IMDb > Mischief (1985) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Mischief
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Mischief More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 48 reviews in total 

25 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

The first time seem like the worst time, but it's the one time you'll never forget

Author: Old Joe from Hamilton, Australia
23 October 2002

When it comes to a fun, entertaining sex comedy, I don't think of 'American Pie', as there is a different movie at number one on my list - Mischief! When I recollect this movie, my first memories cast back to Jonathon as he is about feel the breast of the beautiful Marilyn. This then took me into a cinematic journey that I would never forget. This is a funny look at what it means for guys to get mixed up with booze, drag racing and girls, and how sex can affect a male in and out of the bedroom.

Meet Jonathon, the class nerd. He is haplessly working his way through adolescences and burning up with fevered dreams of somehow, someday, making it with the hottest girl in school. And meet Gene - the new kid on the block. He roars into town on a motorcycle - and has absolutely no problems with girls. Jonathon is hoping that maybe his new worldly friend can guide him out of virginity - and into the arms of the girl of his dreams.

One of the main reasons I was so fascinated by Mischief was its screenplay. It was well written by Noel Black. I like the contrast that he presented. On the one hand we have Jonathon and his quest of trying to get the girl of 'his dreams'. Then on the other hand we have Gene, who is also struggling, but in a much different and serious way. Seeing him always get into trouble allows the film to flow, and does not make it too orientated its underlying theme, which is sex.

I also enjoy the way this movie was presented. I like how the movie starts, admitting that it might be about something strange, it's as if it was trying to make fun of itself. This I believe is the good work of director Mel Damski. I also like the 50's feel that he gave, as the time seemed accurate, as was the background setting, including movies and music, as was the dress and customs that were popular in those days. If this had been wrong then this movie would have been in real trouble. I am sure that Damski wanted everything to be as close to 1956 as possible.

The characters in Mischief are funny and intriguing. The main character is the hopeless Jonathon who was played grandly by Doug McKeon. Jonathon is a klutz, the school clown and it is no wonder that he is in so much trouble when it comes to girls. However once he meets up with Gene, they strike up a terrific friendship, although they are quite different people. Gene was performed well by Chris Nash. His character is a very meaningful one to this movie, as his circumstances make him a 'loser' just like Jonathon. Gene's nemesis in the movie is Kenny, 'the town asshole' as it is put. Kenny is performed well by D.W. Brown.

The female casts in this movie is amazing. This film enlightened me to how wonderful a girl, Kelly 'Mrs. Travolta' Preston really is. Seeing her in all her glory was a true movie delight. I am certain one of the main reasons people watch this movie is so they can see Kelly Preston naked. I also like the other female roles such as Bunny (Catherine Mary Stewart) and Rosalie (Jami Gertz). In fact, Jonathon and Rosalie's characters reflect the change that has taken place from the start to the end of the movie. They are like two different people.

There are some classic scenes in Mischief. I like the introduction between Gene and Jonathon. It is amusing when Gene admits to Jonathon that he got kicked out of school for sleeping with two girls. After hearing this, Jonathon is literally in awe of the guy, questioning 'Really?'. I found the scenes were Gene sticks up for himself and his friend to be very genuine as we are all wondering what 'mischief' Gene will get into next. However all the scenes with Jonathon and Marilyn are priceless. The sex scene between the pair is humorous and pivotal to the movie's story as the audience is wondering whether Jonathon will get laid or not. Yet the scenes leading up to this are all wonderful. Scenes such as the dropping of the pencil in class, the touching of Marilyn's breast and the 'fooling around' in the Studebaker, make for one hilarious time and keen for you to want to see more. Also, the final scenes to mischief are a fitting conclusion to a very funny movie.

I like the use of music in Mischief. While it is very old music, it paints a very accurate picture of the time and makes many individual scenes feel very 'mischievous'. Classic hits such as 'Ain't that a shame', 'See you later Alligator', 'Only you', 'Since I met you baby', the Elvis hit 'Don't be cruel, 'That'll be the day' and the closing theme of 'Heart and Soul, are all excellent songs and make for one impressive soundtrack.

Mischief is the first film of its kind that I had ever seen. Perhaps you could say it was my sort of 'sexual awakening', as I was going through puberty when I first 'laid' eyes on it. This sex comedy makes good use of the word 'mischief', as its teenage character can't help but get into trouble, with the consequences always being enormous. I also remember my Mother and Father wanting to ban my friends and I from viewing Mischief, as they thought it was not suitable for young eyes. Luckily we were able to watch it, as we all loved it and refer to it all the time as one of our all-time 'favourite' films. There is no doubting that is a fact.

CMRS gives 'Mischief': 4.5 (Very Good - Brilliant Film)

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

An 80's Classic

10/10
Author: tony95 from Tennessee
16 December 2000

I agree with my fellow reviewer that this movie is a lost gem. However, I would not consider it a typical 80's teenage sex movie. This movie is an eloquent and witty portrayal of love-stuck adolescence at its most hilarious. While the film does contain nudity and boozing, these situations are presented in such a way as could only offend the most prudish of characters. There is something innocent and refreshing about the emotions that occompany this period of every mans life and this movie bring that out perfectly. I have not seen this title in a video store in a long while, so I purchased it from Amazon. The PG-13 version shows up on Comedy Central every so often also. I recommend giving it look if you get the chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

A great comedy from the 80's

Author: Dan Grant (dan.grant@bell.ca) from Toronto, Ontario
4 January 2000

The 80's were great for many things when it came to films. It spawned the Indy films, it created Rambo and some of the campier horror films made their way to our screens. But what it also gave birth to was the teen comedy. I'm sure that we all remember films like Porky's and Fasttimes and the John Hughes era, but what we may forget are small films like this one that were gone from the theater faster than Anna and the King will be. But the 80's also gave birth to video and it is here that I was lucky enough to see many of these hidden comedies. Films like Secret Admirer, Wild Life and Mischief are films that may be 15 or 20 years old but they are so much fun and so much of my youth that I hope that maybe if there are any younger people that read these reviews, they will follow my advise and rent some of the aforementioned titles. As it stands, Mischief is one those films that got a good laugh and it was rented and watched repeatedly.

Mischief is the story of a guy named Johnathin who is sort of a nerd. He is not really picked on the way that the nerds are in Revenge of the Nerds but still he is clearly not the most popular guy in school. He of course has a crush on the most beautiful girl in school named Marilyn McCauley, played by then hottie and still smokin, John Travolta's wife, Kelly Preston. Before Preston became domesticated and made the occassional film here and there in the 90's, she was a teenage boys pin-up girl as she was in this and Secret Admirer and was very liberal in showing us her assets. Anyway, Johnathin then meets the new kid on the block and he is your typical 50's greaser and a bad ass. His name is Eugene and he is played extremely well by Chris Nash. He and Johnathin develop a close friendship and Eugene decides that he is going to teach Johnathin how to be cool and get the girl. It is here that the film takes off. Most of the comedy ensues from Eugene teaching John what to do and how to do it. There is one particularly funny scene where John and Eugene are shooting some hoops and Eugene tells John why he is here.

" Got kicked out of school. " " Why? " " F***ed three chicks. " Eugene says, as if he was telling John that skipped school too many times. " REALLY??!!! " Johnathin replies, literally in awe of the guy.

Eugene and Johnathin are obviously complete opposites and seeing Eugene take Johnathin under his wing is the funniest part of the film. As we watch John go through his transformation we laugh along with him. We feel embarrasment for him as he awkwardly begins to build up his confidence. Mischief isn't as side splittingly funny as Porky's or Fasttimes but it is a great addition to the 80's teenage comedy fest. If all you really know about raunchy teenage comedy is American Pie, then you should check out where it's roots are. Mischief is one of the films that it may have taken after. I realize that the aging of this film may turn some young people off this one but it really is a sweet comedy and it is one that has been forgotten about for too long.

8 out of 10 ( I would give it 7.5 but Kelly Preston immediately bumps it up. )

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A movie that did not get a fair chance

Author: lordhellfire1 (lordhellfire1@excite.com) from Michigan
28 June 2001

I first saw this movie in 1997 on FOX..Unfortunately I saw it when it was almost to the end..I didn't see the film again until 2 years later.That time I saw it in it's full presentation..Definitely a good movie.The movie is set in 1956 in a small town in Ohio.This is where we see a moving truck headed up a dirt road leading to a small town..This is where we meet Jonathon(played by Doug McKeon)He is a senior in high school and is just the typical,average,high school kid..Who wants to make it with one of the most popular girls in school Marilyn (who is played wonderfully by the beautiful Kelly Preston a.k.a. Mrs. John Travolta)After a "accidental" encounter with Marilyn,Jonathon arrives home and this is where Gene enters the picture.Gene(played by Chris Nash) is the bad ass with a conscience and a heart of gold.He befriends Jonathon and helps him out with Marilyn while making enemy's with the town prep Kenny..Whose "girlfriend" Bunny, Gene has his sights on.While after getting into some mishap the story finally plays out where boys get girls ,Boy dumps girl,Girl runs away with boy..The movie is definitely a must see. Aired on television every once in a while ,I must stop and tell everyone to stop and give this movie the fair chance it deserves...

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

decent coming-of-age drama

Author: thomandybish from Weaverville, NC
21 July 2001

Enjoyable tale of a likable geek(Doug McKeon) trying to snag the girl of his dreams with the help of his cool new friend. Unlike the bulk of teen sex comedies from this era, MISCHIEF comes off as slightly less hyperactive and slighty more reflective(come on, the kid learns something about the nature of sexual infatuation at the end, something most of the kids in these films never approach). The inclusion of some great 50's tunes(Ivory Joe Hunter's "Since I Met You Baby" is simply exquisite)goes along way towards heightening this film's charm. On his way to manhood, Jonathan learns, sometimes poignantly and sometimes humorously, about friendship, sex, girls, and his own insecurities. What we see is a coming-of-age story, much more realistically portrayed than the horny hijinks of flicks like PORKY'S. Seek it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A very enjoyable coming of age film

Author: dwbritt from Mesquite, TX
12 January 2002

I think Leonard Maltin missed some of the finer points in this often overlooked movie. Watch the film and listen to the music. The music sets the mood and matches the action. The recreation of the time and characterizations is very well done. If you liked American Graffiti then you will like this movie. One of my all-time favorites.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Worth a look, as long as one has realistic expectations

7/10
Author: smatysia (feldene@comcast.net) from Houston
8 December 2003

There is just about an entire genre of coming-of-age-in-the-'50's movies. Boomer self-absorption/nostalgia, I guess. This is a pretty good one. Kelly Preston was the only cast member I was at all familiar with, and she was lovely. (And naked!) Everyone did a pretty good job here, and all of the cliches were present. A general note for people making films about the '50's. Those beautifully restored vintage '50's cars look great, and I'm sure the filmmakers salivate over photographing them. But for a touch of realism, there should be some '40's vintage cars that look like they have some miles on them, and maybe even one or two beat-up '30's cars. Not everyone has a brand new car, particularly in a small town. Anyway, this film is worth a look. Grade: B

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Some insight on the movie

Author: (radiopaul9) radiopaul9@aol.com from NJ
25 January 2000

I found out about Mischief in 1984, when I was in Ohio and heard that they'd made a movie in Nelsonville. (That is the town with the 'square' in the middle of downtown featured in the movie). Except then the working title of the movie was "heart and Soul" (thus the closing theme song). I saw the movie on 2/7/85 at a radio station (z100) sponsored preview. Those who don't remember it, well it was in the theatres for about three weeks.

Despite being made in '84, but set in the 50s or early 60s (i forget) they didn't have to change much about Nelsonville to get that look. Much of that town looks the same way today. I went back to Nelsonville in May 1985 and people told me that they just added a few store fronts, put different signs up, and routed traffic the wrong way around the square (when do you get to a 'circle' in the US and keep left...see the background in the closing scene). Actually some of the movie was shot in Canal Winchester...like they drive down the street in Canal Winchester (up near columbus) and come out at Public Square in nelsonville.

When I saw the movie I gave it an A+ for setting and an A- for content. I would say "Jonathan" is more like a typical boy than a nerd, just a shy one who likes girls but doesn't know what to do about them (until Gene comes along).

Well, I could probably write a lot more than imdb allows. I probably know more about the movie than most people that aren't in the film industry or don't live in Ohio, since I talked to people and drove around looking for places where certain scenes were shot. if you wanna talk about this movie email me

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Overlooked gem.

9/10
Author: Peach-2 from Netherlands
6 January 1999

I haven't met a lot of people that have seen this film and I think most will overlook it because it doesn't have many stars in it. This is a quiet little film with a great sense of the word "mischief", and how to get into it. It's a typical 80's movie with teen-agers having sex and drinking booze, but I loved these kinds of movies when I was growing up. Even though I had to sneak to watch when Mom and Dad were asleep. This movie has a great sense of nostalgia and a very nice love story to boot. Not the greatest film ever made, but very entertaining none the less.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A Movie That Has True Heart And Soul

10/10
Author: sevenup@neo.rr.com from Ohio, U.S.A.
7 February 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Mischief has a lot of depth and this writer feels that to call it just a "sex comedy" or just a comedy does not do this picture justice.

Mischief stars Doug McKeon(Jonathan),Catherine Mary Stewart(Bunny),Kelly Preston(Marilyn)and Chris Nash(Gene)that occurs in a small town in 1956 Ohio.Every time this writer watches this film I feel as if I'm really back in 1950's America....it's just that GOOD!But there's also the relationships-Jonathan & Gene,Gene & Bunny,Gene & his Dad,Jonathan & Marilyn and Gene,Jonathan,& Bunny vs. the wickedly well played town teenage nasty Kenny(D.W. Brown). However,the most important relationship is the close friendship between Jonathan & Gene.This friendship makes this movie work because it's the foundation that the plot's other developments stem from. Gene helps Jonathan to have a romantic relationship with Jonathan's dream girl;Marilyn...the act of a true friend.

Jonathan dreams of blonde schoolgirl Marilyn who is amazingly sexy but who proves to be a selfish slut while Gene falls in love with Catherine Mary Stewart's Bunny who is lovingly portrayed as the true dreamgirl in this film.

Gene and his Dad(Terry O'Quinn)have a less than loving relationship due to Gene's Mother's death ...as a result Gene receives verbal and physical abuse from his Dad.Eventually,Gene is forced to leave his home by his angry Father who declares,"Get out!I'm done with you!" Asks Gene,"where am I gonna go?" Says his Dad coldly,"that's not my concern."So Gene leaves for Kentucky...possibly for good.

Jonathan misses Gene however,his best friend does briefly return.Jonathan then takes it upon himself and he reunites Gene with Bunny...the act of a true friend. Quickly,Gene and Bunny prepare to leave for Kentucky as Jonathan must say goodbye in a touching sequence to his best friend and the caring Bunny. The solitary Jonathan walks back to the town as his friends drive away for good.

Mischief has a plot and subplots that could take place in the twentieth century at anytime.The care given to create the fifties' atmosphere is delicious icing on an excellent cake!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history