IMDb > The Money Pit (1986) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Money Pit
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Money Pit More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 90 reviews in total 

50 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

i love this movie

10/10
Author: montana19boy from bozeman, mt, usa
31 March 2004

i have seen this movie so many times and it is still hilarious. regardless of what others have said i think this movie is great. the plot is not that well written but who cares this movie wants to make u laugh and it succeeds admirably. I think that this movie is great and is one of my favorite all time movies. It is absolutely hilarious. Many think that Tom Hanks is a dramatic actor, but his roots are in comedy. This movie proves that, he is absolutely perfect and hillarious. Shelley Long although not great, is the best she has ever been in a movie. Her timing and emotions are well fit for this movie. You will laugh and be touched, please vote afterwards and make this rating go up.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Good Memories

9/10
Author: browall80 from Canada
20 April 2006

I loved this movie. Granted, I was a teen when I first saw it, but even so, I laughed often and that is my standard of judgment. Shelley Long is as good as she was in Cheers (which is gooood). Tom Hanks shows off the early "Bosom Buddies" hopes of physical comedy genius here in a way that he never did again. The bee-attack scene to the flight of the Bumblebee violin solo is fabulous. the whole "We're Sitting on a Dream" sequence with the stairs and doorbell and raccoon and the bathtub is hilarious but PEOPLE. Come on. The entire collapsing stairs bit is the best, capped off by Hanks sweet little blown kiss at the end ... slayed me. My brother and I still reference it whenever everything is more crap than bearable, and we always will. I think this is an overlooked gem and will always have it in my video catalogue. Finally, a quote: Paint. Don't tickle. Alexander Gudonow will be missed.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Mr. Hanks builds his dream (make that "nightmare") house

8/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
12 August 2006

I know, the critics ripped at "The Money Pit" when it got released. They apparently didn't realize that it wasn't pretending to be a masterpiece; it was a big excuse to be funny, and they succeed. Some of the gags her seem to forecast the equally funny "Mousehunt". Personally, I think that Tom Hanks needs to act in some more comedies, and Shelley Long needs to get more roles in movies. My favorite scene? Well, I get the giggles whenever I think of the whole chain reaction. Just the kinds of things about which anyone should worry when moving into a new house (although my family didn't have such experiences when we moved into our house).

All in all, it shows that Richard Benjamin is as great a director as he is an actor. My generation ought to give him the recognition that my parents' generation gave him. Also starring Alexander Godunov (one of the Amish guys in "Witness"), Maureen Stapleton, Joe Mantegna and Josh Mostel.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Tom Hanks at his Best.

10/10
Author: jts0405 from United States
3 September 2007

This is truly the era when Tom Hanks was a comedian. He really made me laugh in this movie. Especially when the bath tub falls through the flooring. The best parts happen when something goes wrong. Tom Hanks has moved on since this time period to make Oscar winning movies such as Forrest Gump and the Green Mile, but this is truly when he was at his best. I have to admit, I never thought that Tom Hanks could be funny until I saw this film. I inspire anyone to give this movie a try. I guarantee that it will make you laugh at least once or twice. So go on and try the Money Pit. It is when Tom Hanks was not in it for the awards.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

'Money' well spent.....

Author: mcfly-31 from anaheim, ca
3 March 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is the rarest of the rare: a one-joke comedy where the one-joke is able to sustain the whole film. It all begins when Hanks and Long buy a big, grand, dream house in the New York countryside. It is, of course, too good to be true, after the sob-story old lady has sold it to them it begins to crumble into disaster. But because there are so many angles for the filmmakers to come from---collapse of stairs, wild animals lurking, bad wiring---it manages to hold itself together for around ninety minutes. A big credit goes to Hanks, who's facial expressions are priceless at times. Such as when he accidentally hammers his thumb. Too stunned to curse, he does what we all do, as he begins to beat the hell out of the object he was hammering. Even his charm in the earlier scenes, like dealing with a bratty kid-star, are funny. Long is good as his sort of straight-(wo)man, but Godunov steals all his scenes as her self-absorbed ex husband. Bosco is great as the grandfather of the entire construction crew, and even the sub-sub-characters are engaging as everyone always has a goofy line to chime in with, i.e. the infamous "Two weeks". But the coup de gras of the entire thing is a slapstick set-piece that brings down the house, literally. All I'll say is that involves Hanks going on a proverbial roller-coaster ride in and around the house for a good two minutes. The choreography and timing, starting with Hanks and going all the way down the extras, is amazing. Even if you aren't into the film, at least stay until that moment. There's an extra-marital subplot, that usually in a comedy, never fits. But because we like Hanks and Long so much, we get into it. And it leads to one of Hanks' funnier line readings ever. To the longtime fans of the movie: "YOU WH*RE!"

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Now the house is perfect...let's move!!!!

8/10
Author: MarieGabrielle from United States
8 November 2006

This film when it first came out was not given credit, it fell into the categories with the "Ghostbusters sequel" and other silly 80's movies. But, if you watch it again, it may have you laughing.

Shelley Long, while not a favorite, is good, and Tom Hanks, as a young couple finally buying that country mansion dream house every American should want. Maureen Stapleton is selling it; she is classic.

Joe Mantegna as Art Shirk, one of the many contractors and plumbers who take the young couple for a ride. Richard Benjamin has done a good job directing (You may want to watch "Goodbye, Columbus" again; he was excellent in that film).

The story is predictable, but will lighten your mood; it is not just a romantic comedy with a ridiculous premise. Anyone who has ever had to deal with house repairs and contractors will find this to be a good tonic. 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

hanks at his physical comedy best

Author: jericho31 from trenton, nj
14 June 2002

It continually amazes me that Tom hanks will go down as one of the best dramatic actors of our generation and little will be spoken of how good a physical comedian he was before "Philadelphia" changed his career. Hanks made a string of movies in the 80s relying on his physical comedy ability, most notable "Big", "the burbs", "dragnet", "turner & hooch" etc. But I think that with the POSSIBLE exception of "Big" - "The Money Pit" is his best. Some of the scenes involving Hanks in this movie made me laugh so hard I couldn't breathe. This movie is intended to be a farce and it succeeds totally. The rest of the cast is not very strong - I have never, and I assume never will be, a Shelley Long fan - she doesn't do anything but provide a sounding board for Hanks anyway. But then again, she really doesn't need to.

This movie is definitely worth taking a look at if you haven't seen it - the first time you watch it, it is genuinely hilarious. I just watched it again after about three years without seeing it and found it to still hold up. The scene when the chimney falls apart is my favorite. I wish hanks would do another comedy, but he's all serious now. oh well.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The Money Pit - So Funny!!

10/10
Author: iceglass from United Kingdom
5 August 2010

I have lost count of the amount of times I have watched this film. It's one of those films you put on when you need cheering up. So many scenes were funny to watch, love the one where Tom Hanks gets his fingers stepped on, because the stairs is "out"!!!!

You really feel for them, as everything they touch falls apart...and the saying: how long will this take to finish? TWO WEEKS, TWO WEEKS!! Yeh...right the job to mend/repair the house lasts months.

There are so many funny scenes...which I love, Tom Hanks is a legend, what a talent, funny or sad he's magic. Loved Shelley Long in this film, she's very good doing comedy.

Great movie xxx xx

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

One of my first movies i ever watched, and still a classic

8/10
Author: yourbigpalal83 from Long Island, New York
3 August 2005

Growing up, i was always fond of movies. I remember the first time i ever saw a movie, i feel in love with them. The first movie i ever saw, was ghostbusters, and i was hooked. the 2th movie, was the money pit, because it was recorded on the same VHS tape as ghostbusters was, and it to was just as funny.

I remember watching this film over and over again as a very young child, (2-5 years old) and cracking up every time even though i didn't get most of the jokes (what 4 year old knows about the trouble of home repair?) anyhow, after catching a late night viewing of the film (and only the end part of it) i can say from what i viewed, i was laughing my ass off, almost waking up my sleeping parents and brother. Very funny film, and definitely worth checking out and buying on DVD (granted you can find it)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The home version of "The Poseidon Adventure"

8/10
Author: blanche-2 from United States
21 August 2005

Tom Hanks and Shelley Long star in this hilarious film about a couple who buy a million dollar home for $200,000 - only to find out it's going to cost close to a million to repair it! Wood rot, raccoons in the dumbwaiter, a bad roof, bad plumbing, bad electricity - you name it, this house has it. Hard to choose the funniest scene - the staircase collapse or Hanks getting dumped in cement.

The entire cast is excellent, from Maureen Stapleton, the former homeowner whose boyfriend is being deported, Hanks' clients (he's an entertainment attorney), the many workers who populate the house, or Douglass Watson, Hanks' embezzler father who now lives in Rio.

It would also be hard to choose the funniest line, but for anyone who has owned a home, probably the Shirks Brothers line when their team comes to repair the house - "Your name came up in a drawing - we work today!"

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history