IMDb > Meatballs Part II (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Meatballs Part II
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Meatballs Part II More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Camped out...

2/10
Author: Mister-6 from United States
3 August 1999

The first "Meatballs" had Bill Murray, Chris Makepeace, a lot of laughs and no alien subplot.

"Meatballs II" has Richard Mulligan, Paul (Pee-Wee Herman) Ruebens, Hamilton Camp, Archie Hahn, John Larroquette, a few laughs and an alien subplot.

By the time "Meatballs II" came out, there had already been so many ripoffs of "Meatballs" that this just paled liberally by comparison (TIDBIT - this in fact was a "Meatballs" ripoff originally, until the rights were grabbed up and it was released instead as "Meatballs II". Who says there aren't any new ideas in Hollywood?).

In spite of the mountain of talent in "Meatballs II", there is little in the way of actual humor. Instead, you have a hyperventilating Richard Mulligan, an off-center Paul Reubens playing in Pee-Wee mode, a screaming Hamilton Camp, a horny Archie Hahn, a lisping John Laroquette, and your usual plethora of horny teens, junior class military cadets, brain-dead boxers, and pot-smoking aliens who ask why camp counselors are such dorks.

There's the major laughs; do with them what you will. And whatever you do with these laughs, it's more than what "Meatballs II" could ever do with them.

Two and a half stars. Maybe there's just something about Pee-Wee Herman. Or John Larroquette. Or Richard Mulligan....

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A disgrace to the Meatballs name

2/10
Author: scott_loves_food from United States
4 December 2008

I was working at an actual summer camp the Summer this piece of crap was released. It was my sixth year at camp, as camper and counselor, and a big bunch of us (counselors) went on a day off to see it, with huge expectations. Needless to say, this 'film' has absolutely nothing to do with the mighty original. Rent the DVD of the original and watch the 'making of' part. It's a third as long and a hundred times better than this "sequel". I give it 2/10 only because there might be enough weed on Earth to make this vaguely amusing. Assuming you're watching it on a TV with only one channel.

IMDb demands ten lines of text to post a comment, so I guess they are intimately involved with the cretins that thought this was a viable movie. Actually, I'm sure they made money on it due to a budget of twelve dollars. The film was shot with a MONO soundtrack? Yeah, that's the way to save a couple grand! If only it had gone straight to VHS - I'd have saved my $3.75 back in 1984.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Not really bad, just sort of pointless

4/10
Author: squeezebox from United States
20 September 2005

To call this movie a sequel to MEATBALLS is stretching the word "sequel" to a ridiculous degree. Other than the fact that both movies take place at summer camps (not even the same one), there is no connection between the two. It's the usual 80's cable TV time filler, with a dumb script, mechanical direction and mostly one-note performances.

The only laughs are supplied by such great comic actors as Richard Mulligan, Paul Reubens (aka Pee-Wee Herman), John Larroquette and Hamilton Camp. A subplot which parodies E.T. also managed to make me chuckle a few times.

The only other point of interest is seeing a twenty-year old Kim Richards in the lead female role. The little tomboy from ESCAPE TO WITCH MOUNTAIN and NO DEPOSIT, NO RETURN had grown into quite a hottie by 1984. Unfortunately, she leaves her clothes on.

If this comes on TV, it's not worth switching the channel. You'll probably laugh a few times, plus you can get up and go to the bathroom and not miss anything. At any rate, it's better than MEATBALLS PART III or (gag) IV.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Sex comedy with no sex

4/10
Author: Mitch Orenstien from United States
29 March 2006

Okay, so this movie isn't great but its a good way to waste a rainy summer day. That's how I ended up seeing it. To be truthful, I thought there would be a lot more nudity and sex. The box for the movie shows a shower scene that isn't in the movie. The box also features a picture of the busty Fanny, played by Misty Rowe. That was the most interesting story line: Two horny Councelors trying to get it on. It was only later on that I found out that Misty Rowe isn't nearly as top heavy as Fanny. Well, I'll always have Meatballs Part II to keep the dream alive. There was a lot of potential, but instead we had aliens and a stupid boxing match. Good lines, and okay women. It's worth a look.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Revenge of the 80's: The sequel!

2/10
Author: Miyagis_Sweaty_wifebeater (sirjosephu@aol.com) from Sacramento, CA
5 February 2005

Meatballs Part II (1984) is a major step down from the first film. Once again, whenever a film is a major (or a minor) success they always made a sequel during the eighties. This one is a mediocre effort, not only from the director but the entire cast. Not an unwatchable film but if you're expecting something like the first film you'll be mightily disappointed. If you like weak teenage "sex" comedies this might tide you over.

The film concerns the camp site from the first film. Their very existent is being threatened by a local junior boot camp. The two camps have an annual boxing match to settle their differences and in the spirit of competition. But this time the stakes are high, the commander of the camp has made a deal with the rightful owners of the land. This time the boxing match means much more than simple bragging rights. The usual suspects can be found in this film. Such eighties stars such as Kim Richards, Richard Mulligan, Paul Reubens, Jason Hervey and John Larroqutte. Be on the look out for a Jewish space alien!

I wouldn't recommend this movie unless you're a huge fan of the Meatball film series.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Its bad that even as a kid this one made me groan.

3/10
Author: Aaron1375
12 April 2009

"I have an idea" someone said, "lets make a sequel to Meatballs and have it be completely moronic and groan inducing!". After the movie was made and released the person said "dude, I was making a joke". And so Meatballs 2 was made and while it is in fact about a summer camp and more of a sequel to the original than the third one is, I still think this one is the worst of the bunch. Granted a few jokes make me chuckle which is why I nicely gave this movie a three rather than a one or two. The plot? Why bother, it involves some dude who does not want to be a counselor, an alien, and a brawl for it all boxing match between two summer camps, one regular and a military type one. That is the gist of it, and if you are wondering, yes the alien is friendly and probably inserted thanks to the success of E.T. two years prior. Bill Murray is not in this movie and can you blame him, while they made this movie he was making Ghostbusters. Instead they got Richard Mulligan, who I like in some roles, not this one. They also begin easing this series of movies into more of a teen sex series, but only lightly in this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This is the one with the alien and the boxing match

1/10
Author: jessegehrig from United States
25 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Screeching noises! Did you know that the purpose of movies is solely to make money. Its sad. This movie was made for money's sake, how much money could that possibly be? I mean think about it, Meatballs 2, how can that be of value? Did people die to make this movie? If somebody did die making this movie, because it's this movie, doesn't that mean they died in vain? They made two other Meatballs movies after this one, what the hell!? Who are you that you even legitimately enjoy Summer Camp themed movies? How? If you want to see nudity they make porn, if you want to see a comedy they make actual comedies, you don't have to settle for this movie. I just thought someone should tell you.

Was the above review useful to you?

Am I really reviewing this?

2/10
Author: OldSamVimes from Canada
22 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is one I fondly remember viewing at a birthday party soon after it came out on VHS.

I'm not going to call it good, because I know it wasn't.

I do however remember a good racing scene between a bunch of teenagers in a trailer and a kid in a motorized (new at the time) wheelchair.

I also seem to remember an alien being in this film, kind of like the alien in the TV show 'American Dad', but alas I can't remember quite what it looked like.

I don't remember this film wining any awards, and I can't recall anyone in the cast. I can't recall the scene on the cover occurring in the film either, but I would be proud to hang a framed copy of that movie poster on my living room wall next to my collection of taxidermy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Average if pointless sequel

5/10
Author: mnpollio from United States
2 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The 1980s were crammed with pointless forgettable adolescent comedies and sequels of which this entry is a prime example. Contrary to popular thought, the original Meatballs was really no classic but merely a mildly amusing rude comedy which served as a launching point for Bill Murray's acting career. This in-name-only sequel has no returning cast members and only shares the summer camp setting, but manages some uniqueness for one weakness and one fascinating turn. The main "plot" centers on a rivalry between congenial Richard Mulligan's camp of likable losers and shrill Hamilton Camp's military camp, which builds to a climactic slapstick boxing match with representatives of each respective camp deciding the futures of the camps. Unfortunately, given that Mulligan is not much of a presence and Camp is such a buffoonish cartoon villain, it is impossible to have much rooting interest. Subplots galore come fast and furious. The unique weakness is that the film cannot decide whether it wishes to be a rude adolescent comedy directed to pre-teens or a smarmy sex comedy directed to older teens and thus fails at both. A wretched subplot with a forgettable cast of youngsters sheltering a cheap Yiddish-accented E.T. is included for the tots, but is so bad it would only antagonize them. Then we get numerous scenes where 30-ish horny camp counselor Archie Hahn and his buxom co-counselor Misty Rowe are constantly interrupted in their quest for sex by various chaos. The less said about John Larroquette's mincing gay caricature, the better. Kim Richards and John Mengatti are on hand as a virginal camp newbie and a reluctant reform school guy named Flash forced into being a counselor who naturally start a flirtation. The acting by both suggests that they are better than the material handed them. An interesting turnabout is that the more experienced female counselors decide to band together and help the sheltered Richards see her first naked man before the end of the summer. This is interesting as this is normally a subplot reserved for male characters and this is one of the few teenage movies of this decade that actually had the refreshing insight that female teens may be just as sexually curious as males. What a novelty! It is also the funniest subplot in that the girls various attempts naturally result in confusion, chaos and disaster. Unfortunately, the PG rating restricts any nudity from showing up, so guys looking for any skin from the busty Rowe will not get any and the big climactic scene where the hunky dreamboat Mengatti winds up stark naked in public is filmed with such ridiculous modesty that it ranks more as an anti-climax. For all that, the sequel is largely inoffensive and certainly is better than the dismal two follow-ups (one featuring a young and super-nerdy Patrick Dempsey).

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Could be worse

6/10
Author: Sandcooler from Belgium
7 July 2009

While the original "Meatballs" was about kids dealing with everyday problems and talking to Bill Murray a lot, this in-name-only sequel takes a turn for the bizarre and brings in an alien. This might hurt the realism of the movie, but I just really don't care. The complete randomness of this silly plot line is actually one of the few things that keep this show on the road, because for the most part this is just as standard as they come. You get the same characters from every other summer camp movie, the same jokes, even the same look, things get pretty boring that way. Then they throw an alien with a funny voice in the mix and they manage to recapture my attention. This movie often runs low on ideas, but it's pretty fun to watch anyway.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history