IMDb > Blood Sisters (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Blood Sisters More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Possessed nightgown! Strangulation by garter belt! Lesbian hooker ghosts!

3/10
Author: capkronos (capkronos00@hotmail.com) from Ohio, USA
8 May 2003

While these things may seem like fun new additions to the slasher movie subgenre, this film flat-out fails to deliver on all counts.

It begins with a psycho kid blasting a fat hooker and her trick with a rifle at a whorehouse, before cutting to modern times (13 years later) at the Kappa Gamma Tao sorority house. After wasting time at a bar and with a sex scene, sister Linda (Amy Brentano) takes seven pledges to the now abandoned brothel for an initiation scavenger hunt. The house has been booby trapped by fun-loving frat guys (who look like they're reaching their 40s), but ghosts and a psycho killer show up.

Director/scripter/cinematographer Roberta Findlay, whom I believe is one of the most prolific female filmmakers of all time, handles some of the supernatural scenes reasonably well given the budget (a standout being an interesting ghost/mirror sequence), but, with its low-grade cast of unknowns, dark/dreary atmosphere and derivative storyline, BLOOD SISTERS isn't a bit of fun to watch. And I still have no idea why the house is full of ghosts of people who used to work there since only two murders were actually committed.

Guys just wanting to see sexy babes cavorting around in little clothing may be equally disappointed by the selection of actresses on hand. A few of the actresses are attractive, but aside from Marla MacHart, there are really no stunners here, though some of them do appear topless from time to time. In addition, it's is so slow-moving that it takes nearly an entire hour until the first murder!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

What can real Horror film fans say?

Author: VWstarwars from United States
23 February 2009

Stuff like this is the reason that the horror genre gets such a bad rap . . . Though many of the elements of this film make it seem as though it could be fun, on a cheese or "wild and hilarious" vibe, it does not come through at all. (i.e. Sorority chicks hangin' out all night in a vacant and haunted ex-whore house, complete with ghostly apparitions of whores in lingerie.) It sounds like a fun farce, but no . . .

This movie came in a three pack called "Bloody School Girls" with the two other films being "Girls Night Out" and "One Dark Night." Both are better films than "Blood Sisters," though "One Dark Night" is clearly the best of the bunch and the only good movie in the set. My roommate was actually wanting his own copy of "One Dark Night," but could not locate a copy of it by itself, so was stuck getting the box set . . . much to his dismay.

In "Blood Sisters," we have people that can't act; people making this that don't care if it's good; music, which we are informed on the credits as being from a professional synthesizer, but sounds like the 16 inch Casio your little brother beats up . . . Even the director, in an interview on this disc, tells us that she had made some money on two other films and that she would lose the money if she didn't make another film before the year was up; that is how we have this.

The house in this film does look like a cool location, though it never comes through due to the lack of interest in creating suspense.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Some suspense, mostly boring.

2/10
Author: Matt..377 from United States
27 September 2003

A bunch of busty sorority chicks spend the night in an allegedly haunted house, which once served as a brothel which was closed after a brutal murder. Routine slasher flick offers a surprisingly amount of suspense, but it is more boring than most, even the copious nude scenes don't maintain much interest, and the ending is silly even by slasher standards.

MPAA: Rated R for nudity and violence, and for brief language and drug use.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Not worth seeing.

Author: Rish Outfield from City of Angels, CA
6 January 2000

"Blood Sisters" was just a terrible movie. The story went: a bunch (too many, actually) of sorority pledges spend the night in a haunted ex-bordello. Inside, there are a lot of ghosts (including lesbian ghosts, kids), but nobody pays them any mind, they only care about the psycho that slaughters them easily and unnoticed during the night. There was a foreign feel to the film, though I think it was American, and it felt like it was made around 1981, although the tape claimed it was ‘87. There's a ton of nudity and disturbingly pornographic closeups of kissing, and some pretty brutal killings. Listen for great dialogue like, "You don't have a father...do you know what that makes you? A pervert!" Usually, these movies are fun, and I love to watch them, but not "Blood Sisters." It was dark, dull, illogical, and not really worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Setting the Bar as Low as Possible

1/10
Author: Dagon from Dallas, Texas
5 January 2011

Produced on a shoe string budget, Blood Sisters (aka Slash) is another genre piece that outputs a story all-too-familiar to already established classics from days gone by. Roberta Findlay, the film's director, writer, and cinematographer, wore multiple hats to turn her vision into reality – but more specifically, to ensure her immediate future in terms of finances. Findlay also offered her services as an active cinematographer in '76's Snuff - a film in which I still feel sorry for...an in, feel sorry for anyone involved in that project.

Blood Sisters revisits the same ol' concept of off'ing sorority girls within the confines of a desolate atmosphere. The new pledges of Kappa Gamma must endure a hellacious night of fake scares and buffoonery in an old brothel that witnessed a scandalous murder 13 years prior. As par for the course, the boys over at Sigma doctor the house up with phony- looking Halloween décor and sound equipment to illicit a scare or two from the unsuspecting gaggle of innocents. The game turns sour, however, when real ghost sightings are reported and a psycho is let loose to set the stage for mayhem.

This relatively unknown title is a bit of a hybrid – representative of the supernatural and the Slasher respectively. The ghostly bits are thrown in for good measure…almost a demonstration of "look at what we can do!" If we're following a step by step guide on how to make a Slasher film From the 1980s, which I swear is in publication, then the identity of the killer is revealed in a chopped up ending. To say that every single plot point and device used in this film is a cliché would be a vast understatement. The cast and crew practically boast it from the roof-tops. In one scene a character playfully points out that the car's engine never successfully starts in a horror movie. At least the players and the crew acknowledge that their project is nothing more than a spin-off.

The use of comic relief would have been a welcome reprieve for such a drudgingly dull film. Of course, as I've been known to repeat, the last 10-15 minutes are the only worthwhile moments. The conclusion has somewhat of a sinister feel to it but it's not terribly original either. Blood Sisters has nothing to offer; regarding the level of dedication, even the most accepting fans would find it difficult to enjoy this one. The performances are lousy, the soundtrack sucks, and the dialog could've been written by a highschooler during study hall. To compound such an award winning achievement, the blood droplets found on the victims is too watered down and lacks the consistency of the real thing. As I pointed out earlier, the only reason this film exists was out of desperation, as it shows in every facet. I suggest avoiding this flick unless you're willing to set your standards extremely low. If you're searching for a similar movie but actually done well, try a viewing of 1980's Hell Night starring Linda Blair - now that's a treat.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Another wasted opportunity.

3/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
30 September 2009

Thirteen years after a disturbed boy blasts his fat hooker mother and her trick to pieces with a shotgun, a group of sorority pledges must spend the night in the now deserted brothel and participate in a scavenger hunt as part of their initiation ceremony. To ensure a thoroughly terrifying experience awaits for the girls, three frat boys have rigged the house with pranks, but they really needn't have bothered, for the place is not only haunted by the ghosts of dead prostitutes and their customers, but is home to a knife wielding maniac as well.

In my IMDb write-ups for similarly themed horrors The Nesting (directed by XXX film-maker Armand Weston) and The ghosts of Sodom (by Lucio Fulci), I expressed my disappointment over these films' lack of depravity, explaining that, given the salacious premise, they deserved to be filled with plenty of sex and gore, particularly when made by people for whom exploitation should be second nature; unfortunately, Roberta Findlay, also an ex-porn director and the woman behind the infamous shocker Snuff (1976), doesn't fare any better with her haunted hooker horror, just about delivering on the sex front with plenty of topless starlets and a few tame soft-core couplings, but completely screwing up matters when it comes to bringing on the splatter.

According to the interview with Findlay included on the DVD of Blood Sisters, the film was written in a hurry to meet a financial deadline, and her low, low budget wouldn't allow for fancy special effects. Hence we get lots of nudity (tits being much cheaper to film than special effects), and a whole slew of dull, bloodless death scenes designed to save on bucks, including strangulation with a garter, suffocation inside a coffin, a hanging, and a fall down a stairwell.

Combine the lack of blood and guts with an awful script that doesn't start killing the pledges off for about an hour and which ultimately makes not a lick of sense (where did all those other ghosts come from and where did everyone go at the end?), and you have one hell of an unsatisfying film.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

nonsensical tale of college bimbos offed by a psycho

Author: thomandybish from Weaverville, NC
27 April 2001

Bland effort from Roberta Findlay has a group of college girls spending the night in an old house as part of a sorority initiation. Seems that the house had been a cathouse where some grisly murders were committed years before by the out-of-wedlock son of one of the trollops. Guess who still lives in the house? Guess what happens to the stock assortment of chicks who populate this film? If ever a movie's plot was made up as the movie was being lensed, it's this one. And the ending makes no sense--come on, give us someone in this movie to feel sympathy for! Guess that's just the Findlay touch.

Was the above review useful to you?

You really let me down this time, Roberta!

3/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
6 October 2014

Roberta Findley doesn't exactly enjoy the status of talented and well-respected director, but personally I always strangely appreciated her work. Admittedly the work she did along with her husband Michael during the 1970's was mostly rubbish (like the imaginatively titled but nearly unendurable "Invasion of the Blood Farmers" and "Snuff"), but when she abruptly became a widow – due to a nasty accident involving a helicopter - Roberta did some enjoyable projects during the 1980's. I'm a massive fan of "Tenement: Game of Survival", for instance, and I also shamelessly enjoyed her trashy accomplishments "The Oracle" and "Prime Evil". I was relatively confident that "Blood Sisters" would pretty much be similar to the latter two titles: insignificant but fun horror time-wasters, with loads of nasty make-up effects and cheerfully gratuitous moments of sleaze. Boy was I ever mistaken! "Blood Sisters" is incredibly boring and lukewarm with no redeeming aspects whatsoever! We're talking dull & derivative plot, ugly broads, zero tension or atmosphere and an unforgivably low amount of gore and bloodshed. What the hell happened there, Roberta? The (clichéd) intro sequences are still enjoyable, though. A young boy who not-so secretly lives in a luxury brothel can't take it anymore, so he grabs a shotgun and blows away his chubby hooker mother and one of her filthy clients. Thirteen years later, the now abandoned brothel serves as the location of an all-girls fraternity initiation ritual. Seven freshmen girls have to spend the night, whilst their frat sisters and lousy boyfriends prepared several pranks to scare them. At least, that's the plan, but naturally an uninvited killer pops up as well. I didn't time exactly how long it took before the first noteworthy scene took place (apart from the intro), but it was definitely more than three quarters of an hour! Until then, there are only overlong dialogs and a few pathetic topless parades. There's a pointless sub plot involving a semi-psychic sorority sister and inexplicable ghostly apparitions. The tame killings are actually 80's unworthy and revelation of the killer's identity is dumb and predictable (but still the highlight of the film).

Was the above review useful to you?

Far From Great, But Decently Entertaining

5/10
Author: ObscureCinema101 from United States
7 June 2012

Sometimes, I come across a movie that feels like it shouldn't exist, but it's just THERE. It serves no purpose, no one notable is involved, the film doesn't DO anything notable; it's just filling up space. BLOOD SISTERS is one of those movies.

For its initiation, the leader of a sorority takes seven pledges to an abandoned and supposedly haunted brothel in the middle of nowhere. Soon, someone dressed as a whore begins killing them off one by one.

It's really hard to talk about BLOOD SISTERS just because it doesn't really do anything worth talking about. It does have one or two original thoughts in its otherwise brainless head, but it fails miserably. However, it does manage to entertain despite itself.

As far as originality goes, the only somewhat inventive idea is that the whorehouse really is haunted, and maybe we're supposed to assume the killer is possessed by the spirits (maybe). I might say the lack of answers is intended and meant to get the audience thinking any other day of the week, but here, it just feels like lazy writing.

The film takes a really long time to get to the kills, and the hour that isn't spent on deaths is spent on a scavenger hunt the pledges must take part in. When we get to them, he kills aren't too original or even gory for that matter, which aids in BLOOD SISTER's "What's the point?" feel.

It also has some really laughable moments as well, including one shot where we see what looks like an action figure wrapped in black paper fly past a character while on a clearly visible string! It's never explained what this is, but I think we're supposed to assume this is supposed to be one of the ghosts. Then there's the stupid characters that always split up, the obvious dummy falling down the stairs, the classic line "Eat my shorts, tampon breath! I really saw something!" and the very stupid killer reveal.

The film fails on nearly all levels, from fleshed out characters, to suspense, to likable characters, and even to deaths. Director Roberta Findlay even admitted that this was done solely by the studio's request to make money. The final product certainly shows it. It's not as bad as other reviews would have you think, but it's far, FAR from top-quality material.

Don't take this as a warning to stay away; just don't expect much. I went in with low expectations and I enjoyed myself. Hopefully, you will too.

Was the above review useful to you?

Slow moving film that when it finally ends you will think it should have been titled "Dumb Sisters".

2/10
Author: Aaron1375
6 October 2011

I got this movie on a three pack of horror films called Bloody Schoolgirls. I have watched this one and another called One Dark Night. I am so glad One Dark Night was a part of this collection because it was enjoyable, this one was not. The only thing it had going for it was a few instances of nudity, but even that was nothing that would take your breath away. The film shows two people being killed with a shotgun in a brothel at the beginning of the film. Flash years later and we are at a final initiation ceremony that leads to a horrible looking party. Lots of chatter, but it ends up with some guys rigging the old whorehouse from the beginning of the film with some scary stuff and lots of pledges going to said house to stay the night. Well they make it to the house and are told they then have to do a scavenger hunt and we have the longest sequences ever of nothing happening. There are lots of girls and no killing until nearly an hour in! When the killing starts girls are taken out like every couple of minutes, but do not expect any elaborate killings or cool kill effects, these are going to be some pretty standard kills. The film takes way to long to set up, there are scenes that seem to have no relevance to the plot as they do not make sense. You will witness prostitutes that seem to be ghosts wandering the halls, but only thirteen years have passed since the place was closed and it was indicated that only the two shown at the beginning died, so why now is the place full of ghosts of women who most likely are still alive and well? There are also two mirror scenes where a girl witnesses a sexual act and these also have no relevance to the plot in the end. Simple padding is all it seems to be here. When the killings finally begin to happen and the remaining ones become aware of the killing they leave the house and promptly go back in because it is to cold outside. Why not walk to the street which is not exactly far away from that final shot of the cop car pulling up shows instead of going into the house with the psycho killer? Watched this film twice and it was more enjoyable the second time as I listened to the Joe Bob Briggs commentary and laughed as he was thinking the same things I was when I was watching it. One watches a film like "The Beyond" where Fulci kills a person in a creative and inventive way and you never have to wait more than ten minutes for a kill, then you watch a film like this where you wait nearly an hour before things to happen and then it comes to quick and people are being simply shot, strangled and stabbed with very little gore. Boring to the extreme, nudity only helps so much.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history