Unfaithfully Yours (1984) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
17 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
Very funny with fantastic music.
avanti21 November 2000
This film is hilarious and what I consider to be the best film starring Dudley Moore. A man is convinced by scarce circumstantial evidence that his wife is unfaithful. Although still very much in love with his wife, he is "told" by an Italian employee that he must kill her. So begins a spiral where Claude (Moore) plans the murder of his wife. However, when he tries to put the plan into action, things go wrong.

The music in this movie is fantastic. The movie also contains the funniest scene I have witnessed in any movie which I can only describe as the "violin war". It is brilliant.

The actors and actresses chosen in the film fit their characters perfectly. The events in the film are easy to believe and thus make the plot more enjoyable. It also quietly sends a message to the audience... Don't be quick to condemn, your probably wrong.

This film is a mix between comedy and drama that is enjoyable. Watch this film, I think you'll love it.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Scattered laughs.
gridoon21 August 1999
I haven't seen the Preston Sturges original, but I know the hero there conceived THREE alternative murderous plans. The fact that this (unfaithful) remake contains only one certainly doesn't suggest that the filmmakers were full of ideas. It's still a generally agreeable (if uneven) comedy, but the laughs, even for Moore fans, are scattered.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Predictably Funny
Dale Haufrect, M.D., M.A.15 December 2002
Although this film is predictably funny, it maintains a sense of light comedy that justifies its viewing. Dudley Moore is his uniform self in his role as a conductor husband filled with jealousy. Natassja Kinski is his beautiful wife. Both are entertaining and charming in this cinema that is worth the evening of fun.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Unfaithfully Yours
Coxer9931 May 1999
Moore shines bright in this reworking of the 1948 Preston Sturges black comedy about a jealous symphony conductor who tries to fulfill a fantasy of murdering his sexy wife, (Kinski) whom he suspects is having an affair with another man. (Assante) It doesn't have the timing of the original, but it's a laugh riot for fans of Moore's bumbling hijinks, which as always is a torrent of laughter.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The cheating wife
jotix10020 November 2005
Preston Sturges, that genius of the American cinema, made a statement when he wrote and directed the 1948 film, which in comparison with this 1984 attempt seems to be brilliant. Not only was the film great, it had a wonderful cast of accomplished comedians with Rex Harrison, Linda Darnell, and Rudy Vallee in the main roles.

Howard Zieff's version suffers in contrast in that is not as effective and even handed as the original one. Where Preston Sturges went for subtlety and sophistication, Mr. Zieff goes for a more splashy comedy, that at times seems forced.

Basically, the film doesn't improve on its model. Dudley Moore goes overboard with his take on Claude Eastman, the conductor. Natassja Kinski is terribly miscast as the Italian actress Daniella, who is married to Eastman. Armand Assante does what he can.

The film, photographed in Manhattan, takes us to places that are not around any more, like it's the case with the Russian Tea Room, where a few scenes were shot.

Find the original for a more satisfactory view.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
YOUR WIFE ISN'T ALWAYS CHEATING YOU
Didier (Didier-Becu)13 August 2003
Don't ask me why but I absolutely wanna see all films with Nastassja Kinski and with this in mind I know I have to see some bad ones as well. Is this one a stinker? Not really but it's just one of those eightiescomedies in where a goldfish is funnier than Dudley Moore himself. Still wearing his playboyattitude (never could get that!) from "Ten", Moore plays the role of Claude Eastman who happen to be one of the most respected musicconductors. He just has married his new Italian wife Daniella (never understood why she wasn't Russian as madame Kinski speaks with a very Russian accent) and due to a stupid householdkeeper Giuseppe (Richard Libertini, the sole man with whom you can laugh even if he plays a complete idiot) his wife is followed by a detective as Claude told him to keep an eye on her.... This comedy could have been made in the 60's as this is pure Boeing Boeing-style, you know one situation leads to another situation that is based on false suspicions and so.... Naaah you saw it million times before, you saw it million times better but you never saw it with Nastassja Kinski
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Unfaithful All Right-Unfaithfully Yours **
edwagreen26 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Unfaithful is an appropriate word here. The movie with its writing is totally unfaithful to the movie industry. This is an inane film with the late Dudley Moore proving once again how foolish he could act.

Of course, the film blames it on a person who couldn't speak English and who misinterpreted something leading Moore to believe that wife Natassja Kinski has been carrying on with violinist Armand Assante. The only good things about the movies are the long hairs of Armand and Dudley and the music interludes with Dudley great as being an orchestra leader.

The film goes downhill as Moore fantasizes the perfect murder plot only to see the plot go entirely awry. Ditto for the writing and everything else here.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Should have been nominated for Best Picture.
derekschramm18 April 2006
I suppose remakes are rarely eligible for best picture nominations, but the story and the way this film presents it is wonderful. Jealousy and mistaken identity make a great plot. I'm sure it is much more enjoyable than any other 1984 film nominated for best picture. I admit I have not seen the 1948 original and perhaps if it comes on cable/satellite TV I will. I would like to know if the same music is used. The music, Tchaikovsky's "Violin Concerto, 1st Movement", what a fine and difficult symphony. Then there is the dueling violins scene using Vittorio Monti's "Czardas," excellent passionate music for the passion Dudley Moore's character feels about his wife played by Natassia Kinski. Dudley Moore and Armande Asante make as good a team as Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder, but without the foul language. This movie is clean and has substance.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
a delicious light comedy
Carl S Lau17 August 2003
This is a comedy of errors in which the viewer knows almost everything while the on screen actors are in a perpetual state of confusion. Dudley Moore has the enviable task of playing a famous middle aged music conductor who is married to a young, ravishing Italian starlet played by Nastassja Kinski. And she is passionately in love with him. For the times, this would have been the ultimate middle aged, male fantasy. Via a misunderstanding, Dudley Moore ends up in a comedy of errors scheming to kill off the delicious Nastassja Kinski who easily fits into her innocent role. Lots of fun to watch, especially with Nastassja as the eye candy.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
stupid film *SPOILER*
nepostojim30 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Even for a throwaway comedy like this one, it is difficult to accept that a double murder attempt only foiled by the perpetrator's ineptitude is a) funny, b) would be dismissed by all who are aware of it, including the victims, as an innocent mistake that anybody could have made and that should go unpunished by law.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
angry Dudley not that funny
SnoopyStyle22 April 2017
Claude Eastman (Dudley Moore) is a famous composer and conductor. His new young wife Daniella (Nastassja Kinski) is an actress. A confusion causes his friend to hire a private investigator to check on her. The investigator finds something which drives Claude mad with jealousy. He has a fantasy of murdering her and framing her supposed boyfriend violinist Maxmillian Stein (Armand Assante).

There is something unfunny about an angry jealous Dudley Moore. I've never seen the original Preston Sturges. I have to think that another comedic actor could inject some screwball comedy into this dark character. Dudley is simply hateful without being fun. I imagine a Danny DeVito would be a better fit. Dudley is better as the lovable lush. I don't like him as this character and I can't laugh at him either.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Dudley Moore at his best!
Predrag13 June 2016
Dudley made the film so much more funny. By seeing both versions you can why Dudley was a comic genius. I miss him. Dudley makes clear what screwballs we humans are. And he takes ordinary script lines and makes them very funny. Many of the elements of a Shakespearean comedy are in this film, but unlike the plays, this film has a terrific music score, has beautiful photography, and has simple dialogue. What makes this film great, for those mature enough to understand it, is Dudley Moore. Nothing goes as planned and each instance is usually good for a few laughs.

Howard Zieff is not exactly what I would call a great director, he was the man behind "The Main Event" and the "My Girl" films, but, he strings things together nicely here. The script is not completely a dud. Barry Levinson had a hand in the remake, so expects some funny bits. One of my favorite scenes is at the restaurant when Moore "thinks" Armand Assante is confronting him about having an affair with his wife, and the start a dueling violin contest of Tchaikovsky. Mr. Moore shows us his gift as a true comedian with shades of slapstick mixed in. Richard Libertini steals the film as Moore's Italian butler and the laughs are countless. The New York City scenery also is a plus with lots of midtown Manhattan brilliantly showcased (made me nostalgic).

Overall rating: 8 out of 10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Effective Farce.
Robert J. Maxwell23 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Not bad for a remake. The central character is altered to suit Dudley Moore instead of Rex Harrison. Harrison was more suave. This script has Moore doing a variation of his stone roles in "Ten" and "Arthur." He gets bombed on tranquilizers during the climactic act-out and stumbles into walls and broom closets, detracting a bit from whatever sophistication the original had but making this version no less amusing.

The plot. Dudley Moore is a celebrated orchestra conductor. A series of mistakes leads him to conclude that his wife, Nastasja Kinski, is having an affair with a man who wears argyle socks. There is a furious search for argyle socks, with Moore ducking under the tables of fancy restaurants to check the socks worn by his companions. It's an old scene, this ducking under restaurant tables, but Moore pulls it off as well as anyone could. The only argyle socks he can find are those worn by his friend, the violinist Armand Assante.

Moore concocts a scheme to kill his wife and frame the violinist for the murder. The scheme isn't so much improbable as it is impossible, but it's funny enough in fantasy. When Moore tries to pull it off, everything goes wrong, of course, and the movie more or less collapses into frenzy.

Moore is good at these kinds of roles. God knows he's had enough practice. And he's a likable chap. It's difficult to envision him in an action movie -- "My Knife Is Quick", or something. Armand Assante is fine in a comedy. The first impression he makes is one of beefy, self-confident masculinity, but he's quite good in comic roles and is capable of self ridicule in a way that, say, Sylvester Stallone is not. Of Nastassja Kinski, what is there to say? She's sinewy, stunningly beautiful, more animated than usual, and edible.

Not a masterpiece but enjoyable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A last gasp of classical Romantic Gypsy violin music; Moore's swan song
P.M. Reilich19 December 2001
This film marks the culmination of the most prolific, popularly loved form of music that the human race ever conceived. That is, the Romantic style. You may find, for example, a CD of pianist Horowitz produced a couple of decades ago entitled "The Last Romantic" - and you might understand the sentiment behind such a title. It is a dying breed of music. Rather, it is dead. Left are museum pieces rehashed by earnest musicians who love the style, or at least the memory of it, but performed/recorded for audiences/listeners who for the most part don't understand it. For to understand it, one must absolutely not be pragmatic. And as we've all been told time and again of late, if you're not pragmatic (if you haven't gone to college, for example, in order to obtain a degree/career) you don't have a life. Few these days, not even crack dealers, are willing to trade monetary responsibility for an enhancement of their souls.

Likewise, Dudley Moore acted the lead in this film, and in doing so, he didn't create much of a life, in terms of this film being appreciated by the mainstream. But Moore was one of the funniest comedians that ever graced American film/sound stages. His improvised drunk bits rival Jackie Gleason's improvised drunks. Of course nowadays such drunk humor is politically incorrect, which marks yet one more creative form that has recently bitten the dust. Oh well, at least kids are safe from drunk drivers.

But the greatest moment in this movie was the violin battle. You see, it's a prerequisite for talented, narcissistic classical/Romantic musicians, such as Dudley Moore (pianist), to hold a dark sense of humor. It's the kind of passive resistant, anti-successful state of mind that made Charlie Brown, Woody Allen, Bartleby, John Lennon and countless negative/alternative reasoning popular during the 60s-70s. And that alternative culture, or revolution, was merely a revamping of an earlier, more formidable anti-capitalism known as the period when occurred the French and American revolutions. In music, this was the time of Beethoven's rise to fame. This style he and others (even Mozart to some extent) propounded is known as the Romantic style. And the single greatest musical influence upon these western European proponents of the Romantic style was the music emanating from the streets: Gypsy music. It's also important to remember that such Gypsy music was itself influenced by a combination of east European folk music and the traditional music of the middle east, an area of the world from which all western civilization is derived, and thereby for which all of us should have reverence, or at least respect.

Basically what we're talking about here, what was the greatest influence upon the invention and prosperity of the Romantic music style, is the harmonic minor scale, and the claiming of this scale upon the hearts of a vast majority of music lovers world wide 1750-1980. It is a scale that gave birth to Romantic styled chromaticism, the most prolific harmonic form ever. In its early stages, when Mozart and papa Haydn dabbled in it, women and other faint hearted individuals tittered. When Beethoven got hold of it, such women literally fainted in the aisles. That's how naturally such chromaticism is capable of affecting the emotions of people. It requires an open heart, however. Today such Gypsy styled music is a laugh; that's how jaded western civilization has become. The smallest of minds are bold enough to regard it as merely "Jewish music," which informs us that its demise is likely, at least partially, the result of anti-Semitism.

Such Gypsy/Jewish etc. scale's greatest instrument, or agent provocateur: the violin. Hence, the extraordinarily emotional/comedic violin battle scene in this film, a rare tribute to this dying style of music. If there are any film makers, or any creative artists, who are interested in bringing back to vitality such Romantic/Gypsy/Jewish/harmonic minor scaled music, seeing this film might give them a good start in the right direction. It should also be stated that the Gypsy music that has recently surfaced in "World Music" and in university studies of Ethnomusicology, while more authentic, has, by way of pedantically narrowing the interpretations, caused the less authentic Romantic style to be ignored in its works.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not funny at all
robertjmr7221 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I haven't watched this movie all the way through since I saw it at the theater when it was new and I was totally blown away by just how *not* funny the movie is. I have tried over the years to watch this movie again and maybe get a new perspective of it but I can't watch more than 5-10 minutes of it on television before I have to flip the channel. The basic premise of the movie is the same as every episode of "Three's Company" where one misinterpreted situation leads to an unintended chain of events that are supposed to be humorous but mostly they are not. In this movie, a newly married man goes to great lengths to plot and carry out murdering his much younger wife and framing her (supposed) lover who also happens to be his best friend which I don't find humorous instead I find it rather disturbing. It should have been a horror film, the premise would have worked better in that format. In the end we are supposed to feel sorry for this guy and understand why someone could easily make the same mistake he did....WTF? Yet even with a terrible story, if you like watching Dudley Moore act drunk or high and falling/stumbling all over almost every scene then you might like this movie...
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Was it my imagination or...
edwardholub18 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
...was Dudley Moore's character drunk through most of the movie. I kept looking at his eyes and it seemed to me that he was intoxicated in scenes that featured no spirits. I rented the DVD because of the one and only funny scene where he follows his wife into the cinema and loudly accosts two strangers. He slithers into the row in front, pops up and screams, "YOU WHORE!!!" It's hilarious. However, it's the ONLY laugh in the movie. If Dudley felt he needed to be drunk to play some scenes, then shame on him. A lot of comedic actors get stuck in a bad script and they still do their job. Someday I hope to see the original Preston Sturges comedy starring Rex Harrison.
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very, very funny at times
Bjorn (ODDBear)12 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Moore is a symphony conductor who believes his wife is cheating on him with fellow musician Assante. During a performance he devices a plan to get rid of them both. All works perfectly in his mind, but the execution is another matter indeed.

Simply hilarious at times, this remake of the 1948 original benefits hugely from an extremely appealing cast and witty script. Even Albert Brooks, who's usually rather tiresome, is very funny as Moore's friend who accidentally sets all things in motion.

These comedies that only use misunderstandings as the film's driving force are completely hit or miss. This time it's all well written and, under some unusual circumstances sure, it could happen. The ending, when Moore executes his plans, is nothing short of fantastic, he's simply at his comedic best. It's the conclusion really that misses, sort of cheap but up until then it's a lot of fun.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews