IMDb > Private School (1983) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Private School
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Private School More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 61 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I have seen Betsy Russell and she is GLORIOUS!

7/10
Author: stioux from Munster, IN
30 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was an awesomely bad 80's film. The fact you could run a Mack Truck through the plot line is a moot point. You have a very hot Betsy Russell riding on top of a horse topless, Russell's shower scene, and her seducing of Modine is glorious. Phoebe Cates is hot as well but the Hubba Hubba award goes to Betsey. Plus this movie has My Favorite Martian "Mr. Hand" as a horny limo driver making out with the school master, what great fun. The biggest reason I like the film is nostalgia. I loved watching this film as a kid and watching it brings me back in time. If I was Greek I would say OPA! An Oscar type film no, a good film no, but it beats watching infomercials!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Does what a teen movie needs to do.

6/10
Author: Menno from Netherlands
2 August 2011

OK as I said this is a teen movie so it needs to have hot girls, show enough skin, have stupid (in the good way) humor and be anti authority. This movie has it all. It isn't the best in it's respective genre but it is good enough to keep you entertained.

The negative (or positive you decide) of this movie is that it leans a little heavy on the tits and ass and sometimes neglects the other elements of the movie. Don't believe me look at the box shots, they just look like a cheap porn.

The only thing I don't get is why an exclusive girl and boy school would be build so close to each other and have that level of interaction it kinda beats the point of having a separated school in the first place. I guess it feeds into the male fantasy or something.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Goof: riding seen

10/10
Author: Nbvs1 from United States
8 December 2006

I love Phoebe Cates. So I had to give this movie a ten, even though I might be insane for doing so. I noticed that there were some goofs in the postings for this movie. I found another one. In the riding seen, Jim is sitting with Christine on the fence when Jordan decides to go "topless". When Bubba starts to chase her on his horse, you can see Jim running behind him. He is no longer on the fence. How many times do you think I had to see this movie to come up with that one? Martin Mull has a small role as the pharmacist in the drugstore where Christine is trying to buy condoms. He is not listed in the credits. Also, I noticed that Paula Abdul was in the credits for organizing the dance sequence. This must have been even before her singing career. She was a cheerleader for the Lakers' basketball team. This must have been one of her first jobs.

Was the above review useful to you?

Animal House School

Author: sol- from Perth, Australia
20 December 2016

Friends and enemies come in the way of two high school students planning a romantic weekend to lose their virginity in this raunchy comedy from 'Pretty Poison' director Noel Black. The plot here is wafer thin and only really serves as a launching pad for a series of 'Animal House' style gags and pranks, however, these episodes are so amusing and memorable that it could hardly matter less how simple the overarching story is or how admittedly bland the two protagonists are. An uncredited Martin Mull carries the film's best sequence in a kooky turn as a fast-talking pharmacist who makes condom-buying a challenge, but the entire supporting cast is in top form - Ray Walston as a sly chauffeur and Fran Ryan as a stern headmistress (who gets caught in every shenanigan) in particular. Betsy Russell also does well playing the closest the film has to an antagonist and there is a hilarious sequence in which she is lured into a male dormitory room full of boys spying on her from every nook and cranny, something she remains oblivious to despite several boys almost showing their faces and often making noises! Not all of the humour works though; it is more pitiful than funny to see the three main male characters dress in drag to sneak into the girls' dormitory. The casting of Sylvia ('Lady Chatterly's Lover') Kristel as a mousy sex education teacher is something that must have sounded funnier on paper than it is in actuality. Generally speaking though, this is a pleasant and frequently funny ride with an ending that it is hard to forget and a catchy theme song.

Was the above review useful to you?

One movie in a generation of movies that got skipped.+

7/10
Author: TheGDfather from Grand forks
2 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It was hard not give this movie an 8 or higher but I will explain why in a second why I couldn't. My ratings are usually higher than the average for people rating these movies. And the rating from IMDb is probably right on the money. I gave it a .5 higher due to this is my favorite generation of movies, and music. 1975 to 1985. The very first babies from the offspring of the baby boomers. These were the very first of that start of generation that came along of their children. And they made the most of it.

As seen in this movie Private student. I just missed this generation. I was born in 77 so you can bet my parents were not letting me a 6 see any nudity of this kind. When people see this now they probably want to compare it to fast times at ridgemont high. Don't!!! You will see a lot more nudity in this film and its just not as funny. Jennifer Jason Leigh was given a lot of freedom in her role in fast times at ridgemont high and there is also nothing to compare to Sean Penns acting. Too many kids in 2016 wish they could live up to those standards he set in that movie. Jennifer Leigh just seemed like she naturally played that role. Phoebe Cates has the same natural talent in both movies. That generation surely found women that weren't afraid to be sexual, talk dirty and seriously just let it rip on their language and actions while adding sarcasm to it. Nowadays directors just control the actors so much you don't see these type of actors. Lindsay Lohan might have been the last version of it, and she was short lived.

As some other reviewers have mentioned. To understand this you have to understand the early 80's. Yes they had porno's (the porno industry just started booming with VHS then), and sure they had playboy. But nothing online and you couldn't just see breast and porn at your finger tips. So this movie must have been a real treat in its day. About time I was old enough to watch this stuff in my generation (late 80's early 90's) you better have showtime, Cinemax or the movie channel.

Another great thing about this movie is the girls are realistic. The guys well, thats another thing. But the girls are down to earth and pretty great looking but they don't fake like you get in todays movies. Most of things now would get you arrested. And even when the head mistress at the school was on the horn in the car, that would get her thrown out and all the front page today. Times are different and even then that was serious but people just figured ah well lets move on. All serious crimes so when you watch this movie you have to take today's standards out of the mix.

But enough about what is different about the times when this movie was made and now. More about the movie and if you should watch it or not. Yes, I would say yes. If you can get past the nudity. This movie had an eye out for certain viewers. Not all people in America is going to want to see a teenage fantasy of girls horseback riding and having a hard time with guys in a private high school. I assume people had bigger problems even then. And yes the best part of the movie was that horseback seen when Jordan took her shirt off. Honestly speaking I still can't get that image out of my head. I liked that scene better compared to the Phoebe cates pool scene in fast times at Ridgemont high. But as said certain viewers can relate to this movie others cannot.

The directors did a great job of just sticking to the script. They didn't go all over the place. Nudity, teenagers, pranks, and simply the 80's and music. Thats it. Even the love interest that it tries to sell in the story title is not there. Just a couple of teenagers lying to get a hotel room. Good job on their part, they left it alone. They probably could have taken that scene out and the movie still would have been fine. I seen animal house and I like this better.

If you want a slap stick comedy with some young and upping comers just being natural this is it. Its a 7 maybe at the worst a 5. But its nice to watch and honestly once again besides a few love scenes that didn't need to be in there, it was great. But anything is going to be a 7 to me that includes, early 80's, alcohol, women, nudity and good acting. You can't go wrong with that. and yes fast times at Ridgemont high is a better movie. But this needs to be watched too.

Was the above review useful to you?

no actual comedy

5/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
28 July 2015

Sweet Christine (Phoebe Cates) and her best friend Betsy (Kathleen Wilhoite) attend the Cherryvale Academy for Girls. Rival Jordan (Betsy Russell) vows to steal Christine's boyfriend Jim (Matthew Modine). Jim's slob friend Bubba is hooking up with Betsy. The boys dress as girls to sneak into the all girls school. Christine finds Jim with Jordan and she stops talking to him. Ms. Copuletta (Sylvia Kristel) teaches sex education. Chauncey (Ray Walston) is Jordan's father's driver.

As far as male fantasies go, it doesn't get much better than Betsy Russell riding a horse. Along with Phoebe Cates herself in Fast Times, they are teen boys' dreams of that era. It's more notable for the sex romp than any actual comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

A whole new meaning to bare back riding.....

6/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
4 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Christine, a student at a girls private school, is in love with Jim, who attends an academy for boys nearby.

Christine's arch rival Jordan also has her eye on Jim, and she is willing to do whatever she can to steal him away. Jim's buddy Bubba is going with Betsy, Christine's friend, though he would probably be unfaithful if any other woman were willing.

Bubba and his pals sneak into the girls' school dressed in drag in hopes of reaching the women's shower room, while Christine and Jim run away together for the weekend, though their escapade isn't as romantic as they had hoped....

What is there to say about this film, how can you surmise a film where nothing relevant happens regarding the narrative and story?

If you like films from the eighties, such as Fast Times..., Porkys, etc, then you will lap this up.

The films main goal is to get Matthew Modine and his very sick pals to get as many naked photos of Jigsaws Wife from the Saw franchise.

They dress in drag, climb on window ledges, and mistake the gym teacher for their girlfriend, the height of hilarity.

I didn't laugh once, but I enjoyed it in some bizarre way, like guessing all the tropes, and wondering when the point was when the headmistress got it on.

Its nothing new, there is no real plot, and it's very generic, but hey, it's still a bit of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

Average

5/10
Author: SanteeFats from United States
20 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you can't tell from the movie intro description this is a typical sophomoric coming of age type movie. I enjoyed this movie even if most of the star ratings were only a one. The pranks that are played are actually pretty funny, juvenile but funny. Phoebe Cates is always a fine addition to any movie as far as I am concerned. The rivalry between her and the not as hot as she thinks broad is fairly typical for the time frame of the movie. The boys from the near by school are exactly as I remember my times at that age, trying like hell to get any kind of sex be it just a look at any or all of girls body or actually getting to one of the bases.

Was the above review useful to you?

Russel and Cates in a Classic Teen Movie

6/10
Author: ebiros2 from United States
16 October 2012

This movie is all about Cates, and Russel, but there're good amount of flesh in between too.

The movie basically is about sexual interest the boys have in the girls that are in the same private school they're in. There're very little other plots to the story.

The movie basically revolves around Christine (Phoebe Cates), and Jordan (Betsy Russel). While Cates is severely limited in her range of emotions, Russel carries most of the interesting parts of the story.

For a movie that has almost no story to it, it's sure entertaining. The movie is basically a prototypical "cute" movies of the '80s, where raw power of the '70s started to take back seat to smaller social settings, and more charming behavior of the '80s.

The movie is certainly one of the classic teen movie of all times, and is still entertaining to watch. ≈

Was the above review useful to you?

Private School is a great movie.

10/10
Author: jasonautographs from United States
28 October 2006

Betsy Russell is Very very Hot in this movie. You will want to see every movie that she has ever done after you see her in private School.Betsy Russell is also a great actress. She was in Avenging angel,Tomboy,Out Of Control,Trapper County War,Cheerleader Camp,Delta Heat and many others check IMDb for more. If you see Private School it is very entertaining but Betsy Russell steals the show with her beauty. also starring in this movie is Matthew Modine,Phoebe Cates and Michael Zorek. Ray Walston and Sylvia Kristel are also featured.I'd also like to mention it has a great soundtrack.Betsy Russell is an 11+ in Private School.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history