IMDb > Private School (1983) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Private School
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Private School More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 59 reviews in total 

A whole new meaning to bare back riding.....

6/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
4 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Christine, a student at a girls private school, is in love with Jim, who attends an academy for boys nearby.

Christine's arch rival Jordan also has her eye on Jim, and she is willing to do whatever she can to steal him away. Jim's buddy Bubba is going with Betsy, Christine's friend, though he would probably be unfaithful if any other woman were willing.

Bubba and his pals sneak into the girls' school dressed in drag in hopes of reaching the women's shower room, while Christine and Jim run away together for the weekend, though their escapade isn't as romantic as they had hoped....

What is there to say about this film, how can you surmise a film where nothing relevant happens regarding the narrative and story?

If you like films from the eighties, such as Fast Times..., Porkys, etc, then you will lap this up.

The films main goal is to get Matthew Modine and his very sick pals to get as many naked photos of Jigsaws Wife from the Saw franchise.

They dress in drag, climb on window ledges, and mistake the gym teacher for their girlfriend, the height of hilarity.

I didn't laugh once, but I enjoyed it in some bizarre way, like guessing all the tropes, and wondering when the point was when the headmistress got it on.

Its nothing new, there is no real plot, and it's very generic, but hey, it's still a bit of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

Average

5/10
Author: SanteeFats from United States
20 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you can't tell from the movie intro description this is a typical sophomoric coming of age type movie. I enjoyed this movie even if most of the star ratings were only a one. The pranks that are played are actually pretty funny, juvenile but funny. Phoebe Cates is always a fine addition to any movie as far as I am concerned. The rivalry between her and the not as hot as she thinks broad is fairly typical for the time frame of the movie. The boys from the near by school are exactly as I remember my times at that age, trying like hell to get any kind of sex be it just a look at any or all of girls body or actually getting to one of the bases.

Was the above review useful to you?

Russel and Cates in a Classic Teen Movie

6/10
Author: ebiros2 from United States
16 October 2012

This movie is all about Cates, and Russel, but there're good amount of flesh in between too.

The movie basically is about sexual interest the boys have in the girls that are in the same private school they're in. There're very little other plots to the story.

The movie basically revolves around Christine (Phoebe Cates), and Jordan (Betsy Russel). While Cates is severely limited in her range of emotions, Russel carries most of the interesting parts of the story.

For a movie that has almost no story to it, it's sure entertaining. The movie is basically a prototypical "cute" movies of the '80s, where raw power of the '70s started to take back seat to smaller social settings, and more charming behavior of the '80s.

The movie is certainly one of the classic teen movie of all times, and is still entertaining to watch. ≈

Was the above review useful to you?

Private School is a great movie.

10/10
Author: jasonautographs from United States
28 October 2006

Betsy Russell is Very very Hot in this movie. You will want to see every movie that she has ever done after you see her in private School.Betsy Russell is also a great actress. She was in Avenging angel,Tomboy,Out Of Control,Trapper County War,Cheerleader Camp,Delta Heat and many others check IMDb for more. If you see Private School it is very entertaining but Betsy Russell steals the show with her beauty. also starring in this movie is Matthew Modine,Phoebe Cates and Michael Zorek. Ray Walston and Sylvia Kristel are also featured.I'd also like to mention it has a great soundtrack.Betsy Russell is an 11+ in Private School.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie should be released on DVD

10/10
Author: danwong-1 from United States
10 October 2006

Excellent because it follows suit with all the other cheesy, "sex-free" (nakedness) of the 1980s type movies, IE. Fast Times at Ridgemont High. This was the first movie I saw that had any sexual scenes in it and I loved it. Especially when we saw Jordan do her infamous horse trotting display. She's the inspiration for the women's liberation movement. Afterall, didn't they take up after her by burning their own bras in effigy?

Seriously, we need to send a message to the movie label executives that they DO NOT know what people want. Private School needs to be released ASAP!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

average

6/10
Author: Thomas E. Thorsen (thorsen1146@comcast.net) from United States
26 January 2006

I'm 37 years old and I probably been watched this movie 100 times since I was a teenager. It's actually a dumb movie but who can resist the dumb teenybopper movies from the 80's excluding fast times most if not all were dumb as ---- but they were somewhat watchable. This one I saw on regular t.v. remember those days. The cut version but I actually have had a crush on Betsy Russell since that day. I even watched this movie hopefully for the last time last summer while I drank a twelve pack I actually watched the uncut version and still got turned on to Betsy I mean Jordan Leigh Jensen the typical 80's rich stuck on herself ----- by the way Kelly Preston was pretty good in that role as a teeny bopper in the 80's too. I used too think this movie had (Jordan) with her ample bosom showing in more than one scene but it was the finest bareback riding that's I've ever seen no I don't watch porn maybe soft porn but I still watch those old too me a classic 80's ten movies and I give this one a six because it's still watchable (barely) because as with all the teen actresses I got turned on too were all a little older. One last thing the two bedroom scenes with the bitchy and c-tease Jordan are classic material for a thirteen year old too see 13 going on 37 I don't even know why I wrote this but I don't feel so weird anymore confessions of an aging generation

Was the above review useful to you?

I kinda thought it was cute

5/10
Author: po5mrk
21 May 2000

Ok, I admit, I have a soft spot for Matthew Modine... In any case I still thought there were a few laughs to be found even if "Private School" was devoid of any real plot. I especially thought that the end was sweet. I would recommend seeing it if nothing else fantastic is on TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Should be in every teen sex comedy collection!

9/10
Author: Mike K. from Zuma Beach California
15 May 2011

Wish every t&a teen sex comedy could be as good as Private School! Rare combination of good humor,above average acting,good music,beautiful girls and LOTS of nudity.

Phoebe Cates looks spectacular in this film,but sadly does not have a nude scene (although she comes close in an erotic beach scene).I wish she had become a bigger star,i never get tired of looking at her.

Betsy Russell also looks awesome and has multiple nude scenes including full frontal.Her acting is much better,and she looks quite different than in Tomboy which came out 2 years later.

The girls shower scene in Private School is even better than the famous one in Porky's...Full frontal paradise!

Not only is the comedy good,but so is the music! A lot of these movies had terrible generic 80's sounding dance/new wave but not Private School! 80's bands like Stray Cats and Bow Wow Wow raise the quality of this already great movie and Phoebe Cates even has a good original song.

If you like these kind of films,Private School is about as good as they get.In fact it may be the best of its kind from the 80's,its at least up there with Lunch Wagon,Hot Moves and The Beach Girls.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hugely enjoyable 80's collegiate sex comedy romp

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
3 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Sweet Chris Ramsey (an utterly charming and vibrant performance by the adorable Phoebe Cates) and stuck-up bitch Jordan Leigh-Jensen (delightfully played to the venomous snobby hilt by the delectable Betsy Russell) compete with each other over the affections of nice guy Jim Green (likable Matthew Modine). Meanwhile, the students in two rival private schools participate in all kinds of wacky antics. Director Noel Black, working from a blithely slight and inane script by Dan Greenburg and Suzanne O'Malley, keeps the pace zipping along at a constant snappy rate and pitches the amusingly lowbrow humor at an appropriately broad level. The lively acting from the enthusiastic cast helps matters a whole lot: Cates and Modine are appealing leads, Russells positively smolders with a highly combustible sexiness, Sylvia Kristel has a memorably sultry part as alluring sex ed teacher Miss Regina Copoletta, Kathleen Wilhoite makes a sparky debut as the sassy Betsy, plus there are entertaining contributions by Michael Zorek as rowdy fat slob Bubba Beauregard, Ray Walston as suave chauffeur Chauncey, Fran Ryan as the stern and uptight head mistress Miss Dutchbok, Jonathan Prince as bespectacled nerd Roy, and, in an especially hilarious bit, an unbilled Martin Mull as an amiable drug store clerk. This movie is further galvanized by a first-rate soundtrack of excellent and energetic 80's rock songs by such artists as Bow Wow Wow, the Stray Cats, Rick Springfield, and Vanity Six. Best of all, this picture sure doesn't skimp on the tasty gratuitous female nudity: Russell's legendary bareback (and chest) horse riding scene deserves its classic status while both an uncredited Brinke Stevens and buxom blonde "Playboy" Playmate Lynda Wiesmeier show off their smokin' hot stuff in a simply spectacular girls' shower room set piece. Moreover, there's a supremely breezy'n'easy carefree quality to this movie that's impossible to either dislike or resist. An absolute hoot.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

This film reminds me of something

8/10
Author: chengyanmontreal from Canada
3 October 2009

It reminds me of my 3 years at Columbia international college in Hamilton, Ontario.

Take a look at their campus (www.cic-totalcare.com) and you'll find it really resembles the school in this movie.

Even the dorms are alike.

Anyway, many parents of girls know adolescence does not arrive on a specified date. They know it has nothing to do with a magical number like 14. The signs might be sporadic at first: a sudden outburst that seems like an overreaction, a little more sarcasm peppering their answers to your questions, a little less cooperation.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history