IMDb > Repo Man (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Repo Man
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Repo Man More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 143 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of the all time best

10/10
Author: nyc_soulrebel from United States
1 November 2006

Captures the feeling of time from a long ago time when it was risky/dangerous to be a punk. There is some great footage of people "moshing" and it stands up over time as a movie that has action, adventure, comedy, science fiction, and occult themes, and conspiracies. There are so many great moments in this movie, it is one of my all time favorites, plus it has one of the best movie soundtracks of all time including an appearance by the Circle Jerks doing an acoustic version of when the shi hits the fan. Emilio Estevez as Otto is one of his best roles of all time. Harry Dean Stanton as Bud is a masterpiece of character acting. Don't miss it - you wont forget it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of the most finely realized and intelligent film satires ever made

10/10
Author: TheMarquisDeSuave from Worcester, MA
22 October 2006

What better way to celebrate writing my hundredth review than commenting on an old favorite. Simply put, "Repo Man" is one of the greatest cult classics ever made. Funny, bizarre, and nihilistic - several things that make a great cult film. Don't let the name of Emilo Estevez put you off. This is one of the most finely realized and intelligent film satires ever made, right up there with both "Duck Soup" and "Dr. Strangelove". Yet twenty years after it was released, it is still overlooked and neglected except to a very loyal following. The IMDb rating is currently 6.7, which is just depressing. Usually I don't get upset about things like that, but it proves that this is both underrated and overlooked.

Its hard to pin down exactly what it is that makes the film work. Not since the heyday of the Marx Brothers has there been such clever absurdest and surreal humor in a film. This sense of humor won't appeal to everyone but fans of it are highly advised to seek this out. It does it easily fifteen times better than "Napoleon Dynamite". The surrealist angle and minor details are what endure this on repeated viewings. This is one of those rare films in which you notice something new every time. Plus, few films managed to so accurately depict the hardcore punk generation and the appeal of this music to bored suburban kids.

The film-making is what really makes it a classic. Sure, clever concepts are all well and good, but often ideas are better than execution. That is certainly not the case here. For once in his career, Alex Cox made consistently hilarious dialog to match his quirky characters and his direction is very fine also, keeping this at a breakneck pace. The acting is great also. As Otto, Emilio Estevez turns in probably his only good performance, far better than "The Breakfast Club". However, the heart of the film lies in Harry Dean Stanton as repo man Bud. Hes a multi-dimensional and sympathetic character, much more than initially expected. Stanton is absolutely perfect. So what are you waiting for? This is one of my top ten films and one of the greatest cult classics ever. (10/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A brilliant and perverted comedy

10/10
Author: Richard Rupp from United States
25 January 2006

Repo man has the funniest dialog of any movie I can think of - except for Pulp Fiction. I am always amazed by people who don't "get it" as pertains to Repo Man. The movie is full of irony, layered sometimes two or three layers deep. Like when the hero eats at his parents', out of a can labeled "food". The careful watcher may notice that all cans, bottles, etc are labeled, food, water, beer, and so on throughout the movie. His parents are smoking a joint as they watch a TV preacher, and are conversing with him at the same time. Simultaneously, the preacher is saying, "some say I want your money, well that's right, so take your money and send it to me..." At this point his father reveals that he has sent his son's college money to the same preacher, and he is on the Eternal Roll of Honor, or something like that. You don't catch it all until the third or fourth time thru. This is why this is a cult movie - because many do get it. But many just end up scratching their heads. Too bad for them.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

a chicken hangin out on a hook

10/10
Author: snowboarderbo from Las Vegas....baby!
23 February 2005

I'm listenin to iggy scream as i write this.... just finished watchin this movie for like the zillionth time... it's still awesome, not a dull or boring minute in it... great visuals, awesome acting (Emilio, this was yer finest moment, bro), amazingly wacky script/story all done with aplomb thanks to the talents of senor alex cox...

this film is now over 20 years old and still seems as weird and as relevant and as weirdly relevant now as it did then. if anything the times call for more alienation and this movie is downright spooky under the blacklight scrutiny of modern times ya know what i'm sayin

one of my favorite movies :D it can't be turned off once it's begun

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A VERY "odd couple"

8/10
Author: pwoods1 from Adelaide, South Australia
30 August 2004

This is one of those cult movies that others aspire to make but never manage to duplicate. The "odd couple-(ing)" of Harry Dean Stanton and Emilio Estevez forms one of the best partnerships to hit the screen. Almost a disfunctional father-son relationship which gets better with each viewing!

It has an excellent and moody soundtrack which mirrors "Paris, Texas", another whimsical Stanton vehicle. It does, however, contain more bizarre characters and situations than "Paris", and therein lies its charm and staying-power. Outside "The X-Files", where else will you find such a collection of conspiracy themes complete with religious wackos and deviate personalities? On top of everything else, there is the constant theme of the repo men operating on an almost surreal level of intensity. One perceives that, perhaps,(outside of his direction) this is Alex Cox's major contribution to the script: almost a docudrama feel to the lives and times of the repo dudes.

Enjoy it as a weird experience, but also enjoy it as a piece of Absurdist Theatre worthy of Ionesco or Beckett. Yes, I think it is THAT good. Go learn how to repossess a car and thwart the powers-that-be at the same time! Be an outlaw in the badlands of consumer debt. Live on the edge.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"Easy Rider" for the punk rock generation.

10/10
Author: el_nickster from Washington, DC USA
8 March 2004

"Repo Man" is the quintessential 1980s cult movie.

This movie is really a series of vignettes, loosely connected to a search for a renegade government nuclear scientist and his 1967 Chevy Malibu. The scientist has stolen the bodies of dead aliens from a government research facility, and hidden them in the trunk of the car. The Malibu thus has supernatural (albeit lethal) powers, and is sought by many parties.

Emilio Estevez plays an aimless punk rock kid, forced to take a lousy job as a repo man when his parents give their life savings to a new-age televangelist. This film satirizes the bland conformity that dominated the 1980s, although it places a variety of colorful "underground" characters in contrast to the dull and souless commercial landscape.

As Harry Dean Stanton says: "Ordinary people. I hate them. You see Otto, ordinary people spend their lives avoiding tense situations. A repo man spends his life getting into tense situations."

So, check it out if you want a droll comedy that ridicules the militarism, conformity, consumerism, fundamentalism, and cold-war mentality of the 1980s. I loved this movie in high school, and often regret that Emilio Estevez never did more with his acting career (how his less talented brother Charlie Sheen grabbed the limelight from Emilio is beyond me... maybe because Emilio had the guts to keep a latino surname).

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Its the greatest movie ever seen.

Author: nuno from portugal
6 April 2003

Repo man is my number 1 movie in my favorite´s list, so logically i have to recommend it to everybody, that just like me, loves to see a 80s punk cult movie in its best. Its a classical movie full of bizarre humor and made with ideas from the outside world that we don´t understand the first time we see them, so thats why i already saw the movie about 30 times (really). This movie show us all a lot of attitudes to take in live, its the best movie ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The life of a Repo Man is always intense

10/10
Author: Tiger_Mark from The Great Wide Open
8 October 2002

One of the all time great cult classics and still to this day, the only good movie ever made by Emilio Estevez. The story revolves around Otto, a misguided punk living in the Reagan '80's, vainly in search of a job and a life. His desperation leads him to take a job as a repo man. With the guidance of several other drunken and disturbed repo men, he just might have a chance. Great punk score and an appearance from the Circle Jerks. The 1980's at its best!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A True Gem

10/10
Author: tedgyz from Nashua, NH
5 August 2002

In the ocean of indy movies there sometimes comes a diamond in the rough. Such is the cheesy praise I give a movie that exudes cheese.

I have to say I got into this movie via the album. A friend turned me on to the soundtrack, so of course, I had to watch the movie. What a treat to have a soundtrack that can actually be heard in the movie. The music and the movie were way ahead of their time and still are. Thus, it stands as a cult classic. It is hard to classify: sci-fi? action? drama? comedy? All of the above.

You have to watch this movie many times to catch the one-liners and subtle humor. You definitely have to be the right type of person to like this movie - uptite personalities need not apply.

With that said - watch Repo Man. It is to Cyber-Punk what Pulp Fiction is to Cops 'n Robbers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lonely is the man without a car

10/10
Author: bobc-5 from Annandale, VA
8 July 2002

Repo Man is a movie created to wake you from the slumber of everyday routine and leave you looking at the world a little differently then you had before. Repo Man is also the only film which I can watch over and over again yet never find even a single moment of it to have become mundane or tedious through the repetition. But having to try to describe what makes Repo Man so good, or even what it's really about, is extremely difficult because the things Repo Man does can only be done through the medium of film - and this, of course, is part of what makes it such an outstanding accomplishment.

Repo Man is basically a post-modern urban-setting western. Repo Men are cowboys, rugged individualists with a code of honor. They work hard and they play harder. The desolate landscape they ride in is not the American West, but a modern society which has been completely dumbed down by the irresistible lure of the least common denominator. Ordinary people, like Otto's parents, are just inanimate objects in that landscape. They cling to whichever leader provides a simplistic faith or belief that promises to give meaning and purpose to their existence. The Repo Men are a vanishing breed of rugged individualists in a world increasingly dedicated to instant gratification and mass consumption, or perhaps they're the pioneers of a new frontier, trying to discover how to maintain their spiritual independence in this harsh new landscape.

All of this is made possible because the film achieves such a high level of excellence in all aspects of film-making. The landscape, so important a part of any western, is brilliantly depicted through the integration of sight, sound, music, and action. Attention and creativity are lavished on even the smallest details. Don't be fooled, however, by the comfort of having a code to live by. The honor and integrity of these cowboys is just a shallow illusion, and you're missing the point if you believe that salvation lies with the Repo Men or in a whacked-out homeless man developing a special rapport with aliens. There is no salvation other than just staying awake and trying to see things for what they really might be.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history