IMDb > Ferris Bueller's Day Off (1986) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ferris Bueller's Day Off More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 43:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 428 reviews in total 

130 out of 151 people found the following review useful:

Take the "Day Off"...

10/10
Author: Mister-6 from United States
6 September 2000

Before all the slapstick, before re-writing "Home Alone" umpteen times and before selling his soul to "Disney Pictures Inc.", John Hughes was believed to be THE scribe for teen angst.

He wrote eloquently of it in "Sixteen Candles", "The Breakfast Club" and "Pretty in Pink". And with "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", he creates a person and a time in life that just about anyone who's ever been a teenager can relate to.

Who hasn't known someone like Ferris Bueller (Broderick)? Someone who always has a plan, someone who made loafing off an art form, someone who could fall in a barrel of you-know-what and come out smelling like a rose?

All he wants to do is take a day off from school and enjoy the day in Chicago - simple enough, but he must also try and convince his best friend Cameron (Ruck) and his best girl (Sara) to join him and, in the process, learn to enjoy what life has to offer.

Naturally, there is a tyrannical school dean (Jones) who is determined to catch Ferris in the act of hookey and Ferris' own sister (Grey, pre-nose job) who has it in for her brother, the "trouser-snake".

There are funny situations throughout the movie, and the characters are ones that grow on you, especially Ruck's worry-wart portrayal of Cameron Frye, constantly fretting about his dystalic, cursing his father and nearly drowning in a pool, all in the name of friendship.

Sara has less to do, but she plays the object of desire well, and Ferris' passion for her is understandable. At least he thinks about the right things, like what their lives would be like after high school.

All the way from beginning to end, this movie is a great trip in search of fun, relaxation, not taking life too seriously and how to sing Wayne Newton songs in the middle of a parade.

You want to catch vintage John Hughes and classic '80s teendom at its best? Seize this "Day"!

Ten stars for "Ferris Bueller's Day Off".

Was the above review useful to you?

133 out of 162 people found the following review useful:

Not just one of the best comedies of all time, but one of the best movies PERIOD

10/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
5 November 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My friends knowing that I'm a huge film buff asked me to come up with a list of my favorite movies of all time, when it came down to number one, there was one film that stood out in my head that I knew I could watch over and over again and never get sick of: Ferris Bueller's Day Off. One of the best comedies of all time, Ferris Bueller is a movie that just stands the test of time. How anyone could not love this film is beyond any of my understanding, Ferris Bueller is my hero among many others. John Hughes is usually remembered more for The Breakfast Club, which is an incredible movie as well, but I think this was his masterpiece. He said in an interview that this was his childhood, getting his wife and best friend and skipping out on school to go down town and just have a good time. If you are a Chicago citizen, you've pulled a Ferris Beuller's day off too, it's like a law here, lol, if you haven't, I pity you. The reason that this movie works is because of it's outrageous story that everyone wants to live, Matthew Broderick, there was no other choice, he is who everyone wants to be: Ferris Bueller.

Ferris Bueller is a teenager who fakes out his parents on being sick, even though it is his worst performance of being ill, somehow it works and his parents let him stay home. He takes the gorgeous day outside, takes his really sick best friend and his girlfriend and goes into beautiful Chicago for a blast of good times. I'm not kidding fellow Chicagoians, this is the best Chicago movie! Ferris has two problems though, his principal who is sick of being made a fool of and decides to bust Ferris on his fake illness. And his sister Jeanie, who cares more about Ferris's life than her own and just wants to prove that he's faking it.

Even though, you have to admit that it's a bit unrealistic that it is broadcast throughout Chicago that Ferris is "dying" and no one notices that he's singing in the Chicago parade, on a field trip to the Art Institute with an elementary class, getting "snootie" with a waiter at Chicago's finest restaurant, and catching the Cub's home run ball at Wrigley Field, you just have fun and cannot stop laughing. Plus you have got to love Edward Rooney, the obsessed principal who is actually sicker than Ferris in one way of putting it. He goes through the whole city to find him just so Ferris doesn't make a fool of him, but he fails on all levels because Ferris is just that awesome. The scene between him and Grace when Cameron prank calls to get Ferris' girlfriend out of school is just too hilarious and will have you in stitches. I don't know what else to honestly say other than this movie is the best comedy to watch if you are looking for a great laugh. So sit, back and enjoy because "…life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and take a look around once in a while, you might miss it"; my philosophy. I will love Ferris Bueller till the day I die.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

103 out of 138 people found the following review useful:

Not just a classic of the 80s, but of any decade

8/10
Author: Agent10 from Tucson, AZ
9 April 2003

Matthew Broderick looked so brilliant in those days. While this film single handedly made him Ferris Bueller forever, at least this is a film that can be seen all throughout the years without dating too badly. Sure, the music and props will signify a time of discontent and bad hairdos, but the idealistic look of a man simply wanting to ditch school has never been made more daringly and charmingly.

Everything about this film was gold, from the postmodern "conversations" with the audience to the little back stories which seem to shape the overall canvas of the film. While Alan Ruck was way too old to play in this movie, at least he proved to be a great opposite to the cool and nonchalant Ferris. Gross-out comedies may now be the norm, at least we can look back to this film and enjoy a good, genuine laugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

100 out of 143 people found the following review useful:

My Favorite Movie Of All Time!

10/10
Author: AbeFroman-3 from Chicago
18 April 2005

I think it is only fitting that I dedicate my first movie review to my favorite movie, Ferris Beuler's Day Off.

This movie got me through High School.. and much of my adult life as well. That is, until Office Space came along, but that is another review.

Ferris Beuller (Matthew Broderick) was the kid in High School who never got caught, had fun doing whatever it was and was popular with everybody. On this particular day in the movie, Ferris decides he is taking the day off. After all, "How can anyone be expected to handle school on a day like this?" Ferris calls his best friend, Cameron Frye (a young Alan Ruck), who is always sick, and tells him to pick him up. After all, Ferris does not have a car. He wants to show Cameron a good time before High School is all over and wants him to have something good to remember about it. Also, Cameron is Ferris's phony caller voice. Whenever Ferris needs a call made, such as from a police officer or another parent, Cameron is the man.

Eventually, Ferris and Cameron gets Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara) excused, by using the dead grandmother excuse. Ferris is always one step ahead of his adversary, Principal Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones). Rooney is portrayed as a hard ass principal who does not let anything get by him. He sets off to catch Beuller in the act and put a permanent mark in his record and hold him back another year, so as not to have other Ferris Beuller wannabes for years after Ferris's departure. Jones was perfect for his role as Rooney and I do not think that role will ever be surpassed for him.

Most of the movie is spent with Rooney looking for Ferris and, as mentioned earlier, is about one or two steps behind him. He comes very close to catching him but never gets the job done. Rooney is the stooge in the movie that every teen and even the adults enjoy seeing him beaten and outsmarted by his young student. I don't think anyone has expected otherwise.

All throughout the movie, it pokes fun at the boring and tedious high school classroom. Ferris will say something like, "If we played by the rules right now, we'd be in gym class" and then it cuts to an exaggerated look at a gym class, which more resembles a boot camp. Ben Stein will forever be remembered here as the extremely boring economics teacher.

There are many more characters to this movie that make it great. There is Grace (Rooney's secretary), Jeanie and the rest of Ferris's family, the parking garage guys, the snooty waiter, Charlie Sheen and others. My friends and I still quote randomly from the movie in our everyday situations. That is how much of an impact this movie has made on many lives.

There are so many great parts and quotes from this movie, they are too numerous to list in a review, nor would I want to ruin it for anybody who has not seen it, although I can not fathom why you haven't. If not, it is a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

104 out of 151 people found the following review useful:

I can see why people just love this movie.

10/10
Author: (holeinthahead@yahoo.com) from New Jersey, USA
28 October 2000

"Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is the funniest 80's movie EVER! I can list some reasons why I liked this movie so much.

1. Matthew Broderick brings such joy to us playing Ferries Bueller, a character no one would hate. Ferris NEVER gets caught, is an expert at fooling his parents, everybody likes him, and nobody can avoid his favor and all. I want to be just like him!

2. Cameron, a geek friend of Ferris, is someone that portrays everybody's weakness. He is afraid of his parents, negative, and also very sensitive of his father's favorite car. This actor who plays Cameron was very, very good.

3. The principal who tries to prove that Ferris is not innocent and also kind of jealous of Ferris, is the most hilarious character in this movie. He sorta reminds me of my principal at High School.

4. Jennifer Grey plays Ferris's annoyed sister. She was great, and her bad attitude was somewhat hilarious.

5. Charlie Sheen's cameo of a guy in police station was absolutely funny.

6. This is John Hugh's BEST flick ever.

7. Mia Sara was sweet, she played Ferris's pretty girlfriend.

8. The most memorable scene was "Twist and Shout" scene, where all people dance in this song with Ferris lip-synching.

9. Cameron's speechless and hopeless stare was excellent.

10. After watching this movie, I am planning to take a Day-Off of my own!

Overall, I give A+ for being the best teenage movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

Smart A*s v. The Establishment -- Ferris Bueller Rules!

9/10
Author: mdm-11 from United States
11 September 2005

Ferris Bueller was either loved or hated by his peers for always getting away with anything he'd do. Some would want him expelled, others want him for Class President. On this extremely eventful day, the audience is invited to follow Ferris, his best pal and his girlfriend from morning to afternoon (when they all should have been in school), enjoying a holiday declared by the resourceful Ferris Bueller.

They get to speed on the freeway in a Ferrari, sing "Danke Schoen" on an Octoberfest Float, eat at the most exclusive restaurant in town and always keep just one step ahead of a furious principal in hot pursuit. With fake computer grade and attendance records, Ferris has it made.

The scene where the principal hitches a ride on a school bus after having been "torn up" by Doberman watch dogs is worth the ticket price (Oh Yeah!). This is one of the funniest "high school prankster movies" ever! Has it been 20 years already? This is a definite Cult Classic! Right up there with Animal House and Caddy Shack.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Ferris Bueller's Day Off

10/10
Author: Tim Cox from Marietta, OH
6 April 1999

Broderick banked off that boyish charm that made him so popular on the Broadway stage (Brighton Beach Memoirs) and brought it to this witty laugh ride about a high schooler who one day, just didn't want to go to school and puts himself and his friends in constant mayhem and jeopardy. Broderick is perfect, but it is Jeffrey Jones who gives a searing comic potryal of Ed Rooney, a Mr. Weatherbee-like principal wanting to catch Ferris in only act of treachery; holding him back for one more year of high school. John Hughes is at his best here. The dialogue for this film has received such a following that it has even been printed on shirts and recited at parties by true fans of the film. I don't blame them. It's a classic!

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

hilarious

8/10
Author: colinwhitefan
12 July 2003

Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) is a legend in his own time thanks to his uncanny skill at cutting classes and getting away with it. Ferris intending to make one last skip day out before graduation, Ferris calls in sick, "borrows" his friend Cameron's (Alan Ruck) father's Ferrari, and goes on a one day adventure through the streets of Chicago with his pals. Ferris' is followed by his high school principal Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), determined to catch Bueller in the act of cutting class, but finds it is more trouble than he bargained for. Ferris Bueller's Day Off is one of the best comedies ever, John Hughes is the best.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Don't let school get in the way of your education....

10/10
Author: clarinets from Canada
14 May 2003

John Hughes does a tremendous job of portraying school as an oppressive prison in which children are forced into the most unnatural setting to memorize useless facts to "get their grade." _The Breakfast Club_ is another example of this, but FBDO does it tremendously well. The setting portrayed at the school of the bored students listening to a nasal monotone lecture, while intended to be a caricature of the nature of classroom lessons and children's reactions, was pretty much on target.

Ferris Bueller takes the day off and what does he do? Certainly not what Rooney assumed smart teenagers will do. He didn't use this time to damage some bedsprings with his girlfriend, or play video games. No, he viewed fabulous pieces of art, ate at a very classy restaurant, participated in a parade, and taught his friends a few lessons in some interesting ways.

As a believer in education as an organic experience, this movie is a real eye opener to anyone wishing to educate their children outside of the public school venue. It's funny, and shows just how worthy time "living your life before it passes by" can be.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

When teen movies were funny, not just stupid

10/10
Author: gemtex from Texas
5 September 2003

I have an ongoing discussion with my friends and family about what movie defines your generation, and for me, this is it! Ferris' commentary throughout the movie is hilarious and irreverent, giving a voice to those on the borderline between Generations X and Y. It's Office Space, the teenage years! This movie is witty and fast-paced, not relying on the bathroom humor and physical comedy that most teenage and college comedies do these days. Yes it is dated, but that's part of what makes it great. I love it!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 43:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history