IMDb > The Lost Boys (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Lost Boys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Lost Boys More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 320 reviews in total 

Enjoyable and entertaining vampire effort

9/10
Author: GL84 from Los Angeles, Ca
22 October 2012

When his brother gets mixed up with a rowdy gang in his seaside town that turns out to be a pack of vampires, a young kid teams up with a pair of local vampire-fanatics to stop him before he turns into a fully-fledged vampire.

A thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining vampire effort, this one has a lot going for it that really works well. One of the main abilities of this is to actually update the traditional forms of vampire lore into a more modern and rather intriguing series of concepts that play into the era pretty nicely. Rather than feature the traditional European version of the creature that runs around dressed to impress with a focus on keeping his identity a secret at all times, this one's use of rebellious free-spirits who don't really care and figure on just draining anyone they believe will blow their identity but look and act like typical teenagers allows them to blend in quite nicely and make it seem like an attractive, worthwhile life. The updating of the hunting tricks is pretty clever as well, and the ways of incorporating them into the story makes for some nice fun, as well as the different confrontations towards the end when they invade the coven to wipe them out which generates the film's action quotient. While it's got some signs of the time present that come off as goofy, as well as a few other minor flaws, it's overall really fun and entertaining.

Rated R: Graphic Violence and Graphic Language.

Was the above review useful to you?

"One Of The Best Vampire Films!"

7/10
Author: gwnightscream from United States
30 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jason Patric, Kiefer Sutherland, Corey Haim, Corey Feldman, Dianne Wiest, Jami Gertz, Barnard Hughes, Jamison Newlander and Edward Herrmann star in Joel Schumacher's 1987 horror film. Divorced woman, Lucy Emerson (Wiest) and her 2 sons, Michael (Patric) and Sam (Haim) have just moved to Santa Carla, California to live with her father (Hughes). Soon, Michael and Sam discover that there's vampires living among them after Michael falls in with a gang of punks. Sam seeks help from vampire hunters, Edgar (Feldman) and his brother, Alan (Newlander) to rid them. Sutherland (24) plays punk leader, David, Gertz plays Star, an attractive girl Michael finds romance with and Herrmann (Overboard) plays Max, a man whom Lucy starts dating. This is one of the best vampire films with a good cast, good score and great make-up effects. I recommend this 80's horror classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

Very cool vampire flick

7/10
Author: Terrell Howell (KnightsofNi11) from United States
26 June 2012

When you combine the cheesy style of 80's films and the exciting horror of vampire films The Lost Boys is what you get, and it is exactly what you would expect from an 80's vampire flick. Jason Patric and Corey Haim play two teens who just moved to a small coastal town in California, only to discover that the town may or may not be frequented by vampires. Michael (Patric) gets himself involved with this gang of punk rocker looking vamps and it's up to his brother Sam (Haim) to save him with the help of some local self proclaimed vampire hunters. Whatever you think The Lost Boys might be like, you're probably right.

The Lost Boys is super cheesy, but super fun as well. The music solidifies that 80's cheese and the overall look of the characters just adds to the very time period specific quality the film has to it. There's no exceptional camera work, superbly intelligent screen writing, or dense and complex story being worked here, but The Lost Boys is definitely a lot of fun, and that's all it really strives to be. Honestly, there's really nothing wrong with this film because it does what it came here to do, tell an awesome vampire story. It does take some liberties with the vampire lore, but it's things that can be overlooked.

Really, as far as this film being a vampire film goes, it really succeeds on an entertainment value level. The vampires look awesome in this film and they perfectly locate that area between being incredibly scary and really badass. We don't get any real vampire action till about halfway through the film, but it's worth the wait. There are some great human versus vampire scenes in the last half of the film, especially the final standoff between the vampires and our protagonists.

The Lost Boys as a whole is a wicked cool film. It doesn't amount to much more than a neat vampire flick but it certainly excels at being one. I definitely enjoyed this film throughout. It gets a little slow and a little choppy as far as editing goes towards the middle, but it catches its footing for the final act and really pays off. The Lost Boys is simply just a lot of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

Was the setting intentionally ironic?

9/10
Author: traveler106
22 June 2012

I lived in Santa Cruz, the place where this movie was filmed, when I was a kid. When I watch the movie, I wonder if they intentionally chose Santa Cruz as the setting out of irony, because Santa Cruz is one of the safest and most peaceful places in the U.S.

At any rate, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It's not what one would call a "good" movie. It's not the kind of movie that's going to change the world, but it's entertaining, and that's what movies are supposed to do.

To sum it up: If you grew up in Santa Cruz, you'll love this movie because you'll keep recognizing places at the Boardwalk (The Giant Dipper) and the caves. You might also notice that it's an entertaining movie.

If you didn't grow up in Santa Cruz, it's probably an 8 or 7.

At any rate, it's a fun movie to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 years later and the movie still has bite.

10/10
Author: Mark L from Hamilton Ontario
6 March 2012

Last month I was lucky enough to catch The Lost Boys on the big screen as part of Cineplex's digital film festival. First I must say I have been a huge fan since seeing the flick in 1987 at the theatre and growing up I have watch it more that 100 times. I haven't watched the movie in a little while and was curious to see how the movie would hold up now that both the film and I are both 25 years older. I was blown away how great the movie still holds up. I will be honest the first 20 minutes dragged a little watching it, but then I was totally lost in the film like I was watching for the first time. If anyone hasn't seen the movie it is a must have. It was also great seeing Corey Haim one final time on the big screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie is fantastic, funny and suspenseful.

10/10
Author: sydneyh44 from Canada
1 March 2012

'The Lost Boys' (Joel Schumacher) is a film about two boys and their mother who move to a beach town. The boys discover the town is infested with vampires. This film was extremely well done and had a fun and lively feel to it. The town was interesting and the characters were all very different. From strong leaders to carefree grandfathers, this movie had it all. The plot was simple but kept many things hidden until the end, dropping only subtle hints. The film has many comic moments from the frog brothers to the rowdiness of the teenagers it deals with issues of peer pressure and facing the reality of a new town and a new life. This movie was intense and the characters were very complex.

Was the above review useful to you?

BEST FILM EVER-real cult movie that never grows old!

10/10
Author: michelle_slaymaker from United Kingdom
21 January 2012

This is my favourite movie of all time!!! This 80s movie has never grown old-it has the BEST cast BEST director, it has the perfect combination of cute guys (and Star for the guys), comedy and a great storyline. I REALLY wish they had done a sequel MUCH sooner though like about 2 years max after this and had all the original cast-the sequel was extremely disappointing! Corey HAIM was fantastic in this movie, really played the part the best it could be played! Joel Schumacher was an awesome director and should have done the sequels too and as I said before a LOT earlier. 20 years after the original doing a sequel was only going to work if they had the original cast and Joel!!! This movie will always be my favourite and obviously I give this a 10/10. I don't know ANYONE who doesn't like this movie! Vampire movies are the best there have been loads but none of them are a patch on this! Really hope they do a re-launch and show this at the cinema again on its 30th anniversary as I am STILL watching it and STILL LOVING it in 2012!!! LOVE LOST BOYS-THE ORIGINAL xxx

Was the above review useful to you?

Answers

Author: (otto_schitburger@yahoo.com) from Düssledork
24 September 2011

Nice, racy, intelligent, a good comedy about high school, its rules and the lanes of alienation. The charm of Jason Patric is axis of movie and, behind the clothes of humor are pieces of great problem of loneliness A movie about the beauty of life, searches and discoveries, delicate and powerful, with a great Robert Downey in the role of principal.

A film like a travel. Maps and ways, symbols and guides and the tent. A boy and the world as puzzle. His puzzle in which the atmosphere of house creates fragile solutions of problems who makes the soul of an age and the self respect of a teenager. Almost a comedy. In fact, a medicine with the taste of sweet spring fruits. Must see! For the nostalgic pages of a time precious for everyone.

Was the above review useful to you?

Being Dated Only Adds to the Charm

9/10
Author: illbeoneasystreet from Canada
11 September 2011

The Lost Boys screams eighties, but that is part of the reason it is so much fun. And you don't have to have grown up in the eighties to enjoy it. Is it campy? Absolutely, but a mixture of well used horror tactics, iconic lines that you will never forget, and a well rounded cast make it great. The true star of this movie is Kiefer Sutherland who delivers an astounding performance with mullet in tow. Jason Patric gives a suitable enough performance, although pales in the blinding light of Sutherland's character. Corey Haim is absolutely adorable in this and shows that although he might not be the greatest actor has more then enough talent and charm to worm his way into your heart. (Too bad he never got his comeback I personally believe the man could have gone places.) Feldman and Newlander provide comic relief as the Frogg brothers but I must admit that they get a little annoying after multiple viewings in my case anyways others might disagree. Add on top of that astounding performances from the casts veterans and you have a great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Review! Plus my little obsession with The Lost Boys.

10/10
Author: abidabidooo
13 August 2011

Wow! What an excellent film! This is definitely one of my favourite films, even though it is quite old. I watched this film when I was really young (I even have it on video which proves how ancient it is haha). I bought it on DVD years & years ago because I love watching it. Its usually on the TV so I grab the opportunity and watch it, it never gets old. So if you haven't watched this brilliant movie then please do.

Two boys and their mother move into a new town in California called Santa Carla (also known as the murder capital of the world) to live with their Grandpa after their parents divorce. The brothers soon start to discover that the loud, crowded town is swarming with blood sucking, brutal killers: Vampires! Michael, the elder brother, chases after a gorgeous girl called Star, who has recently become a vampire as well her son. Michael accidentally mixes into the vamp group, oblivious to what they are. David, the rebellious, dangerous vampire in the group, tricks Michael into drinking his vampire infested blood and he becomes partly one of them. He later realises that until you make your first kill, then you are only a half vampire. To become normal again, they have to kill the head vampire, which seems simple enough.. but they don't know who it is! Meanwhile, their mother starts working in a comic book store where she soon falls in love and starts dating the owner. He seems quite charming and lovely enough but the sons do not seem to grow a liking to him. The Frogs, who work in this comic shop, are two strange but hilarious brothers who completely hate vampires! They try to convince Sam, the youngest brother, that vampires exist by showing proof and giving him vamp comics. Sam finally believes that vampires are real and starts to help his brother become cured, although he is scared he will have to kill him.

Ladies and gentlemen you will have to watch the film to find out the big but kind of obvious twist what happens. Trust me, this is a fantastic film (although it wasn't that scary for me, so if you are looking for a real bloody, gruesome, terrifying film then this is not for you). It is just classic film which is a must see as the acting and everything is just amazing. Please, give it a try :) Enjoy! I gave it a 10/10 - (I cant believe it only has 7/10 as it deserves more).

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history