IMDb > Thriller (1983) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Thriller
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Thriller (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 46 reviews in total 

53 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Without a doubt, the best music video ever made

10/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
11 February 2004

The first music video I ever saw, Thriller, my mom told me that she took me home from the hospital and when we arrived, my sister had MTV on the TV and Thriller was playing, my mom said that I smiled. Silly I know, but I have loved Michael Jackson since that day, the music video Thriller inspired me to dance, still I have the dance memorized to this day. I even performed it for an audience 3 times! Words cannot describe the power of this song that makes you wanna sing and dance, but Michael of course had to raise the bar for MTV at the time by signing on American Werewolf in London director John Landis and directing the one, the only, Thriller.

Michael and his date, Ola Ray, run out of gas in a dark, wooded area. They walk off into the forest, and Michael asks her if she would like to go steady. She accepts and he gives her a ring. He warns her, however, that he is not like other guys, no really, not like the other guys. A full moon appears, and Michael begins convulsing in agony – transforming into a horrifying werewolf! His date shrieks and runs away, but the werewolf catches up, knocking her down and begins lunging at her with its claws. The scene cuts away to a movie theater where Michael and his date are actually watching this scene unfold in a movie called Thriller. Michael smiles but his date is frightened, and tells him she's leaving. Michael catches up to her, and says that it's only a movie, but she doesn't like his jokes on her and she starts walking away. Michael and his date then walk down a foggy street, and he teases her with the opening verses of Thriller. They pass a graveyard, where corpses suddenly begin to rise from their graves as Vincent Price performs his rap. Michael and his date then find themselves surrounded by the zombies, and suddenly, Michael becomes a zombie himself. Michael and the undead perform an elaborate song and dance number together, followed by the chorus of Thriller.

Thriller is arguably the best music video of all time, funny thing is people who wanna argue that is with other Michael Jackson videos, but what makes Thriller so special is the dance, the story, the effects, this at the time was the most expensive music video of it's day. Michael of course rose that bar again with his famous music video Scream and then again with Ghosts. But say what you will, Michael was the star of the 1980's, there was no celebrity like him, he loved the life, he lived it, breathed it and embraced it. Thriller is proof that he was willing to work to make the best and that's what we got with the legend that is Thriller.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

perhaps the perfect pop video

8/10
Author: didi-5 from United Kingdom
19 February 2005

'Thriller' remains the greatest of the pop music promos to have a plot, great visuals, and a tip-top song to wrap the film around. Michael Jackson was at the top of the tree at this time (and not so altered in his plastic surgery regime for it to matter). Here he is in good form - the song is terrific, he leads the zombies in dance like no other.

Ola Ray plays the girl who watches with incredulity as her sweet boyfriend (Jackson, natch) turns into a werewolf! Then to the pulsing rhythms of the opening line 'It's close to midnight', he stomps around the graveyard with the other zombies and creatures of the night.

The crowning glory of all this is the fruity voice of the great horror star Vincent Price speaking in the middle of the record. Terrific.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

The Greatest Music Video of All Time!!!

10/10
Author: Callum Healey from Australia
19 August 2004

Michael Jackson is amazing. This short film displays the absolute highest standard in music video and no-one will ever be able to out-beat this 'King Of Pop' masterpiece! It shows Michael turning into a zombie and dancing in the street with some spectacular choreography. The story is great, the scenes are marvelous, the music is fantastic and overall the clip is fun, eye-popping, spooky and is a real spectacle. Today everybody is still doing the same thing in music video with dancing and film-based story-lines which he innovated. This ground-breaking video is the toast of MTV and will forever be remembered for what is the greatest music video of all time!!

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Excellent.

10/10
Author: Cocacolaguy912-2 from United States
28 October 2005

"Thriller" is brilliant. It is a long video, but simply brilliant nonetheless. The song itself is...excellent...add Michael JAckson dancing and you have a golden Phenomenon. Out of all the videos I have ever seen, this is the best. If you have not seen the video yet, then I urge you...

The special effects are amazing for it's time... everything from the wearwolf transformation to the idea of these creepy zombies slowly raising from their graves is grand...spookishly grand that is. Vicent Price has his segment of bone-shivering lines...known simply as "the rap" Ola Ray does good as Michael's girl, and Michael JAckson himself...the dancing, and singing (although not during the video itself) is unmatched...

10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Never Before and Never Again...

10/10
Author: Christopher T. Chase (cchase@onebox.com) from Arlington, VA.
3 October 2006

The stars and the planets must've all been in just the proper alignment, the day that THRILLER was conceived. Michael Jackson's album was slaying the charts, John Landis still had a lot of good will built up from his genre pic "An American Werewolf In London", (not to mention his classic comedies ANIMAL HOUSE and THE BLUES BROTHERS) and choreographer Michael Peters was creating some of the most innovative and influential pieces for music videos of that period.

Not before or since has one single piece of film illuminated, exploited or underscored MJ's incredible talent or the more "otherworldly" aspects of his persona quite like THRILLER, the world's most successful (if not officially the first) long-form video, and the most fondly remembered. Also the most expensive at the time, but every penny and every bit of the talent behind its creation and execution is up there on the screen. And how would it not be complete without the "rap" from the original song, provided by the late, great Vincent Price, to add even more cache to the chills already there?

The glory days of one of the world's greatest performers have long since passed, but no one can ever take away the man's towering achievements, of which this is probably the most memorable. If you don't think so, now, remember: Halloween is coming. I won't be one bit surprised when, like other Halloweens before it going back decades, this appears on some Saturday Night Creature Feature special.

As it will next year, and the year after that...

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Literally, the greatest music video ever made.

10/10
Author: Tomius J. Barnard from United Kingdom
14 June 2005

John Landis truly outdid himself when he directed Michael Jackson's THRILLER as a short film. Of course, it's corny, the dialogue is terrible and it all seems way too cheesy, but it's perfect none-the-less.

Michael and his date are out at the cinema to view the latest horror flick. When it all gets a little too graphic for the date, she leaves. Michael follows. On the way home, they decide to take a shortcut through the local graveyard. There, it begins.

The actual thriller dance is amazing. It's full of those trademark Jackson moves, as well as some memorable zombie moves, too. It doesn't appear rushed at all, nor too long. The whole thing seems movie-like and it really is actually rather scary. Of course, it's one of the most famous music videos of all time, and is probably the greatest music video ever made as well.

Overall: Watch it, seriously. Those 13 minutes will be some of the best ever spent staring at a screen. (5/5)

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Michael Jackson's greatest achievement!

8/10
Author: Miyagis_Sweaty_wifebeater (sirjosephu@aol.com) from Sacramento, CA
8 July 2004

Michael Jackson's Thriller (1983) has to be the greatest video ever made. Dude you have Zombies, gore and a catchy tune, what more can you ask for. John Landis mixed elements from Night of the Living Dead and American Werewolf in London and out came this video. What starts out as a nice evening for a young couple turns into a date from hell, literally. You have dancing zombies, a werewolf in a funky jacket and Vincent Price "rapping". A cool video to a song that everybody in the neighborhood marked out to.

I have to give this one a high recommendation because it has to be the best music video ever made. There hasn't been another one like it.

Check out the "making of Thriller". The documentary has some "interesting" stuff in it.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Classic.

Author: revival05 from Sweden
19 April 2000

You can say what you'd like about Michael Jackson, but songs like ''Bad'', ''Thriller'' and ''Billie Jean'' has stunned the pop-world. But this is out of the ordinary.

It is more than a music video (I think it is the best ever), to me it is a short 14 minutes cult-classic.

Even better is the influences from George A. Romero's legendary Death-movies. How much can you say about a music video? Michael Jackson-fans have probably already seen it, but I still have got to tell them, and everyone else, about this remarkable and historic video.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

...THE FUNK OF 40,000 YEARS...

Author: jonpd from SAN DIEGO, CA
7 February 2003

I grew up watching this music video (I taped it on Beta tape when I was a kid back in 1983) and the making of it as well. I have always loved it, and I still do. As far as I'm concerned, it is the best and most classic music video ever made. Not really worth buying being that it's so short, but if you come across it on one of MTV's Top so-and-so of all time countdowns, definitely record it. It's close to miiiidnight...

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The musical legacy in the wake of a waining star.

Author: Catscanfly from Edinburgh, Scotland
8 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Aaaaah, Thriller. Masterpiece.

A lot of people tend to think that this music video is one of the scariest things ever shot and remember being terrified by it ever since they saw it when they were a kid in the 80s or early 90s. While i gotta agree that it is really spooky in that spine-tingling, juicy way, it's just always struck me as not so much terrifying as just kind of sad- less a horror than a tragedy.

In one of the moments of sick irony in the MJ story ("It don't matter if you're black or white", anyone?) music fans all round the world watched in 1983 (a time when the only thing freakish about Michael was his incredible talent) with a delicious mix of horror and deep excitement as, in this video, michael strutted his stuff in three separate realities (the movie at the start, the dancing in the graveyard and the cats-eyes embrace at the end) and in each is transformed mysteriously into nightmarish figures of evil.

Little did anyone know that he would spend the next two decades doing so for real.

Well, here we are, 20 years later, asking questions that seem very far away indeed from the eighties: Did Jackson ply a series of children with alcohol and lure them into his bed? Is he nothing more than a lecherous paedophile who has spent millions of dollars tweaking and bleaching the humanity out of his once beautiful face? Is he doomed to spend the next 20 years in jail for perverted sex crimes carried out on young boys?

Who knows? No one does. What's certain though, is that there is nothing his present disgrace can detract from the sheer trail-blazing brilliance of Michael's work as a musician. There's something timeless, ageless and utterly vital in Thriller that stands as an eternal monument to his status as one of the greatest popular music icons of our time.

Be honest- you haven't forgotten how that body of his moved- smooth, fast, jagging and driven to the music, his moves mirrored by his unholy followers from beyond the grave.It didn't matter that he was tall and skinny, wearing that god-awful outfit. He was mesmerising to watch- both beautiful and sinister. It was something just totally different, totally urgent, and totally irresistible.

And hell, his singing- you've never heard someone sing like that. Sure, it was girly, full of crazy improvisations and easy to ridicule- but hey, that is MJ. And the fact is that it doesn't matter. Jackson inspired a whole new vocal style and scores of imitators still in the charts today- but there never was one that was a patch on Jacko.

It was once said of Wagner that "the art can never be absolutely separated from the man". And i think that the same is true of MJ. No matter what the outcome of his trial is, the world won't ever feel the same about this guy. You'll never know for sure what went on in Neverland- and you'd be just as well to keep your kids away from him. I'm sure again that his record sales will drop dramatically and whatever happens the rest of his life is likely to be pretty lonely and miserable. Plenty of folk refuse to abide his Cd's in their house anymore all due to the fact that he's in such disgrace.

This is a tremendous shame, in a way- Michael was a musician of outstanding invention and a performer of breathtaking skill and presence. Does his incredible output deserve to be shunned as Pop art when it's creator is disgraced in numerous lawsuits and painted to be an insane figure of public ridicule?

The answer is, I don't think so. And this is the full force of Thriller's importance and power- anytime I listen to the song or see the video, I really don't care about any sordid allegations.

The fact is that I know nothing of the Defendant that we're watching everyday, with his eyes hidden behind large shades, and his pallid white skin and tiny pointy nose peaking out from between the bouncy black curtains of hair. He may have touched little boys and filled his ranch with sordid porn magazines and fed alcohol to kids he bizarrely hung out with. I don't have a reason to think he didn't- the guy grew up in the kind of surreal showbiz background i can barely imagine.

The Michael I do know something about is the character; the persona. Thriller, Billie Jean, Bad, Smooth Criminal... these are the legacy as the star itself wains. He might be a regular Marlon Brando in his free time- but that doesn't mean i don't want to watch his splendour and appreciate his musical genius. whatever tears he's faking in court, he couldn't fake his talent.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history