IMDb > Trick or Treat (1986) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Trick or Treat
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Trick or Treat More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 66 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

best damn movie ever. hands down.

10/10
Author: Quest ofMetaforce (midgetorgy@yahoo.com) from United States
26 May 2006

First off, this really is my favorite film ever. I don't need to give anyone a description because every a**hole does that. I am literally obsessed with this practically bloodless, cheesy, lame effects having', boom-stick showing', badly edited, 80's metal horror masterpiece. The director (I heard) had hoped for a hit at the box office so that he could do sequels and have a FREDDY/JASON type of deal for himself. Damn, I wish that could've went down like that! The soundtrack's banging'. The acting's good....CHECK THIS MOFO OUT. and any die-hard fans out there, feel free to email and chat sometime. Midgetorgy....I can be found at YAHOO.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Rock's chosen warriors will rule the apocalypse

8/10
Author: DemonGate from Here
13 April 2006

Being a genre film fan, a child of the 80's AND a fan of hard rock music...this movie holds a special place in my heart. It has everything you could want in a supernatural movie: action, great special effects (for 1986) and a guitar wailing glam- rock soundtrack. It certainly was THE movie for all the heavy metal fans at the time. I didn't see this at the cinema because it was never released theatrically over here...but it's popularity on video during the mid to late eighties secured it's cult status and eventually led to a (sadly, mediocre) DVD release in 2002. If you're not a fan of creepy movies or rock music then this probably isn't your cup of tea...but, trust me, there are worse films of this type out there...and, despite average acting and some outrageously ridiculous situations, Trick or Treat is most definitely a wailing riff above the usual horror fare. You'll never look at your stereo the same way again. Or should I say MP3 player?

TRICK OR TREAT TRIVIA- Marc Price (Eddie) played geeky Skippy Handelman on the popular long running comedy sitcom 'Family Ties.' After a string of direct to video flops including, 'Little Devils''Killer Tomatoes eat France' and 'The Rescue' he gave up on acting to pursue a career in stand-up comedy. Recently, he has been considering a TV comeback.

Glen Morgan (Roger) is now a major Hollywood producer/ screenwriter. He has written and produced several major films and TV series, including: 'Space: Above and Beyond''The X-Files''Final Destination''Jet Li's The One''Willard' and most recently 'Final Destination 3'.

Tony Fields (Sammi) started his performing career as a dancer on the TV series 'Solid Gold'. He appeared in several low budget films and TV shows before landing his breakout role as the devilish Sammi Curr in 'Trick or Treat'. Sadly, Tony passed away on February 27th 1995 of AIDS related cancer.

Doug Savant (Tim) is probably best remembered for his pioneering role of homosexual twentysomething Matt Fielding on the popular sitcom 'Melrose Place'. Since then he has had a long and varied acting career, appearing in such films and TV series as: 'The One''Godzilla''CSI: Crime Scene Investigation' and the short lived Joss Whedon sci-fi series 'Firefly'. Currently he can be seen as Tom Scavo on the smash hit series 'Desperate Housewives'.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

If you like 80's movies, you'll like this!

9/10
Author: mkw-5 from Finland
18 January 2006

This is a true "80's movie": Back then they made maybe 100 times more movies than nowadays, and that makes many of them quite interesting... It was a cultural phenomenon, that don't exist anymore. Nowadays maybe the same kind of people that would have made cheap "straight-to-video"-movies in the eighties, are doing cheap porn. Porn seems to sell. Anyway, this is above the medium trash-movie level: It has good&fascinating story, and it's quite well made I think. In one scene you can even see the microphone swinging on the upper edge of the picture. Of course there are also little cameos by Ozzy and Gene Simmons, but they don't very much contribute to the film "success", although they are good in their small roles. The monster,heavy-singer "Sammi Curr", looks really terrible, especially when he's singing. One of the scariest monsters I've seen in horror flicks. I may have nightmares of him next night. Not recommended for intellectual movie lovers.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Well worth watching.

8/10
Author: StormSworder from United Kingdom
17 December 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Teenager Eddie spends his life being bullied and humiliated due to his obsession with heavy metal music. One day he finds out his hero Sammi Curr has died, supposedly burned by the establishment which wanted to put a stop to his music. But Eddie has his last record, never released, and when he plays it he starts receiving messages telling him how to deal with his tormentors. Before long Sammi has revealed he intends to return to life at the local Halloween party to exact revenge on the town which once mocked him.

Filled with humour and in-jokes, this is a highly entertaining film. Sammi himself is an original horror movie villain, plays on the 'evils of rock music' obsessions of the 80's. Well worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Gene Simmons can act?!

7/10
Author: ResidentHazard (romerodawn@yahoo.com) from Plymouth, MN
14 December 2005

Trick or Treat, Quickie Review This zany romp of a film revolves around the 80's culture of Heavy Metal and horror movies--two things which I love dearly. So, as you can imagine, this movie appealed to me pretty easily. Plus, for no apparent reason, Ozzy Osbourne plays a preacher.

This film is about an unpopular high school youth who, like all us losers, ended up drenched in a world of "evil" Heavy Metal. His favorite Metaldude dies and, of course, is miraculously resurrected--by playing his latest unreleased album backwards. This allows the corpsified singer to go around killing people with demons and sh*t helping out.

Okay, it's pretty cheesy at times, but you know what? It's got a surprising number of good qualities. Decent acting (including Gene Simmons as a radio DJ), pretty good special effects, very brief nudity, decent atmosphere... All in all, it's actually a decent horror film. But what really sucks is the music. Ironic, huh? Well, this "uber-evil" Metal guy is one of the most obnoxious, high-pitched, wailing, Motley Crue rejects on the planet--and the "Metal" is little more than putrid 80's Pop/Hair Metal. He hits all the cliché's here, from prancing around like a gay fairy, to looking mean, to screaming "Rock and Roll!!!" in a pitch high enough to make King Diamond retch. Aside from that atrocious musical representation, it's actually pretty good. 7/10

www.ResidentHazard.com

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It is what it is

7/10
Author: guyfromjerzee from United States
14 October 2004

I heard about this movie when watching VH1's "100 Most Metal Moments." On the segment, Gene Simmons (who played a cameo) and several other interviewees discussed how utterly awful this movie is. Unlike most people, I'm often more curious about checking out movies that have reputations for being ridiculously bad than, say, a masterpiece of cinema. The advantage of having that sort of attitude is half the time I find out that the movies are nowhere near as bad as people said, and I end up enjoying them a lot more than I initially expected. That was my experience with "Trick or Treat." Now, it's hard to make a movie about a teenage boy who receives messages from a dead heavy metal star by playing one of his vintage records backwards without people scoffing at the premise. Sure, it's certainly a strange premise, but one that's never been done before! Give the filmmakers points for originality for Pete's sake! If you're looking to buy the DVD, having no prior knowledge of the movie, don't be fooled into thinking Ozzy Osbourne and Gene Simmons are the stars. However, though Simmons has a thankless role, Ozzy does have a funny cameo as a Reverend (that's right, a Reverend!!) who speaks out against heavy metal. For one thing, it's funny seeing Ozzy with short hair. And for another thing, you can't help but laugh at the irony. Sure, it's a cheap shot, but an effective one. The acting is pretty good. I found the performances convincing. The teen characters are horribly clichéd. So expect the usual array of jocks and nerds. And like in every one of these movies, the pretty girl is a decent person who has sympathy for the alienated main character, yet continues to go out with her jock boyfriend. Why's she going out with such a complete jerk in the first place? Because the plot needs an obstacle. No other reason. But I can't deny that one of my guilty pleasures is watching the evil jocks in these movies go down, since I was an outcast in high school. The movie kept my interest for the most part, but the third act is way too conventional and caused me to roll my eyes as there would be one predictable situation after another. But altogether the film is not at all bad and definitely worth viewing on a rainy day. (7 out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bang your Trick!!

Author: DJAkin (Donjakin1988@gmail.com) from AZ
20 December 2003

Trick or Treat is a good flick. Trick or Treat was back in the 80s and made a lot of folks not want to Trick or Treat!! The best thing about Trick or Treat was the music soundtrack Fastway did the music to Trick or Treat and it delivered the goods. To metal folks like me, Trick or Treat is a trick more than a treat. I hope that Trick or Treat eventualy has a sequal. Trick or Treat is going to be a cult classic someday. If you have not seen Trick or Treat....I suggest renting it. Trick or Treat is scary and funny at the same time. Trick or Treat!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A 'sweet and innocent' horror film from the 80s

6/10
Author: A-Ron-2 from Storrs, CT
14 May 2000

I know that referring to a horror film as sweet and innocent is a bit weird, but that is really the only way to describe this movie. I remember that I went to see it with my friend Arthur (not his real name) back in 86, we were both 14 and Artie had been pretty excited about seeing TT, because Ozzy and Gene Simmons were in it. Arthur was a heavy metal fan with long hair and Dokken T-shirts, I was a punker (who had a low opinion of metal until much later), but we went and had a good time.

Arthur was a lot like Eddie (the main character played by Marc Price), he was sort of a nowhere-going outsider, who found solace in the misogyny and homo-erotica of the heavy metal movement. I suppose that was fine, but this film evoked that image very well.

Eddie was just this loser who did not fit in and who no one really liked or paid attention to; his life was a mess as he was trying to deal with school, bullies, his unrequited love for some 'hot chick' and the disembodied soul of satanist, heavy metal star Sammi Kerr, who had been unintentionally released by Eddie when he played Sammi's final album backwards.

There are a lot of such inside jokes (Ozzy as a televangelist, etc.) and they work within a certain context, but I am not convinced that they will necessarily work on a contemporary audience (who have access to Marylin Manson and Nine Inch Nails videos). However, those of you who lived through this period, or who had an Eddie (or an Arthur) in your lives should enjoy this film. If you already saw it, you should see it again. This is a very well done little flick that really deserves a cult following.

Again, I just find it amazing that a 'dead-teenager' movie about heavy metal and satanism, managed to communicate the real character of the heavy metal fans of the 80s. These were not 'cool' people for the most part, but alienated, acne-covered depressed kids whose only cry for attention was long-hair and T-shirts with lame metal bands on them. Eddie was this character to a T. I think that is what impressed me the most about Trick or Treat, it seems to have been written by someone who actually knew something about metal and about its fans and made a genuine effort to relate to them rather than to relate to the MTV image of them.

This movie really made a tremendous effort to create sympathetic characters and to relate them to their core audience. This was a very cute and sweet film that managed to capture a moment in cultural history and to exploit it effectively as a gory horror movie.

It still just reminds me of sitting on the hood of my parents car, listening to Fastway (the band that did the soundtrack) on the boombox and watching Arthur headbang and flash his satan symbol at me while sticking his tongue out; I hated the music but really dug seeing Arthur groove to it. That was my 80s, and if it was yours, I think you will like this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Worth watching!

Author: Prolox from Canada
15 October 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Eddie is an all American high school boy who suffers day in & day out humiliation from all the pretty boy jocks that attend the same high school he does. Eddie spends most of his time in his room, listening to rock music & writing to his favorite singer who attended the same school he did, the singer is named SAMMI CURR & when Curr dies in a fire, Eddie's world collapses, given the very last (& unheard) album of Curr's, Eddie plays it only to discover that there is no real music to it, just weird sounds, unfortunately he decides to play it backwards & finds that there's a hidden message in the record, unfortunately playing the record backwards, resurrects Curr, who unfortunately for Eddie, is not whom he thought his favorite rock star was, because now Sammi demands that Eddie kill the punks at school as payment for torturing Eddie day in & out, but when Eddie refuses to do what Curr wants, Curr takes charge, annihilating any kid who steps in his way as he makes his way to a Halloween dance taking place at the school, in which Curr will give them a rock n' roll performance & party they'll never forget! now Eddie must find a way to put Curr away for good or suffer a horrible death himself. TRICK OR TREAT was yet another rare 80's horror film that I enjoyed, but could no longer find anymore, none of the video stores in my area carried it, but just recently, thanks to the blessings of DVD, I got a copy & played it & while not the best horror film around, TRICK OR TREAT still does not disappoint, in fact there's a fair amount of weird kills & a somewhat light, though spooky tone flowing through it, the actors performed their roles so well & there's a bit of humor here & there to help lighten the dark serious tone, there's lots of suspense to keep you hooked to the end & Sammi Curr made for an interesting villain, so sad to hear that the actor who played him passed away. Anyways for those of you reading this review & who haven't seen the film, don't be mislead by the box art, which has the names of or in the case of the box art mine came in, the faces of GENE SIMMONS & OZZY OSBOURNE on the front cover, it may lead you to believe that these two play a big part in this movie, but they don't, their only on the box to capitalize on their recent popularity & only have short cameo appearances in the movie. You'll have to be a real Ozzy fan to find him (He plays a TV preacher & does not look like a rock n' roller) & GENE plays the disc jockey who gives Eddie, Curr's last unreleased album, still horror fans will probably find plenty to like here, there's a good rock soundtrack & several neat, though often times weird & bloodless kills.

*** stars

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Greatest Chase Scene Ever

10/10
Author: lannoh from Millis, MA
4 November 2004

This movie is horrible, but you have to see it because of that. I'm not here to discuss the entire film, just the greatest chase scene ever. When Eddie dumbs milk on Tim, he gets chased down the hallway. Eddie puts obstacles in the jocks way with hilarious consequences (like a cymbal nailing a trumpet player; buy the DVD and watch it slow). The best obstacle is a knocked over mop bucket which one jock jumps over but proceeds to slide on the ground out a door. But when he slides he picks up speed thus defying physics (mainly friction); yet what lies behind the door is supreme. The steepest stair case in any school ever, which this jock proceeds to CLEAR in the air. In reality he probably would die of a broken neck. Not only does he defy all concepts of reality, he makes the funniest noise ever made in that situation. Go and buy this one. Trust me this scene is worth your 6 bucks.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history