IMDb > Ator, the Fighting Eagle (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ator l'invincibile
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ator, the Fighting Eagle More at IMDbPro »Ator l'invincibile (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 4: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 37 reviews in total 

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

The CONAN'S best Italian sequel

9/10
Author: (subutai_@hotmail.com)
23 June 2002

Surely this movie is the CONAN'S best Italian sequel, or cinema of SWORD and FANTASY. his director D'AMATO, specialist in by-products series z, the majority erotic or of terror (gore), as BLACK EMANUELLE or GOMIA, realizes here CONAN.'S spectacular Italian exploitation in spite of being a movie of low budget, the success that it took as many European countries made him direct immediately a sequel, ATOR 2 (and years later, already in the decadence of the Italian cinema of exploitation IRON WARRIOR). The history of the movie is slightly interesting, though some kind of aventuresco possesses a spirit. The sets and wardrobes not estan badly. He lacks some kind of mas of violence, and bleed, that is to say that is something infantile. It has scenes antologicas as that of the zombies or that of the combat to ATOR's sword against a shade. Both Thousands O'keefee and SABRINA SIANI (specialist already in this type of genre) actuan yours role to the perfection. The villain of shift, DAKAR also this one in his sauce (always sera remembered by your interpretation in ZOMBI HOLOCAUST). The final scene, where ATOR fights against the giant spider is in the times of now, cheap mas and miser. In spite of everything, it is not so bad as podria to have been. For collectors of the kind(genre) SWORD and FANTASY. 3/5

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A dense italian conan type of adventure from the late Aristide Massaccesi. Creator of many "exotic" films.

10/10
Author: televinken (harj@spray.se)
18 November 1999

Ator the fighting eagle is just a fantastic adventure set in a land far away, long ago. Director Joe D'Amato has used all his knowledge from the Italian porno-industry to make a mark in filmhistory.

Some people blame Ator for being just a simple Conan rip-off which I by no means can agree with. Ator is a much more "human" barbarian than Conan and is always struggling with moral dilemmas. He's for instance deeply in love with his own sister and where Conan probably just would say "thumbs up" and go for game, Ator on the other hand struggles with his emotions. Eventually he finds out he was adopted as an infant. That makes a marriage between him and his sister possible.

However, Ators bride is captured by the evil Spiderking and then the saga begins.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Great movie... If you love bad movies.

6/10
Author: Japeda-1 from United States
27 June 2006

I give this a 6 out of 10 rather than a 3 out of 10 simply because there is a tiny little bear following the main characters around. The bear follows them, then will disappear for 5 or so minutes, then come right back in. Had the bear not been in this movie, it would have sucked.

So the Protagonist, Ator, has this mysterious vanishing birthmark. The birthmark is sign that he will kill "the spider" because he is the son of some guy. Despite there being NO introduction to "the spider", it kind of catches you off guard, and because there is some other bad-guy that plays with spiders, you are led to think this guy is in fact, "the spider". But you are wrong, there is some giant spider.

So it begins with Ator being given to a family to keep him safe. Ator and his sister are in love, and want to marry, ans upon finding they aren't blood related, they have a marriage. Ator's bride is taken away, so he quests to find them. He learns the mad battle tactics, gets captured by women and used as a sex-slave, and is tricked by a witch. All these finally lead up to the ending.

In short, The movie is poorly acted, very poorly scripted, the directing is mediocre, the special effects lack in every way, the budget greatly effects the scenes of the movie, but the fight sequences are awesome. I recommend this movie to anyone looking for a comedy, rather than an action movie, because I was laughing for 50% of the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Totally dreadful

1/10
Author: mazda3237 from United Kingdom
24 May 2006

I have just watched this film and it is appalling. I am a fan of the science/fantasy genre and have seen some great some average and some very bad films of this type, but Ator has no redeeming qualities at all.Well OK Sabrina Siani and Ritza Brown are pleasant to look at ( especially ms Browns smile, but the plot, the acting, the direction are all dismal. Don't waste money getting this one! Alright I suppose the scenery is quite pretty, but the 'special (sic) effects are childish, the characters are wooden, the dialogue is banal, the gory bits are tame, there isn't even any sex/nudity to cause a diversion from the storyline.The tarantula is probably the best actor in the whole movie.Pass the remote!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

So bad it's good... Once

1/10
Author: Steve Schonberger from near Seattle, WA, USA
27 October 1999

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw "Ator" or "Ator the Fighting Eagle" in a theater, with a bunch of other people who like sword-and-sorcery stories. The movie was terrible, but we had fun watching it because everyone in the theater thought it was terrible, and found our heckling remarks entertaining. On a number of occasions, one of us made a comment speculating mockingly on where the plot was headed, and the movie was predictable enough that our speculations were usually correct. (I could offer examples, but they would be spoilers. The movie is too bad to spoil, but that would still spoil the plot prediction game that the only entertainment value I could find in this movie.) Without the audience participation, we would have felt cheated, but we managed to entertain ourselves adequately.

Some time later, the movie returned -- either to theaters with a new ad campaign, title, or both, or possibly to the early days of video rental. I had the misfortune of seeing it again. Once I recognized it, the plot prediction game was no longer fun.

More amazing: This movie actually had sequels!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

How can the sequel be any worse?!

1/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
20 February 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I accidentally saw this film. I thought it was the same Ator movie that was currently ranked #40 on IMDb's Bottom 100 list--only to discover that was ATOR 2, not this first film. You see, I've got a crazy quest to try to see as many of IMDb's Bottom 100 as possible! However, after seeing ATOR I wonder how the sequel can possibly be any worse?! However, while ATOR has overall score of 2.3 (which is terrible), ATOR 2 is significantly lower at 1.8!!! Yikes...that's bad. But how is this possible as ATOR was 100% craptastic?!

The 1980s were an odd time and I remember lots of enjoyable but silly films of the day, such as BEASTMASTER, the Conan films and KRULL. However, there really isn't much about ATOR that is enjoyable.

The film begins with a prologue read by someone with a deadly serious voice. In fact, the incredibly serious nature of this film was one of the worst things about it--it was so oppressively somber and there wasn't a second of mirth or fun about it. According to the narrator, the land has long been ruled and oppressed by the Spider King--for 1000 years to be exact. But, now there is a child who will one day destroy the Spider King and his minions. Oddly, however, you never see more than about 20 men working for this king and controlling this vast kingdom! It's obvious the film had a minuscule budget, as there are only a few baddies and Ator and his army to battle the king consist of him and a woman....oh, and a baby bear. Talk about lame!

The star of the film, Miles O'Keefe is an odd sort of hero. Compared to the man other mythical heroes of the 1980s (and there were many), he looked awfully pretty--with Farrah-like hair and a rather effeminate outfit. Personality-wise, he's also a pretty dull guy. Perhaps this is because the crew and many of the actors were speaking Italian (much of the film is dubbed) or maybe he's just got the charisma of balsa wood....I'm not sure which.

I'd talk more about the plot and the many adventures, but they were all so forgettable. The only really memorable thing was the finale. First, killing the Spider King and his pals turned out to be incredibly easy--so easy, I had to laugh. But the biggest laugh came when I saw the giant spider that was apparently the arachnid behind the throne. It was hilarious to see--with the most obvious wired making it's legs dart up and down--making the spider DUMBER than the octopus in BRIDE OF THE MONSTER (an Ed Wood crap-fest).

Overall, you have a very dull story, a dull leading man, a very dull villain, little adventure and a giant spider on wires. So how, then, can the next film be any worse?! And, if it is, how is it legal to show this to anyone in any country?! I thought they had laws to prevent this sort of travesty.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Ator The Fighting Eagle (Joe D'Amato, 1982) *1/2

2/10
Author: MARIO GAUCI (marrod@melita.com) from Naxxar, Malta
23 February 2008

I'm not sure whether I caught both adventures of Ator back in the day (this was followed by THE BLADE MASTER [1984]): however, I assume that I didn't check out the sequel prior to the original, so I must have watched this one for sure. That said, there's nothing remotely memorable about this title – little wonder, then, that I couldn't recall much of anything from it after some 25 years; truth be told, I have a hard time recalling its action highlights even a mere couple of days since getting re-acquainted with the film!

Anyway, ATOR THE FIGHTING EAGLE was evidently rushed into production to cash-in on the success of CONAN THE BARBARIAN (1982); versatile (if not exactly talented) and multi-purpose "Euro-Cult" figure D'Amato shrewdly (but, perhaps, unwisely since the result is just as dire) acquired the services of the actor who had just incarnated another highly popular pulp character – namely Miles O'Keefe from TARZAN THE APE MAN (1981). By the way, Laura Gemser – star of several EMANUELLE films by D'Amato (and others) – appears here as a witch who seduces (and perishes at the hands of) Ator. While the script (by the director himself, with the reported assistance of Michele Soavi) managed to come up with a reasonable mythic background for the storyline (complete with portentous narration) – this and the presence of an amiable bear cub for Ator's inseparable companion are the only things that spare the film the dreaded BOMB rating – it all goes for naught in the face of exceedingly dull treatment and lifeless performances!

As was the case with the John Milius/Arnold Schwarzenegger semi-classic, the hero has to defeat a bloodthirsty ruler (the Snake Cult in CONAN being replaced by one worshipping spiders with, again, a massive specimen to which sacrifices are often made), rescue a virginal damsel (whom he loves even while believing she's his sister – though, of course, she isn't really), and is himself aided in his exploits by a brawny female (who has feelings for him but eventually expires to ease the path to his true love). Besides, the man who saved his own life as a child, then, played by Edmund Purdom (a Hollywood star who got stuck all-too-soon in lowbrow "Euro-Cult" fare such as this) turns out to harbor designs of his own on the kingdom!

Like I said, the film ends up being nothing more than a time-waster – and, actually, far closer in spirit to the two contemporaneous Luigi Cozzi/Lou Ferrigno HERCULES adventures (both of which I also caught as a child and got to watch again recently) than CONAN itself…

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Ator, the fighting failure

1/10
Author: lordzedd-3 from United States
10 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

God, it's irony that Miles O'Keefe's mother sued because all the nudity in Tarzan, the ape man when she should have sued for all the crap in this movie. The dubbing was God awful, the plot was confusing and that is putting it mildly. There was some nudity in it, but what was the point, the camera was so far away you couldn't see anything. It was like the movie makers was peeping on the actress instead of a scene in the movie and couldn't afford a telescopic lens. There were so many subplots hidden within the main plot that you barely could see the main plot. Plus, the amazing vanishing birthmark, the birth marked reappeared when the guy removed but it vanished again almost instantly. God what a load of Itallian cheese and normally I like Itallian cheese, but this is totally rotten crap that should be avoided. THE RASBERRY.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Simply hideous, simply hilarious

1/10
Author: Bill Perkins (wperkins@onramp.net) from Dallas, TX
7 January 2000

I too saw this when it first came out at the theatre. Ten minutes into the film, a Friday night packed house was beginning its exodus towards the door. Those of us that stayed did so for the same reasons people stare at car wrecks. What I found surprising is that however little you think you know about filmmaking, watching something this bad reveals reminds you what you do know. The effects were non-existent (how many times can you slash and gash as someone with a sword without any blood being spilt?), the acting was embarassing (particulary the love interest), and the finale was the most anti-climactic conflict I've ever seen (Trust me: the first time you see this, you will be hysterical with laughter). I'm curious: does anyone know if this was ever "reviewed" by the MST3K regulars?

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Sword and sor.... huh?.....

1/10
Author: buchass from Portugal
9 December 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like all sword and sorcery fans, i sincerely expect that the next sword and sorcery flick that i can get, it would be better..but i always fell in the same mistake all over again...do you know what i mean?Im sure you do... What can i say about "Ator"...hum..its really bad, one of the crappiest ultra-low-budget sword and sorcery flicks i ever seen. Milles O'keefe is bad, Sabrina Sianni is awful(as actress). Dakkar, the High Priest of the Spider...ITS ONE THE WORST BAD GUY EVER!!!!The plot is terrible, i think everything is terrible in "Ator the Invencible"...But what can we say. If you like this one i recommend: "Deathstalker" sequels; "Ator the invencible", "Gunan il Guerriero" and "Warrior and the Sorceress".

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 4: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history