's taken in by garage owner Scott Wilson and his daughter Cynthia Gibb. When Robertson's thugs start leaning on them, Reynolds springs into action.

Burt Reynolds's style is a whole lot like James Garner, quizzical, cynical and charming. I'm not used to seeing him play it as tight lipped as he does in Malone, but he does carry it off. The film borrows a lot from the plot of Shane and I could certainly see a 1987 version of Alan Ladd in the part.

It's a good action film even though a lot of the plot issues are unresolved. More than fans of Burt Reynolds will enjoy this.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A fun bad movies

7/10
Author: huwdj from Wales, UK
17 April 2006

There are some films that miss whatever target they are aiming for yet somehow are just great fun to watch. Malone, a fairly obvious updating of Shane, reaches deeply in to the duffers bag of clichés to pull out; the burnt out assassin, the beautiful former colleague, cute teenage girl and her brave but crippled father and, of course, a nutter who along with his evil henchmen are bent on taking over the government. Starting with the most inept of the baddie's henchmen Malone is gradually drawn in to the fight until he achieves his final pyrrhic victory and moves on. Burt Reynolds is actually not a bad actor when he's not trying to be 'a good old boy' all the time. Cliff Roberstson goes jarringly over the top. Laurren Hutton is beautiful, brave and loyal. Cynthia Gib is cute as apple pie in a see-through nightie and the much miss-used Scott Wilson does exactly what he needs to do. So why is this not a good movie? Dunno. There is nothing obviously wrong with the film. It doesn't look cheap, everyone hits their marks and speaks the lines. The end is a bit over the top and perhaps people were reluctant to let Burt Reynolds be serious. Never mind, I've added it to my list of films to be watch every time they turn up in the schedule and I guess I'll just continue to enjoy it for what it is, a good bad movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Burt Reynolds shoots to kill!

10/10
Author: ary luiz dalazen jr.
3 November 1998

Burt Reynolds and Cliff Robertson star this light and simple spying adventure.Reynolds is Richard Malone,an ex-CIA agent who,tired of his profession as a killer,resolves to leave his past behind and travels through the country,in search of a new beginning.But he ends up in a small city when his car breaks down and,unexpectedly,gets involved with a magnate with megalomania's problems,played with cynicism by Cliff Robertson,who intends to extend his empire's tentacles over the whole country and reach the power,more exactly,the presidency,with the help of his comrades.It's set a well-directed trama,pleasing and without commitments.The movie counts with action scenes and introduces a romance between Reynolds and a killer played by Gator's Lauren Hutton.The character was made with precision for Reynolds qualities,and the film will certainly please his fans!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

one of the last great Burt Reynolds action flix

10/10
Author: cichas08 from United States
31 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this is one of, if not the last, of the great Reynolds action flix, and shockingly it is not available on DVD, while such horrid Burt movies such as stroker ace and cop and a half are. although Burt seems to think he is Mr. Majesty is this fine flick, it is just an awesome movie set in the Oregon wilderness where ex-fed Burt has to kick some big bully bad guys such as cliff Robertson's tail.....in terms of pure pimpitude, Burt gets a 10 here, never has his toupee, bad stache, tight jeans, and shades been on such display, and he can still play the ladies, but the bad guys are his real targets in Malone. time to burn the ID and head off into the woods i guess. someone please bring out that all time classic Malone on DVD, and remind folks of how great action flicks could be pre segal, the rock, and van dam.....when Burt, chuck Bronson, and Clint reigned supreme, with Sly Stallone still trying to escape from clubber lang and thunderfoot

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The Burt Reynolds I like best

Author: TC-4 (markviilin@aol.com)
29 October 2000

This was a breath of fresh air compared to the silly movies that he made from about 1980 to 1990. There were no silly comments just lots of action. VanDamme or Segal could not have done better. The local filming was beautiful and the acting by the supporting cast was first-rate and not overdone. Burt might be too old for this type of movie now but this is the stuff that he should have done when he was in his prime. I am glad I saw it as I gained new respect for his acting.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"Malone" is a must see for Burt Reynolds fans ...........

7/10
Author: merklekranz from United States
13 January 2011

Burt Reynolds at times can be a really annoying actor, often portraying an enormous ego, that gets in the way of true acting. I am happy to report that is not the case with"Malone", as a very low key Burt Reynolds is complimented nicely by an always low key Scott Wilson. There are some great character actors in this one also, including Kenneth McMillan, and Tracey Walter. Cliff Robertson is the strong arming overzealous, disillusioned, "patriot", putting the squeeze on a small Oregon town. Reynolds walks away from his C.I.A. operative position, and winds up the unsolicited defender of decent folks. "Malone" is a very good action film, and one of Burt's best. - MERK

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

80's Classic

10/10
Author: haythalk from United Kingdom
3 April 2009

Having watched this movie more times than I care to remember, thought it was time to write down my thoughts. Malone was released in May 1987, just a few short months after Reynolds had released his 'comeback' movie Heat. Heat bombed and so did Malone..and everyother Burt movie after that. The simple truth was that his time had passed and people were now looking to new action heroes. However, do not let that fool you into thinking you should miss Malone..on the contrary, it is vital viewing for any Reynolds or action fan! Plot is simple. Malone is a disillusioned CIA operative, he wants out and he tells his partner that in the opening scene.Malone heads off in his classic car.However,the car breaks down near a small town.Malone befriends the garage owner and his young daughter.However,his stay in the town is far from dull.He finds out that most of the shops/hotels are closed down due to properties being bought by the mysterious Delaney. Delaney is a right wing zealot and this town is part of his sector. Malone confronts one of Delaneys thugs and beat the c**p out of him.He then shoots another of the thugs.Delaney meets Malone with an eye to recruiting him but Malone is having none of it.Despite, in the words of Delaney of being a "Samurai without a master, powerful but without direction".A local farmer is also killed infront of the garage,embroiling Malone further into the towns problems.To add to this,Malone's ex-lover and CIA partner comes to town to kill him but instead falls for him again. This is a good job as she takes care of him after an assassination attempt by the zealots.However,she is then targeted and killed.This means only one thing..Malone is now out for revenge. Cue the classic 80's style ending.Lots of bad guys chasing after hero in deserted building and getting killed off one and one to leave hero with main villain. The explosion at the end is pretty cool. So here what is so damn cool about MALONE. When asked by the family he meets at the local garage what his name is, the reply is: "Malone"...the young girl asks: "Got a first name", reply:"Yeah" HOW COOL IS THAT! It gets better... When the young girl is driving Malone into town, he says he is travelling around. She says that must be interesting..his reply is: "Isn't every place just like the other." HOW WISE IS THAT! A classic.. Young girl takes coffee up to Malone in the morning.He is lying on his bed.After putting the coffee down, she asks him:"Are you getting up or going to bed" His reply:"I haven't decided yet" Only someone as COOL as Malone hasn't decided whether he wants to sleep or not!! The list goes on and on. A review of Reynolds other movie 'Heat' suggested you shout the movie title every time some action happened. I suggest the same here..There is a scene when right-wing assassins come to kill Malone, they naturally fail but in trying to warn him, the young girl screams..all together now..M A L O N E!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

"Malone kicks some major ass!!"

Author: hilfigerplaya07
5 August 2002

Burt Reynolds did an awesome job as Malone, I thought he did real well as a CIA-agent; I thought he did well fighting as he did shooting, in that one scene on the bridge where he busted that dude up that was awesome; and unfortunatley for the guy's brother there was something under that newspaper! And Malone did a well job getting even with the villian & his followers when they killed that women. Malone is definantley not the type of guy to mess with!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history