IMDb > "Inspector Gadget" (1983) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Inspector Gadget"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Inspector Gadget" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 39 reviews in total 

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This show Rocks the Casba!!!

Author: dootuss from PA
8 November 2002

I LOVE this show!! I used to watch it all the time when it was on Nickelodeon (you know back when it was cool, and all of the shows they aired DIDN'T suck.), and I never missed an episode. Don Adams rocked on this show just like on "Get Smart" (which this show kind of takes off from) The best part of the show was when Penny would always solve the crime, and Gadget would always walk right into it, and get the credit (Sure it's not a good thing, but this show made it cool). I wish I was like Inspector Gadget because he has all of those gadgets like the umbrella, and the roller skates. That would be so cool if I was like Gadget, except I'd be way smarter. P.S. Don't see the movie it sucked.

This classic gets a 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Good work, "Gadget"!

Author: Mister-6 from United States
12 June 2000

Here's your assignment: find another animated policeman who could possibly match Jacques Clouseau for accidents per hour...and happens to be loaded with all kinds of mechanical props.

"Inspector Gadget" makes for the perfect kid's show: lots of slapstick, the kids are the smartest ones in the room, the bad guys are all lunk heads, good always wins over evil and the dog gets all the best scenes. And then, there's Gadget himself.

Logic would dictate that Don Adams should do the voice (after all, he WAS Maxwell Smart!). That sharp, snappy voice was the perfect accent for a character who thought himself right all of the time; no matter whether he was or not.

When searching for clues, foiling the plans of Dr. Claw and his MAD organization with a heroic declaration like "I'm always on duty", accidentally blowing up his Chief Quimby every episode and striking fear into all agents out to destroy him (usually, through no fault of his own), Gadget was always cool, on top of the situation and, even when his first guess was always wrong, his third or fourth guesses made up for them.

His niece Penny was the thinker of the family, though, with her computerized notebook and keen mind for deductive reasoning. She was the main reason her uncle stayed around every episode. And faithful pet dog Brain kept a close eye on Gadget and, even when mistaken for a MAD agent, helped him time and again out of very sticky situations.

Forever alive in syndication, nothing can ever dim the might and power that is "Inspector Gadget". Gadget is, quite simply, THE MAN (main emphasis on the "simply" part)!

Ten stars. Go, "Gadget", go!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Good show

9/10
Author: Catherine_Grace_Zeh from Fairfax, Virginia, USA
4 May 2006

I used to watch this show when I was growing up. When I think about it, I remember it very well. If you ask me, it was a good show. In addition, I especially remember the opening sequence and theme song very well. One thing I must say is that everyone was ideally cast. Also, the writing was very strong. The performances were top-grade, too. I hope some network brings it back so I can see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I'm not sure if I've seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, if some network ever brings it back, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Go-Go Gadget Review

Author: Big Movie Fan from England
4 June 2002

If there is anyone out there who enjoyed 1980's cartoon shows then I recommend you head for the nearest convention and get some old tapes because the 80's were brilliant for cartoons.

Each episode Inspector Gadget would receive his instructions from Police Chief Quimby who would usually be hiding in the oven or a wastebin. Gadget would then go off to fight crime with the aid of countless gadgets such as an umbrella which came out of his head and springs in his feet. In fact, Gadget had loads and loads of gadgets; how they ever got them all into the human body is a mystery.

Gadget would go out to solve the crime but he was actually a bumbling detective. It was actually his niece Penny and his dog Brain who would solve the crime but of course Gadget took all the credit.

The villains were good. The organisation was M.A.D. (I cannot remember what M.A.D. stood for)which was headed by the unseen Dr. Claw whose face was never revealed throughout the show (I could be wrong). Claw was one of those typical wicked 80's villains.

Gadget had it all-comedy and action. It was brilliant.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Classic show from my childhood

10/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
8 March 2011

Shows like Inspector Gadget, Dangermouse, Scooby Doo, Looney Tunes, Pink Panther Show, Tom and Jerry, The Flintstones, Darkwing Duck, Talespin, DuckTales, Animaniacs, Pinky and the Brain and Tiny Toons make me realise how much I miss my childhood. Whenever I see an episode of either of those shows all those warm, nostalgic memories come flooding back.

Inspector Gadget is a classic. Forget the movies, which were both quite poor, this show is the real thing. The animation has a great look to it, I loved the designs of the characters and backgrounds and the colours are visually pleasant too. The music alone gives the show its classic status, the theme tune is wonderful. The writing is very consistent in a good way, the stories are always exciting and well-thought out and the pace is spot on.

The characters add a huge amount to the show. Gadget himself is bumbling yet very lovable, Penny is not irritating instead she is very likable and smart and Dr Claw(who you never see other than his claw) is a great villain. The voice acting also adds a lot, Don Adams, Cree Summer and Frank Welker are all top notch. Overall, this childhood favourite is a classic and worth looking out for. 10/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"An animated version of Inspector Closeau...yet done with more conviction."

Author: jamesraeburn2003 from Poole, Dorset
8 June 2004

A bumbling police inspector from Metro City who was given several mechanical gadgets by a brilliant engineering professor after an accident always manages to hash up his investigative work while his niece Penny and her dog called Brain solve the cases for him yet he always gets the credit. Gadget's chief adversary was Dr Claw who ran a large crime syndicate known as MAD and was always out to control the world.

A childhood favourite of this reviewer, despite being rather skimpy on the animation at times, this was a fun cartoon show that managed to lay down a convincing sinister atmosphere. Inspector Gadget was an animated version of Inspector Clouseau with mechanical gadgetry and more fun than the latter. When I was little most programmes for kids were so shoddy, but this was one of the better ones.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

This message will self destruct.

Author: DragonMasterHiro (alecjenner@crius.net) from USA
23 June 2003

Inspector Gadget is a classic cartoon. Don Adams, of Get Smart fame, is the voice of the goodhearted but bumbling Inspector. He had it all, from rocket skates to that car with an easy chair in the back seat. This show would have been better if the entire series had more of a plot arc because then maybe every episode wouldn't have been the same. Chief Quimby gives Gadget assignments but the real detectvies are Penny, his niece, and Brain, his loyal dog. Penny and Brain always solve the case, tie up the criminals and save Gadget's life time and time again. Later in the series, Capeman shows up (basically a teen gadget wannabe in some goofy outfit). One bumbling fool was enough on the show, I hated Capeman. However, I did like the Gadget House the Inspector eventually moved into.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

: Go Go Go, Gadget, you are the craziest cartoon character ever, that I like!

Author: Old Joe from Hamilton, Australia
24 June 2002

When I think of my childhood heroes, I immediately think of what a legend ‘Inspector Gadget' was. With all of his amazing Gadgets, he really was a bumbling fool, who with the help of his niece and pet dog, gets to be the world's greatest police detective. I am certain that this is one of the greatest cartoon's the world has ever seen.

The world needs a stop to crime, and to do so they need the world's greatest police detective. So after he gets the mission of Chief Quimby, ‘Inspector Gadget' goes to save the day. He is fighting against the forces of MAD and their leader, Dr. Claw. While Gadget is on the case, the real crime fighters are his niece Penny, who does the true detective work, while his pet dog Brain, helps save Gadget from MAD and sometimes even himself.

Again I am looking at series that was on TV, so I am going to try and not be so critical of it, rather be thankful that we had such a show. Whoever was the masterminds behind this cartoon deserve a great amount of praise, as it is brilliant to have a man with great gadgets, but with no intelligence to put them to good use. Instead he has a niece and pet dog to help stop Dr Claw and MAD from being a world leader in crime. While I know Gadget is a complete idiot, he is also extremely funny to watch. Stuff up his driving in the Gadget Mobile, losing his helicopter blades or his not-so-trusty umbrella, it certain entertains, (well did for this kid anyway).

I now want to take a look at the characters and talent used in the voice-overs of this truly remarkable cartoon:

Inspector Gadget: The voice of the good inspector belongs to acting legend Don Adams. Don was perfectly suited to the role, from his days as the police detective Maxwell Smart on the TV show `Get Smart'. In fact the resemblance that his character on the TV show and in the cartoon is so close, that it is no wonder he was chosen for the voice of Inspector Gadget. When I come to think about it, I can not think of anyone else voice would have matched the bumbling character of ‘the world's greatest police detective'.

Penny: The person who really saves the day, Penny was voiced by Cree Summers. She did a good job as Penny. Without Penny I am sure MAD and Dr Claw would have been more successful in their pursuits of crime and misdemeanors.

Dr Claw/Brain/ MAD Cat: The voice-overs of all these characters was taken on by Frank Weller. He did a remarkable job in all of them. Claw is a menacing character, who needed a truly sinister voice, and Frank had such a voice. Taking on the additional characters of Brain and MAD cat, to this man would have been a breeze. Brain is again another character, that without him, it would have been curtains for Gadget.

Chief Quimby: This character was voiced by Maurice LaMarche, who did a good job as the Chief. Yet I am not so sure I would want to be the boss of the great ‘Inspector Gadget', as all of his assignments seem to ‘blowup in his face'.

Can I say one thing about all the voice-over talents. They have truly had wonderful careers, with them all doing a huge amount of work, either on screen or behind the microphone. They were all good choices as voice-overs for Inspector Gadget.

Now I would would like to say what my favourite Gadget Episodes are: Race To The Finish, The Japanese Connection, Down On The Farm, Quimby Exchange. Look many of the Gadget episodes are brilliant, but these four standout to me.

In 1999, the world got to see this cartoon character, come to life, as Walt Disney finally had the rights to the movie ‘Inspector Gadget'. Now from where I sit, I found the movie to not be what I wanted Inspector Gadget to be. It was not as funny as the cartoon was, though it did try to be. For me Inspector Gadget will forever remain a cartoon legend until till I die. While I am now in my mid 20's, would you believe I can still sit and watch Gadget strut his stuff and not be in the slightest bit bored. In fact he sometimes brings out a laugh that I know I need. Inspector Gadget you still have a fan here!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Inspector Gadget!

Author: msgreen-1 from Canada
2 March 2007

This show was before my childhood but my brother used to love it, I think it was his favourite show of all time.

But it is on every morning very early on Canada's children's network so I have seen it a lot lately and I think it's a great show for kids. If you ask me, it is a good show after all these years but also educational for children, not just entertaining.

The theme song really sticks in your head but not in an annoying way (at least not yet for me).

The voices were all great. Whoever did Inspector Gadget must have been a known actor because it is a familiar voice and was perfect for the part. Dr. Claw's voice was awesome, I love how you never see him and only get to see his metal hand. Every episode he sends agents to get Inspector Gadget, who is a bumbling stumbling guy who always ends up in various accidents but somehow accidentally gets the bad guy in the end (always with the help of Penny and his dog Brain who seem to be the only ones who realize how bumbling he is). The show always ended up with Dr. Claw seeing he's defeated and shouting "next time, Gadget, next time!" For each episode these missions seem to almost always be in a different place, so that kids watching learn about other parts of the world.

I hope it stays on the network so I can see every episode and that it is on when I have kids someday (fingers crossed).

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Go Go Gadget!

Author: Op_Prime from Ardmore, PA
4 August 2000

This was a hilarious cartoon and remains a classic series like Transformers. Perhaps the brilliance of the show is how Inspector Gadget's niece does most of the work and Gadget himself just stumbles onto it. Don Adams was a great choice to voice the title character. Anyone whose seen Get Smart knows that. Truly a great series.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history