IMDb > The Party Animal (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Party Animal
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Party Animal More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 28 reviews in total 

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Goethe + Animal House = Party Animal!!!

9/10
Author: gein from Seattle
16 March 2000

In the vast realm of teen-sex comedies, The Party Animal is an anomaly. Opening with a thunderous bolt of lightning, the film's soundtrack pounds out The Buzzcocks' song, "Why Can't I Touch It," while the camera pans across one of the most hauntingly beautiful faces ever sculpted on a teenage girl. The ominously beautiful girl stands high above a winding road in which a pick-up truck loaded with turnips is seen cruising with the soon-to-be (Party Animal) lounging on top of the edible roots. So begins one of the greatest drive-in comedies ever made.

The story follows the exploits of twenty-two year old freshman college student, Pondo Sinatra, an obnoxious imposing blunderer whose only desire in life is to get laid and his studly buddy, Studly who tries to help him achieve that goal. I know, I know, this sounds like the premise for every teen comedy made, but believe me, this is where the similarities end and a twisted Faustian tale begins.

One day while Pondo and Studly are scheming on the campus grounds, Pondo announces that he would sell his soul for a piece of tail. The hauntingly beautiful girl from the first scene appears and seems to acknowledge Pondo's request - though his wish is not granted until much later in the film. The girl, Mephistopheles incarnate, appears throughout the film, taunting and haunting Pondo.

Before Pondo's wish is granted, he is dragged through some of cinema's most hilariously torturous vignettes. In one scene, Pondo tries to impress the ladies at a punk rock party by taking so many drugs (pot, pills, cocaine and LSD) in one sitting, that even Keith Richards would cringe. In another, Pondo decked out in 1970's New York City pimp gear, crashes an African-American party that is not exactly white-friendly and ends up with a hair pick stuck in his forehead.

This is a seriously twisted dark comedy and may not be for all tastes but over-all the cinematography is excellent and the acting is fair. Jerry Jones III, who has performed in all of Rudy Ray Moore's Dolomite films, provides an exceptional performance as Elbow, the school's janitor, who doles out sage-like advice to Studly and Pondo. The Party Animal features an amazing soundtrack whose artists include The Buzzcocks, The Fleshtones, R.E.M., New Marines, Chelsea, Dream 6, Gazmo, and The Untouchables who appear as themselves in the film. Also, there are many semi-clad beauties to keep your eyes busy even if your mind wanders.

As a film, The Party Animal does not play by any standard "teen sex comedy" rules set up by the Hollywood cookie cutter machine, and it certainly doesn't cop out by giving the us the same old crappy "nerd saves the day - nerd gets the girl" happy ending. I won't give up the finale, but let's just say that Pondo gets what he deserves.

The Party Animal only played a short time in theatres in 1983 (not 1984) and now can only be seen if your video store carries the long out-of-print Pan-Canadian or Lightning video releases. A trivial note: This is one of only a few movies that Cineplex Odeon Pictures produced and released.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Aphrodisiac...."Large Penis, Want it Bad"

10/10
Author: zabelardo from United States
1 December 2007

I first saw this movie, as a double-date, at a Drive-In theater(man, do I miss them!). I was only 19-years old, and nervous- because it was my very first double-date. Nevertheless, this movie got all four of us laughing hysterically, and we all had a great time. Honestly, they can't make movies like this anymore- because of the CONTENT(drugs, nudity, etc.) Yes, the Buzzcocks' music is REALLY what made this movie the BOMB.

Dr. Matthew Causey is now a Drama/Theater Professor, in Ireland. He is definitely NOT PROUD of this movie. However, if I ever meet him- I will personally tell him that Pondo Sinatra has been my IDOL for over 25 years! This movie is archived as one of my all-time CLASSIC COMEDY FILMS.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Pleasures Don't Come As Guilty As This Classic Sex Crazed Comedy!

10/10
Author: James Bourke (Canadianbacon1971@hotmail.co.uk) from United Kingdom
12 July 2011

Of all the horny as all get out comedies that I remember watching back in the 1980's, Revenge Of The Nerds, Screwballs, and of course the Porky's trilogy, The Party Animal has always remained a constant source of reverie in my mind.

Having just watched the Region 1 release, after not viewing the movie in more than twenty years, It never comes as a shock to me that once the first few frames pass by how the memories just come flooding back of just why I liked this movie.

First and foremost was the soundtrack, The Fleshtones & especially The Buzzcocks, another movie released somewhere around the same time Splitz also had a killer soundtrack, plus it also contained that killer element of copious amount of female flesh wildly on show.

To that end, and as I was your atypical teenager just discovering the joys of these teen sex comedies, the T & A aspect of The Party Animal was for me the major selling point and I must confess, those elements still hold up to this day.

Considering what kind of movie this is, you wouldn't expect the acting to be up to much, but once again the vast majority of the actors acquit themselves admirably, Matthew Causey shines in the role of Pondo Sinatra, who as we all know would sell his soul for a piece ass! It's really is amazing that Causey refuses to acknowledge this movie, his career hasn't really taken flight, and I for one would love to be associated with a movie that has attained major cult status, but I'm sure Causey has his reasons.

The only real star to emerge from the movie was Tim Carhart, although he has one of those faces, I can only remember him from Thelma & Louise, I often wonder if he would ever shy away from talking about this cool little comedy.

Although the movie does have a fractured narrative, which in truth actually helps propel the movie forward, the movie itself is still a great little slice of eighties sleaze and tease and with such pleasures they don't come as guilty as this classic sex crazed comedy.

This movie gets a Viagra free 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Hound Dog and other Napoleonic imagery

9/10
Author: kingmonkey from around
11 March 2006

when i found out this film was at last available on DVD, i spent a fortune getting it shipped in from the States. it is a true comic masterpiece, and something of a tragedy that it is not well know. all the more tragic is that the guys who made it, for the most part, did very little afterwards.

Pondo Sinatra is the epitome of the word "dude". he is all men as he is no man, if you follow, and one cannot but help revel in his journey from no-good, frustrated and aroused nobody towards being a quasi-Napoleon type leader or figure of adulation.

it's tempting to highlight certain scenes, but i would rather encourage you to go out and discover this gem of a movie for yourself.

as with other comments, i would say a big plus for this film is the soundtrack. i discovered just how good The Buzzcocks were thanks to this film, and the rest of the music is equally good.

a unique, original and downright funny film in a very worn out and repetitive genre. waste no more time on pale, watered down trash like the American Pie films and discover the film that they all wished they could make.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A totally choice chunk of vintage wacky 80's collegiate comedy schlock

10/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
24 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Naive and awkward virginal hillbilly Pondo Sinatra (well played with endearingly gawky charm by Matthew Causey) goes to college so he can score with the babes. Despite his numerous earnest, yet fumbling efforts and sage advice from suave Lothario Studly (a winningly smooth performance by Timothy Carhart), Pondo just can't get lucky with the ladies. Good fortune finally shines on Pondo's heretofore dark and dismal existence when he whips up a powerful aphrodisiac potion in the chemistry lab. Next thing you know luscious women are throwing themselves at Pondo. Writer/director David Beaird deftly concocts a deliciously dumb and lively cinematic brew that's simmering over with priceless dippy dialogue ("I'm like King Midas -- everything I touch turns to *very naughty word deleted*!"), hot chicks aplenty, a generous sprinkling of yummy bare distaff skin, a nonstop zippy pace, an infectiously lowbrow sense of blithely idiotic and undemanding no-brainer humor, and a cheerfully crude, but good-natured tone. Gut-busting comic highlights include Pondo as the token out-of-place uncool white guy at an all-black party, Pondo's abortive attempts at suicide, Pondo sneaking into a sorority disguised as a girl and getting all the gals to play a game of strip poker, Pondo getting an extreme punk make-over complete with Mohawk, Pondo doing an alarmingly substantial amount of drugs at a wild bash, and Pondo visiting an adult sex shop. Causey and Carhart do excellent and engaging work in the lead roles; they receive able support from Jerry Jones as hip janitor Elbow, Robin Harlan as evasive blonde goddess Natasha, Luci Roucis as pretentious aspiring actress Sophia, Joan Dykman as a fearsome nurse, Frannie James as the uptight dean, and Leland Crooke as the dean's flamboyant gay secretary (the scene where he lusts after Pondo is positively sidesplitting!). The way cool soundtrack of funky-rockin' songs by the Fleshtones, the Buzzcocks, and the Untouchables seriously smokes. Bryan England's bright cinematography gives the movie an attractive sunny look. Sure, this flick is utterly stupid and ridiculous, but it's so gleefully silly and moronic that it's always entertaining and often downright hilarious. An absolutely uproarious hoot.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

'C' Movie is 'A' In My Book

10/10
Author: tomjstevens74 from United States
30 January 2006

Don't let the fact that despite Tim Carhart being the only actor with a known name in this movie fool you... it's hilarious! Low-budget, good plot and story, good acting, great comedy, and hot college chicks running around in bikinis, lingerie, or nothing at all!! WOOOHOOOOOO!!! Did I mention it's funny? Dude, I had to hunt this movie down, but now I have it ripped for my private collection! (The movie industry can thank me in the future.)Can't remember the lead actors name, but I don't think that matters. (Hope he doesn't read IMDb.) Carhart plays 'Studly', his friend who tries to get him 'laid'. Full of classic attempts (failures) to woo women. Elbow is Studly's teacher and the school janitor, and tries to help Pondo. He's a riot, but can't break the jinx. Watching the women at play and exercise makes want to jazzercize too... well, almost. Pretty good 80's soundtrack, too, with The Buzzcocks and Dream 6 (now Concrete Blonde, one of my favorite rock bands.) If you can find this movie on VHS, rent it and have a good laugh, great for watching with your girlfriend, too!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

The Greatest Soundtrack Ever!!

10/10
Author: amynickod from Bloomington, IL
17 September 2004

I love this film and love the soundtrack. It is definitely one of the better sex comedies of the 80s(my personal favorite). One of the things that make this film so special is the performance of Matthew Causey as Pondo Sinatra. Causey takes what could have been just another throw away character and makes Sinatra very memorable, it is too bad we have not seen more from Causey. The soundtrack is loaded with one hit after another. My friends and I have lots of quotes from this one we enjoy to throw at each other. The conversation between Pondo and Elbow is priceless. I also would like to thank Mr. Filthy McNasty for his help on this film!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

No party, believe me

1/10
Author: videorama-759-859391 from adelaide, australia
28 April 2017

This film starts and ends with almost same scene, a guy sitting in the back of a turnip truck, the start has him going one way, the end, has him going the other, with a sexy woman, standing on the top of a hill, a look of curiousness following him both ways, probably the only one who understands him. No one has tried harder with women than Pondo Sinatra. He's found it hell, and you could well find this hell, sitting through this ridiculous 78 minute, sexcapade, featuring one known actor, Carhart, Pondo's best friend, who I'm sure would want to put this film behind, or in other words, glad to see the back of it. Our poor old southern bred Pondo, our luckless loser, strikes out with women, due to his lack of his finesse, and totally wrong approaches towards the opposite sex, whether insulting, coarse, etc, lacking a total inexperience, he needs studley Studly, Carhart to help him, who he turns to his older wiser teacher, a black dude, and you'll love his take on pussy. We, the suffering viewer are subjected, to this unappealing mess of a sex comedy, too ridiculous to raise any kind of logic as well as laughs. Even the music score is awful, and unfortunately catchy. Pondo, not the best scientist/inventor, where a dozen of his fellow women scholars have paid the price, one becoming a gorilla, finally creates an potion aphrodisiac which makes women swarm over him. Causey gives a great, memorable performance, and Carhart isn't bad, but this film is bad, and then some, and in no way, memorable. Gags fall flat, like Pondo's experiments, and to the viewer, it's a punishing watch, an exercise in ridiculousness. One of the most forgettable films I've seen. Painful.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

10/10
Author: (jrepko@elitebrk.com) from Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
27 January 2000

Although it might be my sense of humor, this is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Movies of today do not make me laugh as much or "cry" as much. I can't go into it because I will spoil it for you. It is a classic 1980's B-rated comedy and the plot is not very in-depth. You just have to rent it and see. Or better yet, buy it. I assure you, if you laugh more at the Three Stooges than Dennis Miller, this movie is a hit!! Matthew Causey does wonders in his part as Pondo. The movie is made up mainly of short scenes that could be seen in any order, but is quite easily followed; granted though it is through tear filled eyes. To everyone reading this, I hope this movie brings you as much laughter as it did me. Every time I'm depressed, I pop my copy in the VCR and sit back with a few beers. This makes one hell-of-a good Saturday afternoon.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Houuuuund DOG !

9/10
Author: Pondo-3 from Boston, MA
22 September 1999

Great movie. Lots of stupidity. Definitely a drinking movie. Excellent lines. For a cast of no-names, they were excellent. Between Elbow drinking bourbon in the boiler room, Pondo trying to become a man by making it with a tan and Studly boinking everything that moves.....it was a laugh a minute!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history