IMDb > Private School (1983) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Private School
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Private School More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 60 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This movie and others of this type

10/10
Author: almoura_2 from Portugal
4 September 2007

Well I loved Private Schools it makes me VERY HAPPY,Excellent movie, nice soundtrack,good production. I just love this type of films just like like "The New Guy","Bring It On","Not Another Teenagers Movie","Meatballs",(maybe called Teenagers movies)... You know this kind of movies they make me real happy, they make me remember my school mates,the summer,its hard to explain my feeling.I could see this kind of movies over and over and over again.

The character i most liked was Bubba hes so funny and just hes face when seeing a chick makes me laugh.

Overall: This movies are AWESOME!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I have seen Betsy Russell and she is GLORIOUS!

7/10
Author: stioux from Munster, IN
30 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was an awesomely bad 80's film. The fact you could run a Mack Truck through the plot line is a moot point. You have a very hot Betsy Russell riding on top of a horse topless, Russell's shower scene, and her seducing of Modine is glorious. Phoebe Cates is hot as well but the Hubba Hubba award goes to Betsey. Plus this movie has My Favorite Martian "Mr. Hand" as a horny limo driver making out with the school master, what great fun. The biggest reason I like the film is nostalgia. I loved watching this film as a kid and watching it brings me back in time. If I was Greek I would say OPA! An Oscar type film no, a good film no, but it beats watching infomercials!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Does what a teen movie needs to do.

6/10
Author: Menno from Netherlands
2 August 2011

OK as I said this is a teen movie so it needs to have hot girls, show enough skin, have stupid (in the good way) humor and be anti authority. This movie has it all. It isn't the best in it's respective genre but it is good enough to keep you entertained.

The negative (or positive you decide) of this movie is that it leans a little heavy on the tits and ass and sometimes neglects the other elements of the movie. Don't believe me look at the box shots, they just look like a cheap porn.

The only thing I don't get is why an exclusive girl and boy school would be build so close to each other and have that level of interaction it kinda beats the point of having a separated school in the first place. I guess it feeds into the male fantasy or something.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Goof: riding seen

10/10
Author: Nbvs1 from United States
8 December 2006

I love Phoebe Cates. So I had to give this movie a ten, even though I might be insane for doing so. I noticed that there were some goofs in the postings for this movie. I found another one. In the riding seen, Jim is sitting with Christine on the fence when Jordan decides to go "topless". When Bubba starts to chase her on his horse, you can see Jim running behind him. He is no longer on the fence. How many times do you think I had to see this movie to come up with that one? Martin Mull has a small role as the pharmacist in the drugstore where Christine is trying to buy condoms. He is not listed in the credits. Also, I noticed that Paula Abdul was in the credits for organizing the dance sequence. This must have been even before her singing career. She was a cheerleader for the Lakers' basketball team. This must have been one of her first jobs.

Was the above review useful to you?

no actual comedy

5/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
28 July 2015

Sweet Christine (Phoebe Cates) and her best friend Betsy (Kathleen Wilhoite) attend the Cherryvale Academy for Girls. Rival Jordan (Betsy Russell) vows to steal Christine's boyfriend Jim (Matthew Modine). Jim's slob friend Bubba is hooking up with Betsy. The boys dress as girls to sneak into the all girls school. Christine finds Jim with Jordan and she stops talking to him. Ms. Copuletta (Sylvia Kristel) teaches sex education. Chauncey (Ray Walston) is Jordan's father's driver.

As far as male fantasies go, it doesn't get much better than Betsy Russell riding a horse. Along with Phoebe Cates herself in Fast Times, they are teen boys' dreams of that era. It's more notable for the sex romp than any actual comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

A whole new meaning to bare back riding.....

6/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
4 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Christine, a student at a girls private school, is in love with Jim, who attends an academy for boys nearby.

Christine's arch rival Jordan also has her eye on Jim, and she is willing to do whatever she can to steal him away. Jim's buddy Bubba is going with Betsy, Christine's friend, though he would probably be unfaithful if any other woman were willing.

Bubba and his pals sneak into the girls' school dressed in drag in hopes of reaching the women's shower room, while Christine and Jim run away together for the weekend, though their escapade isn't as romantic as they had hoped....

What is there to say about this film, how can you surmise a film where nothing relevant happens regarding the narrative and story?

If you like films from the eighties, such as Fast Times..., Porkys, etc, then you will lap this up.

The films main goal is to get Matthew Modine and his very sick pals to get as many naked photos of Jigsaws Wife from the Saw franchise.

They dress in drag, climb on window ledges, and mistake the gym teacher for their girlfriend, the height of hilarity.

I didn't laugh once, but I enjoyed it in some bizarre way, like guessing all the tropes, and wondering when the point was when the headmistress got it on.

Its nothing new, there is no real plot, and it's very generic, but hey, it's still a bit of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

Average

5/10
Author: SanteeFats from United States
20 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you can't tell from the movie intro description this is a typical sophomoric coming of age type movie. I enjoyed this movie even if most of the star ratings were only a one. The pranks that are played are actually pretty funny, juvenile but funny. Phoebe Cates is always a fine addition to any movie as far as I am concerned. The rivalry between her and the not as hot as she thinks broad is fairly typical for the time frame of the movie. The boys from the near by school are exactly as I remember my times at that age, trying like hell to get any kind of sex be it just a look at any or all of girls body or actually getting to one of the bases.

Was the above review useful to you?

Russel and Cates in a Classic Teen Movie

6/10
Author: ebiros2 from United States
16 October 2012

This movie is all about Cates, and Russel, but there're good amount of flesh in between too.

The movie basically is about sexual interest the boys have in the girls that are in the same private school they're in. There're very little other plots to the story.

The movie basically revolves around Christine (Phoebe Cates), and Jordan (Betsy Russel). While Cates is severely limited in her range of emotions, Russel carries most of the interesting parts of the story.

For a movie that has almost no story to it, it's sure entertaining. The movie is basically a prototypical "cute" movies of the '80s, where raw power of the '70s started to take back seat to smaller social settings, and more charming behavior of the '80s.

The movie is certainly one of the classic teen movie of all times, and is still entertaining to watch. ≈

Was the above review useful to you?

Private School is a great movie.

10/10
Author: jasonautographs from United States
28 October 2006

Betsy Russell is Very very Hot in this movie. You will want to see every movie that she has ever done after you see her in private School.Betsy Russell is also a great actress. She was in Avenging angel,Tomboy,Out Of Control,Trapper County War,Cheerleader Camp,Delta Heat and many others check IMDb for more. If you see Private School it is very entertaining but Betsy Russell steals the show with her beauty. also starring in this movie is Matthew Modine,Phoebe Cates and Michael Zorek. Ray Walston and Sylvia Kristel are also featured.I'd also like to mention it has a great soundtrack.Betsy Russell is an 11+ in Private School.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie should be released on DVD

10/10
Author: danwong-1 from United States
10 October 2006

Excellent because it follows suit with all the other cheesy, "sex-free" (nakedness) of the 1980s type movies, IE. Fast Times at Ridgemont High. This was the first movie I saw that had any sexual scenes in it and I loved it. Especially when we saw Jordan do her infamous horse trotting display. She's the inspiration for the women's liberation movement. Afterall, didn't they take up after her by burning their own bras in effigy?

Seriously, we need to send a message to the movie label executives that they DO NOT know what people want. Private School needs to be released ASAP!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history