IMDb > Bad Girls Dormitory (1986) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Bad Girls Dormitory More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

NY exploiter has moments in spite of best intentions

4/10
Author: rduchmann from United States
8 June 2000

Various young women find themselves at an NYC juvenile facility which proves that teen WIP don't have to take a backseat to their adult compatriots. Various cliques vie for superiority, the warden has an odd Eurotrash accent, and inmate Jennifer Delora conducts regular private catfights with one of the guards. Other inmates sex it up with male guards, but the only lesbian content is by implication (and what about those fights, Jen?)

Film has a large cast, which seemingly includes every NY actress of its day with teenish looks and willingness to strip for the camera. Tech credits are crude and the film looks lowbudget. What saves it for me is an early sequence where the prison's brand new doctor, a drug addict with the demeanor of a male porn actor, happens upon the side door to the shower room. Naturally, a gang bath is taking place at the time. We study the soapy inmates from his P.O.V. for what seems like about 5 minutes, until finally the camera settles on sad-faced Carey Zuris, who stares at the lens and asks, "Seen enough?"

Plotwise, of course, she's talking to the doctor guy, but she might as well be speaking to the voyeur audience itself. To a more sensitive crowd than that which relishes WIP films, this moment might even be somewhat of an epiphany, but I suspect the automatic response from genre fans was, "No, baby, why don't you turn around now so we can check out the other side?" (Okay, that's what *I* said, watching this film on tape in my living room. But I'll bet $2 I'm not the only one who did.)

Cast was and remains virtually unknown. Frances Rains, Jennifer Delora, and Natalie O'Connell had other mid-80s credits in NY-produced exploiter films. The only other place I've seen Zuris was as a nude extra in Chuck Vincent's NEW YORK'S FINEST. All the girls look fairly natural as JDs and most give fairly convincing performances, with Zuris perhaps the standout (she does suffer a lioness' share of the indignities usually visited upon actresses in a production such as this but retains considerable poise throughout and probably deserved bigger roles and better breaks than she ever got during her acting career). Delora is given an homage to the *other* scene you remember from WHITE HEAT. It doesn't really work. One redhead prisoner looks genuinely underage, though she's probably just an underdeveloped 20 yr old with no makeup; her molestation by a slimy guard who catches her smoking a J in the basement mostly consists of removing her shirt at command and displaying the AAAs. The actress playing the warden gives a somewhat eccentric performance but does not sound as if English is her native language, which might explain it. Admirers of big hooters will definitely admire redheaded Natalie O'Connell (most of the other cast members are A-cuppers, but what's wrong with that, I'd like to know? they're all real).

Picture is determinedly sleazy, but strictly on the basis of the "Seen enough?" exchange I'll give it a 4. If the very thought of women behind bars, unable to control their passionate impulses, forced to pay their debt to society, but what about their obligations to themselves? barbed wire could not hold them back, savage dogs could not control them, if you only see one picture this year, you MUST see ... does not set your blood racing, rent THE MATRIX or NOTTING HILL or something. This one is for WIP fans only.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Great info on Bad Girls Dormitory: but missing info

10/10
Author: Jennifer Delora, PhD from United States
23 October 2005

Heck, I'm giving it a 10 cuz I star in it as Lisa and because I can. It's really exactly as reviewed. But a romp nonetheless.

Only wanted to add that if you checked the IMDb & other sites you'd see that I've been extremely busy starring in films after that and then for ABC, CBS, TV and so forth. SO I didn't stop at the low budget genre that they were. Yes those fights were pitiful mostly because the other woman did not follow the choreography: i ended up so bruised and battered: her kicks to my stomach were real, and so forth. Every choreographed move that was a hit became a kick and the kicks became hits so she beat the crap out of me!! Lots of stories about it but hell, the movie gave me a career. If it wasn't for 7 seconds in the shower topless I wouldn't have been de-crowned from Miss Ulster County for Miss NY Miss America and gotten the calls for all the work I've done. So the publicity didn't hurt! Just had to watch it for a thing I'm doing at my old high school where they've studied horror films and the like for their film history classes and they studied mine (poor them) and I'm going there for a "Inside the ACtors Studio" type thing for the school and have to show scenes and talk about all those films including this one that not at the time, but later made me a name and I STILL all these years later have fans of all those films so they are bad to the bone, but at least in a humorous, Saturday night nothing better to do way.

ENJOY Jennifer Delora

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

White T-shirt prison for bad, bad girls

Author: Dr. Gore (drgore@hotmail.com) from Los Angeles, California
17 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

I bought this video. "Bad Girls Dormitory" is a beautiful slice of 80's sleaze. It starts off with a girl walking through Times Square to a photo shoot. She passes a theater which has "Bubblegum Girls" and "Teen Strippers" up on the marquee. I could feel the sleaze washing over me and making me feel dirty for watching this Times Square time capsule. "Bad Girls Dormitory" looks like it was made for the denizens of New York back when Times Square was the center of exploitation flicks. It was a fine time.

So there are a lot of bad girls in a dormitory. The neglectful warden turns the other way as the prisoners are beaten, raped and generally abused. Every prisoner is given a white t-shirt. It's the standard uniform for bad girls. It's easier to see what they may be hiding under their shirts. You know, like guns, knives, breasts. Soon the abuse will cause the girls to run riot and put some shotguns to good use.

"Bad Girls Dormitory" is a fine women's prison flick. The girls all get naked numerous times and there is plenty of violence to keep everyone happy. Of course, these women are not the prettiest in the world. They look like they could belong in a prison. They've all got that big puffy 80's hairstyle. Big hair for bad girls. But when they're this bad, who really cares?

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

"Now we're even"

Author: sickcritik
8 August 2002

A group of young women have to survive in a brutal, corrupt prison where they are mere sex toys for the staff (both male and female). Very low-budget, shot in New York City. Rape by male prison guards, fights between inmates and female guards, a boyfriend who seems able to come and go as he pleases, and a final shoot out. This film is very disjointed. There is some attempt at character development but overall this is a mess. But it does have one redeeming quality, a long multiple females in the showers scene. A few scenes take place in the showers. The first involves six or seven girls and a leering male prison administrator. The star of the film, Carey Zuris (who plays Lori), is the focus of his ogling eyes. Feeling degraded by his careful examination she finally covers herself and says "Seen enough?". Later another inmate in in the shower by herself, putting on a show for a drooling guard. She knows what he wants and tells him "No!". He says yes and the two end up having sex. Carey goes to take a shower and catches the male administrator nude. She looks his body over and says "Now we're even." She then strips and joins him the the showers. Later Lisa and Rebel (Jennifer Delora and Donna Eskra) plot while in the shower.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Love it!

7/10
Author: jadelimeade from United Kingdom
1 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, I have no idea why this film came on the same video as Scum back in the 90s, you couldn't get two more different films together if you tried.

Bad Girls' Dormitory is just so weird, I mean it's good but what is it all about? It's doesn't even look like it's in a prison, it's so obviously just filmed in a workplace or something! And what kind of prison can visitors just wander in and out of all the time and not even get searched for guns?

Not only that, but being in that prison looks like the most fun thing ever, just hanging out getting stoned and having a dance, plus your boyfriend gets to visit, why do they bother escaping at the end?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"'Oh God, how old are you?"

6/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
26 May 2010

Bad Girls Dormitory is what you get when you put the director of gay porn in charge of a 'Women In Prison' exploitation flick: what is intended to be a gritty slice of sleaze regularly veers into 'camp trash' territory, and the standard of women is average at best, ranging from the downright ugly to the vaguely pretty, with most failing to fill their regulation tight white t-shirts in a satisfactory manner; in contrast, all the men look like gay porn stars, being either buff or blessed with impressive upper-lip facial hair.

Director Tim Kincaid does manage to tick off most of the standard elements one expects from such a film, including a protagonist that doesn't deserve her fate (Carey Zuris as Lori), a cat fight in the mess room, lesbian sex, rape by the more despicable male members of staff, gratuitous shower scenes, a couple of killings, and a riot that allows for a spot of bloody revenge, but his handling of the material is far from great: not one of his cast gives anything remotely resembling a convincing performance; the fight scenes are totally unrealistic; the dialogue is diabolical; and any attempts at pathos are totally botched.

Having said that, it is thanks to Kincaid's lousy film-making skills and his cast's total lack of acting ability—plus loads of hilarious mid-80s trappings—that the film proves to be quite a lot of fun. How could anyone fail to enjoy the drawn out brawl between tough prisoner Rebel (Donna Eskra) and a dyke guard in which neither person lands a convincing punch? Or a disco scene with male visitors dressed like members of Debarge? Or Lisa's stunning (ie. crap) display of grief when she hears of her mother's death? Or... well, the list could go on and on. Suffice to say that if terrible, trashy movies are your thing, you really must see Bad Girls Dormitory.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Dirty alley, paint peeling, filthy floors NYC sleaze

7/10
Author: udar55 from Williamsburg, VA
10 January 2010

This opens with a trio of set-up-but-innocent girls getting arrested and shipped off to the titular facility. The place is run by Miss Madison, who wants to do some experimental reconditioning techniques on her charges and social worker Don Beach (Rick Gianasi) is concerned. Lori (Carey Zuris) emerges as our leading character and, naturally, there are tough chick adversaries in the form of Lisa (Jennifer Delora) and her sidekick Rebel (Donna Eskra). And, even more naturally, Lori and Don hook up.

If you want some 80s NYC sleaze, you can't go wrong with this. Sporting a lo-fi BASKET CASE aesthetic, BAD GIRL'S DORMITORY is rife with dirty NYC alleys, grimy apartment buildings, and basements with peeling paint. I love it. The acting is universally bad but lead Zuris, who looks a bit like Marilyn Chambers, is actually decent. She didn't do anything else. I'd also give Delora points for her tough chick portrayal (she is interviewed on the Media Blasters DVD). Special mention should be made for the obviously pseudonym donning Marita as the warden Miss Madison. Looking like a porn variation of Bridgette Nielsen in ROCKY IV, she is hilariously bad and her bizarre accent makes me suspect she may be Angelika Jager (another pseudonym?) from Kincaid's ROBOT HOLOCAUST (1986). Given how awful Jager was and the proximity of the two productions, they must be the same lady.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A silly 'n' sleazy way to spend 95 minutes.

7/10
Author: Scott LeBrun (Hey_Sweden) from Canada
5 March 2012

Entertainingly inept low budget sleaze set in the title place, with a series of sordid episodes on the way to the climactic action. The inmates are at the mercy of corrupt, leering, creepy staff, and among the story threads there's a girl who gives birth, our lead is raped by one of the guards, and there are assorted fights that go on. This melodramatic trash is brought to us by writer / director Tim Kincaid, who stresses the actresses' assets every chance he gets. Fans of "babes behind bars" cinema will be pleased to note the number of shower scenes. The acting, not surprisingly, is largely of the so-bad-it's-hilarious variety, with some choice dialogue along the way. Dan Barclay is particularly funny as Dr. DeMarco, what with his delivery. The accent of co-star Marita as strict warden Miss Madison definitely adds to the fun factor. Carey Zuris is sincere as principal character Lori, as is Natalie O'Connell as the naive Paige; Jennifer Delora and Donna Eskra are amusing as bad gals Lisa and Rebel, and Rick Gianasi is a hoot as nice guy guard Don Beach. The editing is choppy, and the pacing quite leisurely. It's clear Kincaid has padded this out as much as possible. The impossibly protracted dance sequence is proof of this; it goes on so long it's a riot. The look is very grungy all the way through thanks to the cinematography of Arthur D. Marks, and the non-stop pop / rock score composed by Man Parrish helps to enliven some scenes. Edward French supplies the gore, which greatly assists in the enjoyment of this scuzzy little flick. The fight scenes are awkwardly staged, and the action never too invigorating, but it's hard to deny the clunky charm of the film, which certainly does have its heart in the right depraved place. Seven out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining babes behind bars exploitation junk

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
22 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The much mistreated inmates at a seedy correctional facility plot to break out after suffering considerable abuse from the earnest, yet ineffectual warden Miss Madison (a gloriously godawful portrayal by Marita, who sports a thick foreign accent) and the sadistic staff members that include junkie stud Dr. DeMarco (handsome Dan Barclay), snippy bitch Nurse Stevens (a supremely wicked turn by Rebecca Rothbaum), and the token vicious rapist guard. Writer/director Tim Kincaid scrupulously covers all the essential sleazy trash cinema bases: sex-starved felons who regularly seduce the hunky guards, drug dealing, priceless poor dialogue ("One more word out of you, I'm gonna break your eyeballs"), cheesy gore, fierce catfights, grim flashbacks explaining how certain characters wound up incarcerated, tacky 80's clothes and hairstyles, mostly crummy acting from a lame no-name cast, a thrashy rock soundtrack, a violent climactic riot, and, of course, a copious amount of yummy gratuitous female nudity (yep, we get the obligatory leering group shower sequence). The cast are decidedly hit or miss: the pretty Carey Curtis does passable work as framed innocent new fish Lori, Jennifer Delora has a lip-smacking hammy ball as nasty top con Lisa, Donna Eskra likewise overacts gleefully as sassy'n'horny slut Rebel, and Rick Gianasi is hopelessly wooden as nice guy guard Don Beach. Crudely shot on grainy film stock by Arthur D. Marks and boasting some truly scuzzy New York City locations, this movie has an authentically grubby look. The neatly bumpin' synthesizer score by Man Parrish hits the get-down funky spot. Enjoyable low-rent schlock.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Hose Me Down

8/10
Author: samantha_jayne_fox from United Kingdom
26 February 2008

I am female and I liked this film, it was one of those that my parents rented out and hid in the usual place at the back of the wardrobe, my best mate and I found it one day when rummaging. 80's cheesy music is my thing, and I can't get the 'Hose Me Down' song out of my head. PLease put it on a CD, it isn't on any Man Parrish CDs. If anyone does know of a CD or vinyl with this track on, please put me out of my misery and let me know where I can get my grubby mitts on it. Please do a soundtrack for this film.

It goes something like this; "HOw much love is gonna bring you round, I'm heating up so won't you hose me down....just come to me and don't you make a sound...the time is right to fool around so hose me down".

Thats about all I can remember

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history