IMDb > "The Golden Girls" (1985) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Golden Girls"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Golden Girls" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 132 reviews in total 

53 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

One of the greatest series of all-time

Author: Chad (skatekwan6@aol.com) from Chapel Hill, NC
14 April 2004

The Golden Girls is a wonderfully written, extremely funny show that will always be one of the greatest comedy efforts of all time. The show has laughter everyone can enjoy, and explores topics that few shows dare to address. All four women won Emmy Awards for their roles and the show enjoyed extraordinary ratings and acclaim. Every aspect of the show provides for pure comedic entertainment that transcends the art itself. The show provides a look into how friends from very different backgrounds compliment each other and become the best of friends. Each character brings a unique dynamic to the plot and any viewer can learn, identify, and of course laugh at their adventures. Simply a show for the ages.

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

The Original "Sex and the City".

Author: tfrizzell from United States
29 July 2003

NBC was already a monster by 1985 thanks to programs like "The Cosby Show", "Cheers" and "L.A. Law" (all part of that unbeatable Thursday lineup). In 1985 it appeared that Beatrice Arthur (who struck gold with "Maude", a spin-off of "All in the Family") was going back to television in a new show called "The Golden Girls". Along with Arthur (a smart-mouthed Brooklyn native) was her old-world Sicilian mother (Estelle Getty), a bubble-headed Minnesota native (Betty White) and a sex-crazed belle from Georgia (Rue McClanahan). This quartet of actresses would create the finest core of performers to ever star in a television series. "The Golden Girls", unlike "Cheers", was a hit from its first episode. It dominated with vigor and spunk on Saturday nights. NBC was worried that the show would never find an audience big enough to make a dent in the ratings, but for a time "The Golden Girls" was as excellent as anything else the networks had to offer. The four women, all obviously over 50, lived, laughed and cried together in Miami for nearly a decade from 1985 to 1992. The series pushed the envelope on everything that dominated headlines during its run (AIDS, homosexuality, sexism, ageism, political unrest, abortion and an endless list of other topics too long to go into at length). The episodes went for comedy, but usually almost always had a deep meaning to them about love and friendship. All four actresses shared the spotlight equally for the most part. Arthur and McClanahan had hit gold with "Maude" and White had been along seemingly at the advent of television programming. Getty was relatively unknown, but fit in well with more-established performers immediately (her character got away with more than the others as she was written as a lady who had suffered a major stroke which affected the relationship between what she said and thought). Herb Edelman (who made a name for himself in "The Odd Couple") was always a consistent element as Arthur's two-timing ex-husband and Harold Gould (who was a key player in "The Sting") also became a fixture during the series' latter episodes as White's love interest. Like all good things though, "The Golden Girls" began to slowly lose their edge and appeal by the early-1990s. Time slot changes and constant contract re-negotiations ended the series far too early. Arthur's want to leave the show by 1992 would ultimately kill the program. CBS attempted to bring the other three back with "The Golden Palace", but that series never found its legs without Arthur. 5 stars out of 5.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Great show!

Author: Joel (Tenchi64589@aol.com) from Flower Mound, Texas
2 June 2003

This show was a friggin' classic!

This came out when I was very young, before they showed it in reruns on Lifetime, I had no clue what was so funny... now I know!

I'm a guy, but I enjoy shows like this because of almost everything... especially when the other three girls insult Rose.

The way I see it, no matter how many times you've seen this show, it's always funny.

This is definately a 10 in my book.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

The Golden Girls were one of a kind!

Author: Chris Morrow (morrowman2) from Pickerington, Ohio
7 June 2004

The Golden Girls were without a doubt one of a kind. four older woman living together that in a lot of ways were completely different from one another. I remember growing up and watching this show every Saturday night with my mother. I would sit there with my mother and we would both laugh our selves silly at the show and all the cracks and comments Blanche, Dorothy, Rose and Sophia would make to one another. My mothers favorite character was Dorothy and my favorite was Sophia because she always had a wise crack to make especially at Blanche. Then there is Rose with her St. Olaf stories that she constantly told. I do still see The Golden Girls on Lifetime and I do still watch them every now and then for a laugh. Every time I see Betty, Rue, Bea or Estelle on TV it always reminds me of this show. I think that they worked very well together.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

LOVE THIS SHOW!!!

Author: Shari (AfricanVenus84@aol.com) from United States
23 February 2004

I loved this show the minute I saw it as a teen. I saw it once or twice as a kid, but never got the jokes. Now that I'm a bit more grown-up, I've seen every epi at least 10 times and watch it whenever it comes on. They were the precursor to every show about 4 women talking about everything under the sun. The similarity to Sex and the City is very striking and many other shows like that. Blanche and Dorothy were my favorite. But, of course, each one represents the different sides of women. Like that episode with the Hungarian sculpturer who said the stature was all 3 of them because together, they make the perfect woman. I love this show to death and don't mind watching it over and over. It broke a lot of barriers and is just plain funny. They were so good at their characters that to see them doing something outside of it in real life is a shock, lol. Golden Girls Forever!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

One of the Best Shows of the 80's

Author: Brian Washington (Sargebri@att.net) from Los Angeles, California
10 December 2003

Even though the 1980's was a pretty barren decade as far as television was concerned, this is one of the few rare gems that came out during that time. This show featured one of the best ensemble casts in the history of television and the four leads made this show a Saturday night staple. I especially liked the irony of the fact that Rue McClanahan and Betty White essentially switched their trademark characterizations. For years McClanahan played the dim bulb Vivian on "Maude" and White played the man hungry vamp Sue Ann on "The Mary Tyler Moore Show". However, on this show McClanahan played the vamp and White played the dim bulb and this wound up making the characters of Blanche and Rose two of the most unforgettable in the history of television. Also, let's not forget Estelle Getty's memorable portrayal of Sophia. She was probably the best thing about the show and really what made this show a classic and it was her interaction with the other three, especially Rose and, of course, Dorothy that made this one of the most beloved shows of the 1980's.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Compulsively watchable TV-sitcom

8/10
Author: moonspinner55 from las vegas, nv
31 July 2002

With its bright, wicker-strewn set and four distinct female characters, I don't see how "The Golden Girls" could've missed. Add a terrific cast, and you've got a goldmine. My favorite episodes are the serious one about Alzheimers, the hilarious one where the women have to decide between a new roof or a painting by a dying artist, and any of those that prominently feature Beatrice Arthur (portraying my favorite golden girl, Dorothy Zbornak). Occasionally there was a dip in inspiration, such as the groan-filled two-parter about Blanche's moonlight madness party, or some fearsome overacting (Estelle Getty was the usual culprit). Still, the reruns never fail to get a laugh out of me, and I must know the episodes by heart by now. Sharp, canny writing, funny second plots to match the main action, brilliant characterizations and good writing for the supporting players. It is my generation's "I Love Lucy".

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

One of the best shows that ever come out of 80's

Author: raysond from Chapel Hill, North Carolina
13 September 2002

It's amazing that the Lifetime Network runs it three to five times a day,but this was one of the best shows ever to come out of the golden age of the 1980's. "The Golden Girls" was produced by the creating team of Paul Junger Witt and Tony Thomas who also was behind the most successful series ever devised like "Soap","Benson","It's A Living", "Empty Nest" and so many more. The series originally ran during the 80's as NBC-TV's most successful prime-time of Saturday night sitcoms and dramas which include "227","Amen",and the crime drama series "Hunter". Anyways,Bea Arthur's character was simply classic like vintage wine,but all that change when she left the series in 1992 ending the show. Also, Estelle Getty's character was simply a riot of classic comedy. Enough said.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Funny grannies

Author: Petri Pelkonen (petri_pelkonen@hotmail.com) from Finland
22 October 2004

This show tells about four elderly women sharing an apartment in Miami.These women are Dorothy (Beatrice Arthur), Rose (Betty White), Blanche (Rue McClanahan) and Dorothy's mother Sophia (Estelle Getty).There are also Herb Edelman as Stan and Harold Gould as Miles.This sitcom was created by Susan Harris and it ran in the years 1985-1992.I think it's a very funny show with also some dramatic stuff. I'm 22 years old, so I'm not even close to the age these actors are in the show, but age doesn't matter when it comes to comedy.What made this show great was the lovable characters.All of those people were kind of people you cared about.There were also some brilliant guest stars in the show, like Burt Reynolds, Phil Leeds, Quentin Tarantino, Don Ameche, Dick Van Dyke, Mickey Rooney, George Clooney and Leslie Nielsen. I remember when they showed The Golden Girls on channel 2 here in Finland and liked it then.Now they're showing on channel 4 and still like it.If they show this show as a re-run make sure you see it.These girls really are golden.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Extremely entertaining and original

10/10
Author: darkbunnyempress from United States
7 December 2006

Being born in the late 80s, I actually got to watch these series when I was a teenager, and I couldn't help but love these four ladies sharing their experiences as four house-mates would. Perhaps the most interesting aspect is getting to watch how women that are not so young date, grieve, laugh and experience different traumas and situations, and to see all these through their eyes - and the eyes of their house-mates, of course! The episodes are light and refreshing, and many times one is surprised with beautiful lessons that are hard to forget. Also, these series prove to be a great way of representing older women, who are often forgotten and shunned by society, under a favorable light; I only wish there were more series and movies taking "golden girls" into account! I can't find a way to describe these series,except by saying the "Golden Girls" are unique! I don't think their appeal will ever die.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history