IMDb > Fraternity Vacation (1985) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Fraternity Vacation
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Fraternity Vacation More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 28 reviews in total 

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

I love it

6/10
Author: Jon (Jonger_2002@yahoo.com) from Dallas, GA
26 January 2004

This is definitely one of them guilty pleasure kind of movies. It's one of them movies that I watched very often when I was just a little kid and it was first debuting on HBO. Most kids didn't get to watch this kind of stuff when they were just six-years-old, so I was fortunate. Of course, I didn't really understand a lot of humor and mostly what I took from it was seeing naked girls for the first time.

I recently found the movie on video from back in the day, so I just finished watching it for the first time in years. I'm now 22, and it makes a lot more sense than it did when I first saw it about 14 years ago, especially the line that Wendell uses to win over Nicole. The one nude scene early in the movie gave me a whole new kind of feeling as well. :)

After seeing Tim Robbins in movies such as Bull Durham, The Shawshank Redepmtion, and the Hudsucker Proxy; it's amusing to see him play the role of a college party animal named Mother. Some of the actors do seem a little old and overdressed for spring break, but it's still pretty funny and worth watching if you have some free time and feel like reflecting on the '80s. The movie has too much sentimental value for me to down it, so I give it two big thumbs up.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A good bargain bin buy...

Author: doctorgonzo23 from Canada
29 June 2004

One of my favorite pastimes is scanning old pawn shops and video stores for movies that are long out of print and fit firmly in cheezy genres like campy horror or teen sex romps. Thankfully, cheap DVD pressings of these movies are starting to surface more and more often. I picked up this title at Walmart for $2.88 Canadian.

It's neat to see Tim Robbins in one of his earlier roles. The movie itself is quite watchable, but far from a masterpiece of comedy. The acting is not as bad as some I have seen and there are a few laughs. Pick this one up if you get the chance. It's got a pretty good soundtrack (if you like 80's cheese)and a no brainer plot whose twists you can spot from 20 miles away. The DVD is a really clean print and is not filled with digital artifacts like so many of these cheaper releases. The audio (music and dialogue) is crisp and well mastered. COnsidering this film is nearly 20 years old, I was surprised that I hadn't heard of it sooner. It dosen't quite have the potential for a cult classic, being inferior to Animal House and Ski School, but it would be fun at a party. Tim Robbins is really great and gets quite a bit of screen time. The women are quite attractive and there is some gratuitous nudity (classic 80's formula).

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Extremely Funny and Intelligent

Author: genius-15 from USA
27 June 1999

Well, plenty of film producers during the 1980s, eager to capitalize on the success of Animal House, released hilarious movies that all had the same basic formula: good natured but mischievous college kids, naked coeds, a minimal plot, and plenty of gut bursting comedy scenes. Fraternity Vacation, like its predecessors (Porky's, Caddyshack, Revenge of the Nerds) has all of this and more, this time in opulent Palm Springs. It's such a shame that film critics turn their noses up at these fine flics and instead praise inferior "dramatic comedies" for their alleged intellectual complexity, when in reality it is political opinions and pressure which shape their faulty viewpoints. I would much rather watch a good natured comedy like this than something like Kramer vs Kramer, Mrs Doubtfire, or Scent of a Woman, all of which are excessively hyped because of their issue based themes. Fraternity Vacation has everything that's fun: love, friendship, light sex, beer drinking, jokes, music, and no violence or heavy mood dampeners (of which all true comedies are devoid). The actors are all talented and pleasing to watch. Fraternity Vacation is often shown on network tv, premium cable and basic cable, although on tv it is heavily edited (I recommend the unedited version). I urge anyone who hasn't seen it but loves good comedy to watch Fraternity Vacation, it's definitely a fun, witty film.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Kind of like a male version of Shag. (spoilers)

6/10
Author: Pepper Anne from Orlando, Florida
26 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I remember Fraternity Vacation being a pleasant comedy. Two college frat boys (Tim Robbins as Larry, and Cameron Dye as Joe) take advantage of their friend, nerdy Wendell's (Stephen Geoffreys) generous hospitality when he invites them to share his father's beachside condo for Spring Break. Larry and Joe see it as the perfect opportunity for one thing: picking up girls. And, on the side, to Wendell find a women, too. It is the typical 80s virgin theme and the attempts by horny young men to help themselves (or in this case, their friends) lose his virginity to (hopefully) some beautiful beach bimbo. Only, Larry and Joe are not at all subtle about what they want and Wendell, who is more of a careful romantic, actually has more success.

It is a beach romp with something of a heart of gold finale for our kind main character, Wendell. So, aside from the typical boobs, beers, and parties prevalent in these types of 80s comedies, there is also something for female viewers to appreciate, at least through some of Larry and Joe's dimwitted hijinks or Wendell's sincerity and (eventually) happy ending. It is sort of a male version of 'Shag.' Give it a try if you can find it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not one of the best made movies, but it gives a lot of laughs while showing the perfect college fantasy--college being one big party!

10/10
Author: Joy-33 from New York
16 March 1999

I thought this movie was great! As a college student it's nice to see someone's fantasy of what college should be like--a trip to the beach with nothing on your mind but having a good time. Tim Robbins is hysterical in his role, as is the rest of the cast--why don't we hear of it more?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The best of the worst....I love it!

10/10
Author: jerry retherford (retherford.3@wright.edu) from fairborn, ohio
12 November 1998

I've stayed up many a lonely night watching usually pointless films on cable. This film is THE pointless film to watch, and I say that with the greatest respect for the film, and its genre, which I call: FRATERNITIES, SORORITIES, VACATIONS AND SEX. Everyone knows what I'm talking about: actors we recognize from who knows where, beer, girls, wet t-shirts, guys, and, beer. The only reason I stayed up to watch this movie was because it has Tim Robbins in it, and I have a new respect for the guy! He makes the film entertaining, and he creates one of the most perfect pointless endings I've seen, and I highly recommend it. Although I won't tell you more because the colder you go into this, the better.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Hilariously Rubbish

8/10
Author: steninja81 from United Kingdom
29 June 2005

This film is hilarious. 2 jocks are duped into teaming up with a school nerd for a favour to the nerds dad. They see a hot chick and compete with the rival rich jocks to woo her.

I particularly enjoyed the part in which one of the rich jocks parachutes into the swimming area of the fraternity holiday resort to promote his book and generally show off to impress the hot chick. The nerd ends up shagging some chick and all is well.

Watch this movie if you get a kick out of cheesy 80's flicks.

also keep an eye out for a young "tim robbins" of shawshank redemption fame.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Solid Tasteful Skin Flick

8/10
Author: robertlauter25 from United States
29 June 2013

Some trendy movie goers take themselves's way too seriously, who are they trying to impress, parroting establishment criticts? You can disagree with the subject matter of movies like Fraternity Vacation, but to say the movie wasn't well made is pretty idiotic. I remember watching this movie on U.S.A up all night with Gilbert Godfried in the early 90's. I've had a crush on Kathleen Kinmont ever since and still do. I never understood why she never made a bigger mark. Shery J Wilson is stunning and bring's quiet dignity to an otherwise cliché'd character. Tim Robbins Steven Geofrry's and John Vernon deliver the most laughs by far. Liegh Mcloskey and Matt McCoy have memorable moments as the lead character's nemesis while Amanda Bearse is the perfect snob, she obviously drew from this performance when playing darcy of married with children. Cameron Dye is the weak link in the film, primarily because his character isn't really well written at all. The movie is predictable and sexist...but no one goes to a movie entittled Fraternity Vacation to be shocked and enlightened about the finer points of structural feminism, so I reject that sort of criticism, people get off your soap boxes. This movie is 2nd only to porky's of all the 80's sex comedies. Hardbodies was good too, but not as funny as Fraternity Vacation and the producers wisely made better use of Kathleen Kinmont. I recommend this movie to anyone with a sense of humor. If your offended by Bikini clad bimbos and man whores jockeying for sexual dominance , that's a personal problem and the movie isn't bad because it's subject matter doesn't appeal to you, that's tantamount to saying the Excorcist is bad because some people don't like horror flicks.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a little of what you'd expect, and a lot of what you wouldn't

6/10
Author: witster18 from United States
7 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love the films opening sequence. The music really lightens the mood. The opening scene is shot in black and white which makes the film really pop the moment it splashes color in Palm Springs.

I liken this to "The Last American Virgin". "Fraternity Vacation" tells us all we thought we needed to know from the cover, but then something rather strange happens.

The film takes-on some 'rather serious' themes. All the gratuitous nudity(as well as most of the partying theme) takes a back seat for the last half of the film. That's the one characteristic that makes this stand out in this genre.

Of course there's some issues with the acting. Stephen Geoffreys(Wendell) is good, Cameron Dye(Joe) is passable, and Tim Robbins as "Mother Tucker" does an alright job. Sheree Wilson is o.k., but Amanda Bearse's performance is a bit rigid.

Bearse is the annoying rich-daddy's girl, but she is a bit too over-the-top with it. Easily the worst performance in the film. Wilson is the mature 'mark', but her character could have used some more dialog.

Kathleen Kinmont and Barbara Crampton are perfectly cast in smaller roles, but are unfortunately left out of much of the last half of the film.

The film wraps up in the same manner as most of these films - with the leads being put in jail, and some mad father figure on the loose.

The sights and sounds of the films first hour make it worthwhile, and it's themes are surprisingly serious, but this is still an 80's boob comedy that is a dish best served with a cold beer and a grain of salt.

I do consider this to be quite a bit better than most of the films in this genre, which isn't saying much, but if you're going to re-live one of these, this is a decent option.

You might Like this if you liked: Spring Break(not as good as this), Private Resort(about even), or Hardbodies(not as good).

59/100

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Kathleen Kinmont's huge rack on display!!!

Author: ManBehindTheMask63 from United States
7 February 2011

All I have to say is Kathleen Kinmont and Barbra Crampton's scene is worth the rental alone!!! But anyways, This is a pretty fun and entertaining 80's teen comedy with an all-star cast. Tim Robbins, Stephan Geoffreys (Fright Night), and Cameron Dye (Valley Girl) are three buddies from Ohio State who travel to Palm Springs to spend spring break. There happens to be some rival frat guys there on vacation too. Eventually they make a bet to see which one could get laid first. There are some classic lines and some unexpectedly funny moments. Geoffreys (who went on to do pornography) is yet again playing the weird and bizarre nerd role (much like Fright night). Amanda Bearse his Fright Night co-star even pops up in the film. You get scream queens Crampton (re-animator) and Kinmont(Halloween4) nude together in the same scene and there is some decent t&a through out. Tim Robbins and Cameron Dye are the real leads of the film and both do a great job playing the horny frat guys. John Vernon is great as usual as the hard-nosed Sheriff who hates vacationers.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history