IMDb > Confidentially Yours (1983) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Vivement dimanche!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Confidentially Yours More at IMDbPro »Vivement dimanche! (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

34 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Trintignant & Ardant in Truffaut's 'Confidentially Yours' - definitely a tribute to Hitchcock with smiles

8/10
Author: Ruby Liang (ruby_fff) from sf, usa
23 July 2001

"Delight has no Competitor, so it is always most." Emily Dickinson's epigram satisfyingly describes the sublime last film of François Truffaut "Vivement Dimanche!" 1983 ("Finally, Sunday" aka "Confidentially Yours"). It's a Hitchcockian thriller shot in black & white, with ("A Man and A Woman," "Trois Colours: Rouge") Jean Louis Trintignant as the man suspected of murder(s), and Fanny Ardant as his dedicated secretary going all out to investigate on her own.

It's becoming my best favorite Truffaut film besides "Fahrenheit 451" 1966, and "Stolen Kisses" 1968. Delightful comic rhythm they have, Ardant and Trintignant together, impeccably delivered this fun thriller like a dance between Astaire and Rogers.

Truffaut's thoughtful details abound. There's the dedication to Stanley Kubrick: at Cinema Eden, we see poster of his 1957's "Paths of Glory," which was once banned in France. There's mention of Vietnamese Restaurant. Ah, the "Rear Window" feeling when the pair poked around, entering a stranger's apartment. There's the use of Le Provençal car. And the 'killer' from Barbara's angle, we see the feet but not the face - who could it be? The variety of women characters: married woman, divorced woman, madam, sinister dealer, secretarial applicant, and Barbara.

Barbara is a brunette who looks dumb and smart all at once, insecure about herself yet so confident in her deductions, bold not shy, she's obstinately determined to get the 'killer' so to prove her boss, Trintignant's Julien (whom she secretly loves) innocent. Ardant is Barbara personified. It's so cool watching her moves and energetic responses with Trintignant matching her steps.

A truly colorful black and white light-hearted mystery. The fun is in the dialog and the repartee between the characters, including the detectives and the many phone calls. The delight is in the plot movement, suspenseful intrigue upon intrigue, continuing humor and surprise after surprise as we follow Ardant and Trintignant, even a kiss has a 'movie' reason.

Absolutely satisfying cinematic affair it is, entertaining complete with a melodic end music from Georges Delerue to go with the playful imagery behind the credits roll. I succumb, this is my best loved Truffaut film, "Vivement Dimanche!"

P.S. At times it brings to mind Woody Allen's 1993 "Manhattan Murder Mystery," while certain angles of Fanny Ardant reminds one of Geena Davis' profile.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Funny, surprising, very intelligent

10/10
Author: A Barros from Brazil
27 February 2005

Truffaut did some beautiful movies and this, along with La femme d'à coté, is a favorite. The B&W gives the film ambiance, Fanny Ardent gives the film grace. She's the heart and soul of the film and is in very good company. The plot is smart and full of twists - will keep you hooked to the end. What initially appears to be another passion crime unfolds into the secret relationships of the deceased, into the underworld, and into the many abilities of a secretary that happens to be in love with the boss. The movie is very instigating in showing a feminist approach to crime solving, where, surprisingly, the heroin is ready to stand rather strong abuse. Well worth bearing the legends if you can't handle French.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

A funny and smart Thriller!!!

8/10
Author: anton-6 from sweden
5 November 2001

Truffaut´s last film is a funny and smart thriller that feels very Hitchcock inspired.It´s entertaining but has no depth.The acting by Fanny Ardant is very funny and great.Also very beautifully shot in black & white and I think that François Truffaut was one of the best directors and he did some fantastic films.4/5

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Genius finale of a great director

8/10
Author: Jonathan Doron (yonatandoron@walla.co.il) from Israel
18 May 1999

The most suitable movie in the 80's to be filmed in black-and-white. Masterfully directed by Francois Truffuat. Huge part smart, swift, suspenseful and surprising; interesting almost to the very end, (the mystery is slightly better than its solution). Wish they'd make more like these.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

God bless Francois Truffaut

9/10
Author: buster75219 from Dallas, TX
17 August 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Once I heard the delightful music upon the opening credits and Fanny Ardent's heels clicking down the avenue-I was immediately hooked on the film-who wouldn't be? I love that he goes full circle with the same tunes at the end of the film while the choir children are shuffling the camera man's lens around like a hockey puck! Fanny is just a gem to watch-one is just mesmerized by her intoxicating beauty and her (as one of the policeman puts it) her "Miss Know it All"-ism. Once commenter on this site compared the film to Woody's "Manhattan Murder Mystery" which in and of itself contained many Hitchcockian references. I see Ardent as possibly the "Keaton" like character-mischievous-looking deeper and deeper-opening up "Pandoras Box" getting into trouble for for justice! As fans of Truffaut we all know this was indeed his tribute/homage to Hitch and a great one indeed-not only to him but to film noir all together. One can only think if Truffaut had lived longer what other genres he might have explored since this was such a wonderful example of not only the genre itself but also of his brilliant style of film-making for generations to share forever. God bless Francois Truffaut!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Great Fun Movie

9/10
Author: rjkohn from Central Florida, USA
3 November 2010

Confidentially is truly one of the very best fun mysteries. Frankly,I don't quite understand how some do not seem to understand that this is just a wonderful way to pass a couple of hours. It certainly is not necessary to analyze each and every minute of the picture. I suppose that most of us have a few films, which we always remember and continually go back to contemplate. This is Confidentially. I have it on a quite old VHS and probably watch it at least once every few months. There are so many wonderful aspects. So very different from the run of the mill. I can watch over and over again the opening scene walking with the dog or the closing playing with the lens cap. What incredible music. Interesting, in another Truffaut film, the leg walking scene is vividly portrayed. Ardant is one of those very special French artists that never seem to change or for that matter, age. Twenty years after this film, she starred in Nathalie and Callas. She still is extremely beautiful. I sure would like to figure out just what is the French secret. Danielle Darrieux is still making pictures at 93. It has been more than 50 years since Jean Louis Trintignant became famous after his Brigitte Bardot film. BTW - there are so very many ever so interesting small pieces in Confidentially. One I really like is the one about the girl who comes to the office for a secretarial job interview. This picture is now 27 years old. Will we have to wait another 27 years for another perfectly coordinated and exquisitely designed film to appear?

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Good Romantic

8/10
Author: Kumar Y from United Kingdom
6 October 2005

People might think i am mad to give 8. But somehow i liked the way the picture has been presented. Complexity in the relationship i think it has been subtly but strongly depicted. another good point is this movie took the suspense tempo so well till the end of (or nearer to the end)the movie. Forget about certain illogical sequences, how this could happen or what, but the most appreciable thing was the suspense was never broken till the last few scenes, the tempo was kept without losing it, romance bit was there to show how people are so blind sometimes, they miss the real love and run after beauty. Hey i liked it. Its good movie to make your mood lighter.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The Long Saturday night Truffaut style is a homage winner.

9/10
Author: Spikeopath from United Kingdom
4 March 2008

World cinema lost a great craftsman when François Truffaut passed away from a brain tumour in 1984, but his legacy lives on of course and here in Vivement dimanche! we have a very fitting and enjoyable swansong. Basically a crime/romance film, Truffaut treats us to a sort of pulp noir for the 80s audience, and by golly it works a treat. The plot is scrambled as Barbara Becker goes in search of clues to prove that her boss {ex} is innocent of a murder when all the evidence points to him actually being the killer. It sounds simple but there is much more going on as Truffaut has woven into the mix the complexities of love, there is more to Barbara and her boss Julien than is at first thought, and the journey that Barbara takes is dark and interesting in equal measure.

The cast are simply sublime, I adored every actor in this film because they all give memorable performances to a number of interesting and integral characters. The leads are pitch perfect, Fanny Ardant as Barbara is just wonderful, putting layers into the role the further into the seedy underworld she goes, whilst Jean-Louis Trintignant feeds off Ardant's lead and gives a gusto and perfectly wrought turn to savour, shot in classic black & white to add to the flavour of the genre, the film is a sure fire winner, and the ending is tops as well, 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Sunday, bloody Sunday

7/10
Author: jotix100 from New York
2 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Leave it to the French to find an American pulp fiction novel like Charles Williams' "The Long Saturday Night" and turn it to cinematic terms. Such was the choice of Francois Truffaut, one of the champions of the New Wave movement, and a fervent admirer of director Alfred Hitchcock, to translate the story into a French one, paying homage to his idol as he only knew how. The result was a film a step below of his great movies.

The story is about Jean Vercel, a real estate agent, who is a suspect for killing both his wife, Marie-Christine, and her lover. Vatel goes to hide in his office and engages his secretary, Barbara, who is secretly in love with her boss to do the investigating as he wants to clear his name. It is clear that Barbara has a knack for getting to the bottom of the problem to help the man she loves.

Truffaut shot the film in black and white. He worked on the screenplay with two writers he had worked before, Suzanne Schiffman and Jean Aurel. The result is a movie that was more a product of the way he felt about Hitchcock, and in many respects, also an homage to Stanley Kubrick, whom he also admired, than a deeply felt film. To prove how he felt about Kubrick, he has Barbara at one point ask a cinema ticket seller whether "Paths of Glory" is a love story. Mr. Truffaut must have been sick while involved in the project because he died shortly after it was finished.

Fanny Ardant is the best excuse for watching the movie. She plays Barbara, the secretary that wants to exonerate her boss and acts as a detective. Jean Louis Trintignant is the accused man, Jean Vercel, in a role that didn't do much for him. This film was also a tribute to Ms. Ardant and the way the director felt about her.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Stunned in Too Many Ways

Author: gigantes (nbendezu1@yahoo.com) from west philly
6 April 2003

i was up late, scamming for some reason to continue my slackful ways... i chanced upon this little gem, halfway through... i knew nothing about this work except it being from overseas...

i was hooked; entranced; captivated by the style, dialogue, pacing and FANNY... what a spark of life she was... beautiful and damaged...

well, i am stunned that this film is from 1983??? surely it's a mistake- 1963 perhaps? and i don't mean the fact it's B&W- this production style is long since passed... isn't it??

stunned also by these user reviews... they are professional-grade, i swear... as good as the movie, i think... something tells me i must watch much more truffaut... and FANNY...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history