Playing Shakespeare (TV Mini-Series 1982– ) Poster

(1982– )

Episode List


Season 1

29 Jul. 1982
The Two Traditions
Contrasting Shakespeare's elevated language with modern naturalistic speech.
5 Aug. 1982
Using the Verse
John Barton and company examine blank verse. Its strengths and particularities are discussed in great detail. Members of the cast try out various readings.
12 Aug. 1982
Language and Character
John Barton and the cast discuss how Shakespeare defines his character by the language they speak, and how the characters attempt to achieve their aims by means of what they say and how they say it.
19 Aug. 1982
Exploring a Character
John Barton, Patrick Stewart, and David Suchet explore different ways to play Shylock in Shakespeare's "The Merchant of Venice".
26 Aug. 1982
Set Speeches and Soliloquies
John Barton and members of the RSC present a workshop on how Shakespeare used the soliloquy to directly connect the character with the audience.
2 Sep. 1982
Irony and Ambiguity
John Barton and the RSC actors consider the subtle shadings produced by irony, ambiguity and sarcasm, and how best to express them.
9 Sep. 1982
Passion and Coolness
Hamlet's advice to the players is the best-known acting instruction in theatrical history. John Barton and the RSC actors explore this essential mandate to be both natural and intellectual.
16 Sep. 1982
Rehearsing the Text
John Barton and the actors analyze a scene from Twelfth Night, identifying pointers towards character and staging.
23 Sep. 1982
Poetry and Hidden Poetry
The bard's unparalleled poetry is celebrated and examined in its glory.

 Season 1 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page