IMDb > "The Cosby Show" (1984) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Cosby Show"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Cosby Show" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 10: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 93 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Need we say more about one of the greatest sitcoms to grace the 1980's

Author: raysond from Chapel Hill, North Carolina
16 April 2002

Need I say more about a show that depicted a successful African-American family that had its ups and downs but still made us laugh out loud each and every Thursday evening during its spectacular eight year run on NBC during the 1980's? Yes,The Cosby Show was all that and so much more. This gentle yet hip family comedy was the number one program on television for much of the mid-1980's(it was the Number One show at the top of the Nielsen for the five consecutive seasons that it was on the air)and a striking reminder that TV shows don't have to built on gimmicks to succeed. The series was the first and foremost to be based on a successful standup comedian's act. Bill Cosby had full creative control of this series as well as being the executive producer. Although the main focus was on the immediate family,a number of other characters were seen occasionally,Cliff's parents Anna and Russell and Clair folks Carrie and Al Hanks turned up once in a while as well as a host of other characters during its entire eight year-run.

The series produced 201 episodes and it was on NBC's biggest hits of the 1980's and well into the early 1990's. Premiering on September 20,1984 until May 17,1992 the series was one of its biggest hits on the Thursday night lineup in cohort with "Cheers" and "Hill Street Blues" as it winning combination. No wonder it became one of the biggest sitcoms of the 80's and for good reason it still holds the title.

Was the above review useful to you?

Positive Portrayal of ALL Famlilies

Author: by xander from Canada
12 September 2012

This show believably portrays how amazing and fun a family can be when they love and respect each other. This is phenomenon that might be lost on younger generations. As child rearing and marriage is taken much less seriously. Claire Huxtable (Phylicia Rashad) will will always be the love of my life. I doubt I will find a woman as confident and sensual as this woman. She is lucid and feminine and seems to have no trace of any insecurities. She could be THE role model for woman. Arguably it could be said this is a show based around role models. How to be a good brother, or sister, or husband and wife. I cant think of a good role model on TV today.....

Was the above review useful to you?

Affable Huxtables made it look easy.

8/10
Author: Pierre_D from Ottawa, Canada
26 August 2009

The Cosby show had it all; comedy, drama and a little romance to boot. Heathcliff Huxtable and the lovely Claire ran a tight household while maintaining busy careers.

They were held in check by Cliff's parents and their children, most notably the irrepressible Theo and the idealist Denise. Malcom Jamal-Warner as Theo re-invited Hip-Hop with his friend Coackroach, jamming memorably:

"This is the name of a game called life, we like deluxe burgers and not small fries."

The show peaked in the late 80s, when the children lost their 'cuteness' and Theo bore more and more responsibility toward the household. The show eventually lost most of its charm as it descended into cameos from various African American musicians and endless card games between Cliff's family members. Still, it did provide positive role models for African Americans when they were largely being ignored by prime time television.

Was the above review useful to you?

Get ready for heart warming lessons!

Author: tammyluvsfilm from United States
22 February 2009

Tammy also luvs TV and REALLY loves those wonderful Huxtables. If you think you know it all from your own childhood, Claire and Cliff have plenty to teach you. It would seem as though the show is mostly about Cliff trying to sneak in a nap, or famous guest stars delighting the kids with visits (what kid doesn't love Lena Horne or hearing Christopher Plumber ("Sound of Music") recite Shakespeare???) but it's so much more than that. It was high time wealthy TV parents finally taught the kids that the money doesn't belong to the kids...it's Claire and Cliff who were rich and successful! The kids were poor! And a great lesson was learned by all Americans when Denise was kicked off of the show for appearing in the altogether in that film with Micky Rourke. The rotten apple was hurled from the tree! Bill Cosby really knows how to make us think and I thank him daily for this ground breaking series.

Was the above review useful to you?

I wish Bill Cosby could've been my dad!

9/10
Author: NCarolinaGirl from Greensboro, NC
15 February 2009

I grew up watching this show. I tried to never miss an episode. There was something about the Huxtable family that made me wish they were my family.

Bill Cosby's humor was incredible. And I loved that it was all stories we could relate to - family life. Back then, I related to it as a child. Now, since I have a family of my own, I relate to it as a parent. This was what made the show so relevant regardless of your age - you could watch it with yours kids, your parents and your grandparents. I think it has a timeless appeal to it. I still try to catch it when I can on reruns.

It was great watching the kids grow up on the show. I don't think there were ever two cuter little girls than Rudy and Olivia. They upstaged everyone with their cuteness when they were still small.

I prefer the early seasons when the kids were younger - the show got a little weird towards the end with the cousin. It seemed as though they were running out of material. But even some of those shows are better than much of the garbage that is on TV today.

Of course, being the 80's, there are hilarious hairdo's and clothes. But it makes the watching even more fun now - to look back at the ridiculous styles! And who can forget Bill's psychedelic sweaters.

There something about this show that reminds me of another classic that has endured for over 40 years now and that is THE MAYBERRY SHOW. They have similar themes about family and using good ole common sense, dispensed with lots of love, that never grows old. I believe THE COSBY SHOW will become another enduring classic that will only grow better with time. Isn't it always good to look back and remember the "good ole days".

Was the above review useful to you?

Il Hamdulilah for the Cosby show... America's not all sex and violence

Author: Laura (balootiful@hotmail.com) from United States
23 August 2005

Il Hamdu Lilah for Cosby! The Cosby show is broadcast every weeknight on an Arabic satellite channel, which might not seem like a big deal to you, but to me, it's a huge relief. I have been living in Egypt for about a year, and I am sick of seeing my culture portrayed by Hollywood (although its my home). Most American t.v. and movies are heavily censored (and usually make no sense once large chunks have been cut out), but the Cosby show remains intact. Why? Because it portrays a normal family (more or less)who care about each other. Cosby is a great ambassador. I don't want to get into a whole debate on whether the Cosby show is an accurate portrayal of American life, but compared to most shows and movies, it makes us seem less like sex crazed gun tooting fools, and for that, I am surely glad. I love watching the Cosby show every night before bed, but it also comforts me to know that there is at least one t.v. show out there trying to handle American P.R. to the Middle East...it should be an example to others... The T.V. doesn't end in America....every one sees our entertainment. It can be misread and it can be dangerous...just ask all the other western girls in Egypt who get hassled every day because of the stereotypes of foreign women that Egyptian men see on the screen. I wish they still made t.v. like Cosby....sentimental perhaps, but funny and relaxing, without being cheesy and daft! Shukran ya Cosby! Laura

Was the above review useful to you?

Last of the "True" Sit-coms

Author: ralsalongi from Allentown, PA
3 August 2005

I really believe The Cosby Show was the Last of the true sit-coms. Here was a good clean show, unlike most comedies that are on today. He and his wife taught the kids morals and that is missing from most sit-coms on today. There was no sex talk on the show which also made it great. Most comedies today are nothing but sex jokes. You don't mind it once in a while, but the way it is portrayed today on TV is outrageous.

This was one of the few shows that I wish would have lasted a little longer. What I'd like too see shortly is a reunion show or movie. It could show the other kids married and raising children of their own etc.

I salute the Great Bill Cosby for making this show. It really rocked!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

A true Classic!

Author: gillsjunque
28 November 2004

A true classic in the truest sense of the word. Cosby and Company are priceless as the Huxtables. The youngsters sometimes steal the show, but the commaraderie and closeness of everyone involved in apparent. The best shows are the ones where the family lipsyncs to one of the many classics, complete with the "moves." Most in particular when they put on a "Show" for the grandparents. This is definitely a show for all ages, and one that the family can sit and watch without fear of something inappropriate coming up in the conversation that you have to explain to your little ones as you sit in the evenings. Even as the older kids grew and moved out, as oft happens in real life, the freshness of the show remained.

Was the above review useful to you?

The greatest show

Author: aimee21420 (aimee21420@yahoo.com)
13 October 2004

Hi to everyone. I came here by doing a search for The Cosby Show DVDs. I, like most of you, am anxiously awaiting the arrival of the DVD. I still watch the reruns that come on TV daily (Nick at Nite, TBS, WGN). I LOVE the Huxtable's. They always make me laugh, they are the perfect American family dream. I longed to be a Huxtable (still do actually). I learned some interesting trivia facts from this site. Does anyone know of any other interesting facts (or great websites)? Maybe if we all keep writing letters we can get them to start making the DVDs. I put my name on the list at Amazon (it says that are not currently producing), but I remember waiting on the same list for Indiana Jones (it was not in production either) and one glorious day I got the e-mail, so maybe in time (it's long overdue I must say). If I find any new info I will be sure to post.

Was the above review useful to you?

One of the best sitcoms of all time.

Author: k_dizzle_scarface_nizzle from Ozark, Alabama
10 October 2004

This was the show that saved not only NBC, but the sitcom format in general.

This show premiered at a time when soap operas like DALLAS, DYNASTY, and KNOTS LANDING where the order of the day, and classic sitcoms like M*A*S*H, HAPPY DAYS, ALL IN THE FAMILY, and THE JEFFERSONS were meeting-or met-their end. COSBY brings back a time when children actually respected their parents and elders and proved that not all blacks had strut, yell and spit one-liners to carry a show. The Huxtables were like a second family to me as a child. I always looked forward to Thursday nights at 8:00 for eight years. This show, along with FAMILY TIES, CHEERS, and NIGHT COURT was a part of the original MUST SEE TV lineup in the 80s.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 10: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history