IMDb > Amazon Women on the Moon (1987) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Amazon Women on the Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Amazon Women on the Moon More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 59 reviews in total 

23 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

A Funny Parody On Everything!

7/10
Author: Doramius from Las Vegas, NV
28 January 2004

Cross a 1950's B-Movie with Saturday Night Live skits popping in every 15 minutes and you have something like this.

Great cast selection and an ingenious put together of skits as commercials and sitcoms. The writers here have created a 25 minute mock B-movie 'Amazon Women On The Moon, missing more than half of its essential plot. Interspersed are hilarious commercials, infomercials, and filler shows that take up the slack as the original movie reel breaks, burns through, or just simply comes to a commercial stop in the baseline movie.

Some of the skits are side splitting funny. This film was not intended to have a very straight forward plot or screenplay, but finds itself quite interesting. You'll find yourself trying to guess all of the actors spotting cameos and appearances throughout the film.

This movie is great to add to a video collection or definitely worth renting a few times with friends. This has all the makings of a comedic cult classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Kentucky Fried Movie-Redux

7/10
Author: britishdominion
6 March 2003

I'm sure this is the last time we will see this kind of Cuisinart comedy collection directed by, at the time (1987), some of the cinema's top comedy directors. And that's a shame. Because "Amazon Women On The Moon", although not perfect by any cinematic measuring stick, represents a small victory for loopy, silly comedy anarchy. Look at this line up of comedy vets: John Landis ("The Blues Brothers", "Trading Places", "Animal House" among so many others), Joe Dante ("Gremlins", "Innerspace", "Matinee"), Robert Weiss (TV's "Police Squad!"), Carl Gottlieb (co-writer of "Jaws" AND "The Jerk") as well as newby Peter Horton (of "thirtysomething" fame).

This anthology features some real groaners to be sure, but surprisingly hits more times, and with more genuine laughs, than would be expected. Cobbled together as a de facto follow up to Landis's 1977's "Kentucky Fried Movie" (the picture that boasted the first unspooling of the Zucker-Abraham-Zucker genius that would soon launch "Airplane!" three years later) on a low-low indie budget way outside his usual 80's big-budget Universal stomping ground, "Amazon Women..." manages to both successfully surpass AND fail to reach the dizzy, laff-a-minute, rat-a-tat-tat of the 70's midnight circuit fave.

This picture has several clinkers of flat comedy (Landis's opener nearly stops the film dead with the always-unfunny Arsenio Hall), but hits with so many other vignettes that it's easy to get into the groove of this short-but-sweet skewer of 80's late-late-night TV. The standout segments in this comedic buffet are abundant, but the best of them belong to Dante, Weiss & Gottlieb: the Universal-International "Invisible Man" short with Ed Begley Jr.; his hilarious run at the Leonard Nimoy "In Search Of" chestnut as "Bullshit Or Not?" with pitch-perfect host Henry Silva; the stay-for-the-end-credits 1930's "Reefer Madness" health scare jewel starring the late, great Paul Bartel and Carrie Fisher; or the crossed-circuit tributes to BOTH the "Siskel & Ebert" show AND the old Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts, featuring a dream cast of vaudeville and 50's Vegas comics that has to be seen to be believed.

Landis's standouts include a "no soul" infomercial featuring David Alan Grier and BB King, a funny hospital sketch featuring Landis players Griffin ("American Werewolf") Dunne and Michelle ("Into The Night") Pfeiffer (!) and a respectful nod to the earlier "Kentucky Fried Movie" wrap-up featuring an interactive video that stars Marc McClure, "UltraVixens" cult director Russ Meyer and Andrew Dice Clay. Highest marks, though, go to the running-gag "Amazon Women On The Moon", which lovingly - hilariously - mocks everything from "This Island Earth" to "Robot Monster" complete with film splices and gorgeous, over-saturated Eastmancolor.

If you have ever loved crappy TV, the Universal Studios backlot or any of the directors who have contributed to this dog's breakfast of SNL-inspired skits (written by two ex Carson-era "Tonight Show" writers), take a look at this one. Plus, it's only 85 minutes of your life that you'll never get back. Bullshit, or not.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

An homage to late-night television surfing

9/10
Author: djstevet from Republic of Korea
6 April 2005

Greetings, one and all! "Amazon Women on the Moon" is one of my all-time favorite movies, not because it is perfect, but because it effectively yet respectfully lampoons so many genres, including 50s movies, late-night television of all sorts, and even different styles of literature available throughout a good portion of the 20th century. Find a trend in literature of the 40s and 50s, movies of the 50s and 60s, or television of the 50s through the 70s, and it is somehow made fun of in this movie.

Another reason that I like this film is the fact that everyone involved, and there are many, many recognizable names involved with this project, seems to be having so much fun doing it. Several of the best moments for me are those when actors are playing, tongue-in-cheek, the same types of roles for which they were famous in other "serious" movies.

The movie is incredibly funny if you are in the right mood, and with the right crowd. Even if not, however, there are enough funny moments to make this worth watching. The pacing and style are sometimes uneven, which I found worked toward a purpose, but that may make it hard for some to watch the movie straight through. If that is the case, watch it in two sittings; it's worth the extra effort.

One game you can play, if you know the times or are old enough to remember first-hand, is to find how many books, TV shows/icons, and movies are good-naturedly ridiculed throughout the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

super

Author: sickcritik (sickcritik@hotmail.com)
13 January 2002

This movie says that it stars lots of actors and they aren't kidding! A cast of thousands and these are actually actors that you know!

There are various comedy vignettes surrounding the satire of a 1950's Sci-Fi movie called "Amazon Women on the Moon". If you have ever had insomnia and watched an incredibly bad movie in the middle of the night, then you can relate. "Movies til Sunrise"!!! These astronauts sit in computer chairs with seatbelts. No matter how you cut it...these chairs have wheels. No matter how many times that the booth announcer says that there will be no further interruptions...get ready for another interruption. If you listen carefully, the year of the movie and the name of the movie changes.

If you think that you have had a bad day, watch what Arsenio Hall goes through. Splat!

Don't point the remote at your face as you may be sucked into the TV as Murray (Lou Jacobi) is! This is ongoing throughout the movie as Murray appears on every channel. Unfortunately, his wife won't let him stay on the Playboy Channel.

One of the funniest sketches include the scenes in the hospital after Brenda (Michelle Pheiffer) and Harry (Peter Horton) give birth to a son and their doctor (Griffin Dunne) loses him! Henry Silva does an extremely funny rip-off of "Fact or Fiction" (could Jack the Ripper and the Loch Ness Monster be one and the same?). There is a funeral "roast" involving Steve Allen, Rip Taylor, Slappy White, Henny Youngman, Charlie Callas and Jackie Vernon. One of the funniest bits is "Son of the Invisible Man". Griffin (Ed Begley, Jr.) believes that he is truly invisible and flits about in a bar (wearing nothing)! Trust me...the nudity is integral to the plot.

The faux commercials are hysterical. How about "hair looming"? You can actually have a literal rug stapled to the top of your head (in complete privacy). Don Simmons (David Alan Grier) is a black singer without soul. Want to liven up a party? How about serving "Silly Paté"? It tastes great and bounces high!

Don't bail out during the first credits as the best is yet to come! Carrie Fisher and Paul Bartel participate in an "unclean" PSA! This is produced by Miracle Pictures whose motto is "If it's a good picture, it's a miracle".

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A Fun Niche Movie!

8/10
Author: Michael from Rio Grande Valley, Texas
13 March 2005

While most people will think this film is plain silly, which it is, it is really quite fun too.

With a few exceptions, the film is about your typical late night television and the crazy ads that used to permeate the airwaves before all the infomercials started taking over in the 90's. In this film, they make fun of those crazy ads and programming by doing outrageous spoof ads interspersed with an old 1950's B movie with a lot of projection problems.

Any couch potato with a good sense of humor and a memory of the 70's & 80's television programming should enjoy this one! This is why I call it a niche movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

A hilarious collection of comedy sketches. Highly recommended!

Author: Cowman (cowman777@hotmail.com) from The Mitten State, USA
17 February 2003

Like its predecessor KENTUCKY FRIED MOVIE, AMAZON WOMEN ON THE MOON is simply a 90-minute assortment of short sketches, gags, and spoofs. All of the segments star multiple big-name actors, but they each vary in style, technique, and content. Some rely on humorous dialogue while others (specifically "Mondo Condo") depend solely on slapstick physical comedy. Some (like "Video Date") are pretty risque and could even be considered questionable in taste, while others are 100% family-friendly. Each of the approximately 20 skits do have one thing in common with one another, though: they are all unbelievably hilarious.

Admittedly, there are some jokes that miss the mark and one or two short sketches that are pretty corny, but these dull moments are easily forgiven since the rest of the movie is just so damn funny. My suggestion: grab a friend, a bowl of popcorn, and watch AMAZON WOMEN ON THE MOON today! Be prepared to laugh yourself to tears, and don't forget order the latest album from Don 'No Soul' Simmons when you're done!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

one of my favorite comedies!

Author: MASTAMIND72 from United States
28 January 2003

Boy, do i love this movie! Im not saying it didnt have any flaws. Id say about 80% of it was very funny. My absolute favorite sketches are the Harvey Pitnik critics corner/funeral sketches. The critics really tore Harvey a new one (LOL)! All the roasters (comedians) were great, but my favorite was Rip Taylor, especially when he says "you know the old saying in show business, get off quick, like Harvey on his wedding night!" When i heard that, I laughed so hard, that i probably have an uncured hernia to this day from it. Of course i cant leave out the blacks without soul/ Don no soul Simmons albums (my second favorite), Arnesio Hall, bs or not, pirates, titans, and every Vangoe must go, and the Amazon Women movie itself. These were all very funny. I cant wait to get this on dvd one day. 8 STARS OUT OF 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A feel-good, light-headed pleasure

7/10
Author: blackcircles (blackcircles@beer.com) from Toronto, Canada
5 December 2000

This is not a great film by any means, but there are some really hilarious, unforgettable sketches in this movie. There's the Playboy bunny who goes grocery shopping naked, goes to church naked and everyone else acts like its normal. The Amazon Women on the Moon sketch is a scream. David Alan Grier is fantastic as the man without soul. There's the Siskel and Ebert-style critique of a man's life. There's also Andrew Dice Clay's finest moment (not like he's had any others) as he screams from a TV set at someone watching his girlfriend's porn video. A very silly movie, but with lots of great moments.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Donate your money to Don Simmons - Black without a soul :)

9/10
Author: Gallston from Turku, Finland
7 July 1999

After I saw this film I was positively surprised of the varied amount of excellent little surprises this film offered in form of little jokes. The film itself is in a way a sequel to the "Kentucky Fried Movie" so if you have seen it, you might know what to expect. The movie itself is built around a 50's b-movie "Amazon women on the moon" which has some serious troubles while showing and the jokes are then presented as commercials etc. One of the most memorable moments IMO in this film include: "The blacks without the soul", "Petmate of the month" and several others. I'll give this 9 out of 10. RECOMMENDED

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Gratefulness to AWOTM

9/10
Author: Cristi_Ciopron from CGSM, Soseaua Nationala 49
3 June 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

AWOTM is a strictly confidential delight, a comedy with a surrealist and _absurdist twist ;seldom spoken of. Now cinema has such treats—I mean, wonderful Bs little spoken or extremely badly spoken of—the Rourke comedy—HARLEY DAVIDSON …--is one such treat, and SAVE ME with L. Anthony and Ironside, and POSSESSED BY THE NIGHT with the gorgeous Mrs. Tweed, and a sexy comedy with Tanya Roberts and Joan Severance, and some others …. Make no mistake—acknowledging them requires true sophistication. Then by the middle of the '90s the B passed out.

Most parodies are mean, and meant to insult and criticize sourly, while AMAZON … is essentially and fundamentally friendly and cheerful and nice—to the viewer as well as to the shows it pastiches ceaselessly.

I can casually enjoy a parody, there are some I have liked indeed; but AMAZON … is so much more than that. It's wonderful spirit makes one sad as well as glad—sad, because its example was not matched afterward. It is made by people who like the shows they lampoon, while the regular parodies lampoon recent successful movies—not movies particularly enjoyed by the parodists. I liked AMAZON … so much that the next evening I needed to see it once more.

It's not a parody, how could it be one, but a strangely affectionate entry into the wacky movies' genre. The endearing ingenuity is the feature I enjoyed most.

It is rather long since I have delighted so much in a comedy; I have found it crassly, wonderfully and hysterically inspirational, an anthology comedy featuring an awesome battery of movie stars; I liked Mrs. Pfeiffer's sketch the best. I had the vague impression that Mrs. Tweed should pop in somewhere in this flick, and I think she did not, perhaps I was mainly misinformed—but guess what, dear fellow buff—Mrs. Pfeiffer, Carrie Fisher, one of the wonderful Arquette sisters …. AWOTM was half—sad, nearly heart—rending—half—stupid and half—bitter, and unselfconscious enough …. An addictive comedy, better than the flicks it spoofs, merry and sometimes truly funny …. The '80s still had this kind of ingenuity and inoffensive comedy …. The almanac—format allowed for a host of persons to be assembled such as to turn the movie into a celebration of a B world. Afterwards the B became prosaic, dull and trite—I know the flicks made by Rourke, Eric Roberts, and Don Johnson and Madsen and Hopper ….

AWOTM was doubtlessly very good, better than, say, the Monty Python similar formats—more cheery and mindless and affable; it cheered me, while most American comedies do not. It is a cult movie? I wish it were.

But it's also good that such movies remain our secret and, as it were, our password.

It was directed by several known names from the genre movies; this kind of trivia you will get from IMDb.

Nowadays even this kind of extravaganza is forbidden to us B flicks buffs. Perhaps this also makes AWOTM so sad; so cheering and sad—a lost continent. They smashed those B movies; some of us needed them. Now being given all liberality of taste, if you indeed disliked AWOTM, I do not know what kind of a person you are; I would rather not meet you.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history