Disorderlies (1987) Poster

(1987)

User Reviews

Add a Review
24 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Underrated in my eyes
Scott Fletcher27 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Disorderlies is one of the more funny flicks to come out of the late eighties. Though it doesn't have much of a following, the movies does have some redeeming qualities that make it worth a rental.

The plot follows 3 young men, Marky, Buffy, and Kool through getting fired from a low rate Nursing home. Lucky for them (or so they think) Winslow Lowry is right there to offer them a new job caring for his Uncle Albert.

What the boys don't know is that Winslow actually wants his Uncle to die so that he can inherit Albert's huge fortune. On top of that, Mr. Winslow is in debt to Mr. Montana, a ruthless criminal mastermind. If Winslow doesn't get the money within 3 weeks, he's dead.

Winslow's plan quickly backfires as he finds out that his new Orderlies have actually helped Albert feel young again.

The movie itself is hilarious. It follows the tradition of the Three Stooges. The constant slap fights and kicks in the backside between the fat boys will keep you stomach in pain from laughter. Ralph Bellamy is great in his role as Albert Dennison. He keeps the movie fresh and alive. While Anthony Geary plays a perfect seedy bad guy.

The Soundtrack is also great. The Fat Boys have some pretty catchy tunes throughout the movie, including a hilarious performance for the camera.

Give it a Rent, while it's not for everyone, it may just make you laugh out loud a few times.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Cheesy '80s Appeal
ReelCheese20 July 2006
The Fat Boys (Mark Morales, Darren Robinson and Damon Wimbley) aren't exactly the Marx Brothers. Heck, they're not even the Ritz Brothers. But their first (and last) big screen adventure (as stars, at least) still manages to hold enough appeal to be watchable.

The former rap stars play bumbling orderlies hired on the hope their incompetence will speed up the passing of the wealthy Albert Dennison (the amiable Ralph Bellamy). Albert's nephew, you see, has some nasty debts to pay off. But the plan backfires when the boys and their antics breath new life into the old man. Never laugh-out-loud funny, and sometimes lame, "Disorderlies" is saved by its cheesy, uniquely '80s appeal. If you perked up at the phrase "cheesy, uniquely '80s appeal", then this one's for you.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
FUNNY, FUNNY, FUNNY
m_hebner11 July 2003
Warning: Spoilers
****SPOILERS AHEAD****



I've have seen this movie too many times to count and I still laugh hard whenever I watch it. Its about 3 guys that get fired from their jobs at a nursing home and a sick millionaire's nephew hires them to accidently kill him so he can inherit all of his uncle's money but that plan backfires. But the funniest part in the movie is when Kool starts blasting a grandfather clock with a machine gun. Thats All I'm going to say. I will only say this other thing. If your looking for a good laugh go to your local video store and rent Disorderlies if they got it and you won't regret it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A film-making masterpiece! Four stars! This movie is PHAT!!!
steve-5757 December 2000
I just watched this movie last week, and it was one the greatest movies I've ever seen. I almost died laughing. The Fat Boys are not only funny but they are great actors too. They should all have won Oscars for their performances in this movie. Anthony Geary should have definitely took home the best Supporting Actor trophy. He did not even get nominated??? He gives a performance of a lifetime. This is Ralph Bellamy's second role as a millionaire in an 80's film. He earlier appeared in the much inferior "Trading Places". That film doesn't even hold a candle to this one.

The Fat Boys play orderlies who are put in charge of an elderly millionaire (Bellamy). His nephew (Geary) hires them in the hope that their incompetence kills his uncle and he can inherit the money. What an original storyline!! In an era of remakes and recycled plots, it is so refreshing to see something original.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Disordelies-- A masterful film; the Fat Boys at their best
kellybclayton1 November 2005
Not the #1 greatest movie I've ever seen, but certainly one of the best. It captures the true essence of rap music, with a mastery of cinematography, bringing us an American family classic. This one should truly with stand the tests of time. I'll have to admit when first faced with the decision to watch this movie I hesitated, but I then read the plot on back--finally a story line nobody's had the guts to attempt. Three orderlies ,(or disorderlies in this very hilarious case), are hired to take care of a cranky old rich man. I won't ruin all the twists and surprises.

I always thought of the Fat Boys as sub-par rappers, and probably terrible actors. Wrong about both. These guys are brilliant. They're the real pioneers of rappers acting,(Thank God for that).You're sure to watch this ground breaker dozens of times. You'll find yourself quoting some of the off the wall catch phrases, and you won't be able to quit singing their amazing version of the Beatles, "Baby Your a Rich Man."
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Kick it up!
Old school is never dead. Especially when you have "The Fat Boys". In the movie "Disorderlies" it's nonstop fun, and plenty of music, rhyme and reason to bolster the fun. Here you have three rotund orderlies from Brooklyn(The Fat Boys) who get canned and was spotted by the nephew of a rich man in Florida. The reason why he hired them so he can get his greedy hands on the fortune. While trying to adapt in the high life, the three orderlies put some "A" in the word attitude to the people there. Albert(Raplh Bellamy) gets to have fun with them. And when he started to act like them, the boys wished he would talk normal to them when he said "quit illin' you two". However, the trio made him feel young and alive. They never left their hometown flair behind, but they can live it up anyway. When the scheming nephew try to do away his uncle, the team of them and Albert foil the scheme. I don't think this was box office material, but it's great for home use. WORD! 3 OUT OF 5 STARS, Homeboy!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Old-school comic gold!
Michael James26 November 2003
Warning: Spoilers
(warning: possible spoilers below)

One of the best ideas for a comedy film ever!

You see, the nephew of a rich old man is waiting impatiently for his uncle (played by Ralph Bellamy) to die, and somehow he blames the orderlies taking care of 'ol Ralph for his longevity.

So what does he do? He hires ... dis-orderlies! Played by the Fat Boys!

It's a reminder that, while the 80s were fun, it's pretty good to be in the twenty- first century.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Ralph Bellamy as you've never seen him.
Scott LeBrun26 August 2017
Ultimately upbeat entertainment stars rap group The Fat Boys - Mark Morales, Darren Robinson, and Damon Wimbley - as a trio of freewheeling, goofy orderlies fired from their jobs. However, they're soon hired for a new gig by scheming Winslow Lowry (Anthony Geary of 'General Hospital' fame), precisely because he hopes that their incompetence will lead to the death of Winslows' uncle, Albert Dennison (Ralph Bellamy). You see, Winslow is a gambling addict who owes a staggering debt to a criminal named Luis Montana (Marco Rodriguez), and he will supposedly inherit his millionaire uncles' estate. Predictably, the corpulent comedians get their act together when it really counts.

Inconsequential, but rather harmless, farcical comedy is directed by Michael Schultz, whose eclectic career includes such features as "Cooley High", "Car Wash", and "The Last Dragon". It's never exactly inspired, but it delivers just enough laughs to keep it watchable. It doesn't have THAT much of a story - after all, it does stop cold for a couple of minutes while the boys shoot an impromptu music video. The soundtrack includes some pretty catchy numbers.

Morales, Robinson, and Wimbley are likable enough and mildly amusing; they do have an infectious amount of energy. Geary is the sort of rotten & conniving - yet also pathetic - antagonist whom the audience will enjoy booing, while Rodriguez is just pure thug. Notable character actor Tony Plana rounds out the trio of baddies as the bumbling valet. Gorgeous Troy Byer is an appealing romantic interest for Morales. Viewers will have fun with the assorted cameo appearances: Helen Reddy, Linda Hopkins, Ray Parker Jr., Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick, etc. But the main reason to watch "Disorderlies" is to see Hollywood legend Ralph Bellamy in such a goofball picture. He does look like he's having some fun. He even gets to utter lines such as "Step off, homeboy!" and "You be illin'."

Dumb, but agreeable, this comedy only goes on for a fairly painless 86 minutes.

Six out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Lots of laughs
Stephen Robb21 January 2014
It's an homage to the Three Stooges shorts in which they're hired by rich people and wind up destroying the mansion.

Two surprises, it's unexpectedly funny. I found myself laughing out loud at the outright silliness of it, and second, it's family friendly, at least the TV version I saw.

At this point in his career, Ralph Bellamy had been a movie star for 50 years, and it's easy to see why, he was hilarious, and he was game to look silly. Not a lot of 80 year old movie stars are willing to do that.

Good for a rental.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The Fat Boys Movie laughs galore...
Mark Tyrrell28 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The Fat Boys are an American Hip Hop trio from Brooklyn, New York City that star in this epically hilarious film. It's like The Three Stooges meets rap. I still love this movie. Three chumps hired to take care of a super rich guy whose health is on the decline. They hapless trio luck into a cure as the bungle up their job and lose his medication. The Bungling idiots are very endearing, and as such they become friends with the eccentric Albert and as he gets better they get to enjoy the good life with him. The only problem is the douche bag of a nephew needs hams to kick the bucket to pay off his debts to a drug dealing loan shark. Through a series of comically failed attempts and bad jokes makes this movie hilarious. A fun family goof ball movie…. Watch it and enjoy…
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The "Fat Boys" are "Disorderly"!
sol22 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
(Some Spoilers) Laugh a minute comedy with the amazing "Fat Boys"-Markie Buffy & Cool-all together weighing almost a half a ton doing their thing, rap-music & Three Stooges-like comedy routines, and at the same time stopping the sleazy Winslow Lowry form having his Uncle Albert Dennison done in.

Winslow has been losing heavily at both the race tracks and casinos and is into local West Palm Beach gangster Luis Montana for a cool 600 G's. Told to come up with the cash and fast if he doesn't want to end up at the bottom of the Caribbean Sea Winslow's only chance to pay Montana off is to get his rich but very ill Uncle Albert to see his maker as soon as possible if not sooner.

With the orderlies looking after Uncle Albert doing an excellent job in keeping him alive and kicking Winslow fires them and hirers in their place Brooklyn nursing home orderlies Markie Buffy and Cool. Winslow knows that they, in how incompetent they are on the job, will eventually do in Uncle Albert and make it possible for him to inherit his millions. Money that Winslow desperately needs, if he wan't to continue living, to pay off mobster Luis Montana.

Going from the slums of East New York Brooklyn to the wealthy social register town of West Palm Beach had the Fat Boys for once do their job in actually getting the almost comatose Uncle Albert on his feet and out of his bed and wheel chair. This all was done by the Fat Boys' unorthodox way of doing things which was to lose all of Uncle Albert's medication, by using the pills as chips to play cards with, and have the old guy just let his hair down and go boogie woogie at the local roller disco.

Winslow now determined to take out Uncle Albert himself since, to his bitter surprise, the bumbling orderlies the three Fat Boys who were to unknowingly do him in actually not only got Uncle Albert out of his sickbed but now have him playing polo and skin diving at the age of 82 no less! It's then when Winslow & Montana plan to blow up Uncle Albert's estate, with him in it, with it looking like a robbery/murder and trying to pin it on the totally innocent Fat Boys! The very people who have not only cured Uncle Albert but protected him from his nephew who's out to put him away for good.

Putting the leather to the gas peddle the Fat Boys are at their best here in "The Disorderlies" not only in their slap stick comedy but rap songs, there are ten of them in the movie, that includes hits like "Baby your a Rich Man" and "Disorerly Conduct". As you would expect in seeing how the Fat Boys stymied Winslow & Co. all throughout the movie this last desperate attempt by Winslow to do in Uncle Albert eventually falls flat on its face.

***SPOILER*** Winslow not only ends up behind bars but with a severe case of hemorrhoids, due to a gunshot wound, in him foolishly trying to make himself a victim, in throwing off the police, and hero at the same time.

P.S The Fat Boys, originally known as the Dsco 3, career came to a sudden end by the time the rap-music 1980's scene ended. Breaking up and going their separate ways the Fat Boys, in trying to get back together, planned a reunion album in 1995 but that was tragically abandoned when Buffy, Darren Robisnson, suddenly passed away. Weighing an enormous 450 pounds Buffy's obesity eventually did him in the end. Buffy was doing what he loved rapping with his friends, at his home in Queens New York, when he went into cardiac arrest and died of a massive heart attack at the young age of 28.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wonderful Movie
Deana Cox (Movielvr-8)27 January 2005
I not only saw this movie I got to be there during filming of the scene when the "Fat Boys" are dressed up like cops and tell the guy they need to check his speedometer, it was filmed right up the street from my house and it was a great experience and so much fun. The Fat Boys were wonderful and they gave all the kids there their autographs when filming was done, I only wish I still had mine, but it got lost when my family moved. I had a lot of fun with the filming in my neighborhood and so did many of my friends. We wished they could have stayed longer, but we knew they couldn't. They filmed that scene on 5th st. and Maine Ave. in Long Beach, Ca.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Amusing 80's Hip-Hop Comedy!
gwnightscream6 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This 1987 comedy stars The Fat Boys, Ralph Bellamy and Anthony Geary. This focuses on Mark, Kool and Buffy (The Fat Boys), 3 pals from Brooklyn who have fun and get into mischief. Soon, they're hired to be the new orderlies of wealthy, ill man, Albert (Bellamy) by his despicable nephew, Winslow (Geary) who seeks his fortune. The boys get off to a bit of rough start, but Albert eventually befriends them and learns of Winslow's plans. I grew up watching this and always thought it was amusing. The Fat Boys are aren't bad in it, but somewhat cheesy and were basically like "The 3 Stooges" with their slapstick humor. I recommend this.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not the best film, but still a great time to be had with The Fat Boys
dworldeater21 August 2017
Disorderlies is a dated, but very funny 80's comedy starring the rap group The Fat Boys. I remember this played all the time on HBO when I was a kid. I can honestly say that I still really enjoy it. The film is pretty silly and has a lot of slapstick humor(think The Three Stooges if they were overweight black rappers from NYC in the 80's), but The Fat Boys are very likable, hilarious dudes. The Boys do well in carrying the picture and had real good chemistry with Ralph Bellamy. This is not the best comedy from this time period, but is definitely underrated and much funnier than a whole lot of stuff that gets more fanfare. Disorderlies is very much an 80's movie. Some people might call this film "cheesy", but keep in mind that this is a comedy and this film is a lot of fun. Plus, The Fat Boys rock and they provide the soundtrack to this awesome 80's movie. Great stuff for sure and they absolutely do not make them like this anymore.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good
Harriet Deltubbo22 August 2014
Never in my life have I laughed so hard. The writing is meant to make us all laugh and succeeds. This movie has gotten me through some dark times. I like all of the comedians here. One could say that the film is built on a firm base. The acting is very effective. This film was nearly perfect, but sadly still not made for everyone. It's an important film, as well as very entertaining. It's meant to be goofy. From an artistic standpoint, there were some plot elements and character developments I didn't think were totally needed. They do however drive the story, which seemed to be their purpose. Rent it today!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bumbling doctors
IrockGswift29 July 2004
As the Fat Boys hip-hop career was nearly coming to an end they decide to star in a silly movie,about being a care-taker of a rich elderly white man. The movie was slapstick and remind you of a modern day Three Stooges. Some parts of this movie was romantic and the rest was downright stupid. I don't know what was Michael Schultz thinking when he created this movie. He did a whole lot better in recent years before this one with "Berry Gordy's Last Dragon and Krush Groove." This movie was a waste of time and I guess this movie was suppose to create some promising actors in the Fat Boys. But their talent didn't appeal to many audiences and they just vanished away from the entertainment seen all together.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Dis-orrrrder.
Son_of_Mansfield28 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
From the man who brought you Krush Groove and Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, comes a movie starring three overweight rappers playing three overweight orderlies. Not surprisingly, it's the scenes where they are eating or rapping that they seem most at home. It's not that the movie is the embarrassing mess that Pepper's is, but there isn't anything that stands out. Then, there are annoying fat jokes and the most tired cliché of the genre, a white man spouting slang. Needless to say, he doesn't do it well. Perfect example, The Fat Boys ride horses for the first time. What happens? Two fall off and the third only has to look at his horse before it has a heart attack. That's whack.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
It grossed me out
mhflinterman12 November 1999
I saw this at an amusement park in the Netherlands in 1988. After I watched it, I asked myself: "Why would anyone want to make a movie like this?" Face it, it is not funny and the boys are making you feel sick when they perform their "Fat is fun" slapstick. I would not recommend this film to anyone. Quite frankly, it is a waste of time and money.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Good Solid Comedy Movie
Velcro226 February 2008
As you may know, comedy is the most difficult art form of all. To make people laugh, all people, young, old, white, Asian or black, male and female, is truly the finest art form. This movie pulls it off. You have some over weight young black orderlies who can not only laugh at themselves, but make you laugh with every line, every nuance and subtle gesture they conjure up in this movie. Ralph Bellamy plays the consummate straight guy and doesn't miss a beat, esp. at his age. My 15 year old son watched it once and we split our sides laughing. My son is 30 now and he asked me if I wanted to watch that movie with him again. "Yeah" I said. We could use more laughs. We could use more young actor/comedians, especially ones from our own minority groups here in the good ol' USA. This is a funny movie and its probably more hilarious the second time around.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Stupid movie, great soundtrack
Gravity0615 January 2001
This is one of those stupid movies with great soundtracks. The plot is weak... the characterisation is all but non-existent (this is what happens when one tries to teach rappers to act).

The soundtrack is about the only thing that makes this film worthwhile; check out the great Bananarama number "I Heard a Rumour". The Fat Boys are fine when they are in their element -- rapping. They contribute two passable numbers -- "Baby, You're a Rich Man" and "Wipeout".

Thank goodness Anne Dudley has moved on to better things ... like winning an Oscar for scoring "The Full Monty".
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Still Great Fun Over Twenty Years Later!!!
Ryan McLelland11 October 2009
In an old school mood I spent a good weekend looking around for some great old school rap music. I was pleased to hear that Prince Markie Dee and Kool Rock were finally getting back together for a Fat Boys reunion album. Buffy, the largest of the group, died back in 1995 but it is nice for them to carry on the legacy of the group. There was Buffy recorded vocals for a comeback album that was planned during the nineties that never came about - so they those for the upcoming album.

ANYWAY I thought of Disorderlies - which I pulled off my friend's DVD shelf to watch. The Fat Boys stole the show in Krush Groove and their lighthearted humor would play out well for a starring feature. They landed Krush Groove director Michael Schultz who had, at that time, directed some classics like Car Wash and Cooley High (not to forget The Last Dragon) and Ralph Bellamy - who is usually known as 'one of the old dudes from Trading Places'.

The film was actually a very modest hit - making just a little more than 10 million dollars at the box office. Run-D.M.C.'s film, which came out just a year later, would only gross 3.5 million!!! Off the top of my head I went and looked up what Belly made in theaters - the film that starred Nas, DMX, and Method Man. Over 10 years later that film made just LESS than 10 million dollars. DMX you got PWNED by The Fat Boys Around 1987 was where Schoolly D, Public Enemy, and Ice-T were bringing their early gangster rap that would soon be solidified by N.W.A. The Fat Boys would see Disorderlies as one of their higher points as a group. They made a few more albums, the last one without Markie as he broke out to do a successfully early 90s solo career. And that would be it for the boys - at least moviewise. Sure this film isn't winning any awards but over twenty years later it is still FUN! Of course others have compared this the humor to The Three Stooges and perhaps owing a bit to The Marx Brothers as well. It's a welcomed comparison but the slapstick plays well with the Fat Boys.

So I was happy to rewatch the movie and enjoy the hell out of it. If you've never seen the movie or never even heard of the Fat Boys - it is really a treat to watch for the first time. The trio were amazing rappers and...while not great actors...made the most of a fun film. It almost makes you forgive Michael Schultz for directing Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. ... Almost.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Is wasn't abysmal, but it was sort of funny, i guess...
stellosac45323 March 2006
This movie was okay. It was kind of a slapstick feature. There wasn't any good acting, because, remember, these were the fat boys. Not real actors. So it was an okay movie, but just remember to dumb it down... This movie was okay. It was kind of a slapstick feature. There wasn't any good acting, because, remember, these were the fat boys. Not real actors. So it was an okay movie, but just remember to dumb it down...This movie was okay. It was kind of a slapstick feature. There wasn't any good acting, because, remember, these were the fat boys. Not real actors. So it was an okay movie, but just remember to dumb it down...This movie was okay. It was kind of a slapstick feature. There wasn't any good acting, because, remember, these were the fat boys. Not real actors. So it was an okay movie, but just remember to dumb it down...This movie was okay. It was kind of a slapstick feature. There wasn't any good acting, because, remember, these were the fat boys. Not real actors. So it was an okay movie, but just remember to dumb it down...
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
enjoyed in my youth
catalystpaperbag1 July 2000
I remember going to see this movie at the now boarded up Criterion Center in Manhattan when I was around 7 or 8. Me and my friend enjoyed it thoroughly, although I am not sure theres much more to say about that from the mind of an 8 year old. Back then, The Fat Boys were huge with kids- even if they didnt listen to them, like me- I cant say I ever really disliked them. This movie is typical formula, its got that "vibe" edge to it that makes it so appealing- a formula stolen upon in the alter sexes comedy "BAPS" where unsuspecting folks from "the hood" end up under the wing of a multi-millionaire and their estate. This brings the possibility of many possible wily antics- that could have, if done correctly- in this case AT ALL made an overall better, more enjoyable film. Of course, this was pg-13, so although I said I liked it at 8, it has only nostalgic momentum with little to no replay value with me- today. Too bad huh, they (hollywood execs) make it pg-13 so they can appeal to a larger crowd, but in the longrun- it ends up appealing to no crowd. Or possibly the 99 cent rental at the local mom n pop video store. It really is a shame...
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Turn your brain off and you'll love it
rudypoo29 June 1999
Okay, so it isn't the Godfather, but if you like comedies, this is definitely a movie that you should enjoy. The bumbling Fat Boys have long since vanished from the limelight (were they ever really in it?), but this was probably their crowning glory.

Just sit down with something fattening and let yourself be amused. You might be surprised if you don't expect oscar-caliber acting or a great storyline, just something to keep you laughing.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews