IMDb > The Slugger's Wife (1985) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Slugger's Wife
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Slugger's Wife More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 29 reviews in total 

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Hal Ashby's Worst

1/10
Author: motley6 (vvinvasion@hotmail.com) from United States
8 October 2010

On paper it sounds great: Hal Ashby directing, Neil Simon writing, Michael O'Keefe coming off of three critically acclaimed films, and Rebecca DeMornay coming off Risky Business. But in practice, the movie simply isn't watchable. Bad dialogue, bad acting, atrocious musical interludes; and this is just in the first 20 minutes. Randy Quaid and Martin Ritt appear in thankless roles. Even the baseball sequences are pedestrian. There is nothing redeemable in this production even from a cult perspective. Second-Hand Hearts and Lookin' to Get Out were not great but at least they were coherent. If you are a fan of Ashby's 70's work and are interested in his 80's stuff, I suggest you just watch 8 Million Ways to Die and the concert films.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Complete wash out

Author: Angela (acmce) from New York, New York
25 September 1999

Baseball player meets rockstar - they marry and have difficulty adjusting to each other's different lives. Not only was I very disappointed when I saw this film, but I actually felt robbed of two hours of my life. I get angry when I think about the time I wasted watching this movie. Judging by cast and crew, it should've been a halfway decent movie. Not in the least... ranks as one of the worst I've ever seen. Not romantic, not comedic...not an honest or unique moment in this whole film. Bull Durham is a much better example of romance/baseball movie... Slapshot is also a better sports/comedy movie, with a subplot about the difficulty of being married to a professional player.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A very bad Baseball movie.

1/10
Author: JR541 from NY
6 April 2003

By the 1980's there were few good and even fewer great Baseball movies.

Then films like The Natural, Bull Durham, Field of Dreams and Eight men out came along. There was even a good HBO baseball film called "Long Gone." In the middle of these came "The Slugger's wife" and I sure wish it hadn't. This is a terrible movie. Bad story, bad acting and unrealistic baseball scenes. You should watch the other films I mentioned instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Danny Noonan Breaks Maris' Record. No one seems to care.

Author: Alan (alantes1@aol.com) from Northern, N.J.
31 May 2001

This film advertises itself as a Baseball movie with a Love Story. The film fails at both attempts.

The Love story is boring and pointless as the characters simply go through the cliche'd story of falling in love, and then drifting apart.

But the real disaster here is the failure as a Baseball story. Somehow, we are supposed to believe that Michael O'Keefe is a credible Baseball Slugger? O'Keefe will forever be known as Danny Noonan from Caddychack. Unfortunately, this role did little to take that typecast off of him.

He's less than 200 pounds, with barely any muscle tone on his body, and he supposed to have been inspired by his love for Rebecca De Mornay to hit 62 Home Runs in a Season. The story starts off with the fact that he's a light-weight singles hitter. If you look at the four men in history who have hit over 60 home runs in a season, (Ruth, Maris, McGwire & Sosa) you will see that these men are rather large and muscular. O'keefe is neither.

However, the story gets even more ridiculous as O'Keefe nears the record. On the night before the final game, he is sitting on 61 Home runs, which has tied the record. So, what does he do? He goes out to the local dance club (where he first met De Mornay) with his buddies. On his way to the dance floor, one reporter from Sports Illustrated approaches him and asks him a few questions, than wishes him luck.

ONE REPORTER!?!?! He's on the verge of breaking the single season home run record, and he's out in a disco, and there's only one reporter asking him questions??? Even non-baseball fans can appreciate the amount of media coverage and fan reaction when guys like Maris, McGwire and Sosa neared the 60 mark. Those men were constantly hounded by fans and the media every night.

If you want a decent movie about baseball, that also details the accurate lifestyle of a player about to break the single season, see Billy Crystal's "61*".

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The slugger strikes out

1/10
Author: NHNeil from United States
30 May 2003

This had to be one of the worst movies ever made. Unrealistic and makes baseball look like a total joke. The acting was consistent with the movie.......terrible. Why did it take me so long to acknowledge this movie? The embarrassment of seeing it, I guess.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst I have seen

1/10
Author: brookabbott from United States
23 November 2006

Tuned into this on cable one night. I figured that since Rebecca De Mornay is in it, it shouldn't be half bad, since she's done well in other features. Well, not here. Her character of an aspiring singer isn't at all convincing, starting with her inability to carry a tune. She should have been grateful to her whiny husband for rescuing her from a sorry music career. If you're into baseball, I suppose the game scenes might be interesting. However, the marital relationship, which should be the foundation of the plot, failed to come across as believable. These two were one-dimensional and lacked chemistry. Without that, I stopped caring what happened to them.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

There's baseball movies, then there's....

6/10
Author: Bob Peterson from Kettering, Ohio, U.S.A.
26 March 2005

I thought this was going to a different movie. When I saw it, I thought it was going to be about baseball. Well, "technically" it was about baseball. A guy walks into a night club with some of his baseball buddies and ends up falling for the singer that was on stage. She doesn't seem interested in him until he offers a wager that they go out together. They hit off for a little while then they get married. The two come from different backgrounds so they really can't understand each other. He wants to play baseball and she wants to sing and perform. They really can meet together at a common ground but where is that fine line?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Call this movie "61*, Who cares?"

1/10
Author: yafka from United States
24 September 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was written by Neil Simon???

Basically the plot is about a major league star who is on the verge of breaking Roger Maris's 61 Single Season Home Run Record. He's 10 away from the new record when he and his girlfriend split up and it turns the ballplayer into a wreck and he just drinks and falls down over and over again throughout the movie. His teammates try hard to get him over her before the season ends, by trying to fix him up with hookers and call girls, etc. None of which work.

Now despite the fact this guy is suppose to be an all-star and about to break this *huge* baseball record, the film depicts all this as if it's not a big deal. There are no reporters stalking this guy like in real life. The guy is not a celebrity. There are several scenes where he and the teammates are out in public and barely anyone notices who they are. This just repeats itself over and over again.

At the near end, when he finally breaks the record on the last day of the season with homer #62, the scene is only 5 seconds long. He runs around the bases with no dramatic music. He just goes "Yee-haw" and tags home plate. No fans run out onto the field, no fireworks, his team barely shows any emotion. It's as if the guy didn't do anything special. There is a small celebration in the locker room, but I think there's 1 TV reporter there in the background. So hitting 62 homers in 1985 apparently isn't that big a deal. Who cares, right?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

ZZZZZ 3 out of 10

Author: Rob (kublakhan13@hotmail.com) from Ohio
26 February 2002

The premise for this movie wasn't bad: Major leaguer finds love with a rock singer in route to a home run record season. Problem is, the two lead characters, especially the male lead, are totally unsympathetic! The male lead is such a boorish ass that I found myself rooting against him most of the movie. I was hoping Debbie, the female lead, would run off with Randy Quaid! If you have a choice between watching this movie or sliding down a huge cheese grater, well, I might choose the latter. : )

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The Slugger's Wife

Author: Tim Cox from Marietta, OH
21 April 1999

Weak film with no real point at all. Neil Simon's lack of depth is infuriating. The performances are all dull and flat, while the editing looks amateur and thrown together.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history