IMDb > Wheels on Meals (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kuai can che
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wheels on Meals More at IMDbPro »Kuai can che (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 37 reviews in total 

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Classic Slapstick

9/10
Author: rbclarke from Leeds, England
9 May 2001

The basic synopsis of Wheels on Meals is as follows: Jackie Chan and Yuen Baio are two Chinese immigrants who run a mobile snack van business in Barcelona. Sammo Hung, also a chinese immigrant living in Barcelona, works as a very badly dressed PI. Sammo is hired by a dubious looking gentleman in a bowler hat to track down a Spanish girl, who it just so happens is the daughter of Yuen Baios dad's girlfriend. This sets the scene for, amongst other things, a bizarre retro skateboarding sequence, a ludicrous car/van chase and a top class fight at the end.

For me, Wheels on Meals represents the ultimate combination of comedy kung fu and naive slapstick humor. It's worth pointing out that this film isn't as good a Martial Arts flick as some of the earlier works that it's three main stars were involved in (Young Master, Magnificent Butcher, Prodigal Son, etc). However, the main strength of Wheels on Wheels is it's ability to get new mileage out of some very old gags, and it also proves once and for all that unusual hats can be very funny.

I give it nine out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Great Jackie Film

10/10
Author: dsabverticus-1 from Australia
14 November 2004

This movie contains the apparent 'best jackie chan fight' ever, which is why I bought it, I guess I expected too much. The last fight really is excellent, but didn't top Drunken Master, or 'Gorgeous' for my standards.

What really stunned me about the last scene was the excellent choreography, and Benny "The Jet"'s great skill. The actually thought this may be Jackie's best "Movie" even if the fight scene at the end was his 3rd best IMO. Sammo Hung is really quite a character, good acting skills and a unique look, not to mention he is a skilled Martial Artist. The plot, as simple as it is, leaves you quite entertained through-out the movie, and Lola Forner is great too. I only wish my DVD has better English subtitles!

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Fun and excitement in Spain with the 3 Brothers

7/10
Author: Pat McCurry (acehighpat@aol.com) from Wilton, NH
8 September 2003

I first heard of this when TNT was showing it after the TV premiere of Rumble In The Bronx. I couldn't make it through the first 10 minutes because of the bad dubbing and the mixing around of scenes (The very first scene was Jackie and Yuen skateboarding in Spain, rather than them waking up and getting into their morning routine). A couple of months ago, I got the Hong Kong DVD and loved it.

The movie is about Thomas (Chan) and David (Biao), two Chinese guys who run a successful food truck business in Spain. They get caught up in wannabe detective Moby's (Hung) case to find a Spanish heiress, and the fun goes from there. The chemistry is great between the three brothers, and Lola Forner is a great distraction. The writing is funny, and Sammo's direction is right on target. The fight scenes are great. If you want to watch vintage Jackie, watch this film as he can move quick. The much talked about fight between Chan and Benny "The Jet" Urquidez does not disappoint. Want a lesson in how to do a fight scene? Watch these two guys go at it (They would have a rematch a few years later in Dragons Forever).

For all of you fans of JC credit outtakes, there is none (JC didn't start using them until Police Story). But in a funny, action packed movie like this, you won't care. It is one of The 3 Brothers best, and it will leave you wanting more.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Masterpiece

10/10
Author: Mauro Cosentino from Argentina
27 November 2005

If you have seen Rush Hour and its sequel and you were impressed you have to see this one. If you have seen "Martial Law", and you were impressed you have to see this. And also you will meet the other star of this group of Masters of the Martial Arts and Comedy Yuen Biao.

Jackie, Sammo and Yuen play a group of losers that get in trouble in Spain, the rest is a non-stopping adventure full of incredible fights, laughs and healthy fun. Wheel on Meals is probably the ultimate mix of Kung Fu, Acrobatics and Funny Gags spawned by the admired Sammo Hung, he's got an incredible eye for action, that's why he's one of the best directors alive.

Jackie leading here is at his best along with his partners Yuen Biao and Sammo Hung Kam-Bo, they fight with an incredible physical ability, and not casually among the many thugs they kick are some real champs like Benny Urquidez or Keith Vitali. In the closing credit don't miss the bloopers, watching the bloopers the admiration we feel for the great Jackie increases. But Jackie not only uses his legs and fists to make you laugh he puts some funny faces that could make people fall off their seats laughing. The good thing in the movie is that there's enough of Sammo, Jackie and Yuen, every Fighter has their memorable moments on-screen. "Kwai tsan tseh" is a Masterpiece of humorous action.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Sammo's choreography takes first chair

7/10
Author: Blake Matthews (drngor@yahoo.com) from Stockton, California
25 June 2001

If Sammo could ever do anything right, he could choreograph. He's a master of martial arts choreography and many of Jackie's and Biao's best films come with Sammo doing the choreography. This movie is a prime example of this.

The film deals with two Chinese men in Spain who run a food truck. They meet a pick-pocket who turns out to be heir (along w/ her institutionalized mother) to a large fortune, which is coveted by some nasy goons. Sammo plays a detective that's on the case. All this builds up to an excellent climax at a Spanish castle.

One thing that I did like a lot about the movie was the script. The rapport between Yuen Biao and Jackie Chan was excellent, and they get a lot of witty comments, comebacks, and responses to supposedly stupid questions. You have to see the subtitled version to understand.

Like I was saying, the choreography in the film is great. Unfortunately, there are only about 4 fight scenes or so before the climax that are all really short. It really left me craving a lot more. The finale is a true piece of work. Jackie takes kickboxing champ Benny "The Jet" Urquidez in one of the best one-on-one's ever filmed. Yuen Biao takes on Keith Vitale, another karate champ. Sammo takes on the lead villain in a Chinese variation of European fencing.

The action isn't wall-to-wall but what's there is excellent. The relationship between Yuen and Chan is also great. It's a Jackie Chan film worth seeing.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Jackie, Yuen and Sammo's finest IMHO

10/10
Author: chris_chown from Leeds, UK
18 July 2000

Of all the 3 brothers' films, this is the one more than any other that I've managed to turn people onto Jackie Chan with (yes, more than Project A!).

A well plotted, decently paced movie with some absolutely genuine comedy moments, and as for the action, oh the action... people have already commented on the incredible sequence between Jackie and Benny Urquidez, but that's not all, the film is packed with some truly dazzling acrobatics.

Fantastic fun, and a worthy introduction for any Jackie Chan newbies.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Fast and fun!

Author: Paula O'Keefe (angelynx_prime@geocities.com) from Washington DC
27 December 1998

What a fun movie! All the fast-paced action, brilliant stunts and slapstick humor that make Jackie's work great. Jackie and Sammo are terrific and the scenes set in elaborately catered parties give new meaning to the term "food fight". A movie that will have you laughing all the way thru.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Broadly silly, at times funny Jackie Chan comedy.

5/10
Author: gridoon
6 January 2004

How much you'll enjoy this film depends on how much silliness you're willing to tolerate. Sample exchange:

"I know seven ways to break into that castle"

"Why not six or eight?"

"Because seven is my lucky number!"

It's all rather shoddily made, but at the same time winningly lighthearted. There's very little action until the last 10 minutes....then there's some really good action (Jackie's fight, Yuen Biao's amazing acrobatics). (**)

P.S. Doesn't the pretty Lola Forner look a lot like Carole Bouquet?

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Perhaps the best Jackie Chan movie ever done.

10/10
Author: Ryan McLelland from Ewing, New Jersey
19 February 2007

It's a hard toss-up for me trying to decide Jackie Chan's best film. It's a narrow thought process for me as it comes down to Dragons Forever and the weirdly titled "Wheels on Meals". Both films feature the amazing trio of Jackie, Sammo Hung, and Yuen Biao...'brothers' since their early days and all film stars in their own right. But the comedy in Wheels on Meals works the best and the action scenes are amazing, with Biao really strutting his mobility.

The plot is thin: Jackie and Biao are cousins who works a 'gut-truck' in Spain. Sammo is an acquaintance who takes over his employer's private detective agency when his boss goes on the run. Someone hires Sammo to find a beautiful girl (Lola Forner - also seen in Armour of God) whom Jackie and Biao have already had the pleasure of meeting. She's a pickpocket and the daughter of Biao's dad's girlfriend (the dad and the mom met at the local insane asylum. What love!). Anyway it seems that Silvia is being chased by mobsters so she can't claim a lot of money that should be coming to her. Bad guys give chase, Jackie and Biao help her, and Sammo runs in to try to get his way.

The three have been in a number of films together (Project A being the other film that features the three as equals) but even with the not-so great plot you'll be surprised at how well the acting is, how the jokes are still funny even while you are reading them (and don't go for something dubbed, the film is much better in Chinese), and how great the kung-fu scenes are. You'll be surprised by Jackie and Biao's skills on a skateboard and while the Jackie Vs. Benny the Jet fight scene in Dragons Forever might be a bit better, you still HAVE one in this movie.

For amazing comedy, action, and great kung-fu, that is directed by the pudgy Sammo, and taking the three men out of Hong Kong a la Way of the Dragon - this is the film for you. Fans of Jackie Chan, Yuen Biao, and Sammo Hung will be hard pressed to find something better, though Dragons Forever comes very, very close.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

one of the best films from the three brothers

10/10
Author: macade14 from United States
13 January 2005

i think the summary says it all. i love project a, and my lucky stars, dragons forever,and winners and sinners, but wheels on meals in the best out of all of them. one of my friends put me on a lot of Jackie Chan films right after rumble in the Bronx, and the first two movie he gave me as a birthday gift, was ProjectA and Wheels on Meals. it's a prefect fit of comedy, action, and martial arts. Thomas (Jackie)and David (Yuen Biao)are cousins and have a food business in a van, and run into a girl, who is nothing but trouble, and Sammo Hung is a detective, who is looking for the girl.The comedy is great, and the action is brilliant, and this is one of the film i would love to remake. Rent or buy this movie if you are a fan.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history