IMDb > The Lost Boys (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Lost Boys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Lost Boys More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 35: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]
Index 345 reviews in total 

25 years later and the movie still has bite.

10/10
Author: Mark L from Hamilton Ontario
6 March 2012

Last month I was lucky enough to catch The Lost Boys on the big screen as part of Cineplex's digital film festival. First I must say I have been a huge fan since seeing the flick in 1987 at the theatre and growing up I have watch it more that 100 times. I haven't watched the movie in a little while and was curious to see how the movie would hold up now that both the film and I are both 25 years older. I was blown away how great the movie still holds up. I will be honest the first 20 minutes dragged a little watching it, but then I was totally lost in the film like I was watching for the first time. If anyone hasn't seen the movie it is a must have. It was also great seeing Corey Haim one final time on the big screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie is fantastic, funny and suspenseful.

10/10
Author: sydneyh44 from Canada
1 March 2012

'The Lost Boys' (Joel Schumacher) is a film about two boys and their mother who move to a beach town. The boys discover the town is infested with vampires. This film was extremely well done and had a fun and lively feel to it. The town was interesting and the characters were all very different. From strong leaders to carefree grandfathers, this movie had it all. The plot was simple but kept many things hidden until the end, dropping only subtle hints. The film has many comic moments from the frog brothers to the rowdiness of the teenagers it deals with issues of peer pressure and facing the reality of a new town and a new life. This movie was intense and the characters were very complex.

Was the above review useful to you?

BEST FILM EVER-real cult movie that never grows old!

Author: Michelle from United Kingdom
21 January 2012

This is my favourite movie of all time!!! This 80s movie has never grown old-it has the BEST cast BEST director, it has the perfect combination of cute guys (and Star for the guys), comedy and a great storyline. I REALLY wish they had done a sequel MUCH sooner though like about 2 years max after this and had all the original cast-the sequel was extremely disappointing! Corey HAIM was fantastic in this movie, really played the part the best it could be played! Joel Schumacher was an awesome director and should have done the sequels too and as I said before a LOT earlier. 20 years after the original doing a sequel was only going to work if they had the original cast and Joel!!! This movie will always be my favourite and obviously I give this a 10/10. I don't know ANYONE who doesn't like this movie! Vampire movies are the best there have been loads but none of them are a patch on this! Really hope they do a re-launch and show this at the cinema again on its 30th anniversary as I am STILL watching it and STILL LOVING it in 2012!!! LOVE LOST BOYS-THE ORIGINAL xxx

Was the above review useful to you?

Answers

Author: (otto_schitburger@yahoo.com) from Düssledork
24 September 2011

Nice, racy, intelligent, a good comedy about high school, its rules and the lanes of alienation. The charm of Jason Patric is axis of movie and, behind the clothes of humor are pieces of great problem of loneliness A movie about the beauty of life, searches and discoveries, delicate and powerful, with a great Robert Downey in the role of principal.

A film like a travel. Maps and ways, symbols and guides and the tent. A boy and the world as puzzle. His puzzle in which the atmosphere of house creates fragile solutions of problems who makes the soul of an age and the self respect of a teenager. Almost a comedy. In fact, a medicine with the taste of sweet spring fruits. Must see! For the nostalgic pages of a time precious for everyone.

Was the above review useful to you?

Being Dated Only Adds to the Charm

9/10
Author: illbeoneasystreet from Canada
11 September 2011

The Lost Boys screams eighties, but that is part of the reason it is so much fun. And you don't have to have grown up in the eighties to enjoy it. Is it campy? Absolutely, but a mixture of well used horror tactics, iconic lines that you will never forget, and a well rounded cast make it great. The true star of this movie is Kiefer Sutherland who delivers an astounding performance with mullet in tow. Jason Patric gives a suitable enough performance, although pales in the blinding light of Sutherland's character. Corey Haim is absolutely adorable in this and shows that although he might not be the greatest actor has more then enough talent and charm to worm his way into your heart. (Too bad he never got his comeback I personally believe the man could have gone places.) Feldman and Newlander provide comic relief as the Frogg brothers but I must admit that they get a little annoying after multiple viewings in my case anyways others might disagree. Add on top of that astounding performances from the casts veterans and you have a great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Review! Plus my little obsession with The Lost Boys.

10/10
Author: abidabidooo
13 August 2011

Wow! What an excellent film! This is definitely one of my favourite films, even though it is quite old. I watched this film when I was really young (I even have it on video which proves how ancient it is haha). I bought it on DVD years & years ago because I love watching it. Its usually on the TV so I grab the opportunity and watch it, it never gets old. So if you haven't watched this brilliant movie then please do.

Two boys and their mother move into a new town in California called Santa Carla (also known as the murder capital of the world) to live with their Grandpa after their parents divorce. The brothers soon start to discover that the loud, crowded town is swarming with blood sucking, brutal killers: Vampires! Michael, the elder brother, chases after a gorgeous girl called Star, who has recently become a vampire as well her son. Michael accidentally mixes into the vamp group, oblivious to what they are. David, the rebellious, dangerous vampire in the group, tricks Michael into drinking his vampire infested blood and he becomes partly one of them. He later realises that until you make your first kill, then you are only a half vampire. To become normal again, they have to kill the head vampire, which seems simple enough.. but they don't know who it is! Meanwhile, their mother starts working in a comic book store where she soon falls in love and starts dating the owner. He seems quite charming and lovely enough but the sons do not seem to grow a liking to him. The Frogs, who work in this comic shop, are two strange but hilarious brothers who completely hate vampires! They try to convince Sam, the youngest brother, that vampires exist by showing proof and giving him vamp comics. Sam finally believes that vampires are real and starts to help his brother become cured, although he is scared he will have to kill him.

Ladies and gentlemen you will have to watch the film to find out the big but kind of obvious twist what happens. Trust me, this is a fantastic film (although it wasn't that scary for me, so if you are looking for a real bloody, gruesome, terrifying film then this is not for you). It is just classic film which is a must see as the acting and everything is just amazing. Please, give it a try :) Enjoy! I gave it a 10/10 - (I cant believe it only has 7/10 as it deserves more).

Was the above review useful to you?

Vampires done the right way in this '80s cult classic

8/10
Author: Movie_Muse_Reviews from IL, USA
6 June 2011

Living in the modern era of overdone vampire stories, "The Lost Boys" makes for a worthy retro antidote. With films and TV shows full of characters who simply are vampires these days, "Lost Boys" reminds us how part of the allure of the vampire is the mystery and suspense created by not exactly knowing if someone is a vampire or even better — suspecting it.

Although it doesn't take long to realize who the vampires are in "The Lost Boys," it doesn't make their reveal any less effective. The '80s hair biker gang led by Kiefer Sutherland as David has the trappings of an iconic cinema cult of renegades who revel in their immortality. The story holds out on reviewing their true form long enough for us to take them seriously.

Brothers and main characters Michael (Jason Patric) and Sam (Corey Haim) serve as perfect entry points into this vampire-infested world of small-town California. After their mom (Dianne Wiest) forces them to move in with their grandfather, Michael and Sam each uncover strange things in their new town. After chasing a girl (Jami Gertz), Michael gets caught up in this mysterious gang and finds himself avoiding sunlight among other things. When Sam takes notice, he enlists the help of the Frog brothers (Corey Feldman and Jamison Newlander), two comic book geeks who moonlight as vampire killers.

"The Lost Boys" bathes in '80s film cheese. There's boy-sees-girl-across-the-room romance, a comic book store, a carnival, gangs ... the list goes on. The film epitomizes that decade in movies, which either makes it corny or classic. I would argue that as the plot thickens, it moves from the former to the latter.

The key to the film's effectiveness is the slow unveiling of the vampires. The scene in the tree where they show Michael what he has become by turning into their vampire forms and attacking their pray has a massive impact. Although we never see the transformations in process thanks to budget issues most likely, the colored contacts, make up and Joel Schumacher's approach are enough to freak you out in all the right ways. The cumulative amount of blood and guts at the climax also adds that cult-classic horror camp that will put a stupid grin on the face of any of the genre's fans.

Horror elements and vampires aside, "The Lost Boys" is 100 percent '80s through and through with themes of broken families, fitting in and losers saving the day. It undoubtedly inspired some of the films of the early '90s as well. In that sense, it's not just a fun film, but an important one.

~Steven C

Visit my site at http://moviemusereviews.com

Was the above review useful to you?

"Death By Stereo"

7/10
Author: ferbs54 from United States
25 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A Gen X'er work buddy of mine was shocked when he recently learned that I--a baby-boomer horror buff--had never seen the 1987 scare film "The Lost Boys." Already a cult item of sorts for those of a certain age, the film is one that had somehow slipped by me for the last 24 years...until last night, that is. And now that I've seen the picture, I can honestly say that it strikes me as a somewhat dated albeit undeniably fun outing that is regrettably deficient in the Shocks, Scares and Horror Department; still, I can understand its appeal for those who were of an impressionable age during those nascent days of MTV. In the film, we meet the Emerson brothers, Michael (the older, played by hunky Jason Patric) and Sam (an extremely endearing performance by the late Corey Haim), who move to "The Murder Capital of the World," Santa Carla, CA, with their divorced mom (the ever-cute and always dependable Dianne Wiest). Before long, Michael gets involved with a bad-boy biker gang that is actually composed of bloodsucking vampires and led by a peroxide-dyed Kiefer Sutherland, all to impress the lovely Star (Jami Gertz), and Sam realizes that his older bro is slowly turning into a creature of the night himself. Good thing that the managers of the local comic book store, the Frog brothers (some very funny van Helsing renditions here by Corey Feldman and Jamison Newlander), are well practiced in the art of vampire extermination....

An ingratiating mixture of style, comedy and scares, served in fairly equal thirds, "The Lost Boys" is certainly a nice-looking and perfectly entertaining film. Director Joel Schumacher has given his picture a polished look that at times strongly resembles an early MTV music video, never more so than in the lovemaking scene between Michael and Star, with those soaring-in-the-clouds visuals. (Indeed, Sam even comments on his need for MTV in one scene; almost as dated a reference as his comment regarding "Dynasty" a little later!) The picture features a terrific soundtrack (very cool to hear Echo and the Bunnymen essaying The Doors classic "People Are Strange") and makes inspired use of the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk for many of its action sequences. Still, as a horror film, the picture is fairly tame...until its final 20 minutes or so, however, when we are treated to some pretty impressive zombie slayings, courtesy of our brave young heroes and their garlic-infused holy-water pistols. In a film with much to admire, though, perhaps the single best element is that wonderful cast of future stars on the rise. And how fun to see Edward Herrmann, a good 13 years or so pre-"Gilmore Girls," here playing a very different sort of paterfamilias! In all, fun stuff for all ages, although some aging baby boomers may wonder what all the fuss is about, as they seek out a vampire movie with a bit less teen angst and a bit more bite....

Was the above review useful to you?

love, friendship and freedom

Author: Chookas_monokas from Australia
13 March 2011

The Lost Boys is a horror film that knows how to use special effects to their advantage. This movie is about a family of 3, Michael and Sam who are brothers and Lucy who is the mother, which has jut moved in to a vampire-infested city where deaths and missing people are a common occurrence.

Take away the vampires in this movie away and its all about peer pressure, Michael trying to prove himself, trying to prove he is tougher and stronger than he really looks. Unfortunately in doing this he falls down a path that he doesn't desire to be along but his brother Sam's love helps him stay grounded. This movie has it all it has great acting, a costume designer who knows how to demonstrate ones character, cinematography that actually makes sense and excellent mise en scene to express how truly bloodcurdling these creatures are. Michael starts to fall in love with a half vampire called Star, this is how it all started. When Michael drank David's blood he too turned into a half vampire, the only thing saving Michael from transforming into a full blooded vampire is the unconditional love from his true family and his grandfathers hobby of hunting animals and displaying them on his wall.

Was the above review useful to you?

Campy, scary and funny vampire movie...

8/10
Author: dwpollar from Evansville, Indiana USA
2 September 2010

1st watched 8/31/2010 -- 8 out of 10 (Dir-Joel Schumacher): Campy, scary and funny vampire movie that I consider a classic in the genre. Joel Schumacher, who is one of my favorite directors, blends so many things into one movie and makes it entertaining as well. The story is about a newly divorced mother and her two children moving into a new town(dubbed 'murder capital of the world' on back of a billboard) and in with her demented father. The eerie element is introduced in the first scene as Kiefer Sutherland and his boys invade a local carnival and then a death occurs. The older son, played by Jason Patric, is enticed by a woman, who appears to be part of this group, and then unknowingly is initiated into it by drinking the blood of the leader. He first, though, has to have his own first kill to truly become one of them, and his younger son, played by Corey Haim, along with a goofy couple of brothers, try to stop this from happening. These brothers try to hunt down and kill the lead vampire, which is supposed to reverse the curse. The movie is filled with hilarious one-liners which shows me that it's not taking itself too seriously and makes the movie better. It also has wonderfully atmospheric scary shots with a little over-the-top violence in the last half hour. The humor, though, wins out and makes this movie a classic that shouldn't be missed.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 35: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history