IMDb > Bachelor Party (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bachelor Party
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bachelor Party More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 78 reviews in total 

39 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

So funny, one of my new favorite comedies!

Author: Kristine ( from Chicago, Illinois
16 May 2008

I have heard of Bachelor Party a couple times, once on VH1's I love the 80's and also in Clerks 2 there was a small reference. The weird thing is, I'm more used to a dramatic Tom Hanks, other than Big and A League of Their Own, I've never seen him in a raw comedy movie, so it was a little weird to think of Tom Hanks as this very funny male lead in a movie. But I decided to go ahead and give the movie a look, I have to tell you, I haven't laughed so hard and so out loud in a movie like this in a long time. Then I check out the rating on IMDb, 5.7?! Are you kidding me?! This movie is just so beyond funny, I know that it is cliché'd eighties, but come on! I just couldn't believe that anyone else would not find this to be a funny film. If you're telling me you did not find Brad to be funny, you have got to get your funny bone checked because Bachelor Party is non stop laughs from beginning to end.

Rick is about to get married to beautiful Debbie, his friends who live to party are throwing him the biggest bachelor party they can have. Debbie's rich and snobby family definitely don't want Rick to be apart of their lives, so Debbie's dad will do anything, including her ex-boyfriend, Cole, who wants her back, to split them up. But the bachelor party night has arrived, and things are going more crazy than the boys have expected.

Bachelor Party is seriously funny, it's predictable and silly, especially the end, but it's all in good fun. This is perfect 80's humor, it's the humor I miss and I'm sure others do too, because it's raunchy but doesn't over do it and just has fun with the audience. This cast looked like they had an ultimate blast and Tom Hanks was just brilliant, his character could be a jerk, but such a great guy at the same time, so he's real and likable. This is just a funny movie that I would recommend, it's a lot of fun and the rating on IMDb is just too harsh. Come on, let's get this rating up.


Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 38 people found the following review useful:


Author: nursenicki2002 from Central Illinois
28 February 2006

First of all, if you are thinking that this will be some wonderful, well thought out, well crafted artwork starring Tom Hanks, put the movie down and back away from the rack. Now flash back to 1984, when movies were inane and entertaining--solely for entertaining!!! As far as raunchy 80's humor goes, you won't find anything better that Bachelor Party. Yes, the humor is predictable. Yes, the sight gags are predictable. But this movie does it better than anyone else in it's genre (that would be raunchy comedy). Good girl falls for bad boy, plan to get married, but first the guys must be guys. "Let's have a party with liquor and drugs and guns and hookers and cops!" and they do. Don't ask for more than this movie can deliver, yet appreciate it for what it is!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Great to spend time with

Author: Valery from Odessa, UA
9 March 2004

I've read, someone has written "not worth of watching". That's all blah-blah-blah. I looked it through this evening, and I can't even say how many times I've already seen it. None of the modern US comedies could be compared to "Bachelor Party". They are all uninteresting and pure in humour. It makes me think how free were american movie-makers in 80's - they could do and allowed to say everything they wanted. I'm not American and the modern comedies for teens I watch now forced me to believe that as a genre comedy is dead in US. That's why I advise you to watch this movie, old but full of jokes about sex, crazy parties and true love, that means keeping promises.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

A great comedy that deserves more credit

Author: tenohtwo from Phoenix, AZ USA
31 March 2004

Tom Hanks' career began in comedy, and this film is a shining example of his comedic talents. Hanks delivers a satisfying and enjoyable performance as groom-to-be Rick Gassko, and his supporting cast couldn't have been better selected. Many of the film's co-stars had worked with Hanks in the past, most notably on TV's Bosom Buddies. The chemistry is apparent here, as the actors are all very comfortable in their roles, as the dialogue is executed with a smooth, yet expedient wit. The jokes all work in this film - outlandish as some of them may be. There is never a dull moment in Bachelor Party, as each scene is well-constructed to deliver an inevitable laugh, without the premeditated one-liners that seem so forced in today's trash comedies. The events of the film were based on Producer Bob Israel's real life bachelor party experience, and the realism of the story can be felt in the film, as the viewer rarely has to suspend disbelief. This movie can best be appreciated by the movie fan who enjoys witty, smirk-inducing comedies such as Porky's, Animal House, Police Academy, Summer School, and Weekend At Bernie's.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Tom Hanks greatest work

Author: R_Jentsch from Blackwood, NJ
13 June 2004

I think this is one of the funniest movies in the history of comedy. Tom Hanks was a phenomenal comedian at one point in his career, and I would watch this over any of his other movies (even Mazes & Monsters). I don't know what I can say about this movie other than as long as you don't try to take it seriously, it will leave you in stitches for 2 hours, and if you are going to plan a bachelor party, this is your handbook.

The general plot line is Tom Hanks is a blue collar worker (school bus driver for a Catholic School) as are most of his friends, but he falls in love with the rich girl, whose parent's can't stand there daughter dating an uneducated slob. Many of you will say that this plot has been seen numerous times, but this was the original comedy that did it, and did it best. If you haven't seen this movie, take the time to watch it, you don't know what you have been missing.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Works as an amusing time-passer thanks to a likable debut performance by Tom Hanks

Author: MovieAddict2016 from UK
29 April 2005

"Bachelor Party" is very much like other films of its genre except that it is one of Tom Hanks' very early efforts and, as a result, is more fondly remembered than it probably would be without Hanks.

Yes, before Hanks turned into Forrest Gump and an Oscar-winning heavyweight actor, he desperately starred in a 1984 teen sex comedy not unlike "Porky's," "The Last American Virgin" or "American Pie." "Splash" had been a success by now so the marketers could rely upon his newly-created status to promote "Bachelor Party," and it paid off -- this movie was an unexpected hit when it came out (albeit a small one).

Tom Hanks is a fine actor but I have to say that he had a certain charm about his acting that made many mediocre '80s comedies -- including "Turner and Hooch," "The 'burbs" and of course "Bachelor Party" -- immensely likable despite their flaws.

Yes, this is a crude, lewd, rude movie but it has its fair share of embarrassing moments, laugh-out-loud segments and cheesy (but fun) segments. Good entertainment for a Friday or Saturday night, and a good glimpse at a much younger, thinner, more comedic (and slapstick) Tom Hanks before he got all weepy-eyed and serious on us.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Tom Hanks in 'funny' shocker!

Author: David Wilcock
14 April 2000

Bachelor Party has few redeeming features, but it does have one big one: it's funny. Tom Hanks is about to get married, and his friends throw him one big bachelor party. Naked women, large amounts of drinking and a donkey getting high all follow.

Of course, someone wants to ruin the fun, in the form of Hank's bride-to-be father. Naturally, all of his plans to ruin the party are foiled by the motley crew.

Most of the gags in Bachelor Party are tasteless, but that's half of the fun. Not really recommended to devout Christians, but those with open minds will either find this film infectiously silly, or just stupid. It's a nice reminder of what film makers could get away with in the 80's, though. American Pie, it's nearest competitor, is too glossy and slick to be a proper Hollywood soft porn flick. It also has too much of a heart. Bachelor Party just piles on the dirtiness, and throws in a moral at the end, which is the way all 'Porky's' copies should be made (although Party is more fun than Porkys.)

(Comedy, 1984)

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Amusing silly '80's comedy.

Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
23 November 2008

This is one of those typical silly early '80's comedies, that features lots of immature teenage type of lame humor and nudity and sex jokes.

No, this by no means is a great movie and it also is hardly the best the genre has to offer but it's a movie that simply serves its purpose and brings some good entertainment.

The movie features dozens of silly and over-the-top characters, who are the main reason why this movie is such a maintaining and silly entertaining one to watch. It features Tom Hanks in an early comical movie role and it actually is sort of a shame he doesn't do movies like this anymore, since he certainly was very talented at it. Not that I mind the movies that he does now days of course but it at the same time is also a waste of his comical talent.

The movie also tries to feature some more serious elements, that concentrated on what it means to be married. Not that this works out horrible for the movie but it of course is also distracting a bit from what the movie is really truly about; simple immature comedy. Further more there is very little story actually and it simply features on the events during and around a bachelor party.

The movie is so silly, simplistic and immature that you just can't help being entertained by it all. No matter how bad and cheesy it all gets, you can't help laughing at this movie. Some comical moments are just plain great.

A real enjoyable silly '80's comedy, starring a young Tom Hanks.


Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

An early comedy favorite from the 1980's.

Author: Lucien Lessard from Canada
13 July 2007

When a goofy Care-Free bus driver named Rick (Two Time Oscar-Winner:Tom Hanks), who decides to get married with a rich nice young woman named Debbie (Tawny Kitaen). Rick's friends (Adrian Zmed, William Tepper, Barry Diamond, Gary Grossman, Gradford Bancroft & Michael Dudikoff) decides to give Rick, an wild all-out Bachelor Party. While Rick's nemesis, a scumbag named Cole (Robert Prescott) tries to ruined the party of Rick and also trying to framed him as well. Since he's still crazy about his ex-girlfriend:Debbie.

Directed by Neal Isreal (Suft Ninjas) made an amusing comedy, which it was in the heights of Tom Hanks' career. Which he had another hit in 1984, which it was "Splash". Hanks is fun, so is the entire cast. This has some memorable funny scenes and clever gags as well. This has becomes an Camp Classic. Fans of his early work, should enjoy this as well.

DVD has an fine anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer and an good-Dolby Digital 4.0 Surround Sound. DVD also vintage behind the scenes vignettes and short interviews with the actors as well. Fans of wild 1980's sex comedies will have a blast. (****/*****).

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

1984 was a very good year

Author: jerrilynnbthomas from United States
19 March 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My boyfriend took me to see Bachelor Party during my senior year in high school. It was the most fun I had in a long time.

I was scanning Encore an hour ago and came across Bachelor Party. I immediately turned to it. I was curious to find out what it was rated on IMDb since it is one of my all time favorite movies. How can it be just 5.8?

Bachelor Party has everything you need in a crazy 80's movies. The hilarious scene with the female strippers who show up at the Bachelorette Party. The bathroom scene where one of the friends of the groom tells him that he's met his soul mate only to find out the hooker who serviced him is a man so he jumps into the shower to scrub his privates. How about the scene with the hot dog bun at the male stripper club?

Don't even get me started on the donkey? Bachelor Party is a movie that satisfies every time. It never gets old.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history